collapse

* User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

* Random Image

jughead1-267

jughead1-267

* Search


* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • Power Torch: The Black Hood is getting a ton of early good reviews! I am excited.
    Today at 03:28:30 AM
  • BlueBomber2015: Hello, I am The Blue Bomber!  AKA Urvy, been a fan of Archie since elementary school, been hooked on the Mega Man comics, and will be interested in Worlds Unite.
    Today at 02:53:35 AM
  • DeCarlo Rules: Oh, cool. Betty and Veronica Double Digest #230 has stories with both Harper and Shrill in it. Can't wait to get it next week! Thanks BettyReggie and JonInIowaCity!
    Today at 12:12:10 AM
  • archiecomicxfan215: I might not be here for 2 days because my internet and tv connection is broken until Sunday. :( missed my favorite show too and it was the finale :( at least I can check in from 3G from time to time
    Yesterday at 10:41:52 PM
  • BettyReggie: Later Gators
    Yesterday at 05:21:24 PM
  • BettyReggie: TFAW.COM finally has new comics to preorder but Midtown comics has them 35% off while tfaw only has them for 20% off.
    Yesterday at 03:38:58 PM
  • HarperLodge: My Mobile Transport Ride is here to take me to therapy. Talk to you all later.
    Yesterday at 11:45:15 AM
  • BettyReggie: Later Pals & Gals
    Yesterday at 11:00:05 AM
  • HarperLodge: Have a great day everyone. Enjoy your new DVD player BettyReggie.
    Yesterday at 08:01:41 AM
  • BettyReggie: I'll see all later, I'm going read and watch stuff on my new player.
    Yesterday at 07:32:59 AM
  • BettyReggie: The story is Designing Divas and it's in Betty and Veronica double digest #230
    Yesterday at 07:08:03 AM
  • DeCarlo Rules: @ BettyReggie -- Which digest was that with the story with Shrill in it? (A new one, I hope.)
    Yesterday at 03:58:15 AM
  • HarperLodge: JonInIowaCity: I will have to look for that digest online. Thank You.
    January 28, 2015, 07:39:07 PM
  • JonInIowaCity: I like seeing all of the New Kids in these digest shorts.
    January 28, 2015, 07:24:28 PM
  • JonInIowaCity: Harper has an appearance and some lines in Betty & Veronica Comics Double Digest #230.
    January 28, 2015, 07:04:34 PM
  • HarperLodge: Have a great rest of your evening BettyReggie.
    January 28, 2015, 06:59:36 PM
  • BettyReggie: See you all tomorrow
    January 28, 2015, 06:41:47 PM
  • Power Torch: How did you get that? I want one haha.
    January 28, 2015, 06:38:54 PM
  • BettyReggie: I just got my GET YOURSELF “ARCHIEFIED!” picture from Dan and it's awesome.
    January 28, 2015, 05:55:06 PM
  • archiecomicxfan215: In class now... I have 20 minutes before it starts -.-
    January 28, 2015, 02:06:40 PM

Author Topic: Review of Jughead’s Double Digest #147  (Read 1246 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jdh417

Review of Jughead’s Double Digest #147
« on: March 28, 2009, 01:11:10 AM »
Why did I buy this?

I had never bought an all Jughead comic and wanted to give it a try.  Also, the artwork in first story caught my eye immediately.

What’s Good?

“The Big UFO Scare.”  Rex Lindsey does a really fine job on the artwork.  It reminds me of the Weird Mysteries show, which isn’t a bad model.  My only complaint is that the story didn’t remind me of Weird Mysteries.  Frankly, there wasn’t much of a story at all, which is a real shame given the art.

“A New Dish.” I thought this was pretty funny.  Archie and Reggie getting shot down by a hot new girl, while Jughead somehow manages to charm her.  Of course he only wants her for one thing. . . food.

“Just When You Thought. . .” Put Archie and Jughead alone somewhere and watch the mayhem begin, especial at Mr. Lodge’s cabin.  I don’t think I’m giving anything away by saying, there will be property damage. 

“The Riverdale Triangle.”  This is a good wacky sort of story, which seems all too self-conscious of it’s being a comic book story.   Jughead’s suspendered wardrobe would seem to date this from the 80’s.  Jughead is actually interested in girls in this tale, as long as there’s food involved.  Apparently, there’s only one way to his heart.

“The Rest is History.”  What would Jughead be like as an overnight houseguest?  Archie and Jughead attempt to relive their youths by having a sleepover.   Something I thought was interesting was that Fred Andrews looked the same as ever, but Mary Andrews has had massive makeover (and for the better). 

“Love Letters in the Snow.”  The ever reliable of comedy shtick of Archie trying to get Veronica’s attention.  Judging from this story, I think Archie tries so hard with Ronnie, because she’s such a great kisser. 

“The Dilemma.”  He’s not just all about sleeping and eating.  This story shows Jughead is a good guy at heart, though still thinking mostly with his stomach.

“The Intruder.”  The Jughead/Ethyl relationship.  Is Ethyl’s attention turning Jughead off from other women?  Or does Jughead realize that a relationship with Ethyl is inevitable and he’s putting it off as long as he can?  Would anyone like to offer some psychoanalysis? 

Clunkers?
“Soup’s On” and “Chemical Reaction” deserved a bit more story for the setup.  The soup story was especially cringe worthy, as Mrs. Beazley narrates the entire gag.   

“Paint It Ain’t.” Bad art in an odd format, but a reasonable gag though.

Little Archie/Jughead.  The “Little” gang has never been to my taste for some reason.  There’s nothing inherently wrong with the setup.  It just rubs me the wrong way.  This group of stories didn’t change my mind.  I almost didn’t buy the mag because of this.  If you like the concept, there’s plenty in here for you.
 
Recommendation?

While there’s plenty to like, it felt kind of empty.  While there wasn’t a lot of bad material, there also wasn’t anything to get really excited about.  The “Triangle” story was the only one that got me to snicker out loud.  Jughead feels kind of under utilized in this selection of stories.  His character marches to his own drummer and lives in his own world enough to make him good foil for any kind of story.  Unfortunately, the UFO story sort of sums it up: looks good, but there’s nothing substantial there.  (I am I really saying that about an Archie comic book?) 

If you have to have more Jughead in your life, get it.  If you’re looking for a good Archie comic, best keep looking.

Offline Purgatori

Re: Review of Jughead’s Double Digest #147
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2009, 05:02:03 AM »
Some of the digests do seem more 'just-thrown-together' than others. Themed issues might be a good read occasionally, but there's a danger with the page count that there could be too much of the same kind of story.

I'm a fan of some of the Bob Bolling Little Archie stories, but there are more of the Dexter Taylor ones. While they can be charming, they either seem to retread the earlier stories or just tell the older gang's stories from a younger point of view (sorry - a generalisation, I know).

Jughead's been characterised in so many different ways, but I have a pretty clear 'ideal' Jughead. He's clever, but unassuming, has a big appetite, hates girls, but tolerates Betty, follows Archie into whatever mischief/mad adventure Archie thinks of, even though he knows it's going to end badly and he prefers a quiet life, if only people would let him live it.

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
6 Replies
5899 Views
Last post August 07, 2007, 02:31:16 AM
by Rik
17 Replies
5409 Views
Last post January 26, 2012, 04:36:50 PM
by jdh417
4 Replies
3414 Views
Last post March 26, 2011, 09:47:48 AM
by StupendoDog


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.
Live Support