Archie Comics Fan Forum

Everything Archie => All About Archie => Topic started by: Tuxedo Mark on August 21, 2016, 03:35:40 PM

Title: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on August 21, 2016, 03:35:40 PM
I have created a new weekly blog dedicated to reviewing episodes of Archie television series - namely "Riverdale" (once it premieres), "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries". Those will be the three primary series. In addition, I'll touch on various other series without reviewing them in full and also take on the 1960s pilot, the 1970s special, the 1990 movie, Jugman, and the Josie movie.

This blog is in the style of various other episode-review blogs, such as Full House Reviewed, Saved by the Bell...Reviewed, ALF Reviews, Ranger Retrospective, Warp Speed to Nonsense, and my own Hey Dude Reviewed (which just finished).

Warning for language:

http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on August 24, 2016, 05:45:16 PM
The first review is up: an episode of the old-time radio show.

Next week might be the 1964 pilot - if I can get a hold of a full copy in time (please let me know if you have it). Otherwise, I'll review a Filmation episode.
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on August 31, 2016, 01:52:48 PM
Another new review is up. This time, I'm taking a look at the Filmation cartoons, specifically the first segment of the first episode.
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on September 07, 2016, 12:01:46 PM
The new review is up: the Filmation Sabrina segment, "Hiccups".
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on September 14, 2016, 03:57:13 PM
Meow. :)
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on September 21, 2016, 05:48:00 PM
I just reviewed Cheryl's first two comic appearances. There's also now a handy Reviews page on the blog with links to all of the reviews.
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on September 28, 2016, 01:41:46 PM
I've just reviewed "The Visitor", the first story segment of "The New Archies".
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: steveinthecity on September 29, 2016, 12:20:05 AM
Did Dilton ever appear in the New Archie's cartoon?  I was wondering as well about the introduction of Eugene who seemed to replace Dilton as TuxedoMark mentions.  I know Eugene was in the comic book, but not sure if he ever appeared with Dilton in the comics.
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on September 29, 2016, 01:47:31 PM
Dilton wasn't on the show. As for whether Dilton and Eugene interacted in the comics or not, you'd have to track down the New Archies comics and read them. It wouldn't surprise me if they included Dilton. Alter all, Cheryl appeared in the Archie's Weird Mysteries comic, even though she never appeared on the show.
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: steveinthecity on October 01, 2016, 03:55:51 AM
Dilton wasn't on the show. As for whether Dilton and Eugene interacted in the comics or not, you'd have to track down the New Archies comics and read them. It wouldn't surprise me if they included Dilton. Alter all, Cheryl appeared in the Archie's Weird Mysteries comic, even though she never appeared on the show.
Thanks for the reply.  I was uncertain if Dilton was still in the comic or if he had been replaced in both the animated series and comic series. 


I wonder if the kid wearing the purple scarf on the cover of #3 is supposed to be Dilton?
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: DeCarlo Rules on October 01, 2016, 05:48:49 AM
I wonder if the kid wearing the purple scarf on the cover of #3 is supposed to be Dilton?

Seems doubtful, given that the scene includes a number of random bystanders waiting to see Santa. The kid in question doesn't even look particularly like Dilton, apart from having the same style glasses frames (which applies to Eugene as well). In fact, I'm pretty sure that kid with the pink hat and sweater is supposed to be Asian-American. I would actually be surprised if Eugene made any appearances in stories in the regular Archie comic books not based on the animated series.
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on October 05, 2016, 05:41:32 PM
New review: The New Archies: "Ballot Box Blues"
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on October 12, 2016, 09:32:40 PM
New review: The New Archies: "Last Laugh"
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: BettyReggie on October 12, 2016, 10:47:33 PM
I wish we were told a date of when the tv show RiverDale going actually going start. I heard January is may when it happens.
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on October 19, 2016, 01:41:41 PM
This week, I'm reviewing a comic book story, "A Date With a Dummy", from Archie Comics Digest Magazine, No. 102 (June, 1990).

This was my first Archie comic, and so this was my first Archie story.
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on October 26, 2016, 07:49:07 PM
New review: The New Archies: "Thief of Hearts"
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on November 02, 2016, 05:39:04 PM
This week, I'm reviewing a "Betty's Diary" story from 1988, "In Search of Change".

Also, I reorganized the Reviews page. They're now listed three different ways: by review publication date, by category (radio, a certain TV series, or comics), and by story publication order.
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on November 09, 2016, 08:56:33 PM
This week, I'm reviewing "Bad News Boyfriend", the second "Riverdale High" novel from 1991.
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on November 16, 2016, 08:03:25 PM
This week, I'm reviewing the first Archie segment of "Robot Chicken", "Archie's Final Destination".
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on November 23, 2016, 09:29:13 PM
This week, I'm reviewing the second Archie segment of "Robot Chicken", "Are You the One? Archie Edition".
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on December 01, 2016, 05:49:43 PM
I'm sorry that this is a bit late. This week, I'm reviewing the "Riverdale" fan movie trailer from 2011.
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on December 07, 2016, 06:28:54 PM
This week, I'm reviewing a three-part Cheryl comic story from 1999 called "Friendly Fire".
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on December 15, 2016, 01:58:25 PM
I didn't mention it yesterday, but a new review is up: "Bad Boy Trouble!", the first Dynamic New Look story from 2007.
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on December 23, 2016, 09:39:56 PM
A little late this week, but I finally review the 1990 movie, "Archie: To Riverdale and Back Again".

Please note that this is a massively huge post, featuring over 600 screencaps plus other images, and I go into great detail, so you might wanna grab some snacks and drinks before you sit down to read it.
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on January 06, 2017, 09:30:33 PM
I'm sorry that this is nine days late, but I've reviewed the 1996 Sabrina movie. This is another massive post with over 400 screencaps.
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Justnobody42 on January 07, 2017, 11:11:46 PM
Did Dilton ever appear in the New Archie's cartoon?  I was wondering as well about the introduction of Eugene who seemed to replace Dilton as TuxedoMark mentions.  I know Eugene was in the comic book, but not sure if he ever appeared with Dilton in the comics.
I think Eugene was invented because, according to the creators, they wanted at least some diversity but had trouble fitting in Chuck with the group dynamics.
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on January 12, 2017, 06:10:29 PM
A day late, but I review the first episode of the 1996 live-action Sabrina series, the creatively-titled "Pilot".  :D

I also updated the reviews list for the first time since I posted "In Search of Change" (and the second time overall), giving you one page from which you can jump to any review.
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on January 20, 2017, 07:59:12 PM
Two days late, but I've reviewed the first episode of "Archie's Weird Mysteries", "Attack of the Killer Spuds".
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on January 26, 2017, 06:47:32 PM
This is a bit late, but I've written up a history of Archie comics on radio, TV, and film and have taken a look at the actors on "Riverdale".
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Alexandra Cabot on January 27, 2017, 09:03:18 PM
I don't think this thread has had nearly enough bumping by Tuxedo Kamen, so here's another one.  Great review.  I didn't read it.
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on February 01, 2017, 07:10:17 PM
It turns out that I can't review "Riverdale" at the moment, because the file format of the episodes is incompatible with the video editor that I use to watch episodes and take screen captures.

So I'm reviewing a Betty and Veronica story from 1990 called "Way Out West".
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on February 08, 2017, 05:34:30 PM
This week, I'm reviewing a 2007 Betty and Veronica story called "Westward, Huh?".
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on February 16, 2017, 05:07:44 PM
A bit late this week, but I've reviewed the 2007 comic story, "Civil Chore".
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on February 22, 2017, 04:12:02 PM
New reviews: the 2007 comic stories, "Always on Our Mind" and "Miss-Cast!"
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on March 08, 2017, 09:56:57 AM
There was no review last week, because my DSL modem gave out, so I started doing non-Internet things, and then there wasn't enough time to get a review done once I was back online.

This week, I'm reviewing "Cheryl and Cheryl Alike!", a new Classic Archie story from early last year.
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on March 25, 2017, 02:22:17 PM
I'm sorry that this is so late. I've reviewed the "Sabrina's Secret Life" episode, "Lather, Rinse, Repent".
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on March 29, 2017, 06:15:31 PM
This week, I've reviewed Archie, Vol. 2, No. 13 (Cheryl's introduction into New Riverdale continuity).
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on April 05, 2017, 08:18:20 PM
This week, I'm reviewing Archie, Vol. 2, No. 14.
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on April 12, 2017, 08:04:23 PM
This week, I'm reviewing "The New Archies" segment, "I Gotta Be Me or Is It You?".
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on April 19, 2017, 08:38:40 PM
This week, I review "The New Archies" segment, "Sir Jughead Jones".
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on April 27, 2017, 08:25:40 PM
A bit late, but this week I review "The New Archies" segment, "The Awful Truth".
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on May 03, 2017, 11:18:24 PM
This week, I review the 2007 comic story, "Betty and Veronica's Scrapbook".
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on May 11, 2017, 08:29:51 PM
This week, I'm reviewing "The New Archies" segment, "Jughead Predicts".
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on May 17, 2017, 09:25:38 PM
This week, I'm reviewing an old "Betty's Diary" story, "Telling It Like It Is". It seems to be the second appearance of adult Polly.
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on May 26, 2017, 11:27:47 PM
Late this week, but I reviewed the "Sabrina: Secrets of a Teenage Witch" episode, "Ice Giant for Tea".
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on May 31, 2017, 05:20:32 PM
This week, I review "The New Archies" segment, "Future Shock".
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on June 07, 2017, 05:24:12 PM
This week, I review a "Betty's Diary" story from 1988, "With Friends Like These". It's Betty's examination of her friendship with Veronica.
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on June 14, 2017, 07:36:32 PM
I've got a treat for you this week: I've reviewed the 1964 "Archie" pilot.
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on June 21, 2017, 06:20:51 PM
This week, I review the Betty's Diary story, "Stress Struck".
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on June 30, 2017, 07:46:39 PM
I'm sorry that this is late. This week, I have another special treat for you: a review of the 1978 variety special!
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on July 06, 2017, 07:25:10 PM
A bit late, but I'm reviewing "The New Archies" segment, "Stealing the Show".
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on July 19, 2017, 06:18:10 PM
I didn't have time to post the notice last week, but I reviewed "The New Archies" segment, "Hamburger Helpers".

This week, I reviewed "The New Archies" segment, "Goodby Ms. Grundy".
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on July 27, 2017, 05:08:29 PM
A bit late, but I've reviewed "The Road Worrier", the lead story in Your Pal Archie #1.
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on July 30, 2017, 09:05:29 PM
I decided to do a bonus post - an essay about the value and expected life of the monthly (floppy) comic book.
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on August 02, 2017, 08:58:02 PM
This week, I review "The New Archies" segment, "Red to the Rescue".
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on August 09, 2017, 09:42:39 PM
This week, I review the "Archie's Weird Mysteries" episode, "Driven to Distraction".
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on August 16, 2017, 08:10:39 PM
This week, I review the "Archie's Weird Mysteries" episode, "Me! Me! Me!".
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on August 23, 2017, 08:17:37 PM
This week, I review "The New Archies" segment, "Jughead the Jinx".
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: steveinthecity on August 25, 2017, 08:19:03 PM
Hey Tuxedo Mark, just wanted to let you know I do read your reviews.  I rarely watch the animated stuff, but I do like seeing the screen shots and hearing your comments. Thanks for keeping your review page going all this time.  :)
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on August 27, 2017, 09:13:02 AM
Hey Tuxedo Mark, just wanted to let you know I do read your reviews.  I rarely watch the animated stuff, but I do like seeing the screen shots and hearing your comments. Thanks for keeping your review page going all this time.  :)

Thanks for reading! :)
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on August 31, 2017, 05:46:19 PM
A bit late, but this week's review is S1E01 of "Riverdale", "Chapter One: The River's Edge".
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on September 06, 2017, 09:21:13 PM
This week, I review "The New Archies" segment, "Telegraph, Telephone, Tell Reggie".
Title: Re: Riverdale Reviewed
Post by: Tuxedo Mark on September 13, 2017, 08:30:24 PM
Due to Hurricane Irma knocking out power for nearly two days this week, I had to substitute a quickie comic book review this week. I opened a storage box and reviewed the first comic that I found, which is Betty and Veronica Spectacular #78 from 2007.