collapse

* User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

* Random Image

ARCHIE222_17

ARCHIE222_17

* Search


* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • terrence12: Hey guys check out the thread about my opinion on the upcoming live action archie 'Drama' series (Riverdale) :http://www.archiefans.com/all-about-archie/something-about-the-new-live-action-series-'riverdale'-that-bothers-me/new/#new
    Yesterday at 10:36:26 PM
  • Steveinthecity: *Spazaru
    Yesterday at 05:22:12 PM
  • Steveinthecity: Thanks Pazaru. Let's hope everything they talked about comes to fruition!
    Yesterday at 05:20:06 PM
  • spazaru: Another cool intereview with Jon Goldwater and Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa!  [link]
    Yesterday at 03:44:06 PM
  • archiecomicxfan215: Donut pillow for my other sister. Not sure like I said. I think a 15 year old would like that
    Yesterday at 12:05:11 PM
  • archiecomicxfan215: I kind of decided what I might get my sister. I found a cute Nutella shirt from this website and she loves Nutella so I might. I am also thinking of getting a donut pillow from the same website. It's only a thought so far
    Yesterday at 12:04:30 PM
  • BettyReggie: Have everyone started their Christmas Shopping yet?
    Yesterday at 11:47:02 AM
  • BettyReggie: See you all tomorrow 8) :coolsmiley: :smitten:
    October 29, 2014, 08:57:31 PM
  • Archie Comics Collector: I am currently reading Jughead and Archie Comics Annual #6 which just came out. I have not written any reviews in the last week as I am battling a cold since last weekend.
    October 29, 2014, 08:39:16 PM
  • Archie Comics Collector: Archie Super Special Magazine #6 will be a Christmas issue instead of a summer issue and should be out in November!
    October 29, 2014, 08:36:53 PM
  • BettyReggie: Can you believe we still haven't gotten  Archie Comic Super Special #6 yet and it has all the summer stories?
    October 29, 2014, 08:08:32 PM
  • BettyReggie: Lena Dunham, I made a mistake. She is going do few issues.
    October 29, 2014, 11:08:14 AM
  • FernandoRuiz: Archie Vs Predator will be its own four issue mini series.
    October 28, 2014, 07:45:28 PM
  • BettyReggie: I'm more excited about the Lea Duham issues. I hope they are good.
    October 27, 2014, 04:33:06 PM
  • spazaru: It's a four part mini-series and I do believe it's separate from the regular Archie series.
    October 27, 2014, 02:09:58 PM
  • CAPalace: From the way they're talking it sounds like it will be a separate comic/book? In the Comic Con panel someone asked about if all the Archie-verses will ever meet and the Archie Comics guys said they couldn't confirm but "look out for issue 666."
    October 27, 2014, 01:50:16 PM
  • thegiltreys: Does anyone know when the Archie Meets Predator issue will come out? I wonder if it will be issue 666
    October 27, 2014, 01:31:27 PM
  • Magic Necromancer: what do you guys wanna see in Sabrina#2?
    October 27, 2014, 12:02:22 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Huh. My Internet was acting up until just now. Some sites would load, and others wouldn't.
    October 27, 2014, 11:48:25 AM
  • BettyReggie: Hey when will we see the January 2015 solicts on this site?
    October 27, 2014, 10:58:39 AM

Author Topic: Review of Jughead’s Double Digest #147  (Read 1198 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jdh417

Review of Jughead’s Double Digest #147
« on: March 28, 2009, 01:11:10 AM »
Why did I buy this?

I had never bought an all Jughead comic and wanted to give it a try.  Also, the artwork in first story caught my eye immediately.

What’s Good?

“The Big UFO Scare.”  Rex Lindsey does a really fine job on the artwork.  It reminds me of the Weird Mysteries show, which isn’t a bad model.  My only complaint is that the story didn’t remind me of Weird Mysteries.  Frankly, there wasn’t much of a story at all, which is a real shame given the art.

“A New Dish.” I thought this was pretty funny.  Archie and Reggie getting shot down by a hot new girl, while Jughead somehow manages to charm her.  Of course he only wants her for one thing. . . food.

“Just When You Thought. . .” Put Archie and Jughead alone somewhere and watch the mayhem begin, especial at Mr. Lodge’s cabin.  I don’t think I’m giving anything away by saying, there will be property damage. 

“The Riverdale Triangle.”  This is a good wacky sort of story, which seems all too self-conscious of it’s being a comic book story.   Jughead’s suspendered wardrobe would seem to date this from the 80’s.  Jughead is actually interested in girls in this tale, as long as there’s food involved.  Apparently, there’s only one way to his heart.

“The Rest is History.”  What would Jughead be like as an overnight houseguest?  Archie and Jughead attempt to relive their youths by having a sleepover.   Something I thought was interesting was that Fred Andrews looked the same as ever, but Mary Andrews has had massive makeover (and for the better). 

“Love Letters in the Snow.”  The ever reliable of comedy shtick of Archie trying to get Veronica’s attention.  Judging from this story, I think Archie tries so hard with Ronnie, because she’s such a great kisser. 

“The Dilemma.”  He’s not just all about sleeping and eating.  This story shows Jughead is a good guy at heart, though still thinking mostly with his stomach.

“The Intruder.”  The Jughead/Ethyl relationship.  Is Ethyl’s attention turning Jughead off from other women?  Or does Jughead realize that a relationship with Ethyl is inevitable and he’s putting it off as long as he can?  Would anyone like to offer some psychoanalysis? 

Clunkers?
“Soup’s On” and “Chemical Reaction” deserved a bit more story for the setup.  The soup story was especially cringe worthy, as Mrs. Beazley narrates the entire gag.   

“Paint It Ain’t.” Bad art in an odd format, but a reasonable gag though.

Little Archie/Jughead.  The “Little” gang has never been to my taste for some reason.  There’s nothing inherently wrong with the setup.  It just rubs me the wrong way.  This group of stories didn’t change my mind.  I almost didn’t buy the mag because of this.  If you like the concept, there’s plenty in here for you.
 
Recommendation?

While there’s plenty to like, it felt kind of empty.  While there wasn’t a lot of bad material, there also wasn’t anything to get really excited about.  The “Triangle” story was the only one that got me to snicker out loud.  Jughead feels kind of under utilized in this selection of stories.  His character marches to his own drummer and lives in his own world enough to make him good foil for any kind of story.  Unfortunately, the UFO story sort of sums it up: looks good, but there’s nothing substantial there.  (I am I really saying that about an Archie comic book?) 

If you have to have more Jughead in your life, get it.  If you’re looking for a good Archie comic, best keep looking.

Offline Purgatori

Re: Review of Jughead’s Double Digest #147
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2009, 05:02:03 AM »
Some of the digests do seem more 'just-thrown-together' than others. Themed issues might be a good read occasionally, but there's a danger with the page count that there could be too much of the same kind of story.

I'm a fan of some of the Bob Bolling Little Archie stories, but there are more of the Dexter Taylor ones. While they can be charming, they either seem to retread the earlier stories or just tell the older gang's stories from a younger point of view (sorry - a generalisation, I know).

Jughead's been characterised in so many different ways, but I have a pretty clear 'ideal' Jughead. He's clever, but unassuming, has a big appetite, hates girls, but tolerates Betty, follows Archie into whatever mischief/mad adventure Archie thinks of, even though he knows it's going to end badly and he prefers a quiet life, if only people would let him live it.

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
6 Replies
5758 Views
Last post August 07, 2007, 02:31:16 AM
by Rik
17 Replies
5314 Views
Last post January 26, 2012, 04:36:50 PM
by jdh417
4 Replies
3377 Views
Last post March 26, 2011, 09:47:48 AM
by StupendoDog


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.
Live Support