• Welcome to Archie Comics Fan Forum. Please login or sign up.
 
collapse

Search


Recent Topics

Shoutbox

  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Gimme Some Space!" from Betty and Veronica Double Digest, No. 274: [link]
    June 21, 2019, 09:28:19 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: Bring back the Jughead digests! There really does need to be an ongoing Jughead comic.
    June 21, 2019, 04:03:45 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Beach Party Blossom" from World of Archie Double Digest, No. 69: [link]
    June 13, 2019, 04:23:35 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Hot Stuff", a 1980s Cheryl story from AGB&V, No. 328: [link]
    June 12, 2019, 03:06:38 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: Jughead's Time Police #1 is out next week, along with Archie & Sabrina Part 1 (#705). Looking forward to the former, while my interest in ARCHIE has waned since #700... I guess I'll still read it just to see what they do with Sabrina, but the plot already seems too padded-out for my liking.
    June 05, 2019, 06:17:30 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: Jughead
    June 05, 2019, 06:13:05 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Graduation" from Betty and Veronica, No. 5: [link]
    June 03, 2019, 08:17:31 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: Collectively, it seems like they've put out more horror titles than anything else since cancelling the classic ARCHIE and B&V titles, Maybe it's just easier to do those than to come up with a new spin on an all-ages Archie title.
    May 31, 2019, 06:28:42 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: @ darkmark -- That's the unavoidable conclusion, based on the fact that since AFTERLIFE WITH ARCHIE and CHILLING ADVENTURES OF SABRINA went M.I.A., ACP has been working overtime to keep new horror titles coming down the pipeline. First JUGHEAD THE HUNGER, then VAMPIRONICA, then BLOSSOMS 666,...
    May 31, 2019, 06:25:06 pm
  • Vegan Jughead: Afterlife With Archie and Chilling Adventures of Sabrina were excellent I thought and I'm not a horror fan. The subsequent horror titles haven't grabbed me as much. 
    May 31, 2019, 08:34:59 am
  • Oldiesmann: I have no desire to read any of the horror comics myself. I miss the classic style
    May 30, 2019, 09:43:03 pm
  • darkmark: Does Archie really think we're jonesing for horror comics featuring the Archie gang?  I'm not.
    May 26, 2019, 10:05:58 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Over the Edge", a 1980s Jason story from Archie, No. 324: [link]
    May 25, 2019, 10:09:06 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Which is Rich", a 1980s Cheryl story from Archie, No. 323: [link]
    May 20, 2019, 07:49:01 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Totally awesome that Cheryl came to Betty's rescue.
    May 16, 2019, 11:20:40 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: I had to wait until this morning to watch it.
    May 16, 2019, 11:20:06 am
  • archiecomicscollector: Did you watch Riverdale's season finale tonight? Season 4 is expected to air in October.
    May 15, 2019, 10:06:41 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "The Fears of a Clown" from Archie & Friends, No. 98: [link]
    May 14, 2019, 10:48:15 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: And a collage: [link]
    May 09, 2019, 08:41:23 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: Official pic: [link]
    May 09, 2019, 08:36:13 am

So I bought Archie Archives Vol. 1 and ...

Started by Terry1, September 08, 2018, 05:32:41 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

Terry1

can't believe how much I love these old stories.  These are awesome.  I love being transported back to 1941.  Did you know that "Dandruff!" used to be an epithet?  Me neither.

I love Bob Montana's artwork.  I love Jughead's sour, ugly face.  I love the CARNAGE that ensues when Archie mistakenly reports that Mr. Weatherbee says tests are bogus.  I love Archie starting an escort service (!!!) which of course the hideous crone Ms. Grundy uses right away.   

I love Archie's absurd-on-its-face assertion that Jon Goldwater created Archie but the "character's likenesses" were created by Bob Montana.  I don't love the amazingly overt racism - in fact it's gross - but I do appreciate that Archie didn't try to whitewash or censor these things. 

I love the slipcase.  Dark Horse did a nice production job.  The failure to note the creators, or create an index, or even tell you which specific issues specific stories appeared in, is quite a failing.  But I guess they fixed that in the softcover versions.

In short, it was a great way for someone who has always loved these characters, but never spent much time with their very earliest incarnations, to rediscover my affection for them.

DeCarlo Rules

Quote from: Terry1 on September 08, 2018, 05:32:41 pm
The failure to note the creators, or create an index, or even tell you which specific issues specific stories appeared in, is quite a failing.  But I guess they fixed that in the softcover versions.


Here you go, if you want to print them out.



Terry1


ASS-P

...Did the book include any of the non-Archie filler material that the first couple of issues of the eponymous title would have had? I suppose not.

DeCarlo Rules

June 20, 2019, 10:34:38 am #4 Last Edit: June 20, 2019, 10:39:43 am by DeCarlo Rules
Quote from: ASS-P on June 18, 2019, 10:07:29 pm...Did the book include any of the non-Archie filler material that the first couple of issues of the eponymous title would have had? I suppose not.

Archie was the filler beginning in PEP 22. THE SHIELD was the star (and the stripes) of PEP. Clearly, this "Archie" was part of a diabolical foreign plot to get rid of The Shield... instigated by some obviously very patient spies.

Uh, I think the whole point here was to reprint ALL the Archie stories and ONLY the Archie stories, and leave out everything else from the comics that those stories appeared in.

ASS-P

...Okay, I guess you are saying - though not actually spelling it out - that the non-Archie material in ARCHIE #1 that is shown on the famous cover, for example, is not included. Okay. I rather expected that.

DeCarlo Rules

June 21, 2019, 03:52:44 pm #6 Last Edit: June 21, 2019, 04:11:00 pm by DeCarlo Rules
Quote from: ASS-P on June 20, 2019, 11:18:57 am...Okay, I guess you are saying - though not actually spelling it out - that the non-Archie material in ARCHIE #1 that is shown on the famous cover, for example, is not included. Okay. I rather expected that.

Well, that's the way DC did it when they reprinted the first DC Archives (they were the first publisher to do comics "Archives") of old, OLD stories that originally appeared in comic books that contained multiple different features. And I think that's what people largely expect to find in an "Archives" volume... JUST the stories of the character(s) named in the title of the book. I can't tell you how peeved I was when I purchased Archives collections from Dark Horse of the Green Lama and (the original, Golden Age) Daredevil... only to discover that what I bought weren't books featuring ALL Green Lama or Daredevil stories, but every single page of the original self-titled comics that those characters appeared in, meaning including all the backup and filler features (down to the original ads). That meant I was getting Green Lama or Daredevil stories on less than 20% of the total number of pages in those books, and the rest of the stories featured characters which were of slight or no interest to me.


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.