collapse

* Random Image

Spellbinder4
Spellbinder4
Posted by: SAGG
Posted in album: SAGG

* Search


* Recent Topics

Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[April 19, 2018, 10:24:59 PM]


What comics have you been reading? by DeCarlo Rules
[April 19, 2018, 12:15:57 PM]


Adopted an orphan baby monkey by BillysBadFurDay
[April 18, 2018, 02:40:14 PM]


What have you done today? by Archiecomicxfan215
[April 18, 2018, 01:06:00 AM]


Latest Hauls, what did you buy? by BettyReggie
[April 17, 2018, 02:35:32 PM]


Mr. Weatherbee gardening by Gnathitima
[April 17, 2018, 04:12:08 AM]


Graduation by Gnathitima
[April 17, 2018, 04:08:57 AM]


bulk sms delhi by Katharine
[April 17, 2018, 01:38:35 AM]


Riverdale, season 2, episode 7 by Katharine
[April 17, 2018, 01:36:55 AM]


Betty and Cheryl by Vermontf
[April 17, 2018, 12:44:20 AM]

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • Tuxedo Mark: Hmm, according to GCDb, a story called "Family Tree Trials" in Archie #332 (11/1984) reveals Archie is distantly related to Midge!
    April 19, 2018, 11:08:53 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Fast and Loose", a 1980s Cheryl story: [link]
    April 19, 2018, 10:26:06 PM
  • CAPalace: You probably have to wait until 'Riverdale' ends, Tokyo. I think that's all they care about right now lol
    April 17, 2018, 01:39:10 PM
  • Tokyo: What are the chances of Afterlife with Archie: Betty RIP being released this year...or ever?
    April 16, 2018, 01:37:59 AM
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Extra Disastrous!": [link]
    April 12, 2018, 07:35:02 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Just Another Day!" from B&V #269: [link]
    April 11, 2018, 08:46:47 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Betty and Cheryl meet Felicity Smoak: [link]
    April 08, 2018, 09:23:18 PM
  • BettyReggie: Later Gators
    April 07, 2018, 10:22:31 PM
  • BettyReggie: Good Night Pals & Gals
    April 06, 2018, 10:26:19 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of Betty and Veronica: Vixens #5: [link]
    April 04, 2018, 10:29:22 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Just saw "Ready Player One"; it was awesome!
    April 04, 2018, 04:54:20 PM
  • BettyReggie: Good Night Pals & Gals
    April 02, 2018, 10:50:20 PM
  • BettyReggie: Awesome
    April 02, 2018, 10:46:07 PM
  • Archiecomicxfan215: Riverdale has been renewed for season 3
    April 02, 2018, 03:25:31 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Thanks. :)
    March 30, 2018, 11:37:12 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: Six issues. #6 came out the week of March 7th.
    March 30, 2018, 10:29:28 AM
  • Tuxedo Mark: How long was the Harley and Ivy Meet B&V series supposed to last?
    March 29, 2018, 07:11:20 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of Betty and Veronica: Vixens #4: [link]
    March 29, 2018, 10:34:20 AM
  • BettyReggie: I wore my Jughead Hat tonight.
    March 28, 2018, 10:30:10 PM
  • BettyReggie: Don't forget Riverdale is on tonight
    March 28, 2018, 05:23:59 PM


Author Topic: Preview: Jughead #7  (Read 8247 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

nuageo

  • Guest
Preview: Jughead #7
« on: June 10, 2016, 05:16:52 PM »
I like the art of Derek Charm in this Jughead #7.  :smitten:













Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2016, 05:45:00 PM »
I absolutely love Derek Charm! He embodies what makes classic Archie so great, something Ericka Henderson never could. This is classic Archie! Look at the details, the way the characters are done and so many other fine details. I hope he continues on Jughead for a long time.  He also makes Jughead and Archie look very sexy and hot!!!!! He makes my Kevin look very hot as well!
« Last Edit: June 10, 2016, 05:54:19 PM by Archie Comics Collector »

BettyReggie

Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2016, 06:07:20 PM »
It's looks great, it's so colorful. I can't wait to get my copies & my digital copy.

irishmoxie

Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2016, 09:53:29 PM »
Yay a summer fun story! I'll definitely be reading this.

BettyReggie

Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2016, 10:01:29 PM »
Jughead actually looks cute . I hope Derek Charm stays the artist for the book.

DeCarlo Rules

Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #5 on: June 11, 2016, 03:34:31 AM »
Jughead's Uncle Herman owns a novelty shop now, huh? I wonder whether it's THIS Uncle Herman,

Or the OTHER Uncle Herman??

BettyReggie

Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #6 on: June 11, 2016, 08:13:44 AM »
I think Jughead means the Uncle Herman from the 40's. He seemed really crazy. He made a lot of inventions.
« Last Edit: June 11, 2016, 09:32:49 AM by BettyReggie »

invisifan

Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #7 on: June 11, 2016, 09:30:55 AM »
If we ever see him the hair should be a dead giveaway …  ;D

Thrillho

Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #8 on: June 11, 2016, 01:48:49 PM »
Jughead actually looks cute . I hope Derek Charm stays the artist for the book.

I know!  :smitten: While Erica Henderson is a technically proficient artist, her style was not my thing and part of it was that the gang wasn't as attractive as I thought they should be.

Jughead's Uncle Herman owns a novelty shop now, huh? I wonder whether it's THIS Uncle Herman,

Or the OTHER Uncle Herman??


Are there two Uncle Herman's? One from Gladys and one from Forsythe II? I'm always creeped out when I see Jughead's parents in older stories, they look so much a like, one would think Jughead was a product of incest.

daren

Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #9 on: June 13, 2016, 12:44:52 AM »
I think they might be cousins.

DeCarlo Rules

Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #10 on: June 13, 2016, 03:37:19 AM »
I think they might be cousins.

Uncle Herman Jones (wacky inventor) is the brother of Forsythe II.

Bingo Wilkin's Uncle Herman (ex-professional baseball player) is the brother of Wilma Wilkin and Gladys Jones, which also makes him Jughead's uncle. Bingo Wilkin is Jughead's cousin.
« Last Edit: June 13, 2016, 03:39:52 AM by DeCarlo Rules »

BettyReggie

Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #11 on: June 13, 2016, 05:25:20 AM »
I hope Bingo is in this reboot of Jughead. And what about Ethel? She has been MIA. I only saw her in one of new Archie issues. She was in crowd in the lunchroom. I hope we see Jellybean too. And what Jughead's Rival Trula Tywst. I miss them fighting.   

Thrillho

Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #12 on: June 13, 2016, 02:23:54 PM »
I hope Bingo is in this reboot of Jughead. And what about Ethel? She has been MIA. I only saw her in one of new Archie issues. She was in crowd in the lunchroom. I hope we see Jellybean too. And what Jughead's Rival Trula Tywst. I miss them fighting.

I'm kind of meh on Ethel/Jughead. I like Ethel but I think her devotion is wasted on Jughead and it gets tiresome, and now that there is no ambiguity about Jughead's sexuality, it's unlikely anything will come of it.

Trula would be interesting though. Those two were always fun regardless of any romantic inclinations on their parts.

DeCarlo Rules

Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #13 on: June 30, 2016, 05:32:25 AM »
I had a few additional thoughts about this issue. While Derek Charm's artwork (which I'd been looking forward to seeing) made it the most artistically pleasing issue so far, I was left with a feeling of being underwhelmed, because of all the individual issues, it felt the least satisfactory to me as far as the writing was concerned.

One of the things I'd liked about the previous issues (but the artwork was turning me off to the series otherwise) was that it was kind of written like a modern update of JUGHEAD'S FANTASY, incorporating the bits with Jughead's video game episodes, Jughead's Time Police, the Man From R.I.V.E.R.D.A.L.E., and Captain Hero and the superteens into that framework. That fantasy/weird angle helped make up for what I felt was lacking in comedy, largely due to the decompressed storytelling.

What I DIDN'T like about #7 was that it was sort of ho-hum as far as the plot was concerned. Although there was a BIT of weirdness with the Mantle family of clones, mostly this issue's story struck me as though it was a standard 5-pager that had been expanded to fit an entire issue. The plot was pretty bare and uninteresting, and not much happened. Squished down into a 5-page story, it might have worked, but the expansion to fill an entire issue just resulted in padding the plot with teen angst, and destroyed whatever comedic timing it would have had as a compressed 5-pager.

I'm guessing that the people that liked it most, liked it because of the co-starring appearance of Archie, and the fact that this was probably the single issue that most felt like it fit into the universe of New Riverdale -- in other words, the people that liked it most were those people who are already extremely happy with the way the new Archie title is going.

I'm hoping the fantasy/weirdness returns along with Sabrina in issue #8.

spazaru

  • Guest
Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #14 on: June 30, 2016, 06:57:49 AM »
I had a few additional thoughts about this issue. While Derek Charm's artwork (which I'd been looking forward to seeing) made it the most artistically pleasing issue so far, I was left with a feeling of being underwhelmed, because of all the individual issues, it felt the least satisfactory to me as far as the writing was concerned.

One of the things I'd liked about the previous issues (but the artwork was turning me off to the series otherwise) was that it was kind of written like a modern update of JUGHEAD'S FANTASY, incorporating the bits with Jughead's video game episodes, Jughead's Time Police, the Man From R.I.V.E.R.D.A.L.E., and Captain Hero and the superteens into that framework. That fantasy/weird angle helped make up for what I felt was lacking in comedy, largely due to the decompressed storytelling.

What I DIDN'T like about #7 was that it was sort of ho-hum as far as the plot was concerned. Although there was a BIT of weirdness with the Mantle family of clones, mostly this issue's story struck me as though it was a standard 5-pager that had been expanded to fit an entire issue. The plot was pretty bare and uninteresting, and not much happened. Squished down into a 5-page story, it might have worked, but the expansion to fill an entire issue just resulted in padding the plot with teen angst, and destroyed whatever comedic timing it would have had as a compressed 5-pager.

I'm guessing that the people that liked it most, liked it because of the co-starring appearance of Archie, and the fact that this was probably the single issue that most felt like it fit into the universe of New Riverdale -- in other words, the people that liked it most were those people who are already extremely happy with the way the new Archie title is going.

I'm hoping the fantasy/weirdness returns along with Sabrina in issue #8.


I liked it most because of Archie's bangs.  Those were totally on point.

 


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.
Live Support