collapse

* Random Image

Jughead01
Jughead01
Posted by: pamelacasas
Posted in album: Archie reboot

* Search


* Recent Topics

Some reviews. by DeCarlo Rules
[October 23, 2017, 05:42:36 AM]


What comics have you been reading? by DeCarlo Rules
[October 23, 2017, 03:39:36 AM]


Suppose if a live action comedy-drama series is based on an Archie Comics proper by terrence12
[October 23, 2017, 01:28:49 AM]


Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[October 22, 2017, 09:03:05 PM]


your pal Archie complete(?) wraparound chocklit shoppe variant cover by Ronny G
[October 22, 2017, 07:16:12 PM]


What have you done today? by Archiecomicxfan215
[October 21, 2017, 11:55:10 PM]


Library Books That You All Read by BettyReggie
[October 20, 2017, 07:34:34 AM]


Days we look foward to as Archie Fans. by BettyReggie
[October 20, 2017, 07:32:12 AM]


My mixed thought about Cosmo and Archie Action Brand by terrence12
[October 19, 2017, 01:26:56 AM]


What are you currently watching? by Archiecomicxfan215
[October 19, 2017, 12:00:38 AM]

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • DeCarlo Rules: Thanks, VJ. I did not know of Penny Peabody. If they're going to reprint Little Archie, I wish they'd reprint the longer, better (pre-1965) ones by Bolling. It seems like the longer stories allowed Bolling to create something more interesting out of LA, but there seems like some taboo against reprinting them in the digests.
    October 23, 2017, 09:46:35 PM
  • BettyReggie: I plan to watch Riverdale Espoide #1 & # 2 on The CW. Website later.
    October 23, 2017, 06:42:39 PM
  • Vegan Jughead: Penny Peabody was the girlfriend of Fangs Fogarty, the bully in the Little Archie comics.  I know you don't love those and even if you did read a lot of them, she's barely in them.  Really obscure.  Real Ms Grundy is dead I think.  This one stole her identity if I remember correctly.
    October 23, 2017, 12:23:28 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: ...and if Ms. Grundy wasn't Ms. Grundy, then who was she, and where is the real Ms. Grundy?
    October 23, 2017, 05:59:39 AM
  • DeCarlo Rules: Penny Peabody? ... original character created by the show's writers?
    October 23, 2017, 05:56:42 AM
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Archie's Weird Mysteries": "I Was a Teenage Vampire": [link]
    October 22, 2017, 09:04:01 PM
  • Ronny G: Actually yesterday. Today's Sunday, but I just got home from vacation today!
    October 22, 2017, 07:11:20 PM
  • Ronny G: Got my Betty and Veronica Halloween Annual digest in the mail today! YAY!
    October 22, 2017, 07:09:45 PM
  • Vegan Jughead: Hey but who needs Moose and Midge when you can have such prominent characters as Penny Peabody and Toni Topaz on the show?
    October 22, 2017, 10:30:03 AM
  • Vegan Jughead: Ms. Grundy would have been a total surprise but it turned out she wasn't really Ms. Grundy so I can let that go.  Killing Moose after barely seeing him last year and Midge after she was in literally one episode (and barely in it, at that) seems ridiculous.
    October 21, 2017, 08:31:51 AM
  • DeCarlo Rules: For a character franchise that's been running for 75+ years, ARCHIE really has a pretty small cast of regulars. Apart from the core 5 and the other 6 already mentioned, there's Cheryl & Jason and Kevin... and (filed under "extended supporting players") the teachers and parents. That's pretty much it. 14 teen characters and their parents & teachers. Sabrina and Josie and their supporting casts coexist in Riverdale, but they're really their own separate franchises. If your murder victims turn out to be Jinx Malloy and Cricket O'Dell, there's not much drama in it, beyond a shrug.
    October 21, 2017, 07:12:39 AM
  • DeCarlo Rules: Why Moose and Midge? Good question... let me know if you can think of any other ongoing characters who are more expendable, but still well-known. I guess the other likely candidates would be Dilton and Ethel, or Chuck and Nancy. I guess you could come up with a short list of other names, but are they really that well-known? Ms. Grundy was a total surprise!
    October 21, 2017, 06:45:30 AM
  • BettyReggie: Midtown Comics has the new January 2018 Comics. I preordered mine.
    October 20, 2017, 05:17:44 PM
  • CAPalace: Seriously though why are Moose and Midge like one of the first people to die whenever they are in the horror stories line and now Riverdale lol
    October 20, 2017, 12:36:49 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: I recently watched Geek House's reaction to the episode. They're very amateur. They often leave in false starts and farting around before the actual intro. Joey often struggles with the episode title, like he can't just look it up before they start recording. Joey has to announce that he's putting the video into full screen and then does a countdown. Cut all of that stuff out! In the new review, he and his wife didn't react at all to Moose and Midge being killed. It soon became apparent that they didn't even know it was Moose and Midge! Joey referred to them as the "drug addicts".
    October 20, 2017, 11:42:14 AM
  • Vegan Jughead: Oh, wow, that sucks.
    October 20, 2017, 09:21:57 AM
  • JonInIowaCity: I'm not saying that they're dead, but they're not listed as appearing in any future episodes in IMBD, while other minor characters are.
    October 20, 2017, 08:53:10 AM
  • Vegan Jughead: I don't think Moose and Midge are dead.  I hope not.  It's one thing to kill Jason Blossom.  Killing two characters who have been around for 68 years is something else entirely.
    October 20, 2017, 07:43:40 AM


Author Topic: Preview: Jughead #7  (Read 7165 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

nuageo

  • Guest
Preview: Jughead #7
« on: June 10, 2016, 05:16:52 PM »
I like the art of Derek Charm in this Jughead #7.  :smitten:













Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2016, 05:45:00 PM »
I absolutely love Derek Charm! He embodies what makes classic Archie so great, something Ericka Henderson never could. This is classic Archie! Look at the details, the way the characters are done and so many other fine details. I hope he continues on Jughead for a long time.  He also makes Jughead and Archie look very sexy and hot!!!!! He makes my Kevin look very hot as well!
« Last Edit: June 10, 2016, 05:54:19 PM by Archie Comics Collector »

BettyReggie

Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2016, 06:07:20 PM »
It's looks great, it's so colorful. I can't wait to get my copies & my digital copy.

irishmoxie

Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2016, 09:53:29 PM »
Yay a summer fun story! I'll definitely be reading this.

BettyReggie

Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2016, 10:01:29 PM »
Jughead actually looks cute . I hope Derek Charm stays the artist for the book.

DeCarlo Rules

Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #5 on: June 11, 2016, 03:34:31 AM »
Jughead's Uncle Herman owns a novelty shop now, huh? I wonder whether it's THIS Uncle Herman,

Or the OTHER Uncle Herman??

BettyReggie

Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #6 on: June 11, 2016, 08:13:44 AM »
I think Jughead means the Uncle Herman from the 40's. He seemed really crazy. He made a lot of inventions.
« Last Edit: June 11, 2016, 09:32:49 AM by BettyReggie »

invisifan

Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #7 on: June 11, 2016, 09:30:55 AM »
If we ever see him the hair should be a dead giveaway …  ;D

Thrillho

Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #8 on: June 11, 2016, 01:48:49 PM »
Jughead actually looks cute . I hope Derek Charm stays the artist for the book.

I know!  :smitten: While Erica Henderson is a technically proficient artist, her style was not my thing and part of it was that the gang wasn't as attractive as I thought they should be.

Jughead's Uncle Herman owns a novelty shop now, huh? I wonder whether it's THIS Uncle Herman,

Or the OTHER Uncle Herman??


Are there two Uncle Herman's? One from Gladys and one from Forsythe II? I'm always creeped out when I see Jughead's parents in older stories, they look so much a like, one would think Jughead was a product of incest.

daren

Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #9 on: June 13, 2016, 12:44:52 AM »
I think they might be cousins.

DeCarlo Rules

Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #10 on: June 13, 2016, 03:37:19 AM »
I think they might be cousins.

Uncle Herman Jones (wacky inventor) is the brother of Forsythe II.

Bingo Wilkin's Uncle Herman (ex-professional baseball player) is the brother of Wilma Wilkin and Gladys Jones, which also makes him Jughead's uncle. Bingo Wilkin is Jughead's cousin.
« Last Edit: June 13, 2016, 03:39:52 AM by DeCarlo Rules »

BettyReggie

Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #11 on: June 13, 2016, 05:25:20 AM »
I hope Bingo is in this reboot of Jughead. And what about Ethel? She has been MIA. I only saw her in one of new Archie issues. She was in crowd in the lunchroom. I hope we see Jellybean too. And what Jughead's Rival Trula Tywst. I miss them fighting.   

Thrillho

Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #12 on: June 13, 2016, 02:23:54 PM »
I hope Bingo is in this reboot of Jughead. And what about Ethel? She has been MIA. I only saw her in one of new Archie issues. She was in crowd in the lunchroom. I hope we see Jellybean too. And what Jughead's Rival Trula Tywst. I miss them fighting.

I'm kind of meh on Ethel/Jughead. I like Ethel but I think her devotion is wasted on Jughead and it gets tiresome, and now that there is no ambiguity about Jughead's sexuality, it's unlikely anything will come of it.

Trula would be interesting though. Those two were always fun regardless of any romantic inclinations on their parts.

DeCarlo Rules

Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #13 on: June 30, 2016, 05:32:25 AM »
I had a few additional thoughts about this issue. While Derek Charm's artwork (which I'd been looking forward to seeing) made it the most artistically pleasing issue so far, I was left with a feeling of being underwhelmed, because of all the individual issues, it felt the least satisfactory to me as far as the writing was concerned.

One of the things I'd liked about the previous issues (but the artwork was turning me off to the series otherwise) was that it was kind of written like a modern update of JUGHEAD'S FANTASY, incorporating the bits with Jughead's video game episodes, Jughead's Time Police, the Man From R.I.V.E.R.D.A.L.E., and Captain Hero and the superteens into that framework. That fantasy/weird angle helped make up for what I felt was lacking in comedy, largely due to the decompressed storytelling.

What I DIDN'T like about #7 was that it was sort of ho-hum as far as the plot was concerned. Although there was a BIT of weirdness with the Mantle family of clones, mostly this issue's story struck me as though it was a standard 5-pager that had been expanded to fit an entire issue. The plot was pretty bare and uninteresting, and not much happened. Squished down into a 5-page story, it might have worked, but the expansion to fill an entire issue just resulted in padding the plot with teen angst, and destroyed whatever comedic timing it would have had as a compressed 5-pager.

I'm guessing that the people that liked it most, liked it because of the co-starring appearance of Archie, and the fact that this was probably the single issue that most felt like it fit into the universe of New Riverdale -- in other words, the people that liked it most were those people who are already extremely happy with the way the new Archie title is going.

I'm hoping the fantasy/weirdness returns along with Sabrina in issue #8.

spazaru

  • Guest
Re: Preview: Jughead #7
« Reply #14 on: June 30, 2016, 06:57:49 AM »
I had a few additional thoughts about this issue. While Derek Charm's artwork (which I'd been looking forward to seeing) made it the most artistically pleasing issue so far, I was left with a feeling of being underwhelmed, because of all the individual issues, it felt the least satisfactory to me as far as the writing was concerned.

One of the things I'd liked about the previous issues (but the artwork was turning me off to the series otherwise) was that it was kind of written like a modern update of JUGHEAD'S FANTASY, incorporating the bits with Jughead's video game episodes, Jughead's Time Police, the Man From R.I.V.E.R.D.A.L.E., and Captain Hero and the superteens into that framework. That fantasy/weird angle helped make up for what I felt was lacking in comedy, largely due to the decompressed storytelling.

What I DIDN'T like about #7 was that it was sort of ho-hum as far as the plot was concerned. Although there was a BIT of weirdness with the Mantle family of clones, mostly this issue's story struck me as though it was a standard 5-pager that had been expanded to fit an entire issue. The plot was pretty bare and uninteresting, and not much happened. Squished down into a 5-page story, it might have worked, but the expansion to fill an entire issue just resulted in padding the plot with teen angst, and destroyed whatever comedic timing it would have had as a compressed 5-pager.

I'm guessing that the people that liked it most, liked it because of the co-starring appearance of Archie, and the fact that this was probably the single issue that most felt like it fit into the universe of New Riverdale -- in other words, the people that liked it most were those people who are already extremely happy with the way the new Archie title is going.

I'm hoping the fantasy/weirdness returns along with Sabrina in issue #8.


I liked it most because of Archie's bangs.  Those were totally on point.

 


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.
Live Support