• Welcome to Archie Comics Fan Forum. Please login or sign up.
 
March 24, 2019, 07:54:14 am

News:

We're back! Unfortunately all data was lost. Please re-register to continue posting!


collapse

Random Image

SpringBlossom7
SpringBlossom7
Posted by: SAGG
Posted in album: SAGG

Search


Recent Topics

Re: ARCHIE COMICS FOR JUNE 2019 by DeCarlo Rules
[Today at 03:10:29 am]


Re: Is It Just Me.... by DeCarlo Rules
[Today at 01:27:02 am]


Re: Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[March 23, 2019, 10:03:44 pm]


Re: What are you currently watching? by Mefford
[March 23, 2019, 07:37:17 am]


Re: Jughead in Twysting Hearts by PTF
[March 14, 2019, 03:33:43 pm]


Archie in Good Fences by PTF
[March 14, 2019, 03:32:03 pm]


Re: Lucy Hale cast as Katy Keene in Riverdale spin-off pilot by Tuxedo Mark
[March 13, 2019, 11:11:19 pm]


Re: What have you done today? by Archiecomicxfan215
[March 13, 2019, 09:54:40 pm]


Re: Snotgirl #1 by DeCarlo Rules
[March 06, 2019, 08:12:29 am]


Re: ARCHIE COMICS FOR MAY 2019 by DeCarlo Rules
[March 04, 2019, 03:39:52 pm]

Shoutbox

  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "We Need to Talk About Kevin" from Riverdale, No. 4: [link]
    March 23, 2019, 10:04:16 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "The New Archies" series finale, "Horray for Hollywood": [link]
    March 16, 2019, 10:59:51 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Winter" from Betty and Veronica, Vol. 4, No. 3: [link]
    March 09, 2019, 10:16:45 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: You could say that Beverly Hills 90210 was the "Riverdale" of its time -- '80s style,
    March 04, 2019, 03:31:12 pm
  • Archiecomicxfan215: R.I.P Luke Perry
    March 04, 2019, 03:09:34 pm
  • Mr.Lodge: Beverly Hills 90210 Star Luke Perry Dead at 52 from Massive Stroke
    March 04, 2019, 02:53:50 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: So let me see if I've got this right... The confusingly-titled Archie: The Married Life 10th Anniversary is NOT a sequel to any part of the 37-issue run of "The Married Life" in Life With Archie Magazine. But it IS a sequel (10 years on ) to ARCHIE #600 to 606, "Archie Marries".
    March 04, 2019, 02:00:25 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: Ironically Dan Parent was not really involved with the LIFE WITH ARCHIE series at all although he did do ARCHIE #606, the epilogue to "Archie Marries". It's a little confusing now, since this new series is yet another parallel universe where Archie Andrews didn't die... or maybe two of them.
    March 03, 2019, 01:19:06 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: After Archie Meets Batman '66, I was wondering whether that was it for long-form classic Archie stories. So it's nice to see The Married Life again, even if it's only a 6-issue epilogue.
    March 03, 2019, 01:16:09 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "The New Archies": "Take My Butler, Please": [link]
    March 02, 2019, 10:55:11 pm
  • Mr.Lodge: Per [link] - Archie: The Married Life 10th Anniversary #1 (of 6) lands in stores in August.
    March 01, 2019, 03:18:05 am
  • Mr.Lodge: Per Yahoo! - Luke Perry hospitalized after suffering a 'massive stroke,' according to reports
    March 01, 2019, 03:12:29 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "It's in Her Kiss" from Cheryl Blossom, No. 23: [link]
    February 24, 2019, 07:22:08 pm
  • Vegan Jughead: Happy Birthday BettyReggie!
    February 18, 2019, 07:40:11 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Taking Care of Business" from B&V #257: [link]
    February 17, 2019, 09:14:58 am
  • archiecomicscollector: Icon Heroes just announced Riverdale and Sabrina figures will debut later this year.
    February 15, 2019, 08:23:37 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Fall" from Betty and Veronica, Vol. 4, No. 2: [link]
    February 09, 2019, 10:04:42 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Faith, Hope and Cheryl!" from Cheryl Blossom Special, No. 2: [link]
    February 07, 2019, 08:32:08 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Congrats to Riverdale on its renewal! :)
    February 02, 2019, 09:03:31 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Brotherly Love" from Cheryl Blossom, No. 22: [link]
    January 26, 2019, 10:10:27 am

Won't get fooled again.

Started by DeCarlo Rules, January 18, 2019, 09:02:23 am

Previous topic - Next topic

DeCarlo Rules

January 18, 2019, 09:02:23 am Last Edit: January 18, 2019, 09:18:43 am by DeCarlo Rules
Hey, remember a couple of years back when they did THIS 12-issue limited Jumbo Comics digest series?



And does anybody also remember that the "anniversary celebration" turned out to be nothing but a reprinting of all the stories from the Best of Archie Comics trade paperbacks (4 volumes at the time, plus one starring B&V), spread out and mixed up over the course of twelve 192-page digest issues? Yup, that's exactly what it was, nothing more, nothing less. Dum-dum that I was then, I trusted ACP and pre-subscribed to the digest series, only to discover it would contain NO reprints I hadn't already read before in the Best of Archie Comics series.

And NOW they've got a NEW 12-issue limited digest series.


Archie Milestones Jumbo Comics Digest. It's 192 pages for $6.99, and is described by ACP as "Archie Comics has been around for over 75 years, and we've had our finger on the pulse of pop culture the entire time! This new digest series' first issue will highlight some of the biggest trends in each decade of Archie--including fun parodies, classic stories and even some cute 'n' cuddly pals!"  Call me suspicious, but the phrases "pop culture", "biggest trends in each decade" and "fun parodies" seem to evoke memories of the stories collected in the ARCHIE AMERICANA series of trade paperbacks -- already presented before in THREE different formats: the original standard-sized TPs, of which there were two volumes each from the 40s, 50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, and 90s; a later hardcover reprinting from IDW that collected the individual volumes from the 40s, 50s, 60s, and 70s into four hardcover collections, and yet another TP series (this time in the same size trade trim as The Best of Archie Comics) which collected both the 40s & 50s into a single Golden Age volume, both the 60s & 70s into a single Silver Age volume, and both the 80s & 90s into a single Bronze Age volume. I'll bet dollars to donuts that's exactly what this new series of digests is -- yet another recycling of those stories again (probably mixed up so that you don't get all the stories from the same decades in the same issues).

Let the buyer beware!

Vegan Jughead



The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.