collapse

* User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

* Random Image

talesfromriverdale26

talesfromriverdale26

* Search


* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • BettyReggie: Later
    Today at 12:43:44 PM
  • Wug: Yes, I heard him ask that. I will try to get around to that for next with with my busy schedule getting ready for exams the end of April. OMG, April is only a few days away.
    Yesterday at 02:06:09 PM
  • BettyReggie: Yeah Jon wants us to call the show, I'll try to call and leave a voicemail during the week.
    Yesterday at 12:59:31 PM
  • Wug: Podcast was great as usual.
    Yesterday at 11:06:46 AM
  • BettyReggie: I'll be back
    Yesterday at 10:56:16 AM
  • Wug: Nope I didn't know that about her.
    Yesterday at 10:18:28 AM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Did you know she writes theater reviews and feature articles? [link]
    Yesterday at 12:03:49 AM
  • JonInIowaCity: Yeah, that case was disgraceful. I'm also glad that she is now able to move on.
    March 27, 2015, 11:32:03 PM
  • Wug: I am so glad for Amanda. She was put through so much in those 8 years this has been going on. Her life can finally go on now.
    March 27, 2015, 10:45:00 PM
  • BlueBomber2015: He's talking about the Amanda Knox case
    March 27, 2015, 10:36:11 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: @Tuxedo Mark - ?  (I feel like I missed something there. Context.)
    March 27, 2015, 10:30:44 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Not guilty! Congrats, Amanda! :)
    March 27, 2015, 09:04:04 PM
  • BettyReggie: See you all tomorrow, don't forget to get the Riverdale Podcast.
    March 27, 2015, 08:26:35 PM
  • BettyReggie: Only 45 more posts on What Have You Done Today thread to make 3000 posts ;) ;D :smitten:
    March 27, 2015, 08:18:47 PM
  • BettyReggie: I'll see you tomorrow pals & gals.
    March 27, 2015, 05:29:14 PM
  • BettyReggie: Later Gators
    March 27, 2015, 12:54:24 PM
  • BettyReggie: I'll be back
    March 27, 2015, 09:25:33 AM
  • Wug: No classes for my roommate and myself this morning. Heads are feeling pretty rough this morning and it looks like rain is about to start. I bet classes are going to be sparse today. So the alarm is turned off and it is back to bed.
    March 27, 2015, 07:03:04 AM
  • BlueBomber2015: I see that we got two new sections, will an Archie Action section be in the cards?
    March 27, 2015, 02:09:53 AM
  • Wug: To PTF: Yes it was a close and good game. The Tar Heels had a fantastic season. I do the same thing with the Steelers each NFL season. WhenI am not at college I live with my parents in Pennsylvania.
    March 26, 2015, 10:13:08 PM

Author Topic: Review of Jughead’s Double Digest #147  (Read 1291 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jdh417

Review of Jughead’s Double Digest #147
« on: March 28, 2009, 01:11:10 AM »
Why did I buy this?

I had never bought an all Jughead comic and wanted to give it a try.  Also, the artwork in first story caught my eye immediately.

What’s Good?

“The Big UFO Scare.”  Rex Lindsey does a really fine job on the artwork.  It reminds me of the Weird Mysteries show, which isn’t a bad model.  My only complaint is that the story didn’t remind me of Weird Mysteries.  Frankly, there wasn’t much of a story at all, which is a real shame given the art.

“A New Dish.” I thought this was pretty funny.  Archie and Reggie getting shot down by a hot new girl, while Jughead somehow manages to charm her.  Of course he only wants her for one thing. . . food.

“Just When You Thought. . .” Put Archie and Jughead alone somewhere and watch the mayhem begin, especial at Mr. Lodge’s cabin.  I don’t think I’m giving anything away by saying, there will be property damage. 

“The Riverdale Triangle.”  This is a good wacky sort of story, which seems all too self-conscious of it’s being a comic book story.   Jughead’s suspendered wardrobe would seem to date this from the 80’s.  Jughead is actually interested in girls in this tale, as long as there’s food involved.  Apparently, there’s only one way to his heart.

“The Rest is History.”  What would Jughead be like as an overnight houseguest?  Archie and Jughead attempt to relive their youths by having a sleepover.   Something I thought was interesting was that Fred Andrews looked the same as ever, but Mary Andrews has had massive makeover (and for the better). 

“Love Letters in the Snow.”  The ever reliable of comedy shtick of Archie trying to get Veronica’s attention.  Judging from this story, I think Archie tries so hard with Ronnie, because she’s such a great kisser. 

“The Dilemma.”  He’s not just all about sleeping and eating.  This story shows Jughead is a good guy at heart, though still thinking mostly with his stomach.

“The Intruder.”  The Jughead/Ethyl relationship.  Is Ethyl’s attention turning Jughead off from other women?  Or does Jughead realize that a relationship with Ethyl is inevitable and he’s putting it off as long as he can?  Would anyone like to offer some psychoanalysis? 

Clunkers?
“Soup’s On” and “Chemical Reaction” deserved a bit more story for the setup.  The soup story was especially cringe worthy, as Mrs. Beazley narrates the entire gag.   

“Paint It Ain’t.” Bad art in an odd format, but a reasonable gag though.

Little Archie/Jughead.  The “Little” gang has never been to my taste for some reason.  There’s nothing inherently wrong with the setup.  It just rubs me the wrong way.  This group of stories didn’t change my mind.  I almost didn’t buy the mag because of this.  If you like the concept, there’s plenty in here for you.
 
Recommendation?

While there’s plenty to like, it felt kind of empty.  While there wasn’t a lot of bad material, there also wasn’t anything to get really excited about.  The “Triangle” story was the only one that got me to snicker out loud.  Jughead feels kind of under utilized in this selection of stories.  His character marches to his own drummer and lives in his own world enough to make him good foil for any kind of story.  Unfortunately, the UFO story sort of sums it up: looks good, but there’s nothing substantial there.  (I am I really saying that about an Archie comic book?) 

If you have to have more Jughead in your life, get it.  If you’re looking for a good Archie comic, best keep looking.

Offline Purgatori

Re: Review of Jughead’s Double Digest #147
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2009, 05:02:03 AM »
Some of the digests do seem more 'just-thrown-together' than others. Themed issues might be a good read occasionally, but there's a danger with the page count that there could be too much of the same kind of story.

I'm a fan of some of the Bob Bolling Little Archie stories, but there are more of the Dexter Taylor ones. While they can be charming, they either seem to retread the earlier stories or just tell the older gang's stories from a younger point of view (sorry - a generalisation, I know).

Jughead's been characterised in so many different ways, but I have a pretty clear 'ideal' Jughead. He's clever, but unassuming, has a big appetite, hates girls, but tolerates Betty, follows Archie into whatever mischief/mad adventure Archie thinks of, even though he knows it's going to end badly and he prefers a quiet life, if only people would let him live it.

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
6 Replies
6052 Views
Last post August 07, 2007, 02:31:16 AM
by Rik
17 Replies
5553 Views
Last post January 26, 2012, 04:36:50 PM
by jdh417
4 Replies
3473 Views
Last post March 26, 2011, 09:47:48 AM
by StupendoDog


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.
Live Support