collapse

* Random Image

Jughead01
Jughead01
Posted by: pamelacasas
Posted in album: Archie reboot

* Search


* Recent Topics

Library Books That You All Read by BettyReggie
[January 21, 2019, 07:05:43 pm]


Latest Hauls, what did you buy? by Archiecomicxfan215
[January 21, 2019, 06:57:00 pm]


What comics have you been reading? by BettyReggie
[January 21, 2019, 03:11:12 pm]


What are you currently watching? by BettyReggie
[January 20, 2019, 08:20:43 pm]


Won't get fooled again. by Vegan Jughead
[January 19, 2019, 07:19:49 am]


WANTED--Dan Parent Tattoo Prints by Captain Jetpack
[January 18, 2019, 06:43:46 am]


Archie and Reggie spend the night. by SAGG
[January 17, 2019, 11:28:56 pm]


Days we look foward to as Archie Fans. by BettyReggie
[January 17, 2019, 03:31:49 pm]


What have you done today? by BettyReggie
[January 17, 2019, 03:23:12 pm]


Favorite Purchases of 2018 by DeCarlo Rules
[January 17, 2019, 06:04:57 am]

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • BettyReggie: Later Pals & Gals
    January 21, 2019, 03:12:11 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Summer's End" from Betty & Veronica, Vol. 4, No. 1: [link]
    January 12, 2019, 11:02:58 am
  • BettyReggie: It's pouring in The Bronx.
    January 05, 2019, 03:20:04 pm
  • BettyReggie: Happy New Year
    January 01, 2019, 03:41:55 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Kiss of the Century" from Cheryl Blossom, No. 28: [link]
    December 31, 2018, 09:15:22 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Holi-Daze" from Cheryl Blossom, No. 28: [link]
    December 25, 2018, 06:19:02 pm
  • Vegan Jughead: Thanks, BR!
    December 25, 2018, 11:09:37 am
  • BettyReggie: Merry Christmas Vegan Jughead
    December 25, 2018, 09:49:06 am
  • BettyReggie: I'm still in bed.
    December 25, 2018, 09:48:20 am
  • Vegan Jughead: No, it's still early out here. My wife won't be up for hours. Merry Christmas, BettyReggie!
    December 25, 2018, 06:47:38 am
  • BettyReggie: Is anyone up already opening presents?
    December 25, 2018, 04:33:37 am
  • BettyReggie: I hope everyone has a great Christmas tomorrow
    December 24, 2018, 08:52:33 pm
  • Archiecomicxfan215: Merry Christmas Eve
    December 24, 2018, 05:54:18 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: Archie Comics Presents . . . [link]  AWESOMESAUCE!!!
    December 22, 2018, 01:58:29 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "All Malled Out" from Cheryl Blossom, No. 19: [link]
    December 20, 2018, 03:09:36 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Here We Come a Caroling!" from Cheryl Blossom, No. 19: [link]
    December 14, 2018, 04:53:47 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "'Ti$ the Sea$on" from Cheryl Blossom, No. 9: [link]
    December 02, 2018, 06:14:22 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Thanks. Yeah, we don't know what happened to him. Possibly a stomach problem of some kind.
    November 29, 2018, 08:36:52 am
  • rusty: Sorry for your loss.  7 years is pretty young for a cat.
    November 28, 2018, 11:49:53 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: R.I.P., my sweet, beloved cat, Misiu (2011-2018). :'(
    November 28, 2018, 08:50:46 am


Author Topic: Chilling Adventures of Sabrina....  (Read 1999 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Tuxedo Mark

Re: Chilling Adventures of Sabrina....
« Reply #15 on: January 11, 2019, 11:41:03 am »
Plus you don't worry about whether any particular store is stocking the titles you like, or whether or not they'll be sold out before you get there.
This was actually a problem when I was ordering physical comics online from TFAW. If I waited a week or two after an issue came out in order to order multiple titles together and save on shipping, well, there was a chance that that title would no longer be available, so I was forced to order single issues weekly and pay for shipping each time. This resulted in numerous charges on my credit card bill, and I had to make a special trip to the bank once per month to pay it off. I eventually decided it wasn't worth it. In addition to physical comics, I also gave up using my credit card. Yeah, that means I have to buy an Amazon gift card every so often, but it's a lot more convenient, saving me money, a monthly trip to the bank, and a monthly bill in the mail.
As for ChAoS, I recently read an article where the person complained about the filler, due to the episodes approaching one hour in length. Yeah, s/he totally has a point. Even with only ten episodes in a season, it sometimes feels like the series is spinning its wheels. I'm not sure what the solution is. Maybe ten 30-minute episodes?
BV-kiss-small
Riverdale Reviewed
http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
Every episode of "Riverdale", "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries" reviewed.
My digital wish list
https://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/14FS742SI1R5I

DeCarlo Rules

Re: Chilling Adventures of Sabrina....
« Reply #16 on: January 11, 2019, 02:27:39 pm »
Plus you don't worry about whether any particular store is stocking the titles you like, or whether or not they'll be sold out before you get there.
This was actually a problem when I was ordering physical comics online from TFAW. If I waited a week or two after an issue came out in order to order multiple titles together and save on shipping, well, there was a chance that that title would no longer be available, so I was forced to order single issues weekly and pay for shipping each time.

The system of print comic book distribution has evolved to a pattern of pre-orders setting *VERY* tight margins on the number of copies of any particular item that the distributor carries. There are so many hundreds of items listed each and every month in the Diamond Previews catalog, that any significant percentage of overstocking on items that don't have "shelf life" results in Diamond Comics' warehouses clogging up with unsold (and in most cases, nearly unSELLable) items. I even have direct access to my LCS' Diamond ordering system, and I can tell you that in any given week there are any number of items which will ship SOLD OUT -- that means they can't even be re-ordered on the day that they're supposed to go on sale -- if you didn't get your advance order in before the cutoff date, you're out of luck. Diamond is ordering in quantities from the publishers extremely close to the actual initial order numbers submitted by retailers. Diamond wants most of their deliveries from printers to go out the door of their warehouses the same week. A few really BIG online retailers might have special deals with individual publishers (like  TFAW is owned by Mike Richardson, publisher of Dark Horse Comics), but most of their product is still coming from Diamond, so if you don't pre-order before the cutoff date for the retailer to submit his orders to Diamond, there are no guarantees you'll actually get the product.

All of this makes me think that the monthly floppy print comic book has really outlived its original purpose. In order for the comics medium to reach and expand its audience, the comics industry needs to revert to the newspaper model. Instead of comics being sold ala carte, they should be initially digital-only, and free (to view, but not to download or save) or bundled into a single low monthly subscription fee. They shouldn't even become print comics until there is a proven audience demand for the product, and then only in more substantial collected editions. That's counter-intuitive to the way just about everyone in the industry thinks though, most especially the retailers. The weekly Wednesday Warriors who buy between 10 and 40 or so floppy single comics every single week with clockwork regularity are what most retailers have courted for the last 40 years in the direct market, and that's what they use as a yardstick to gauge their weekly income (as well as planning their monthly orders). Unfortunately the collector mentality has ruined the economic viability of comics as a medium for everyone else.
« Last Edit: January 11, 2019, 03:39:27 pm by DeCarlo Rules »

 


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.
Live Support