• Welcome to Archie Comics Fan Forum. Please login or sign up.
 
March 25, 2019, 01:06:06 pm

News:

We're back! Unfortunately all data was lost. Please re-register to continue posting!


collapse

Random Image

DoubleDate6
DoubleDate6
Posted by: SAGG
Posted in album: SAGG

Search


Recent Topics

Re: ARCHIE COMICS FOR JUNE 2019 by Oldiesmann
[Today at 12:40:26 am]


Re: Lucy Hale cast as Katy Keene in Riverdale spin-off pilot by DeCarlo Rules
[March 24, 2019, 09:55:34 am]


Re: Is It Just Me.... by DeCarlo Rules
[March 24, 2019, 01:27:02 am]


Re: Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[March 23, 2019, 10:03:44 pm]


Re: What are you currently watching? by Mefford
[March 23, 2019, 07:37:17 am]


Re: Jughead in Twysting Hearts by PTF
[March 14, 2019, 03:33:43 pm]


Archie in Good Fences by PTF
[March 14, 2019, 03:32:03 pm]


Re: What have you done today? by Archiecomicxfan215
[March 13, 2019, 09:54:40 pm]


Re: Snotgirl #1 by DeCarlo Rules
[March 06, 2019, 08:12:29 am]


Re: ARCHIE COMICS FOR MAY 2019 by DeCarlo Rules
[March 04, 2019, 03:39:52 pm]

Shoutbox

  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "We Need to Talk About Kevin" from Riverdale, No. 4: [link]
    March 23, 2019, 10:04:16 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "The New Archies" series finale, "Horray for Hollywood": [link]
    March 16, 2019, 10:59:51 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Winter" from Betty and Veronica, Vol. 4, No. 3: [link]
    March 09, 2019, 10:16:45 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: You could say that Beverly Hills 90210 was the "Riverdale" of its time -- '80s style,
    March 04, 2019, 03:31:12 pm
  • Archiecomicxfan215: R.I.P Luke Perry
    March 04, 2019, 03:09:34 pm
  • Mr.Lodge: Beverly Hills 90210 Star Luke Perry Dead at 52 from Massive Stroke
    March 04, 2019, 02:53:50 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: So let me see if I've got this right... The confusingly-titled Archie: The Married Life 10th Anniversary is NOT a sequel to any part of the 37-issue run of "The Married Life" in Life With Archie Magazine. But it IS a sequel (10 years on ) to ARCHIE #600 to 606, "Archie Marries".
    March 04, 2019, 02:00:25 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: Ironically Dan Parent was not really involved with the LIFE WITH ARCHIE series at all although he did do ARCHIE #606, the epilogue to "Archie Marries". It's a little confusing now, since this new series is yet another parallel universe where Archie Andrews didn't die... or maybe two of them.
    March 03, 2019, 01:19:06 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: After Archie Meets Batman '66, I was wondering whether that was it for long-form classic Archie stories. So it's nice to see The Married Life again, even if it's only a 6-issue epilogue.
    March 03, 2019, 01:16:09 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "The New Archies": "Take My Butler, Please": [link]
    March 02, 2019, 10:55:11 pm
  • Mr.Lodge: Per [link] - Archie: The Married Life 10th Anniversary #1 (of 6) lands in stores in August.
    March 01, 2019, 03:18:05 am
  • Mr.Lodge: Per Yahoo! - Luke Perry hospitalized after suffering a 'massive stroke,' according to reports
    March 01, 2019, 03:12:29 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "It's in Her Kiss" from Cheryl Blossom, No. 23: [link]
    February 24, 2019, 07:22:08 pm
  • Vegan Jughead: Happy Birthday BettyReggie!
    February 18, 2019, 07:40:11 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Taking Care of Business" from B&V #257: [link]
    February 17, 2019, 09:14:58 am
  • archiecomicscollector: Icon Heroes just announced Riverdale and Sabrina figures will debut later this year.
    February 15, 2019, 08:23:37 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Fall" from Betty and Veronica, Vol. 4, No. 2: [link]
    February 09, 2019, 10:04:42 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Faith, Hope and Cheryl!" from Cheryl Blossom Special, No. 2: [link]
    February 07, 2019, 08:32:08 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Congrats to Riverdale on its renewal! :)
    February 02, 2019, 09:03:31 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Brotherly Love" from Cheryl Blossom, No. 22: [link]
    January 26, 2019, 10:10:27 am

Preview: Jughead #7

Started by nuageo, June 10, 2016, 05:16:52 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

nuageo

I like the art of Derek Charm in this Jughead #7.  :smitten:













Archie Comics Collector(Kalell)

June 10, 2016, 05:45:00 pm #1 Last Edit: June 10, 2016, 05:54:19 pm by Archie Comics Collector
I absolutely love Derek Charm! He embodies what makes classic Archie so great, something Ericka Henderson never could. This is classic Archie! Look at the details, the way the characters are done and so many other fine details. I hope he continues on Jughead for a long time.  He also makes Jughead and Archie look very sexy and hot!!!!! He makes my Kevin look very hot as well!

BettyReggie

It's looks great, it's so colorful. I can't wait to get my copies & my digital copy.

irishmoxie

Yay a summer fun story! I'll definitely be reading this.

BettyReggie

Jughead actually looks cute . I hope Derek Charm stays the artist for the book.

DeCarlo Rules

Jughead's Uncle Herman owns a novelty shop now, huh? I wonder whether it's THIS Uncle Herman,

Or the OTHER Uncle Herman??

BettyReggie

June 11, 2016, 08:13:44 am #6 Last Edit: June 11, 2016, 09:32:49 am by BettyReggie
I think Jughead means the Uncle Herman from the 40's. He seemed really crazy. He made a lot of inventions.

invisifan

If we ever see him the hair should be a dead giveaway ...  ;D

Thrillho

Quote from: BettyReggie on June 10, 2016, 10:01:29 pm
Jughead actually looks cute . I hope Derek Charm stays the artist for the book.


I know!  :smitten: While Erica Henderson is a technically proficient artist, her style was not my thing and part of it was that the gang wasn't as attractive as I thought they should be.

Quote from: DeCarlo Rules on June 11, 2016, 03:34:31 am
Jughead's Uncle Herman owns a novelty shop now, huh? I wonder whether it's THIS Uncle Herman,

Or the OTHER Uncle Herman??



Are there two Uncle Herman's? One from Gladys and one from Forsythe II? I'm always creeped out when I see Jughead's parents in older stories, they look so much a like, one would think Jughead was a product of incest.

daren

I think they might be cousins.

DeCarlo Rules

June 13, 2016, 03:37:19 am #10 Last Edit: June 13, 2016, 03:39:52 am by DeCarlo Rules
Quote from: daren on June 13, 2016, 12:44:52 am
I think they might be cousins.


Uncle Herman Jones (wacky inventor) is the brother of Forsythe II.

Bingo Wilkin's Uncle Herman (ex-professional baseball player) is the brother of Wilma Wilkin and Gladys Jones, which also makes him Jughead's uncle. Bingo Wilkin is Jughead's cousin.

BettyReggie

I hope Bingo is in this reboot of Jughead. And what about Ethel? She has been MIA. I only saw her in one of new Archie issues. She was in crowd in the lunchroom. I hope we see Jellybean too. And what Jughead's Rival Trula Tywst. I miss them fighting.   

Thrillho

Quote from: BettyReggie on June 13, 2016, 05:25:20 am
I hope Bingo is in this reboot of Jughead. And what about Ethel? She has been MIA. I only saw her in one of new Archie issues. She was in crowd in the lunchroom. I hope we see Jellybean too. And what Jughead's Rival Trula Tywst. I miss them fighting.


I'm kind of meh on Ethel/Jughead. I like Ethel but I think her devotion is wasted on Jughead and it gets tiresome, and now that there is no ambiguity about Jughead's sexuality, it's unlikely anything will come of it.

Trula would be interesting though. Those two were always fun regardless of any romantic inclinations on their parts.

DeCarlo Rules

I had a few additional thoughts about this issue. While Derek Charm's artwork (which I'd been looking forward to seeing) made it the most artistically pleasing issue so far, I was left with a feeling of being underwhelmed, because of all the individual issues, it felt the least satisfactory to me as far as the writing was concerned.

One of the things I'd liked about the previous issues (but the artwork was turning me off to the series otherwise) was that it was kind of written like a modern update of JUGHEAD'S FANTASY, incorporating the bits with Jughead's video game episodes, Jughead's Time Police, the Man From R.I.V.E.R.D.A.L.E., and Captain Hero and the superteens into that framework. That fantasy/weird angle helped make up for what I felt was lacking in comedy, largely due to the decompressed storytelling.

What I DIDN'T like about #7 was that it was sort of ho-hum as far as the plot was concerned. Although there was a BIT of weirdness with the Mantle family of clones, mostly this issue's story struck me as though it was a standard 5-pager that had been expanded to fit an entire issue. The plot was pretty bare and uninteresting, and not much happened. Squished down into a 5-page story, it might have worked, but the expansion to fill an entire issue just resulted in padding the plot with teen angst, and destroyed whatever comedic timing it would have had as a compressed 5-pager.

I'm guessing that the people that liked it most, liked it because of the co-starring appearance of Archie, and the fact that this was probably the single issue that most felt like it fit into the universe of New Riverdale -- in other words, the people that liked it most were those people who are already extremely happy with the way the new Archie title is going.

I'm hoping the fantasy/weirdness returns along with Sabrina in issue #8.

spazaru

Quote from: DeCarlo Rules on June 30, 2016, 05:32:25 am
I had a few additional thoughts about this issue. While Derek Charm's artwork (which I'd been looking forward to seeing) made it the most artistically pleasing issue so far, I was left with a feeling of being underwhelmed, because of all the individual issues, it felt the least satisfactory to me as far as the writing was concerned.

One of the things I'd liked about the previous issues (but the artwork was turning me off to the series otherwise) was that it was kind of written like a modern update of JUGHEAD'S FANTASY, incorporating the bits with Jughead's video game episodes, Jughead's Time Police, the Man From R.I.V.E.R.D.A.L.E., and Captain Hero and the superteens into that framework. That fantasy/weird angle helped make up for what I felt was lacking in comedy, largely due to the decompressed storytelling.

What I DIDN'T like about #7 was that it was sort of ho-hum as far as the plot was concerned. Although there was a BIT of weirdness with the Mantle family of clones, mostly this issue's story struck me as though it was a standard 5-pager that had been expanded to fit an entire issue. The plot was pretty bare and uninteresting, and not much happened. Squished down into a 5-page story, it might have worked, but the expansion to fill an entire issue just resulted in padding the plot with teen angst, and destroyed whatever comedic timing it would have had as a compressed 5-pager.

I'm guessing that the people that liked it most, liked it because of the co-starring appearance of Archie, and the fact that this was probably the single issue that most felt like it fit into the universe of New Riverdale -- in other words, the people that liked it most were those people who are already extremely happy with the way the new Archie title is going.

I'm hoping the fantasy/weirdness returns along with Sabrina in issue #8.



I liked it most because of Archie's bangs.  Those were totally on point.


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.