collapse

* Random Image

ItSeamsSoSad2
ItSeamsSoSad2
Posted by: SAGG
Posted in album: SAGG

* Search


* Recent Topics

What comics have you been reading? by rusty
[Today at 12:09:14 am]


What have you done today? by Archiecomicxfan215
[November 18, 2018, 06:23:49 pm]


Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[November 18, 2018, 06:21:45 pm]


New Sabrina comic book miniseries (non-horror) by DeCarlo Rules
[November 16, 2018, 01:28:13 am]


What are you currently watching? by BettyReggie
[November 14, 2018, 03:39:33 pm]


Days we look foward to as Archie Fans. by BettyReggie
[November 14, 2018, 03:37:27 pm]


Library Books That You All Read by BettyReggie
[November 14, 2018, 03:33:32 pm]


Stan Lee has died by DeCarlo Rules
[November 13, 2018, 11:34:58 am]


Sears/Kmart by DeCarlo Rules
[November 11, 2018, 03:48:37 am]


Features by Oldiesmann
[November 10, 2018, 10:21:28 pm]

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Skateboardin' Blossom" from Cheryl Blossom #26: [link]
    November 18, 2018, 06:22:18 pm
  • Oldiesmann: RIP Stan Lee :( [link]
    November 12, 2018, 02:04:24 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Fashion Emergency" from Cherl Blossom #26: [link]
    November 11, 2018, 07:05:28 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Internet outage for nearly 24 hours, but I'm back now. :)
    November 09, 2018, 05:37:49 pm
  • rusty: That is hilarious.
    November 04, 2018, 02:36:07 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: The funniest thing I've seen all year (and maybe ever)... [link]  :2funny:
    November 04, 2018, 07:12:01 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: It's crazy that ACP hasn't reprinted those 2 issues as a double-size one-shot. Or the lead story in a TP collection of vampire stories (including "Twilite" and others).
    November 04, 2018, 03:21:35 am
  • irishmoxie: That's crazy about those Betty and Veronica issues being worth so much. They're only about 6 years old. I'm pretty sure I have copies of them.
    November 04, 2018, 01:36:00 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: On a relatated note, the real FIRST Vampironica appeared in Larry Welz' underground comic Cherry Poptart #1 [link]. That can be had right now, CGCed at 9.4, at the Buy-It-Now price of $280 on ebay. Although the book had several subsequent printings, only the first printing ($2 cover price) contains the Vampironica story. Much, much scarcer than B&V #261 & 262, but then far fewer people seem to be aware of its existence. It may not be the same Vampironica as the one that appears in her own comic book from ACP, but then you can easily make the argument that neither is the Vampironica from B&V 261-262.
    November 04, 2018, 01:15:09 am
  • rusty: Crazy.  I obviously missed that back then.
    November 03, 2018, 10:06:11 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: Yes, I mentioned this a while back somewhere around the time Vampironica #1 was first solicted or shipped. I even mentioned it to Dan Parent and told him if he still had copies he should get them CGC'ed.
    November 03, 2018, 04:33:03 pm
  • rusty: Apparently Betty and Veronica #261 and 262 (1987 series) are popular now due to Vampironica.  Somebody actually purchased a copy of #261 for $299 on ebay recently.
    November 03, 2018, 01:41:51 pm
  • archiecomicscollector: I've been watching Chilling Adventures of Sabrina on Netflix...so no Riverdale means more time in Greendale :)
    November 01, 2018, 10:17:35 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Quite easy. I don't need a new episode every single week.
    November 01, 2018, 09:05:48 pm
  • BettyReggie: How did everyone survive with no Riverdale last Wednesday?
    November 01, 2018, 03:56:28 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My reviews of the Cheryl stories Psyc-Out [link] Take the Mummy and Run! [link] and A Midsummer's Magic [link]
    October 31, 2018, 10:15:29 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Oh, and there's no "The" in the title.
    October 30, 2018, 10:52:11 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Just on Netflix for now.
    October 30, 2018, 10:51:44 pm
  • BettyReggie: I can't find The Chilling Adventures Of Sabrina on Netflix. Is it just streaming or is it in discs YOU can rent?
    October 30, 2018, 02:17:31 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: LOL! Nice! A bit too pricey, though: [link]
    October 30, 2018, 01:44:46 pm


Author Topic: New Sabrina comic book miniseries (non-horror)  (Read 328 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Vegan Jughead

New Sabrina comic book miniseries (non-horror)
« on: November 15, 2018, 07:23:32 am »
This looks like it could be pretty good.  It's a five issue miniseries.  Written by Kelly Thompson and drawn by Veronica Fish and her husband Andy. I'm particularly interested because Veronica Fish was my favorite of the artists on the Archie reboot title. 


https://www.cbr.com/sabrina-the-teenage-witch-kelly-thompson/#leave-comment

Tuxedo Mark

Re: New Sabrina comic book miniseries (non-horror)
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2018, 02:34:37 pm »
Wasn't there a Sabrina one-shot or miniseries announced around two years ago and then cancelled? Is this a resurrection of that?
BV-kiss-small
Riverdale Reviewed
http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
Every episode of "Riverdale", "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries" reviewed.
My digital wish list
https://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/14FS742SI1R5I

DeCarlo Rules

Re: New Sabrina comic book miniseries (non-horror)
« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2018, 01:28:13 am »
Wasn't there a Sabrina one-shot or miniseries announced around two years ago and then cancelled? Is this a resurrection of that?

You're thinking of the one-shot originally solicited for March 2017, which would have been written by Katie Cook (My Little Pony) and Franco (Tiny Titans, Little Archie one-shot), and drawn by Andy Price. The plan was to have three different covers available from artists Sandra Lanz, Adam Hughes, and Paul Renaud. Here's the original solicitation description:
Quote
Brand New One-Shot Special! Sabrina is off to college for her first foray into 'the real world.' After years of being protectively home schooled by her aunts, she is ready to experience friends, boys, and parties-but a shocking revelation will rock her world in a way she never expected!

A sample of Andy Price's artwork for that one-shot, and the Adam Hughes cover variant:


The new miniseries by Kelly Thompson (w) and Veronica & Andy Fish (a) is described simply as:
Quote
... A new Archie Comics mini-series launching in 2019 that will modernize the classic Sabrina character we all love, sans the Dark Baptism and Satanic imagery of more recent incarnations. Readers will follow Sabrina as she moves to Greendale with her aunts, Hilda and Zelda, and attempts to navigate high school while her magical powers emerge.

Sample character designs by the Fishs for the new miniseries, and a cover image:


It's funny that it took a television (if that's really the right word for Netflix) adaptation of the Archie Horror version of Sabrina to bump-start an updated version of the classic Sabrina premise. I would have thought that would have been the very next thing on the list after the rebooted version of Josie and the Pussycats (if not before) -- not REGGIE & ME (a title which hadn't had a comic book published since 1980). Now, with the success of the Netflix series, it would be incredibly stupid of ACP not to try to capitalize on the Sabrina brand by launching some sort of new product -- it's pretty clear that Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa's priorities lie with RIVERDALE, and not with writing issues of some horror comics that sell a measly few thousand copies each.

So to answer your original question, NO -- no relation to the previous one-shot solicited and cancelled in 2017. Personally, I would have loved to have seen the previously-solicited one-shot. The Andy Price interpretation of Sabrina seems much more in line with "classic Sabrina", while the Fishs' version seems much more "New Riverdale Sabrina" (although not the same version of the character which appeared in Ryan North & Derek Charm's JUGHEAD). I suppose I will read the new version of Sabrina (I'm sure I can borrow a copy), but I'm not particularly excited about it, as compared with the previous Derek Charm and Andy Price interpretations. Visually, the Fishs' version of Sabrina seems barely distinguishable from Robert Hack's ChAoS version -- but that might be a very deliberate decision on ACP's part.
« Last Edit: November 16, 2018, 02:36:09 am by DeCarlo Rules »

 


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.
Live Support