• Welcome to Archie Comics Fan Forum. Please login or sign up.
 
collapse

Random Image

Hogwash4&5
Hogwash4&5
Posted by: SAGG
Posted in album: SAGG

Search


Recent Topics

Re: Change settings? by DeCarlo Rules
[December 04, 2019, 07:38:29 am]


Re: SENTIMENTAL MOMENTS WITH ARCHIE COMICS. by Bluto
[December 03, 2019, 09:29:58 am]


Re: Posts way down. by Shuester
[November 29, 2019, 11:50:40 pm]


Re: Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[November 26, 2019, 08:22:11 pm]


Re: Latest Hauls, what did you buy? by rusty
[November 20, 2019, 11:44:53 am]


Printer Driver Software by Brandytasir
[November 18, 2019, 11:11:00 am]


Car Photo (HD) by Brandytasir
[November 18, 2019, 11:08:00 am]


Re: New here by Tuxedo Mark
[November 17, 2019, 08:12:52 am]


Re: Archie - The Married Life - 10th Anniversary - Opinions? by DeCarlo Rules
[November 07, 2019, 12:21:29 am]


Re: Super7 Figures by DeCarlo Rules
[November 06, 2019, 07:59:22 am]

Shoutbox

  • Tuxedo Mark: My reviews of "Photo Finish" [link] and "Hotshot Friend" [link] from Betty and Veronica Digest, No. 177.
    November 26, 2019, 08:23:14 pm
  • ASS-P: Briefly - There were none.
    November 26, 2019, 07:18:28 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My reviews of "Drop The Shopping" [link] and "Rerun Fun?" [link] from Betty and Veronica Digest, No. 176
    November 25, 2019, 11:10:54 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My reviews of "Drop The Shopping" [link] and Rerun Fun"
    November 25, 2019, 11:09:54 am
  • ASS-P: I'm standing across from s Safeway, I'm a-going to go in and see if they have any Archie digests...
    November 22, 2019, 02:39:05 pm
  • rusty: Both digests are out.  I don't have them yet because I get my comics monthly, but they are listed in my next shipment from Mycomicshop which means they have them in stock.
    November 21, 2019, 05:57:11 pm
  • Mr.Lodge: What happened to "Archie Jumbo Comics Digest #304" and "World of Archie Jumbo Comics Digest #94"? Not out yet?
    November 20, 2019, 05:30:30 pm
  • Mr.Lodge: Get lost you fucking spammer.....
    November 18, 2019, 04:17:51 pm
  • Brandytasir: if you need more car picture [link]
    November 18, 2019, 11:05:06 am
  • Brandytasir: printer driver download [link]
    November 18, 2019, 11:04:35 am
  • Brandytasir: hello
    November 18, 2019, 11:03:38 am
  • Fernando Ruiz: I don't know where the idea originated for the "Archie meets Archie" story. I know one day Victor Gorelick gave me the assignment to write a story where the current Archie meets the first appearance Archie. It was going to be for a digest celebrating whatever anniversary they were celebrating. That.
    November 17, 2019, 02:47:30 am
  • Mr.Lodge: The first batch of "Memory Lane" stories were the best but were never given the chance to "conclude" properly. The 10th Anniversary one are total crap.....
    November 16, 2019, 06:10:50 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: @Fernando Ruiz I never heard that before! Good to know! :)
    November 16, 2019, 06:08:57 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: Nice to establish that. I forgot about that Twilight Zone episode! But of course, the phrase "a stroll down Memory Lane" is a familiar euphemism, so TZ took that as a literal plot device. The Memory Lane stories were the beginning of a fertile period for ACP, idea-wise.
    November 16, 2019, 05:05:30 am
  • Fernando Ruiz: Responding to the comments for the "When Archie Meets Archie" review, the idea for "Memory Lane" was mine. I borrowed it from an old Twilight Zone episode and thought it was a nice convenient device for the story.
    November 15, 2019, 10:23:33 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "When Archie Meets Archie..." [link] "The Late Great Veronica!" [link] and "2 For 1 Sale!" [link]
    November 09, 2019, 06:19:36 pm
  • Mr.Lodge: Have these meatheads provide their email address and send them an email to confirm their identity - may help.
    November 08, 2019, 01:56:14 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: Is ARCHIE AND ME digest ending with #23 later this month? It doesn't appear on the list of digest titles in the most recent subscription ads from this month...
    November 07, 2019, 01:50:15 am
  • ASS-P: I can't figure out, onbthis new phone, how to post either a new one or a reply!!!!!
    November 03, 2019, 05:56:39 pm

My mixed opinions on Archie main series coming back after a hiatus but renumbere

Started by terrence12, July 09, 2018, 09:38:46 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

terrence12


As you all heard from this news : https://www.cbr.com/archie-700-new-creative-team-riverdale-direction/
The Archie main series will come back after the Archie 1941 miniseries ended which is no surprise for me because I am glad that the series will come back after the miniseries but the reason why I give mixed opinions on it is because it will be renumbered as 699 which will lead to issue 700,But I am not against renumbering because the reason they do renumbering is because Archie like other comic book magazine are long running and they keep on renumbering the issue to its original to show how many issues they publish,but my mixed opinion is that this series is continuing from the 2015 reboot version instead of the classic version.
I mean that's the problem because the reboot archie doesn't look like the classic archie eventhough it's faithful to its predecessors elements but still if they want to continue the main series they could have at least be renumbered as "1" just to be safe since the new team of Nick Spencer and Marguerite Sauvage will handle it and I also think it should give a hard reboot which will not happen at least until in about few years with a clean slate.




PTF

So there's going to be an evil Archie running around causing havoc? :)


DeCarlo Rules

Doesn't change anything for me. I wasn't reading ARCHIE before (although I did read #32, just to check out Audrey Mok's artwork more than anything else), so I don't expect I'll be reading it after #700, but I may read that one issue just to see what all the hubbub is about.

The whole point of Archie in the first place (according to John Goldwater) was in reaction to the superheroes who dominated comic books in the early 1940s -- humorous stories about mundane people, as opposed to exaggerated action/adventure tales featuring larger-than-life heroes & villains. COUNTERprogramming to the mainstream. Without that central attitude orientation, there's absolutely no point in reading 'serious' Archie stories. LIFE WITH ARCHIE was only interesting in so far as it was contrasting and playing with characters, relationships and ideas which had been established in the earlier funny stories, and projecting those into the future. Without that, just taken on its own, the rebooted ARCHIE really offers nothing unique.


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.