collapse

* Random Image

clothesencounter7
clothesencounter7
Posted by: daren
Posted in album: daren

* Search


* Recent Topics

What comics have you been reading? by rusty
[December 16, 2018, 03:35:47 pm]


Latest Hauls, what did you buy? by archiecomicscollector
[December 15, 2018, 11:29:44 pm]


What have you done today? by BettyReggie
[December 15, 2018, 12:48:51 pm]


What are you currently watching? by BettyReggie
[December 15, 2018, 12:39:47 pm]


Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[December 14, 2018, 04:52:58 pm]


Library Books That You All Read by BettyReggie
[December 13, 2018, 06:43:04 pm]


Days we look foward to as Archie Fans. by BettyReggie
[December 12, 2018, 03:58:53 pm]


Features by Oldiesmann
[December 07, 2018, 11:49:38 pm]


Sears/Kmart by SAGG
[November 20, 2018, 06:47:00 am]


New Sabrina comic book miniseries (non-horror) by DeCarlo Rules
[November 16, 2018, 01:28:13 am]

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Here We Come a Caroling!" from Cheryl Blossom, No. 19: [link]
    December 14, 2018, 04:53:47 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "'Ti$ the Sea$on" from Cheryl Blossom, No. 9: [link]
    December 02, 2018, 06:14:22 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Thanks. Yeah, we don't know what happened to him. Possibly a stomach problem of some kind.
    November 29, 2018, 08:36:52 am
  • rusty: Sorry for your loss.  7 years is pretty young for a cat.
    November 28, 2018, 11:49:53 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: R.I.P., my sweet, beloved cat, Misiu (2011-2018). :'(
    November 28, 2018, 08:50:46 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "The New Archies": "Making of Mr. Righteous": [link]
    November 24, 2018, 03:59:01 pm
  • Vegan Jughead: Happy Thanksgiving, y'all!
    November 22, 2018, 07:30:50 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Skateboardin' Blossom" from Cheryl Blossom #26: [link]
    November 18, 2018, 06:22:18 pm
  • Oldiesmann: RIP Stan Lee :( [link]
    November 12, 2018, 02:04:24 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Fashion Emergency" from Cherl Blossom #26: [link]
    November 11, 2018, 07:05:28 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Internet outage for nearly 24 hours, but I'm back now. :)
    November 09, 2018, 05:37:49 pm
  • rusty: That is hilarious.
    November 04, 2018, 02:36:07 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: The funniest thing I've seen all year (and maybe ever)... [link]  :2funny:
    November 04, 2018, 07:12:01 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: It's crazy that ACP hasn't reprinted those 2 issues as a double-size one-shot. Or the lead story in a TP collection of vampire stories (including "Twilite" and others).
    November 04, 2018, 03:21:35 am
  • irishmoxie: That's crazy about those Betty and Veronica issues being worth so much. They're only about 6 years old. I'm pretty sure I have copies of them.
    November 04, 2018, 01:36:00 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: On a relatated note, the real FIRST Vampironica appeared in Larry Welz' underground comic Cherry Poptart #1 [link]. That can be had right now, CGCed at 9.4, at the Buy-It-Now price of $280 on ebay. Although the book had several subsequent printings, only the first printing ($2 cover price) contains the Vampironica story. Much, much scarcer than B&V #261 & 262, but then far fewer people seem to be aware of its existence. It may not be the same Vampironica as the one that appears in her own comic book from ACP, but then you can easily make the argument that neither is the Vampironica from B&V 261-262.
    November 04, 2018, 01:15:09 am
  • rusty: Crazy.  I obviously missed that back then.
    November 03, 2018, 10:06:11 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: Yes, I mentioned this a while back somewhere around the time Vampironica #1 was first solicted or shipped. I even mentioned it to Dan Parent and told him if he still had copies he should get them CGC'ed.
    November 03, 2018, 04:33:03 pm
  • rusty: Apparently Betty and Veronica #261 and 262 (1987 series) are popular now due to Vampironica.  Somebody actually purchased a copy of #261 for $299 on ebay recently.
    November 03, 2018, 01:41:51 pm
  • archiecomicscollector: I've been watching Chilling Adventures of Sabrina on Netflix...so no Riverdale means more time in Greendale :)
    November 01, 2018, 10:17:35 pm


Author Topic: Riverdale Reviewed  (Read 75517 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Tuxedo Mark

Riverdale Reviewed
« on: August 21, 2016, 03:35:40 pm »
I have created a new weekly blog dedicated to reviewing episodes of Archie television series - namely "Riverdale" (once it premieres), "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries". Those will be the three primary series. In addition, I'll touch on various other series without reviewing them in full and also take on the 1960s pilot, the 1970s special, the 1990 movie, Jugman, and the Josie movie.

This blog is in the style of various other episode-review blogs, such as Full House Reviewed, Saved by the Bell...Reviewed, ALF Reviews, Ranger Retrospective, Warp Speed to Nonsense, and my own Hey Dude Reviewed (which just finished).

Warning for language:

http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
BV-kiss-small
Riverdale Reviewed
http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
Every episode of "Riverdale", "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries" reviewed.
My digital wish list
https://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/14FS742SI1R5I

Tuxedo Mark

Re: Riverdale Reviewed
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2016, 05:45:16 pm »
The first review is up: an episode of the old-time radio show.

Next week might be the 1964 pilot - if I can get a hold of a full copy in time (please let me know if you have it). Otherwise, I'll review a Filmation episode.
BV-kiss-small
Riverdale Reviewed
http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
Every episode of "Riverdale", "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries" reviewed.
My digital wish list
https://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/14FS742SI1R5I

Tuxedo Mark

Re: Riverdale Reviewed
« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2016, 01:52:48 pm »
Another new review is up. This time, I'm taking a look at the Filmation cartoons, specifically the first segment of the first episode.
BV-kiss-small
Riverdale Reviewed
http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
Every episode of "Riverdale", "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries" reviewed.
My digital wish list
https://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/14FS742SI1R5I

Tuxedo Mark

Re: Riverdale Reviewed
« Reply #3 on: September 07, 2016, 12:01:46 pm »
The new review is up: the Filmation Sabrina segment, "Hiccups".
BV-kiss-small
Riverdale Reviewed
http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
Every episode of "Riverdale", "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries" reviewed.
My digital wish list
https://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/14FS742SI1R5I

Tuxedo Mark

Re: Riverdale Reviewed
« Reply #4 on: September 14, 2016, 03:57:13 pm »
Meow. :)
BV-kiss-small
Riverdale Reviewed
http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
Every episode of "Riverdale", "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries" reviewed.
My digital wish list
https://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/14FS742SI1R5I

Tuxedo Mark

Re: Riverdale Reviewed
« Reply #5 on: September 21, 2016, 05:48:00 pm »
I just reviewed Cheryl's first two comic appearances. There's also now a handy Reviews page on the blog with links to all of the reviews.
BV-kiss-small
Riverdale Reviewed
http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
Every episode of "Riverdale", "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries" reviewed.
My digital wish list
https://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/14FS742SI1R5I

Tuxedo Mark

Re: Riverdale Reviewed
« Reply #6 on: September 28, 2016, 01:41:46 pm »
I've just reviewed "The Visitor", the first story segment of "The New Archies".
BV-kiss-small
Riverdale Reviewed
http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
Every episode of "Riverdale", "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries" reviewed.
My digital wish list
https://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/14FS742SI1R5I

steveinthecity

Re: Riverdale Reviewed
« Reply #7 on: September 29, 2016, 12:20:05 am »
Did Dilton ever appear in the New Archie's cartoon?  I was wondering as well about the introduction of Eugene who seemed to replace Dilton as TuxedoMark mentions.  I know Eugene was in the comic book, but not sure if he ever appeared with Dilton in the comics.
Comics!

Tuxedo Mark

Re: Riverdale Reviewed
« Reply #8 on: September 29, 2016, 01:47:31 pm »
Dilton wasn't on the show. As for whether Dilton and Eugene interacted in the comics or not, you'd have to track down the New Archies comics and read them. It wouldn't surprise me if they included Dilton. Alter all, Cheryl appeared in the Archie's Weird Mysteries comic, even though she never appeared on the show.
BV-kiss-small
Riverdale Reviewed
http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
Every episode of "Riverdale", "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries" reviewed.
My digital wish list
https://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/14FS742SI1R5I

steveinthecity

Re: Riverdale Reviewed
« Reply #9 on: October 01, 2016, 03:55:51 am »
Dilton wasn't on the show. As for whether Dilton and Eugene interacted in the comics or not, you'd have to track down the New Archies comics and read them. It wouldn't surprise me if they included Dilton. Alter all, Cheryl appeared in the Archie's Weird Mysteries comic, even though she never appeared on the show.
Thanks for the reply.  I was uncertain if Dilton was still in the comic or if he had been replaced in both the animated series and comic series. 


I wonder if the kid wearing the purple scarf on the cover of #3 is supposed to be Dilton?
Comics!

DeCarlo Rules

Re: Riverdale Reviewed
« Reply #10 on: October 01, 2016, 05:48:49 am »
I wonder if the kid wearing the purple scarf on the cover of #3 is supposed to be Dilton?

Seems doubtful, given that the scene includes a number of random bystanders waiting to see Santa. The kid in question doesn't even look particularly like Dilton, apart from having the same style glasses frames (which applies to Eugene as well). In fact, I'm pretty sure that kid with the pink hat and sweater is supposed to be Asian-American. I would actually be surprised if Eugene made any appearances in stories in the regular Archie comic books not based on the animated series.
« Last Edit: October 01, 2016, 05:52:00 am by DeCarlo Rules »

Tuxedo Mark

Re: Riverdale Reviewed
« Reply #11 on: October 05, 2016, 05:41:32 pm »
New review: The New Archies: "Ballot Box Blues"
BV-kiss-small
Riverdale Reviewed
http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
Every episode of "Riverdale", "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries" reviewed.
My digital wish list
https://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/14FS742SI1R5I

Tuxedo Mark

Re: Riverdale Reviewed
« Reply #12 on: October 12, 2016, 09:32:40 pm »
New review: The New Archies: "Last Laugh"
BV-kiss-small
Riverdale Reviewed
http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
Every episode of "Riverdale", "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries" reviewed.
My digital wish list
https://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/14FS742SI1R5I

BettyReggie

Re: Riverdale Reviewed
« Reply #13 on: October 12, 2016, 10:47:33 pm »
I wish we were told a date of when the tv show RiverDale going actually going start. I heard January is may when it happens.

Tuxedo Mark

Re: Riverdale Reviewed
« Reply #14 on: October 19, 2016, 01:41:41 pm »
This week, I'm reviewing a comic book story, "A Date With a Dummy", from Archie Comics Digest Magazine, No. 102 (June, 1990).

This was my first Archie comic, and so this was my first Archie story.
BV-kiss-small
Riverdale Reviewed
http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
Every episode of "Riverdale", "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries" reviewed.
My digital wish list
https://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/14FS742SI1R5I

 


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.
Live Support