collapse

* Random Image

AWiseShopper5
AWiseShopper5
Posted by: SAGG
Posted in album: SAGG

* Search


* Recent Topics

What are you currently watching? by DeCarlo Rules
[Today at 05:48:21 AM]


What comics have you been reading? by DeCarlo Rules
[Today at 05:15:02 AM]


What have you done today? by BettyReggie
[July 22, 2018, 05:54:22 AM]


Days we look foward to as Archie Fans. by BettyReggie
[July 21, 2018, 10:23:01 AM]


PTF Reviews Z-People issue one. by PTF
[July 20, 2018, 10:38:53 AM]


Library Books That You All Read by BettyReggie
[July 20, 2018, 04:41:23 AM]


Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[July 19, 2018, 08:52:41 PM]


PTF Reviews Telepathetic #1 by Sitcomics
[July 17, 2018, 01:57:57 PM]


My thoughts on the upcoming Archie 1941 miniseries taking the main series place by DeCarlo Rules
[July 16, 2018, 05:22:30 PM]


bulk sms delhi by Neikavai
[July 16, 2018, 03:13:32 AM]

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • DeCarlo Rules: What I don't understand is why they're trying to discourage subscriptions to B&V FRIENDS Jumbo digest. It's been published at 10 times per year frequency for the last 3 years -- just like the other B&V jumbo digest. So if they're both published just as often, why do they offer a choice of 10 issue or 20 issue subscriptions for BETTY & VERONICA, but only a 6 issue subscription for B&V FRIENDS? You can get a 12-issue subscription to B&V FRIENDS on the website, but if I remember correctly, the printed ad for subs only offers the 6-issue sub option. Why isn't it the same option as the other digests (10 issues or 20 issues), if they're all published 10 times a year? And they ARE.
    July 21, 2018, 01:11:44 PM
  • BettyReggie: Archie was just on The Simpsons on FX.
    July 20, 2018, 06:50:15 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Summer Nights" from Riverdale One-Shot: [link]
    July 19, 2018, 08:53:14 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Just looked at Archie Comics' subsciption page. Archie Meets Batman '66 is a six-issue miniseries. Archie 1941 is a five-issue miniseries. There's a six-issue subscription for Betty and Veronica: Friends Forever and Vixens (surprisingly; might get transferred to the new B&V title) and a twelve-issue subscription for Riverdale. Riverdale Digest isn't listed, so it looks like it's been cancelled.
    July 18, 2018, 10:03:11 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: New Sabrina's new Instagram welcome message: [link]
    July 14, 2018, 03:29:59 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "The New Archies": "Gunk for Gold": [link]
    July 11, 2018, 11:09:16 PM
  • Vegan Jughead: Pretty sure Archie Comics, being New York based, knows someone at the Times
    July 11, 2018, 06:15:50 AM
  • ASS-P: I just find it " How things have changed " weird when comic book news breaks in The New York Times...but they hardly SELL anything! :-0 Strangeness.
    July 10, 2018, 10:42:57 AM
  • CAPalace: I'm a woman btw and I'm just so sick of the blatant anti-men thing going on in comics these days. It's not doing women any favors either. :/
    July 09, 2018, 09:05:40 PM
  • CAPalace: They're banking on Archie 700 to sell a lot because "lol a new number wow lol" and it will for the first issue but it'll just go back to the average/poor numbers it had before. And YOU KNOW with that writer on B+V it's going to turn into an anti-men, oooh girl power lol violence against men and demeaning men is feminism and fun lol lol Good luck. I'll stick to Ebay to find the DeCarlo stuff thanks.
    July 09, 2018, 09:04:54 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: I'm looking forward to the new B&V series. Personally, I think that previous B&V series by what's-his-name was way worse than anything that Rotante wrote on Vixens.
    July 09, 2018, 08:43:47 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: So, so predictable... they love to exploit NUMBERS, whether it's a single digit (1 or 0) or a triple-digit ending in 00. Good lord, I can't believe they're actually giving Jamie Rotante ANOTHER B&V series to write ruin! She is the worst I've read -- although it's a tough call, Marguerite Bennett was pretty horrible as well. Nick Spencer can actually be quite good as a writer... or pretty bad, depending on the character and the direction. He was great on ANT-MAN and SUPERIOR FOES OF SPIDER-MAN (both books that had a strong humorous subtext), and not so hot on CAPTAIN AMERICA and THE AVENGERS. And he's he new writer on (yet another) first issue of THE AMAZING SPIDER-MAN, so I wouldn't guess the ARCHIE gig will last. ACP could probably only afford to hire him for that ONE issue, #700.
    July 09, 2018, 06:00:07 PM
  • Vegan Jughead: News on new numbering for the Archie Flagship series and a new B&V series and DeCarlo Rules, you ain't gonna be into this!  And really neither am I: [link]
    July 09, 2018, 01:37:43 PM
  • Mr.Lodge: I still think 'The Married Life' was the best of the most recent and ended way too soon.
    July 06, 2018, 04:46:36 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: No "big news about the flagship ARCHIE title" could possibly rock my world, short of CLASSIC ARCHIE RETURNS!
    July 06, 2018, 01:18:04 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Sweetwater" from Riverdale One-Shot: [link]
    July 05, 2018, 08:44:20 PM
  • Vegan Jughead: ARCHIE isn't on hiatus officially. The last official word from Archie Comics is that there is "big news about the flagship ARCHIE title" coming up after the "1941" miniseries. We'll see. RIVERDALE is supposed to come back early '19 after the TV show returns.
    July 05, 2018, 06:14:32 AM
  • Mr.Lodge: Think it's time for new leadership, especially in the creative front?
    July 05, 2018, 03:09:04 AM
  • DeCarlo Rules: I guess there's still THE HUNGER and VAMPIRONICA, but they're still so new that it's hard to think of them as "ongoing".
    July 05, 2018, 12:14:16 AM
  • DeCarlo Rules: So both ARCHIE and RIVERDALE are "on hiatus"? That means ACP has no ongoing floppy comic titles. Not a good sign. Good thing they still have the digests going (knock on wood).
    July 05, 2018, 12:12:47 AM


Author Topic: Betty and Veronica Vixens coming to an end with issue 10  (Read 852 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Vegan Jughead

Betty and Veronica Vixens coming to an end with issue 10
« on: June 15, 2018, 08:48:54 PM »
I was never a fan of Betty and Veronica as biker chicks to begin with. I always thought of these ladies as too classy for that trash, so I'm not terribly disappointed that this title didn't work out.


https://www.cbr.com/betty-veronica-vixens-to-end-in-september-with-issue-10/

Merridia

Can't say I'm too upset about this.  Could have been a really fun, stylish book, but the art was sooooooooo lousy, it was dead on arrival.  Surprised it even got that second arc.

At least a few nice covers came out of it?  If only the rest of the book looked as good as some of them.

DeCarlo Rules

I was never a fan of Betty and Veronica as biker chicks to begin with. I always thought of these ladies as too classy for that trash, so I'm not terribly disappointed that this title didn't work out.


https://www.cbr.com/betty-veronica-vixens-to-end-in-september-with-issue-10/

I think I predicted it wouldn't run more than 10 issues. Just enough to compile into 2 trade paperbacks.

The problem isn't so much the concept as the execution. It doesn't feel well thought-out, and the characters don't seem to behave in ways that are true to their characters as established in the classic Archie comics. Betty in particular seems to have some serious issues, and resorts to violence at the drop of a hat. There doesn't seem to be any room for lighthearted humor in this comic as it exists.

If you tossed the idea of "B&V as biker chicks" at Dan Parent, I have every confidence that he'd find lots of ways to have fun with that, while still keeping them recognizable in characterization to the B&V we're all familiar with.

terrence12

And you know what my reaction is ,I think this could be a problem, It seems that Archie comics latest series are  mostly short lived or remain on hiatus even the Archie horror lineup like Afterlife with Archie and Chilling adventures of Sabrina remain on hiatus that Afterlife’s possible upcoming (and likely final) storyarc Archie is Legends is not published yet. Especially that the main series Archie is currently on hiatusAnd the company keeps changing the publishing lineup  while sales are likely on decline even though their hit series with CW Riverdale is a hit. And they are likely going to make more new series and miniseries which they call ‘experimentation’ to have Archie comic characters set in different settings, I mean I am okay with it but their series continue to be either on hiatus, short-lived series ,or be a miniseries.

I mean if they keep this up, Archie comics will likely go towards bankruptcy or  end up being sold to either DC, Marvel or IDW.

DeCarlo Rules

And you know what my reaction is ,I think this could be a problem, It seems that Archie comics latest series are[/font]  mostly short lived or remain on hiatus even the Archie horror lineup like Afterlife with Archie and Chilling adventures of Sabrina remain on hiatus that Afterlife’s possible upcoming (and likely final) storyarc Archie is Legends is not published yet. Especially that the main series Archie is currently on hiatus. And the company keeps changing the publishing lineup  while sales are likely on decline even though their hit series with CW Riverdale is a hit. And they are likely going to make more new series and miniseries which they call ‘experimentation’ to have Archie comic characters set in different settings, I mean I am okay with it but their series continue to be either on hiatus, short-lived series ,or be a miniseries.

I mean if they keep this up, Archie comics will likely go towards bankruptcy or  end up being sold to either DC, Marvel or IDW.

They don't need to go bankrupt or be sold (and I hardly think DC or Marvel would even be interested). They could simply stop publishing comics. It's not exactly the same thing. They can simply remain as owners of the intellectual property rights to a group of characters, licensing those characters to whomever is interested in using them... whether that be another comic book company (like IDW) that wants to publish reprints or new stories using those characters, or a television network (like CW) that wants to make a TV series like RIVERDALE, or any other company (like Rachel Antonoff or Funko) that wants to produce any kind of merchandise based on their characters.

terrence12

They don't need to go bankrupt or be sold (and I hardly think DC or Marvel would even be interested). They could simply stop publishing comics. It's not exactly the same thing. They can simply remain as owners of the intellectual property rights to a group of characters, licensing those characters to whomever is interested in using them... whether that be another comic book company (like IDW) that wants to publish reprints or new stories using those characters, or a television network (like CW) that wants to make a TV series like RIVERDALE, or any other company (like Rachel Antonoff or Funko) that wants to produce any kind of merchandise based on their characters.


You might have a good point there

DeCarlo Rules

They don't need to go bankrupt or be sold (and I hardly think DC or Marvel would even be interested). They could simply stop publishing comics. It's not exactly the same thing. They can simply remain as owners of the intellectual property rights to a group of characters, licensing those characters to whomever is interested in using them... whether that be another comic book company (like IDW) that wants to publish reprints or new stories using those characters, or a television network (like CW) that wants to make a TV series like RIVERDALE, or any other company (like Rachel Antonoff or Funko) that wants to produce any kind of merchandise based on their characters.


You might have a good point there

To clarify further, bankruptcy would only be the result of having a company so deeply in debt that they were unable to pay their creditors. In such cases, it's necessary to liquidate the company's assets in order to satisfy at least a portion of that debt, and that can sometimes be done by selling the company (provided that they can find a willing buyer). No one here knows that ACP is in debt for a fact, only that their publishing efforts are not generating lots of money (as evidenced by the short-term nature of their attempts to start new ongoing series). If they're not making a decent profit in the publishing business, cutting their overhead costs (the money they have to pay to printers and distributors) would be logical, and they could do that by suspending publishing operations, while still maintaining the aspect of intellectual property ownership that's practically PURE profit -- licensing. ACP assumes no risk when another company licenses their characters -- the worst that can happen is that they won't MAKE a lot of money from the arrangement, but they can't LOSE any money, because the licensee assumes ALL the risk of financial investment in whatever product they're going to produce using the licensor's characters.
« Last Edit: June 16, 2018, 02:28:34 PM by DeCarlo Rules »

DeCarlo Rules

Ironically, the series finally gets some good interior artwork (by Sanya Anwar) in its final three issues, beginning with #8 in July. That's some kind of cockeyed thinking they've got at ACP. Usually, you want to lead off with the best artist you can (barely) afford to hire, and hopefully, once you've hooked a group of readers, then you can follow up with your lesser-talented artists (and pay them less). VIXENS saves the best interior artist it's had for the final three issues (which isn't even a complete story arc in itself), parts 3 through 5 of "The Hunted".

Of course, no amount of artistic talent is going to improve the writing. Come to think of it, that's just about the case of what happened with IDW's Jem and the Holograms. The final three issues (with artwork by Gisele) were the best-looking of the bunch, but too little too late.
« Last Edit: June 22, 2018, 03:21:08 PM by DeCarlo Rules »

Tuxedo Mark

I just checked Amazon. Most of the back issues have dropped to $0.99. Issues #6 and even the recently-released #7 have dropped to $1.99.
BV-kiss-small
Riverdale Reviewed
http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
Every episode of "Riverdale", "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries" reviewed.
My digital wish list
https://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/14FS742SI1R5I

DeCarlo Rules

I find it ironic that VIXENS finally gets some decent interior artwork (by Sanya Anwar) with issue #8:
http://www.comicosity.com/first-look-betty-veronica-vixens-8/

Usually the industry thinking would be that you want to lead off in the first issue with the best artist you can (barely) afford to hire, in order to try to hook the maximum audience who are curious enough to give the new title a try to see if they like it. Only later, if sales drop off, might you resort to hiring a less-expensive (and less talented) artist, as a cost-saving measure to keep it going a little longer for a diminished audience.

I guess there's also the opposite approach, which is to try to inject some new interest into a title whose sales are floundering by introducing a new artist, in the hope that new readers will be willing to give it another try if they didn't like it before... but when you do something like that, you need to launch a new story direction (or at least begin a new arc) AND you need to hype the hell out of the new artists' taking over the art chores on the title. Since there's been no ballyhoo over the change in artists, and it's not even the launch of a new arc (issue #8 is Part 3 of "The Hunted", the arc which began with issue #6), there's obviously no point in changing artists now, because the fact that the title is ending with issue #10 has already been confirmed.

While the artwork in the issues published so far hasn't been up to professional standards in my opinion, a far more serious problem with VIXENS is the writing. Jamie Rotante's characterization and plotting are both VERY weak in this series, and I don't find myself sympathizing and wanting to root for the team when the girls are as prone to solving all their problems with violence as much as the antagonists.
« Last Edit: July 01, 2018, 06:00:01 AM by DeCarlo Rules »

CAPalace

The writing is awful. They're so angry, hateful and violent over the dumbest things. And the abuse the male characters take (and how they're written to be 95% scumbags or dumb) is really offensive. Most of the new Archie Comics have been pretty bad in the writing department and the art department. (Although I would say the 'Archie' comic is an exception, but they're putting that on """hiatus""" too - which means we'll never see it again.) Obviously, Archie Comics doesn't have the money (or the drive to make money with their comics) to hire top talent, but they're sticking to the writers who have been criticized for their inferior past works or people with no experience writing comics.

I was 100% ready for biker gang Riverdale girls but it was just more wasted potential. At this point, I think they're just making comics to maintain their IPs and they are depending on their WB tv series partnership as the future for Archie "Comics."

Also according to Comichron they are selling (or distributing) between 1,000 - 1,500 issues a month...that's pretty bad. That's way less than what the 'Josie' comics sold and that reboot was cancelled so fast they changed the artist in the middle of the second-to-last-issue to bring her on the 'Archie' comic. So no surprises this is ending.
« Last Edit: July 01, 2018, 06:46:44 PM by CAPalace »

 


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.
Live Support