• Welcome to Archie Comics Fan Forum. Please login or sign up.
 
March 06, 2021, 06:20:17 PM

News:

We're back! Unfortunately all data was lost. Please re-register to continue posting!


Welcome to Archie Comics Fan Forum. Please login or sign up.

March 06, 2021, 06:20:17 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Topics

Shoutbox

Mar 06 2021 1:08pm
DeCarlo Rules: I'm wondering now if that 9-11-2011 Sunday strip was the only one Dan Parent ever drew. IIRC the strip was drawn for the longest time by Henry Scarpelli, and then in more recent years (2000s) by Fernando Ruiz...  Thanks for the shout, Hanna!

Mar 05 2021 10:16am
Hanna Barbera Montana: The daily cartoonist showcases the first and last of the Archie comic strip - https://www.dailycartoonist.com/index.php/2021/03/04/first-and-last-archie-comic-strip/

Mar 03 2021 7:44am
DeCarlo Rules: They never say things like "cancelled". Things just come to an end. ARCHIE #713 came out six months ago, and there have been no new issues solicited since then...

Mar 02 2021 10:15am
Tuxedo Mark: Has it been cancelled?

Mar 01 2021 11:04am
DeCarlo Rules: It seems like my prediction of the ARCHIE series launched in 2015 came true... it lasted 5 years (or 47 issues, which would have been 4 years if it were published monthly). Oh well -- that was four issues more than Manga SABRINA...

Feb 22 2021 12:48pm
Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Picture This!!" from Cheryl Blossom #4: https://riverdalereviewed.com/2021/02/22/comics-picture-this/

Feb 11 2021 11:54am
DeCarlo Rules: Can't remember the last Archie floppy comic I bought that wasn't a #1 issue...

Feb 11 2021 11:52am
DeCarlo Rules: Not retired, but it seems like floppy one-shots will be more frequent compared to series.

Feb 11 2021 11:08am
Tuxedo Mark: Vol 2 of the The Riverdale Diaries graphic novel series is now available for preorder. It stars Veronica and will come out on November 16. Oddly, Vol. 2 is available on Kindle, whereas Vol. 1 seems to be a physical-only release.

Fraudulent Ebay listings

Started by rusty, March 30, 2016, 09:18:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

rusty

Somebody listed a copy of Jackpot #4 (2nd appearance of Archie) in 6.0 condition a couple of days ago.  I put it on my watch list, but something about the listing bothered me.  The listing seemed very familiar and the person selling it had an account that was not very active plus there were no other items up for sale.

I did a google search and found that the same comic with the same description had sold back in 2013 for over $7000.  Somebody had evidently copied the listing and pictures and listed it as if they owned the comic.  The listing is gone now, though.

Oldiesmann

I don't understand why anyone would try that. Someone with enough knowledge of comics and money to buy that would definitely do their research and be very careful before buying it. There's also the fact that eBay and PayPal both offer buyer protection on such things.

rusty

If the account was stolen or hacked then maybe the person would be able to get the money and withdraw it and then disappear before Ebay/Paypal caught up to them.  The buyer might get their money back at the expense of Ebay/Paypal.

The bidding was over $1200 with a couple of days to go when I reported it.  It could very easily have gone over $5000-$6000 before closing.

The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.