collapse

* Random Image

fudgethief2
fudgethief2
Posted by: daren
Posted in album: daren

* Search


* Recent Topics

What have you done today? by BettyReggie
[September 18, 2018, 09:37:52 pm]


Latest Hauls, what did you buy? by DeCarlo Rules
[September 18, 2018, 11:25:10 am]


An Archie Comics timeline (2009-2018): highlights & lowlights by DeCarlo Rules
[September 16, 2018, 10:50:09 am]


Days we look foward to as Archie Fans. by BettyReggie
[September 16, 2018, 04:12:25 am]


What comics have you been reading? by BettyReggie
[September 16, 2018, 04:11:30 am]


So I bought Archie Archives Vol. 1 and ... by Terry1
[September 14, 2018, 05:58:14 pm]


Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[September 13, 2018, 07:33:58 pm]


What are you currently watching? by DeCarlo Rules
[September 13, 2018, 11:37:32 am]


New york comic con 2017 photos by fandemoniumnetwork
[September 12, 2018, 03:13:03 am]


ARCHIE COMICS FOR NOVEMBER 2017 by CanScatC
[September 11, 2018, 04:35:58 pm]

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • BettyReggie: I saw the covers for Archie #701. I love Pitilli's.
    September 18, 2018, 09:27:43 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Fashion Fantabulous!" from B&V #271: [link]
    September 13, 2018, 07:34:29 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: It seems like they put extras on a disc because people expect them, or it helps drive sales, but more often than not, it seems like very little thought goes into the content. Of course there are some examples where the extras are exceptional, but usually that's not the case.
    September 10, 2018, 11:42:47 am
  • irishmoxie: I love digital movies and streaming. I usually get the Blu-ray Disc because I like to watch the extras the first time and then end up adding the digital code online or rip it and put it on the hard drive. Just much more convenient to stream it then search for the disc when I want to watch it.
    September 08, 2018, 05:29:56 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "The Breakfast Club" from Riverdale #2: [link]
    September 05, 2018, 06:28:58 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: That's some good reading. Hope they'll put out a Volume 2, and that it'll be just as nearly complete as the first one.
    September 03, 2018, 08:55:41 am
  • BettyReggie: Archie Comics Present Betty & Veronica Spectular Graphic Novel came today.
    September 02, 2018, 03:57:33 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Supply and Demand!" from World of Archie Digest #81: [link]
    September 01, 2018, 08:14:51 pm
  • zhanjiao1212: a1cb584468
    August 31, 2018, 05:33:06 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: On the other hand, maybe I should just bypass the Blu-Ray format altogether, buy a huge terabyte HD, and download everything. There's something to be said for that, in that you can get everything quicker and stacks of Blu-Ray cases aren't taking up space in your house, I guess.
    August 27, 2018, 03:19:15 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: This coming from a guy who still hasn't capitulated to the inevitable domination of Blu-Ray. It's getting to the point where I might have to relent, since I've seen some anime sets being released for the first time on Blu-Ray (no combo pak) with NO release of a DVD version.
    August 27, 2018, 03:09:15 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: I'll never get used to people not being able to wait a few days when they order stuff online. I guess maybe I could understand it IF it were something that there was no other way to see, but I assume you've already seen the episodes.  People who are that impatient usually don't even buy disc sets, they just buy it digitally or stream it.
    August 27, 2018, 03:06:17 pm
  • BettyReggie: Riverdale Season #2 just came from Amazon.
    August 27, 2018, 02:41:06 pm
  • BettyReggie: It taking too long. So I just order it from Amazon.
    August 25, 2018, 05:17:45 pm
  • BettyReggie: I cancelled Riverdale Season #2 from Target because it taking y
    August 25, 2018, 05:16:49 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: ... and often the answers to those "why" questions comes down to a very simple explanation of "because it's a funny situation".
    August 24, 2018, 05:37:39 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: The questions you ask about classic Archie (which is a cartoon on paper) are sort of "real-world logic" questions. A cartoon world, unlike the real world, creates its own rules and its own logic, nonsensical as that might be. Like Wile E. Coyote not being affected by gravity until he looks down and realizes he's run off the edge of the cliff.
    August 24, 2018, 05:33:11 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: oops. The questions you
    August 24, 2018, 05:30:35 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: Well, the questions you
    August 24, 2018, 05:30:21 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: With New Riverdale, things kinda make more sense, overall, I guess. With Classic Archie (even new Classic Archie), I find myself often asking "Why is this even an issue?" or "Why would the teen characters even care about this?" With Riverdale, it's absolutely insane bonkers, but everyone involved is in on the joke, so it's fun to just sit back, shut off my brain, and enjoy. :)
    August 24, 2018, 05:28:08 pm


Author Topic: My mixed opinions on Archie main series coming back after a hiatus but renumbere  (Read 429 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

terrence12


As you all heard from this news : https://www.cbr.com/archie-700-new-creative-team-riverdale-direction/
The Archie main series will come back after the Archie 1941 miniseries ended which is no surprise for me because I am glad that the series will come back after the miniseries but the reason why I give mixed opinions on it is because it will be renumbered as 699 which will lead to issue 700,But I am not against renumbering because the reason they do renumbering is because Archie like other comic book magazine are long running and they keep on renumbering the issue to its original to show how many issues they publish,but my mixed opinion is that this series is continuing from the 2015 reboot version instead of the classic version.
I mean that's the problem because the reboot archie doesn't look like the classic archie eventhough it's faithful to its predecessors elements but still if they want to continue the main series they could have at least be renumbered as "1" just to be safe since the new team of Nick Spencer and Marguerite Sauvage will handle it and I also think it should give a hard reboot which will not happen at least until in about few years with a clean slate.




PTF

So there's going to be an evil Archie running around causing havoc? :)


DeCarlo Rules

Doesn't change anything for me. I wasn't reading ARCHIE before (although I did read #32, just to check out Audrey Mok's artwork more than anything else), so I don't expect I'll be reading it after #700, but I may read that one issue just to see what all the hubbub is about.

The whole point of Archie in the first place (according to John Goldwater) was in reaction to the superheroes who dominated comic books in the early 1940s -- humorous stories about mundane people, as opposed to exaggerated action/adventure tales featuring larger-than-life heroes & villains. COUNTERprogramming to the mainstream. Without that central attitude orientation, there's absolutely no point in reading 'serious' Archie stories. LIFE WITH ARCHIE was only interesting in so far as it was contrasting and playing with characters, relationships and ideas which had been established in the earlier funny stories, and projecting those into the future. Without that, just taken on its own, the rebooted ARCHIE really offers nothing unique.

 


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.
Live Support