• Welcome to Archie Comics Fan Forum. Please login or sign up.
 
February 21, 2019, 05:24:23 am

News:

We're back! Unfortunately all data was lost. Please re-register to continue posting!


collapse

Random Image

ForYourFourEyesOnly1
ForYourFourEyesOnly1
Posted by: SAGG
Posted in album: SAGG

Search


Recent Topics

Re: JUGHEAD’S TIME POLICE returns to the future in June by SAGG
[February 18, 2019, 11:20:18 pm]


What song are you listening to by Oldiesmann
[February 18, 2019, 10:44:05 pm]


Re: New features by Oldiesmann
[February 18, 2019, 10:41:20 pm]


Re: Jughead in Twysting Hearts by Mr.Lodge
[February 18, 2019, 01:37:43 am]


Re: Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[February 17, 2019, 09:12:27 am]


Re: Site Upgrade by Oldiesmann
[February 16, 2019, 06:53:19 pm]


PTF Reviews The Blue Baron 3.1 by PTF
[February 16, 2019, 12:46:41 am]


Re: Days we look foward to as Archie Fans. by BettyReggie
[February 15, 2019, 06:35:13 pm]


Re: Library Books That You All Read by BettyReggie
[February 15, 2019, 06:34:28 pm]


Re: What comics have you been reading? by BettyReggie
[February 15, 2019, 06:31:52 pm]

Shoutbox

  • Vegan Jughead: Happy Birthday BettyReggie!
    February 18, 2019, 07:40:11 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Taking Care of Business" from B&V #257: [link]
    February 17, 2019, 09:14:58 am
  • archiecomicscollector: Icon Heroes just announced Riverdale and Sabrina figures will debut later this year.
    February 15, 2019, 08:23:37 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Fall" from Betty and Veronica, Vol. 4, No. 2: [link]
    February 09, 2019, 10:04:42 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Faith, Hope and Cheryl!" from Cheryl Blossom Special, No. 2: [link]
    February 07, 2019, 08:32:08 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Congrats to Riverdale on its renewal! :)
    February 02, 2019, 09:03:31 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Brotherly Love" from Cheryl Blossom, No. 22: [link]
    January 26, 2019, 10:10:27 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: Jughead the Hunger vs. Vampironica #1 is coming in April. This is the first alternate-Archiverse crossover (they exist in different parallel universes) since "The Married Life".
    January 25, 2019, 06:31:05 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Wild Things" from Riverdale, No. 3: [link]
    January 24, 2019, 05:32:04 pm
  • Archiecomicxfan215: That was a headline on the Archie Comics facebook page i just saw
    January 23, 2019, 11:12:34 pm
  • Archiecomicxfan215: Breaking News: A Riverdale spin-off starring Katy Keene is heading to The CW!
    January 23, 2019, 11:12:11 pm
  • BettyReggie: Later Pals & Gals
    January 21, 2019, 03:12:11 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Summer's End" from Betty & Veronica, Vol. 4, No. 1: [link]
    January 12, 2019, 11:02:58 am
  • BettyReggie: It's pouring in The Bronx.
    January 05, 2019, 03:20:04 pm
  • BettyReggie: Happy New Year
    January 01, 2019, 03:41:55 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Kiss of the Century" from Cheryl Blossom, No. 28: [link]
    December 31, 2018, 09:15:22 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Holi-Daze" from Cheryl Blossom, No. 28: [link]
    December 25, 2018, 06:19:02 pm
  • Vegan Jughead: Thanks, BR!
    December 25, 2018, 11:09:37 am
  • BettyReggie: Merry Christmas Vegan Jughead
    December 25, 2018, 09:49:06 am
  • BettyReggie: I'm still in bed.
    December 25, 2018, 09:48:20 am

Fraudulent Ebay listings

Started by rusty, March 30, 2016, 09:18:11 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

rusty

Somebody listed a copy of Jackpot #4 (2nd appearance of Archie) in 6.0 condition a couple of days ago.  I put it on my watch list, but something about the listing bothered me.  The listing seemed very familiar and the person selling it had an account that was not very active plus there were no other items up for sale.

I did a google search and found that the same comic with the same description had sold back in 2013 for over $7000.  Somebody had evidently copied the listing and pictures and listed it as if they owned the comic.  The listing is gone now, though.

Oldiesmann

I don't understand why anyone would try that. Someone with enough knowledge of comics and money to buy that would definitely do their research and be very careful before buying it. There's also the fact that eBay and PayPal both offer buyer protection on such things.

rusty

If the account was stolen or hacked then maybe the person would be able to get the money and withdraw it and then disappear before Ebay/Paypal caught up to them.  The buyer might get their money back at the expense of Ebay/Paypal.

The bidding was over $1200 with a couple of days to go when I reported it.  It could very easily have gone over $5000-$6000 before closing.


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.