collapse

* User Info

 
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

* Random Image

b&vdoubledigest98

b&vdoubledigest98

* Search


* Recent Topics

Sabrina Reviews: Chilling Adventures of Sabrina #1 *Spoilers* by Salem
[Today at 01:50:19 AM]


I'm new here and I need help finding a story? by pipeliz265
[Yesterday at 11:52:25 PM]


What have you done today? by Banshee
[Yesterday at 09:41:53 PM]


Archie 1000 Page Comics Digest by Banshee
[Yesterday at 09:35:02 PM]


Sabrina by Betty Girl
[Yesterday at 08:15:45 PM]


Yes, It's Been Beaten to Death, But Just For Fun (Part II)... by SaveFearow
[Yesterday at 03:18:21 PM]


What issues or books are you reading? by BettyReggie
[Yesterday at 03:16:59 PM]


Shop? by Betty Girl
[Yesterday at 08:08:11 AM]


Rate the Story! by Helvetica
[Yesterday at 04:59:53 AM]


Round Robin by Helvetica
[Yesterday at 04:03:56 AM]

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • SaveFearow: that's sad. Oscar de la Renta was a fashion icon.
    Today at 01:00:04 AM
  • archiecomicxfan215: r.i.p fashion designer Oscar de la Renta :(
    Yesterday at 10:50:04 PM
  • JonInIowaCity: CBR has a nice summary of the Stan Goldberg memorial panel at the recent NYCC. [link]
    Yesterday at 08:43:13 PM
  • spazaru: I can't remember right now.  I think she was only on one page.  The subject of who she is dating didn't come up as far as I remember.
    Yesterday at 05:24:53 PM
  • BettyReggie: I hope she is on one or more pages and is still Reggie's girlfriend.
    Yesterday at 05:09:49 PM
  • spazaru: I saw that too, BettyReggie!
    Yesterday at 03:31:50 PM
  • BettyReggie: I just saw Harper drawn in a digest story in World Of Archie #44.
    Yesterday at 03:22:45 PM
  • BettyReggie: I wonder if we will finally see the Archie were Betty is Hannah from Girls in the next solicitation.
    Yesterday at 12:54:58 PM
  • Helvetica: Nice review, ACC. I appreciate all the details.
    Yesterday at 05:22:11 AM
  • Archie Comics Collector: If anyone is interested in Afterlife with Archie Magazine 1 I have a review at [link] I am currently working my way through the Archie's Favorite Christmas Comics collection. Loving it so far and it definitely puts me in the holiday mood!
    October 19, 2014, 10:53:10 PM
  • BettyReggie: Later
    October 19, 2014, 07:17:03 PM
  • SaveFearow: small gallery (splash pages and gags) has Jughead and Veronica talking about Hot Dog, and Jughead giving Archie practical advice for a race.
    October 19, 2014, 03:42:17 PM
  • SaveFearow: and "Loose Connections" (Archie gets Mr. Weatherbee in trouble, Dick Malmgren art)
    October 19, 2014, 03:40:53 PM
  • SaveFearow: finally got some more comics up. Main gallery features "Ace Of Space" (Jughead playing Space Invaders, Dan DeCarlo Jr. art)
    October 19, 2014, 03:40:34 PM
  • Archie Comics Collector: I finshed Sabrina #1 and loved it very much! (4.5 out of 5 Stars) Review at: [link]
    October 19, 2014, 01:15:06 AM
  • SaveFearow: my Riverdale Rescue game got the Halloween update! Caramel looks so cute as Puss in Boots. Meow!
    October 18, 2014, 11:37:11 PM
  • Archie Comics Collector: Afterlife and Sabrina are some great horror books. Can't wait until I finish Sabrina #1!
    October 18, 2014, 10:39:12 PM
  • spazaru: I just read Sabrina for the first time today as well!  I actually loved it and I don't like horror.  Afterlife and Sabrina are the only horror books I've ever read.
    October 18, 2014, 10:27:57 PM

Author Topic: Review of Jughead’s Double Digest #147  (Read 1194 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jdh417

Review of Jughead’s Double Digest #147
« on: March 28, 2009, 01:11:10 AM »
Why did I buy this?

I had never bought an all Jughead comic and wanted to give it a try.  Also, the artwork in first story caught my eye immediately.

What’s Good?

“The Big UFO Scare.”  Rex Lindsey does a really fine job on the artwork.  It reminds me of the Weird Mysteries show, which isn’t a bad model.  My only complaint is that the story didn’t remind me of Weird Mysteries.  Frankly, there wasn’t much of a story at all, which is a real shame given the art.

“A New Dish.” I thought this was pretty funny.  Archie and Reggie getting shot down by a hot new girl, while Jughead somehow manages to charm her.  Of course he only wants her for one thing. . . food.

“Just When You Thought. . .” Put Archie and Jughead alone somewhere and watch the mayhem begin, especial at Mr. Lodge’s cabin.  I don’t think I’m giving anything away by saying, there will be property damage. 

“The Riverdale Triangle.”  This is a good wacky sort of story, which seems all too self-conscious of it’s being a comic book story.   Jughead’s suspendered wardrobe would seem to date this from the 80’s.  Jughead is actually interested in girls in this tale, as long as there’s food involved.  Apparently, there’s only one way to his heart.

“The Rest is History.”  What would Jughead be like as an overnight houseguest?  Archie and Jughead attempt to relive their youths by having a sleepover.   Something I thought was interesting was that Fred Andrews looked the same as ever, but Mary Andrews has had massive makeover (and for the better). 

“Love Letters in the Snow.”  The ever reliable of comedy shtick of Archie trying to get Veronica’s attention.  Judging from this story, I think Archie tries so hard with Ronnie, because she’s such a great kisser. 

“The Dilemma.”  He’s not just all about sleeping and eating.  This story shows Jughead is a good guy at heart, though still thinking mostly with his stomach.

“The Intruder.”  The Jughead/Ethyl relationship.  Is Ethyl’s attention turning Jughead off from other women?  Or does Jughead realize that a relationship with Ethyl is inevitable and he’s putting it off as long as he can?  Would anyone like to offer some psychoanalysis? 

Clunkers?
“Soup’s On” and “Chemical Reaction” deserved a bit more story for the setup.  The soup story was especially cringe worthy, as Mrs. Beazley narrates the entire gag.   

“Paint It Ain’t.” Bad art in an odd format, but a reasonable gag though.

Little Archie/Jughead.  The “Little” gang has never been to my taste for some reason.  There’s nothing inherently wrong with the setup.  It just rubs me the wrong way.  This group of stories didn’t change my mind.  I almost didn’t buy the mag because of this.  If you like the concept, there’s plenty in here for you.
 
Recommendation?

While there’s plenty to like, it felt kind of empty.  While there wasn’t a lot of bad material, there also wasn’t anything to get really excited about.  The “Triangle” story was the only one that got me to snicker out loud.  Jughead feels kind of under utilized in this selection of stories.  His character marches to his own drummer and lives in his own world enough to make him good foil for any kind of story.  Unfortunately, the UFO story sort of sums it up: looks good, but there’s nothing substantial there.  (I am I really saying that about an Archie comic book?) 

If you have to have more Jughead in your life, get it.  If you’re looking for a good Archie comic, best keep looking.

Offline Purgatori

Re: Review of Jughead’s Double Digest #147
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2009, 05:02:03 AM »
Some of the digests do seem more 'just-thrown-together' than others. Themed issues might be a good read occasionally, but there's a danger with the page count that there could be too much of the same kind of story.

I'm a fan of some of the Bob Bolling Little Archie stories, but there are more of the Dexter Taylor ones. While they can be charming, they either seem to retread the earlier stories or just tell the older gang's stories from a younger point of view (sorry - a generalisation, I know).

Jughead's been characterised in so many different ways, but I have a pretty clear 'ideal' Jughead. He's clever, but unassuming, has a big appetite, hates girls, but tolerates Betty, follows Archie into whatever mischief/mad adventure Archie thinks of, even though he knows it's going to end badly and he prefers a quiet life, if only people would let him live it.

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
6 Replies
5747 Views
Last post August 07, 2007, 02:31:16 AM
by Rik
17 Replies
5305 Views
Last post January 26, 2012, 04:36:50 PM
by jdh417
4 Replies
3374 Views
Last post March 26, 2011, 09:47:48 AM
by StupendoDog


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.
Live Support