collapse

* Random Image

sciencefriction9
sciencefriction9
Posted by: daren
Posted in album: daren

* Search


* Recent Topics

What have you done today? by BettyReggie
[Today at 05:54:22 AM]


Days we look foward to as Archie Fans. by BettyReggie
[July 21, 2018, 10:23:01 AM]


What comics have you been reading? by DeCarlo Rules
[July 21, 2018, 01:38:05 AM]


PTF Reviews Z-People issue one. by PTF
[July 20, 2018, 10:38:53 AM]


Library Books That You All Read by BettyReggie
[July 20, 2018, 04:41:23 AM]


Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[July 19, 2018, 08:52:41 PM]


PTF Reviews Telepathetic #1 by Sitcomics
[July 17, 2018, 01:57:57 PM]


My thoughts on the upcoming Archie 1941 miniseries taking the main series place by DeCarlo Rules
[July 16, 2018, 05:22:30 PM]


bulk sms delhi by Neikavai
[July 16, 2018, 03:13:32 AM]


Latest Hauls, what did you buy? by archiecomicscollector
[July 15, 2018, 01:24:50 PM]

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • DeCarlo Rules: What I don't understand is why they're trying to discourage subscriptions to B&V FRIENDS Jumbo digest. It's been published at 10 times per year frequency for the last 3 years -- just like the other B&V jumbo digest. So if they're both published just as often, why do they offer a choice of 10 issue or 20 issue subscriptions for BETTY & VERONICA, but only a 6 issue subscription for B&V FRIENDS? You can get a 12-issue subscription to B&V FRIENDS on the website, but if I remember correctly, the printed ad for subs only offers the 6-issue sub option. Why isn't it the same option as the other digests (10 issues or 20 issues), if they're all published 10 times a year? And they ARE.
    July 21, 2018, 01:11:44 PM
  • BettyReggie: Archie was just on The Simpsons on FX.
    July 20, 2018, 06:50:15 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Summer Nights" from Riverdale One-Shot: [link]
    July 19, 2018, 08:53:14 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Just looked at Archie Comics' subsciption page. Archie Meets Batman '66 is a six-issue miniseries. Archie 1941 is a five-issue miniseries. There's a six-issue subscription for Betty and Veronica: Friends Forever and Vixens (surprisingly; might get transferred to the new B&V title) and a twelve-issue subscription for Riverdale. Riverdale Digest isn't listed, so it looks like it's been cancelled.
    July 18, 2018, 10:03:11 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: New Sabrina's new Instagram welcome message: [link]
    July 14, 2018, 03:29:59 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "The New Archies": "Gunk for Gold": [link]
    July 11, 2018, 11:09:16 PM
  • Vegan Jughead: Pretty sure Archie Comics, being New York based, knows someone at the Times
    July 11, 2018, 06:15:50 AM
  • ASS-P: I just find it " How things have changed " weird when comic book news breaks in The New York Times...but they hardly SELL anything! :-0 Strangeness.
    July 10, 2018, 10:42:57 AM
  • CAPalace: I'm a woman btw and I'm just so sick of the blatant anti-men thing going on in comics these days. It's not doing women any favors either. :/
    July 09, 2018, 09:05:40 PM
  • CAPalace: They're banking on Archie 700 to sell a lot because "lol a new number wow lol" and it will for the first issue but it'll just go back to the average/poor numbers it had before. And YOU KNOW with that writer on B+V it's going to turn into an anti-men, oooh girl power lol violence against men and demeaning men is feminism and fun lol lol Good luck. I'll stick to Ebay to find the DeCarlo stuff thanks.
    July 09, 2018, 09:04:54 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: I'm looking forward to the new B&V series. Personally, I think that previous B&V series by what's-his-name was way worse than anything that Rotante wrote on Vixens.
    July 09, 2018, 08:43:47 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: So, so predictable... they love to exploit NUMBERS, whether it's a single digit (1 or 0) or a triple-digit ending in 00. Good lord, I can't believe they're actually giving Jamie Rotante ANOTHER B&V series to write ruin! She is the worst I've read -- although it's a tough call, Marguerite Bennett was pretty horrible as well. Nick Spencer can actually be quite good as a writer... or pretty bad, depending on the character and the direction. He was great on ANT-MAN and SUPERIOR FOES OF SPIDER-MAN (both books that had a strong humorous subtext), and not so hot on CAPTAIN AMERICA and THE AVENGERS. And he's he new writer on (yet another) first issue of THE AMAZING SPIDER-MAN, so I wouldn't guess the ARCHIE gig will last. ACP could probably only afford to hire him for that ONE issue, #700.
    July 09, 2018, 06:00:07 PM
  • Vegan Jughead: News on new numbering for the Archie Flagship series and a new B&V series and DeCarlo Rules, you ain't gonna be into this!  And really neither am I: [link]
    July 09, 2018, 01:37:43 PM
  • Mr.Lodge: I still think 'The Married Life' was the best of the most recent and ended way too soon.
    July 06, 2018, 04:46:36 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: No "big news about the flagship ARCHIE title" could possibly rock my world, short of CLASSIC ARCHIE RETURNS!
    July 06, 2018, 01:18:04 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Sweetwater" from Riverdale One-Shot: [link]
    July 05, 2018, 08:44:20 PM
  • Vegan Jughead: ARCHIE isn't on hiatus officially. The last official word from Archie Comics is that there is "big news about the flagship ARCHIE title" coming up after the "1941" miniseries. We'll see. RIVERDALE is supposed to come back early '19 after the TV show returns.
    July 05, 2018, 06:14:32 AM
  • Mr.Lodge: Think it's time for new leadership, especially in the creative front?
    July 05, 2018, 03:09:04 AM
  • DeCarlo Rules: I guess there's still THE HUNGER and VAMPIRONICA, but they're still so new that it's hard to think of them as "ongoing".
    July 05, 2018, 12:14:16 AM
  • DeCarlo Rules: So both ARCHIE and RIVERDALE are "on hiatus"? That means ACP has no ongoing floppy comic titles. Not a good sign. Good thing they still have the digests going (knock on wood).
    July 05, 2018, 12:12:47 AM


Author Topic: My thoughts on the upcoming Archie 1941 miniseries taking the main series place  (Read 474 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

terrence12

You know I read the news that a new miniseries called Archie 1941 will replace the Archie main series which is about to be in hiatus which I don’t know ‘why?’As it tells about the Archie gang in a 1941 setting after they graduate from high school reaching towards  adulthood as they deal with life in the  town of Riverdale when their country heads towards world war II.
Now my opinion is that I appreciate that the miniseries will take place in a year the character debuted however I think it should have  been the retelling of Archie and his gang earlier tales during the 1940s or least take place in the middle of the 40s and the 50s which was the era where the characters gain their popularity.
Still maybe we will see what the miniseries like as we take a look at the 1941 version of the Archie characters dealing with life in world war 2 era ,And I wonder if the main Archie series will come back after the miniseries ended and see if it is ongoing or not.

Vegan Jughead

You know I read the news that a new miniseries called Archie 1941 will replace the Archie main series which is about to be in hiatus which I don’t know ‘why?’As it tells about the Archie gang in a 1941 setting after they graduate from high school reaching towards  adulthood as they deal with life in the  town of Riverdale when their country heads towards world war II.
Now my opinion is that I appreciate that the miniseries will take place in a year the character debuted however I think it should have  been the retelling of Archie and his gang earlier tales during the 1940s or least take place in the middle of the 40s and the 50s which was the era where the characters gain their popularity.
Still maybe we will see what the miniseries like as we take a look at the 1941 version of the Archie characters dealing with life in world war 2 era ,And I wonder if the main Archie series will come back after the miniseries ended and see if it is ongoing or not.


I'm pretty sure the main title isn't selling much and that's why they're trying this miniseries, so in one way I wouldn't expect the main title back, BUT how would it look if Archie Comics isn't even publishing it's flagship title?  That would be an embarrassment.  Then again, they aren't publishing a regular Betty and Veronica or Jughead title either and the world hasn't ended.  As I said in an earlier post, I'm not sure there's anything they can do. I think to most folks, Archie just isn't compelling and doesn't relate to world. The TV show bought them some time, but it remains to be seen how much. 

Neikavai

I received from your post. It was very helpful to me.

DeCarlo Rules

I have a feeling the ARCHIE 1941 miniseries is going to be a big bomb, saleswise. If they thought sales were slipping and that this idea (just by virtue of its novelty value) would perk up readers' interest for a few months, I think they badly miscalculated.

Interest in reading comic book stories which are period pieces set during WWII has been slowly but surely diminishing among the average comic book reader since at least the mid-1980s. During the Silver and Bronze Ages of comic book collecting, there was a high awareness among the serious collectors and students of comics' history of the roots of iconic characters being during that era, and a consequent fascination with it.

Not any more, though. The average comic book reader not only couldn't care less about history (either real-world history, or the history of comic books), it's effectively an active turn-off for them. Like Vegan said, it's "not relevant" and has nothing to do with the world those readers live in. There's no nostalgia to be had among the majority of comics readers for your old granddad's time (or even your great granddad's).

IMO, if what they were attempting to focus on in this story was what Archie's life was like as a typical high school student in 1941 -- how was it the same for teenagers 25, 50 or 75 years later? and in what ways was it different? -- it would have been a lot more relevant to what ARCHIE, as a comic book character with more than 75 years of history behind him, has really been about -- always reflecting "the high school experience" (whatever that may mean).

The real oddity of the ARCHIE 1941 concept isn't that it attempts to recreate the Archie comic stories of those times and translate them into a modern style of storytelling (with a more serious spin). It's nothing like the published Archie storyline of 1941 (or any later time), since it deals with Archie and his friends leaving adolescence behind them as they graduate into adulthood in a world that stands on the brink of global war. In short, it really has FAR less to do with what Archie has been traditionally about, than even the modern reboot spin that it's temporarily replacing.
« Last Edit: July 17, 2018, 06:58:49 PM by DeCarlo Rules »

 


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.
Live Support