collapse

* Random Image

yourhumbleserpent4
yourhumbleserpent4
Posted by: daren
Posted in album: daren

* Search


* Recent Topics

What have you done today? by Archiecomicxfan215
[January 19, 2018, 07:35:01 AM]


What comics have you been reading? by PTF
[January 19, 2018, 03:02:32 AM]


What are you currently watching? by irishmoxie
[January 18, 2018, 01:23:26 PM]


Library Books That You All Read by DeCarlo Rules
[January 18, 2018, 01:07:48 AM]


Adopted an orphan baby monkey by Original Sin
[January 17, 2018, 11:18:12 AM]


Latest Hauls, what did you buy? by BettyReggie
[January 17, 2018, 09:40:37 AM]


Days we look foward to as Archie Fans. by BettyReggie
[January 17, 2018, 08:58:36 AM]


My reaction that Archie comic will not make Dick Tracy Reboot Canceled Due to Li by terrence12
[January 17, 2018, 06:34:51 AM]


So do anyone have any new questions? We need something big to happen. by BettyReggie
[January 14, 2018, 07:35:53 PM]


Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[January 11, 2018, 09:44:15 PM]

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • irishmoxie: 5 issues
    January 18, 2018, 12:18:14 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Wasn't that a digital-only series that lasted only 3 issues?
    January 18, 2018, 09:40:14 AM
  • BettyReggie: I only read the first chapter so far & I love it.
    January 18, 2018, 07:24:10 AM
  • DeCarlo Rules: @BettyReggie - so what did you think of LIFE WITH KEVIN?
    January 18, 2018, 01:08:44 AM
  • BettyReggie: Great Espoide of Riverdale tonight
    January 17, 2018, 09:51:03 PM
  • BettyReggie: The Life With Kevin Book just came.
    January 16, 2018, 04:01:39 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: @Kallell - Right. That's what I meant. The solicitations that came OUT for the months of November, December, and January... as Diamond Comics Distribution dates their catalogs. And those ACP comics digests solicited in those catalogs would indeed have shipping dates in the months of January, February, and March.  Which means ALL the issues of Archie, World of Archie, Betty and Veronica, and B & V Friends in those solicitations are JUMBO COMICS digests. Unlike those titles, Riverdale Comics Digest, Marvel Comics Digest, and Archie and Me Comics Digest haven't varied in their format from one issue to the next.
    January 15, 2018, 12:22:20 PM
  • Archie Comics Collector(Kalell): Very interesting observation DeCarlo Rules. Actually December 2017 was the last month in which there was still three Digest formats: Annual, Comics Double Digest and a Jumbo Comics Digest. As I looked through Jan, Feb and March solicits it seems that the main two formats are Comics Digest 128 pager: Archie and Me and the rest of the main Archie Digests will just be Jumbo Comics Digest 192 pagers. They seem to be doing away with the Annuals and Comics Double Digests for now.
    January 15, 2018, 11:41:08 AM
  • DeCarlo Rules: Looking back through the ACP solicitations from November, December and January, it just dawned on me that EVERY regular digest title solicted (except for Archie and Me Comics Digest, Riverdale Comics Digest, and Marvel Comics Digest) is a JUMBO COMICS Digest (192 pages). Are Jumbo Comics Digests the new permanent format? It sure looks that way.
    January 14, 2018, 03:28:01 AM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Cami! O. M. Wowza. :smitten: [link]
    January 11, 2018, 09:53:48 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Here's my review of "Last Dance!" from the final issue of the old B&V title: [link]
    January 11, 2018, 09:44:48 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Skeet Ulrich, patron saint of dad jokes: [link]
    January 11, 2018, 10:24:54 AM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Thanks. :)
    January 10, 2018, 09:28:25 AM
  • DeCarlo Rules: @ TM -- Both Archie's Funhouse and Jughead and Archie digests were cancelled at the end of last summer, Mark.
    January 10, 2018, 02:21:53 AM
  • Andrewtub: hello world
    January 10, 2018, 12:55:22 AM
  • Vegan Jughead: I think that's the one that was replaced by Archie and Me, Mark.
    January 09, 2018, 12:50:13 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Is Archie's Funhouse Double Digest cancelled? There hasn't been a new issue since September 20.
    January 09, 2018, 12:45:11 PM
  • BettyReggie: Riverdale Espoide #1 Season #2 is on now.
    January 03, 2018, 08:07:13 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "The Kisser Strikes": [link]
    January 03, 2018, 04:31:49 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Off to work on New Year's Eve. :( That is so wrong. >:(
    December 31, 2017, 04:15:30 PM


Author Topic: Preview: Jughead #7  (Read 7709 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

nuageo

  • Guest
Preview: Jughead #7
« on: June 10, 2016, 05:16:52 PM »
I like the art of Derek Charm in this Jughead #7.  :smitten:













Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2016, 05:45:00 PM »
I absolutely love Derek Charm! He embodies what makes classic Archie so great, something Ericka Henderson never could. This is classic Archie! Look at the details, the way the characters are done and so many other fine details. I hope he continues on Jughead for a long time.  He also makes Jughead and Archie look very sexy and hot!!!!! He makes my Kevin look very hot as well!
« Last Edit: June 10, 2016, 05:54:19 PM by Archie Comics Collector »

BettyReggie

Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2016, 06:07:20 PM »
It's looks great, it's so colorful. I can't wait to get my copies & my digital copy.

irishmoxie

Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2016, 09:53:29 PM »
Yay a summer fun story! I'll definitely be reading this.

BettyReggie

Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2016, 10:01:29 PM »
Jughead actually looks cute . I hope Derek Charm stays the artist for the book.

DeCarlo Rules

Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #5 on: June 11, 2016, 03:34:31 AM »
Jughead's Uncle Herman owns a novelty shop now, huh? I wonder whether it's THIS Uncle Herman,

Or the OTHER Uncle Herman??

BettyReggie

Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #6 on: June 11, 2016, 08:13:44 AM »
I think Jughead means the Uncle Herman from the 40's. He seemed really crazy. He made a lot of inventions.
« Last Edit: June 11, 2016, 09:32:49 AM by BettyReggie »

invisifan

Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #7 on: June 11, 2016, 09:30:55 AM »
If we ever see him the hair should be a dead giveaway …  ;D

Thrillho

Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #8 on: June 11, 2016, 01:48:49 PM »
Jughead actually looks cute . I hope Derek Charm stays the artist for the book.

I know!  :smitten: While Erica Henderson is a technically proficient artist, her style was not my thing and part of it was that the gang wasn't as attractive as I thought they should be.

Jughead's Uncle Herman owns a novelty shop now, huh? I wonder whether it's THIS Uncle Herman,

Or the OTHER Uncle Herman??


Are there two Uncle Herman's? One from Gladys and one from Forsythe II? I'm always creeped out when I see Jughead's parents in older stories, they look so much a like, one would think Jughead was a product of incest.

daren

Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #9 on: June 13, 2016, 12:44:52 AM »
I think they might be cousins.

DeCarlo Rules

Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #10 on: June 13, 2016, 03:37:19 AM »
I think they might be cousins.

Uncle Herman Jones (wacky inventor) is the brother of Forsythe II.

Bingo Wilkin's Uncle Herman (ex-professional baseball player) is the brother of Wilma Wilkin and Gladys Jones, which also makes him Jughead's uncle. Bingo Wilkin is Jughead's cousin.
« Last Edit: June 13, 2016, 03:39:52 AM by DeCarlo Rules »

BettyReggie

Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #11 on: June 13, 2016, 05:25:20 AM »
I hope Bingo is in this reboot of Jughead. And what about Ethel? She has been MIA. I only saw her in one of new Archie issues. She was in crowd in the lunchroom. I hope we see Jellybean too. And what Jughead's Rival Trula Tywst. I miss them fighting.   

Thrillho

Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #12 on: June 13, 2016, 02:23:54 PM »
I hope Bingo is in this reboot of Jughead. And what about Ethel? She has been MIA. I only saw her in one of new Archie issues. She was in crowd in the lunchroom. I hope we see Jellybean too. And what Jughead's Rival Trula Tywst. I miss them fighting.

I'm kind of meh on Ethel/Jughead. I like Ethel but I think her devotion is wasted on Jughead and it gets tiresome, and now that there is no ambiguity about Jughead's sexuality, it's unlikely anything will come of it.

Trula would be interesting though. Those two were always fun regardless of any romantic inclinations on their parts.

DeCarlo Rules

Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #13 on: June 30, 2016, 05:32:25 AM »
I had a few additional thoughts about this issue. While Derek Charm's artwork (which I'd been looking forward to seeing) made it the most artistically pleasing issue so far, I was left with a feeling of being underwhelmed, because of all the individual issues, it felt the least satisfactory to me as far as the writing was concerned.

One of the things I'd liked about the previous issues (but the artwork was turning me off to the series otherwise) was that it was kind of written like a modern update of JUGHEAD'S FANTASY, incorporating the bits with Jughead's video game episodes, Jughead's Time Police, the Man From R.I.V.E.R.D.A.L.E., and Captain Hero and the superteens into that framework. That fantasy/weird angle helped make up for what I felt was lacking in comedy, largely due to the decompressed storytelling.

What I DIDN'T like about #7 was that it was sort of ho-hum as far as the plot was concerned. Although there was a BIT of weirdness with the Mantle family of clones, mostly this issue's story struck me as though it was a standard 5-pager that had been expanded to fit an entire issue. The plot was pretty bare and uninteresting, and not much happened. Squished down into a 5-page story, it might have worked, but the expansion to fill an entire issue just resulted in padding the plot with teen angst, and destroyed whatever comedic timing it would have had as a compressed 5-pager.

I'm guessing that the people that liked it most, liked it because of the co-starring appearance of Archie, and the fact that this was probably the single issue that most felt like it fit into the universe of New Riverdale -- in other words, the people that liked it most were those people who are already extremely happy with the way the new Archie title is going.

I'm hoping the fantasy/weirdness returns along with Sabrina in issue #8.

spazaru

  • Guest
Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #14 on: June 30, 2016, 06:57:49 AM »
I had a few additional thoughts about this issue. While Derek Charm's artwork (which I'd been looking forward to seeing) made it the most artistically pleasing issue so far, I was left with a feeling of being underwhelmed, because of all the individual issues, it felt the least satisfactory to me as far as the writing was concerned.

One of the things I'd liked about the previous issues (but the artwork was turning me off to the series otherwise) was that it was kind of written like a modern update of JUGHEAD'S FANTASY, incorporating the bits with Jughead's video game episodes, Jughead's Time Police, the Man From R.I.V.E.R.D.A.L.E., and Captain Hero and the superteens into that framework. That fantasy/weird angle helped make up for what I felt was lacking in comedy, largely due to the decompressed storytelling.

What I DIDN'T like about #7 was that it was sort of ho-hum as far as the plot was concerned. Although there was a BIT of weirdness with the Mantle family of clones, mostly this issue's story struck me as though it was a standard 5-pager that had been expanded to fit an entire issue. The plot was pretty bare and uninteresting, and not much happened. Squished down into a 5-page story, it might have worked, but the expansion to fill an entire issue just resulted in padding the plot with teen angst, and destroyed whatever comedic timing it would have had as a compressed 5-pager.

I'm guessing that the people that liked it most, liked it because of the co-starring appearance of Archie, and the fact that this was probably the single issue that most felt like it fit into the universe of New Riverdale -- in other words, the people that liked it most were those people who are already extremely happy with the way the new Archie title is going.

I'm hoping the fantasy/weirdness returns along with Sabrina in issue #8.


I liked it most because of Archie's bangs.  Those were totally on point.

 


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.
Live Support