collapse

* Random Image

FickleFather3
FickleFather3
Posted by: SAGG
Posted in album: SAGG

* Search


* Recent Topics

What comics have you been reading? by DeCarlo Rules
[Today at 05:32:19 AM]


Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[August 16, 2017, 08:10:39 PM]


What have you done today? by Archiecomicxfan215
[August 16, 2017, 02:20:14 PM]


Days we look foward to as Archie Fans. by BettyReggie
[August 16, 2017, 08:34:15 AM]


Betty and Veronica; will there be an issue 4 or is it cancelled? by DeCarlo Rules
[August 15, 2017, 11:38:17 PM]


Library Books That You All Read by BettyReggie
[August 15, 2017, 08:30:54 PM]


Check Out This Jughead Article by DeCarlo Rules
[August 15, 2017, 03:34:09 PM]


Some reviews. by DeCarlo Rules
[August 12, 2017, 07:39:25 PM]


My thoughts on Archie launching B&V Vixens and The Mighty Crusaders revival by terrence12
[August 12, 2017, 09:02:50 AM]


Nick St. Clair is Veronica's ex on Riverdale by BettyReggie
[August 12, 2017, 04:26:42 AM]

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • Vegan Jughead: DCR and Downloader, remember they also got that investment capital last year.  I think it was for a few hundred thousand dollars.  I don't know how long that will last, but I'm sure they're using that.
    Today at 06:46:26 AM
  • BettyReggie: I saw the November 2017 Solicitations. Fiona Staples is doing a few covers. I can't wait to see what they look like though because they didn't show them yet.
    Today at 06:06:23 AM
  • DeCarlo Rules: @The Downloader - What cash flow they have is coming not from the floppy titles, but from the digests and trade collections. They're just spewing out different one-shots and short-run series to see if they can find something that will last.
    Today at 01:20:05 AM
  • The Downloader: How can ACP continue to push out new titles, when they dont have the money to back it up?!
    August 16, 2017, 05:40:53 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Crap, I just remembered I forgot to pick up "Riverdale" today.
    August 16, 2017, 03:15:05 PM
  • BettyReggie: I asked Adam Hughes on twitter who is working on B&V #4 . He said Rachael Stott is working on it.
    August 15, 2017, 08:31:36 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Riverdale season 2 billboard on Sunset Boulevard: [link]
    August 15, 2017, 07:57:03 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: I'll pick mine up tomorrow at Wally World. Getting only the DVD edition for now, so I can rip the files to my computer and review the episodes for my blog.
    August 15, 2017, 04:31:34 PM
  • BettyReggie: Season #1 of Riverdale came today from target.
    August 15, 2017, 01:00:25 PM
  • BettyReggie: 50 days till October 5th 2017 New York Comic Con
    August 15, 2017, 07:45:25 AM
  • Tuxedo Mark: I didn't watch it, but, yeah, "Riverdale" won a lot. Good for them. :)
    August 14, 2017, 03:28:08 PM
  • BettyReggie: I only watched when Riverdale won Best Show.
    August 13, 2017, 10:19:55 PM
  • JonInIowaCity: Looks like "Riverdale" and several of the actors won big on tonight's Teen Choice Awards.
    August 13, 2017, 09:08:25 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Veronica Lodge, Riverdale's local badass: [link]
    August 12, 2017, 08:52:50 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: According to Dan Parent, the Die Kitty Die: Hollywood or Bust! hardcover collection is at the printers right now. Fernando Ruiz says they have started working on the DKD Winter Special already.
    August 12, 2017, 05:46:56 PM
  • BettyReggie: I wonder if they bring Nick what having someone play Adam Betty's boyfriend? Remember him?
    August 12, 2017, 04:25:08 AM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Nick St. Clair coming to Riverdale: [link]
    August 11, 2017, 03:16:48 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: Yeah, I got it. Looks pretty good for the Sabrina and Josie story selections, adding up to about 200 pages. I couldn't care less about the Little Archie stories, Most of the stories here don't seem like they've been reprinted ad infinitum, which is good. Nice to see those in the standard comic-sized trade paperback.
    August 09, 2017, 09:21:16 PM
  • irishmoxie: Anybody get Archie's big book magic music and mischief? Out on comiXology today.
    August 09, 2017, 09:01:29 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: Gotta love how Goldwater never misses an opportunity for a backhanded slap at the classic Archie creators and their "retro concept".
    August 09, 2017, 06:15:09 AM


Author Topic: Preview: Jughead #7  (Read 6661 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

nuageo

  • Guest
Preview: Jughead #7
« on: June 10, 2016, 05:16:52 PM »
I like the art of Derek Charm in this Jughead #7.  :smitten:













Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2016, 05:45:00 PM »
I absolutely love Derek Charm! He embodies what makes classic Archie so great, something Ericka Henderson never could. This is classic Archie! Look at the details, the way the characters are done and so many other fine details. I hope he continues on Jughead for a long time.  He also makes Jughead and Archie look very sexy and hot!!!!! He makes my Kevin look very hot as well!
« Last Edit: June 10, 2016, 05:54:19 PM by Archie Comics Collector »

BettyReggie

Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2016, 06:07:20 PM »
It's looks great, it's so colorful. I can't wait to get my copies & my digital copy.

irishmoxie

Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2016, 09:53:29 PM »
Yay a summer fun story! I'll definitely be reading this.

BettyReggie

Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2016, 10:01:29 PM »
Jughead actually looks cute . I hope Derek Charm stays the artist for the book.

DeCarlo Rules

Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #5 on: June 11, 2016, 03:34:31 AM »
Jughead's Uncle Herman owns a novelty shop now, huh? I wonder whether it's THIS Uncle Herman,

Or the OTHER Uncle Herman??

BettyReggie

Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #6 on: June 11, 2016, 08:13:44 AM »
I think Jughead means the Uncle Herman from the 40's. He seemed really crazy. He made a lot of inventions.
« Last Edit: June 11, 2016, 09:32:49 AM by BettyReggie »

invisifan

Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #7 on: June 11, 2016, 09:30:55 AM »
If we ever see him the hair should be a dead giveaway …  ;D

Thrillho

Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #8 on: June 11, 2016, 01:48:49 PM »
Jughead actually looks cute . I hope Derek Charm stays the artist for the book.

I know!  :smitten: While Erica Henderson is a technically proficient artist, her style was not my thing and part of it was that the gang wasn't as attractive as I thought they should be.

Jughead's Uncle Herman owns a novelty shop now, huh? I wonder whether it's THIS Uncle Herman,

Or the OTHER Uncle Herman??


Are there two Uncle Herman's? One from Gladys and one from Forsythe II? I'm always creeped out when I see Jughead's parents in older stories, they look so much a like, one would think Jughead was a product of incest.

daren

Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #9 on: June 13, 2016, 12:44:52 AM »
I think they might be cousins.

DeCarlo Rules

Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #10 on: June 13, 2016, 03:37:19 AM »
I think they might be cousins.

Uncle Herman Jones (wacky inventor) is the brother of Forsythe II.

Bingo Wilkin's Uncle Herman (ex-professional baseball player) is the brother of Wilma Wilkin and Gladys Jones, which also makes him Jughead's uncle. Bingo Wilkin is Jughead's cousin.
« Last Edit: June 13, 2016, 03:39:52 AM by DeCarlo Rules »

BettyReggie

Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #11 on: June 13, 2016, 05:25:20 AM »
I hope Bingo is in this reboot of Jughead. And what about Ethel? She has been MIA. I only saw her in one of new Archie issues. She was in crowd in the lunchroom. I hope we see Jellybean too. And what Jughead's Rival Trula Tywst. I miss them fighting.   

Thrillho

Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #12 on: June 13, 2016, 02:23:54 PM »
I hope Bingo is in this reboot of Jughead. And what about Ethel? She has been MIA. I only saw her in one of new Archie issues. She was in crowd in the lunchroom. I hope we see Jellybean too. And what Jughead's Rival Trula Tywst. I miss them fighting.

I'm kind of meh on Ethel/Jughead. I like Ethel but I think her devotion is wasted on Jughead and it gets tiresome, and now that there is no ambiguity about Jughead's sexuality, it's unlikely anything will come of it.

Trula would be interesting though. Those two were always fun regardless of any romantic inclinations on their parts.

DeCarlo Rules

Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #13 on: June 30, 2016, 05:32:25 AM »
I had a few additional thoughts about this issue. While Derek Charm's artwork (which I'd been looking forward to seeing) made it the most artistically pleasing issue so far, I was left with a feeling of being underwhelmed, because of all the individual issues, it felt the least satisfactory to me as far as the writing was concerned.

One of the things I'd liked about the previous issues (but the artwork was turning me off to the series otherwise) was that it was kind of written like a modern update of JUGHEAD'S FANTASY, incorporating the bits with Jughead's video game episodes, Jughead's Time Police, the Man From R.I.V.E.R.D.A.L.E., and Captain Hero and the superteens into that framework. That fantasy/weird angle helped make up for what I felt was lacking in comedy, largely due to the decompressed storytelling.

What I DIDN'T like about #7 was that it was sort of ho-hum as far as the plot was concerned. Although there was a BIT of weirdness with the Mantle family of clones, mostly this issue's story struck me as though it was a standard 5-pager that had been expanded to fit an entire issue. The plot was pretty bare and uninteresting, and not much happened. Squished down into a 5-page story, it might have worked, but the expansion to fill an entire issue just resulted in padding the plot with teen angst, and destroyed whatever comedic timing it would have had as a compressed 5-pager.

I'm guessing that the people that liked it most, liked it because of the co-starring appearance of Archie, and the fact that this was probably the single issue that most felt like it fit into the universe of New Riverdale -- in other words, the people that liked it most were those people who are already extremely happy with the way the new Archie title is going.

I'm hoping the fantasy/weirdness returns along with Sabrina in issue #8.

spazaru

  • Guest
Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #14 on: June 30, 2016, 06:57:49 AM »
I had a few additional thoughts about this issue. While Derek Charm's artwork (which I'd been looking forward to seeing) made it the most artistically pleasing issue so far, I was left with a feeling of being underwhelmed, because of all the individual issues, it felt the least satisfactory to me as far as the writing was concerned.

One of the things I'd liked about the previous issues (but the artwork was turning me off to the series otherwise) was that it was kind of written like a modern update of JUGHEAD'S FANTASY, incorporating the bits with Jughead's video game episodes, Jughead's Time Police, the Man From R.I.V.E.R.D.A.L.E., and Captain Hero and the superteens into that framework. That fantasy/weird angle helped make up for what I felt was lacking in comedy, largely due to the decompressed storytelling.

What I DIDN'T like about #7 was that it was sort of ho-hum as far as the plot was concerned. Although there was a BIT of weirdness with the Mantle family of clones, mostly this issue's story struck me as though it was a standard 5-pager that had been expanded to fit an entire issue. The plot was pretty bare and uninteresting, and not much happened. Squished down into a 5-page story, it might have worked, but the expansion to fill an entire issue just resulted in padding the plot with teen angst, and destroyed whatever comedic timing it would have had as a compressed 5-pager.

I'm guessing that the people that liked it most, liked it because of the co-starring appearance of Archie, and the fact that this was probably the single issue that most felt like it fit into the universe of New Riverdale -- in other words, the people that liked it most were those people who are already extremely happy with the way the new Archie title is going.

I'm hoping the fantasy/weirdness returns along with Sabrina in issue #8.


I liked it most because of Archie's bangs.  Those were totally on point.

 


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.
Live Support