• Welcome to Archie Comics Fan Forum. Please login or sign up.
 
January 24, 2020, 10:38:37 am

News:

We're back! Unfortunately all data was lost. Please re-register to continue posting!


collapse

Random Image

CatattheCrossroads1
CatattheCrossroads1
Posted by: SAGG
Posted in album: SAGG

Search


Recent Topics

Re: ARCHIE Modern Classics Vol. 2 by Tuxedo Mark
[Today at 10:06:56 am]


Re: Latest Hauls, what did you buy? by DeCarlo Rules
[Today at 01:06:02 am]


Re: Archie (1943) #130-"The Reject" by DeCarlo Rules
[Today at 01:02:32 am]


Re: What have you done today? by Archiecomicxfan215
[January 22, 2020, 10:50:12 am]


Re: Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[January 20, 2020, 07:20:34 pm]


archie meets little archie by sailorxtreme
[January 07, 2020, 02:38:28 pm]


Re: SENTIMENTAL MOMENTS WITH ARCHIE COMICS. by ASS-P
[December 30, 2019, 06:03:39 pm]


Re: Change settings? by DeCarlo Rules
[December 07, 2019, 05:26:17 am]


Re: Posts way down. by Shuester
[November 29, 2019, 11:50:40 pm]


Printer Driver Software by Brandytasir
[November 18, 2019, 11:11:00 am]

Shoutbox

  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "The Case of the Walk-Away Shoes" from Betty and Veronica Double Digest #279: [link]
    January 20, 2020, 07:21:25 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: 21, the first story in my Blackjack Jill serial, is available for free right now: [link]
    January 20, 2020, 11:37:36 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: A week is nothing. That can pretty much happen with any title from any publisher.
    January 16, 2020, 03:05:10 am
  • Mr.Lodge: They want to finish Afterlife with Archie first.....
    January 12, 2020, 10:37:50 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Archie #710 has been delayed a week. I guess I shouldn't be surprised.
    January 11, 2020, 07:37:46 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: The third and fourth stories in my series, Vampire Killer, are free on Amazon right now: [link] and [link]
    January 11, 2020, 05:07:17 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "The Case of the Triple Cross" from B&V Friends Jumbo Comics Digest, No. 276: [link]
    January 10, 2020, 11:36:11 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Congrats to Riverdale on its renewal and Katy Keene on its additional 13-script order.
    January 07, 2020, 10:47:15 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: ACP's solicitations for January include SABRINA The Complete Collection Vol. 2 (1972-1973) and the latest Archie Comics character to be rebooted -- SUPER DUCK! [link]
    January 02, 2020, 07:02:52 am
  • TeamBlossom: Changed my username as I left a hobby I do not want to share...
    January 01, 2020, 11:43:20 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Happy New Year, everyone! :)
    January 01, 2020, 12:07:15 am
  • ASS-P: ......o. Facebook, a wave from (what I thought was) a deceased Archie artist...
    December 30, 2019, 06:10:55 pm
  • ASS-P: I still can't figure our how to sign in:-(...I was able to reply to someone. Too bad, as I have an anecdote of having received, a
    December 30, 2019, 06:09:49 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: The first story in my original series, Destined, is free on Amazon right now: [link]
    December 29, 2019, 10:55:45 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Jingles' New Job" from Archie and Me Comics Digest, No. 23 [link]
    December 25, 2019, 08:07:57 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My reviews of "It's the Thoughtlessness That Counts" from World of Archie Double Digest, No. 94 [link]
    December 25, 2019, 08:07:41 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Hey, everyone, I just wanted to let you know the first two stories in my original series, Vampire Killer, are free on Amazon right now: [link] and [link]
    December 22, 2019, 01:34:46 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: Two new bonus SAM HILL stories appear in B & V Friends Jumbo Comics Digest 276 and Betty and Veronica Jumbo Comics Digest 279... in addition to the regular new 5-page lead stories. That was a nice surprise -- Sam's still wearing the red bow tie he wore in 1950s stories.
    December 14, 2019, 12:07:09 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Archie's Holiday Fun Scrapbook" from Archie's Holiday Fun Digest, No. 12" [link]
    December 08, 2019, 06:27:45 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My reviews of "Photo Finish" [link] and "Hotshot Friend" [link] from Betty and Veronica Digest, No. 177.
    November 26, 2019, 08:23:14 pm

SENTIMENTAL MOMENTS WITH ARCHIE COMICS.

Started by Captain Jetpack, November 22, 2019, 06:56:52 am

Previous topic - Next topic

Captain Jetpack

Not sentimental moments in Archie comics.

Have you have a special time in your life, when Archie Comics were important?

My late Mother taught me to read, with her 1950s vintage, coverless Archies.
Pie is my favorite Vitamin.

Tuxedo Mark

Quote from: Captain Jetpack on November 22, 2019, 06:56:52 amHave you have a special time in your life, when Archie Comics were important?

Not particularly. I really don't have anyone in my family that's into Archie. My mom bought me my first two digests, and I later learned my sister had bought her some Archies back in the 1970s or 1980s, so she could learn English, but she's not really into Archie. It's just something that I read for myself and discuss online.
BV-kiss-small
Riverdale Reviewed
http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
Every episode of "Riverdale", "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries" reviewed.
My digital wish list
https://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/14FS742SI1R5I

archiecomicscollector

November 26, 2019, 05:27:53 pm #2 Last Edit: November 26, 2019, 05:29:49 pm by archiecomicscollector
Quote from: Captain Jetpack on November 22, 2019, 06:56:52 amNot sentimental moments in Archie comics.

Have you have a special time in your life, when Archie Comics were important?

My late Mother taught me to read, with her 1950s vintage, coverless Archies.
I began collecting Archie Comics when I was 10 years old. As I was traveling to visit my grandparents in Ohio, my family stopped at multiple antique stores throughout the weekend road trip. During one of those stops, I made my first purchase - Archie's Double Digest No. 14 - with my hard-earned babysitting money. I originally gravitated towards the comic book's bright illustrations, as I didn't care for reading then, but I soon fell in love with the zany antics of Archie and his friends. I spent the summer reading Archie in the newspaper with my grandpa, visiting local comic shops with my dad and uncle, and trading toys for comics with my cousins and friends. My mom's best friend later gave me her collection of Archie digests, so I was on my way to becoming a collector shortly after thereafter. I've been collecting off and on for over 20 years now, and I can definitely say that Archie will always remind me of my childhood memories.

DeCarlo Rules

November 28, 2019, 01:34:17 am #3 Last Edit: November 28, 2019, 02:00:47 am by DeCarlo Rules
Quote from: Captain Jetpack on November 22, 2019, 06:56:52 amHave you have a special time in your life, when Archie Comics were important?

NOW. They're important now because, while at one time the type of comics (humorous, fun, lighthearted comics that portray a kind of idealized middle-American small town high school experience) that are in Archie comics was very common, those type of comics no longer exist -- anywhere BUT in Archie comics. So, like endangered species, sometimes we never really appreciate the things we always took for granted would be there, until they've all but disappeared.

For me, while I had developed an appreciation for Dan DeCarlo's work (and to a lesser extent, Dan Parent's) years beforehand, my attitude towards Archie comics was pretty casual -- I mean, they'd always be there whenever I got around to finding them, right? It took something like being hit over the head with a lead pipe to wake me up; a screaming headline like "THE DEATH OF ARCHIE". That was July of 2014. And luckily, at that time, you could still get just about every trade paperback and hardcover collection of Archie Comics that had ever been printed (by ACP, IDW, and Dark Horse, too). And indeed, as promised, the for-real final issue issue of ARCHIE, #666 (The Number of The Beast) rolled out barely a year later, signalling the end of an era that will never return. Sure, B&V continued for a little while longer, and there have been mini-series and one-shots (and the 5-pagers leading off the digests) since then, but we're never going back, so let's enjoy what little is left of classic Archie while it's still there.

Bluto

When I was young, my parents didn't let me read superhero comics, but funny animals and Archie were okay. Jughead was my favorite and I still consider Mr. Jones a friend. Then, on one of those magical trips of a lifetime, my family and my grandmother and Uncle Bill traveled through many states seeing the sights and visiting family. In Atlanta, Georgia, I spied a comic with Superteen and Pureheart The Powerful in it. My parents let me get it!!! I was in ecstasy! To this day, I associate the Archie characters as superheroes with that trip and with family members who are no longer here. I soon discovered Captain Hero as well, and he, of course, was my favorite. Then as I was getting a little older, I still liked Archie Comics for the fast-paced humor and the way they sometimes would push the envelope a little in terms of sex and romance - and for the Good Girl Art. My sister and my female cousins would buy Betty And Veronica and Betty and Me while I would buy Archie and Jughead. I would make fun of my sister and cousins, but would read their copies and secretly be loving the comics without telling them why. Even in college, my friends and I would leaf through the Archie comics on the stands and buy and share ones that had that sex appeal. I equate Archie comics with those young, coming-of-age days.

ASS-P



The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.