collapse

* Random Image

SpringBlossom11
SpringBlossom11
Posted by: SAGG
Posted in album: SAGG

* Search


* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Woman Scorned": [link]
    May 19, 2018, 08:03:52 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Cheryl's jacket is red, because she's Cheryl M.F. Blossom, and she can wear whatever custom-made clothes she wants, thankyouverymuch. :P
    May 17, 2018, 09:16:50 AM
  • BettyReggie: I want know why Cheryl's serpent jacket was red? Everyone else coat was black. And near the end of Espoide where were Jughead & Betty at? Was that a hotel?
    May 16, 2018, 09:41:30 PM
  • BettyReggie: I made 3,000 posts .
    May 16, 2018, 07:43:26 PM
  • BettyReggie: 21 Minutes to the season finale of Riverdale.
    May 16, 2018, 07:39:28 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of Betty and Veronica: Vixens #6: [link]
    May 11, 2018, 11:17:28 PM
  • BettyReggie: August 7th 2018 - 87 days till Season 2 of Riverdale comes out
    May 11, 2018, 03:34:05 PM
  • BettyReggie: They have the free Comic Book Days Comics on Midtown Comics. I order 7 of them.
    May 07, 2018, 01:40:00 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: That's pretty much the whole point of having an internet -- it connects you to entertainment, information, and people who would otherwise be too far away from you physically, or would involve much greater effort on your part to connect with. And although there are some advantages for comic book collectors inherent in the direct-market dedicated comic book shop system, the major BIG (obvious) DISadvantage is that only a few thousand of those shops exist, compared to the huge number of retailers who used to carry comic books along with their other products back in the days of the "newsstand distribution system".
    May 07, 2018, 03:35:40 AM
  • Tuxedo Mark: The only "local" comic shop within "reasonable" distance of my house is 18 miles away, in the next county. Yeah, no, I'll continue getting my comics digitally.
    May 06, 2018, 07:39:36 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: @Archiecomicxfan215 - FCBD comic books may be free to you, but the retailer has to PAY for those comic books he gives away for free. The publishers of the FCBD comics make no profit off them, and they're distributed to retailers by Diamond Comics for free, but they have to charge comic shop owners money for them, because paper and printing costs money. Your local comic shop owner loses a small amount of money with every FCBD comic book he gives away. Of course the whole idea behind FCBD is that sampling those free comic books will create interest in customers actually BUYing the retail versions of those FCBD comic books later on.
    May 06, 2018, 01:50:26 AM
  • BettyReggie: On Monday Midtown Comics has the free comics on their website.
    May 05, 2018, 05:11:46 PM
  • Archiecomicxfan215: I brought some comics too. Got my first Sabrina comics for my collection today
    May 05, 2018, 12:49:55 PM
  • Archiecomicxfan215: This year at the comic book store near me I was only allowed to choose 3 comics. Previous years it was 5. My boyfriends local comic book store he was allowed up to 5 comics free. Don’t know why it changed near me.
    May 05, 2018, 12:49:14 PM
  • Archiecomicxfan215: My boyfriend went to a comic book store near his house and picked me up Die Kitty Die and Riverdale
    May 05, 2018, 11:35:02 AM
  • DeCarlo Rules: Don't forget to pick up the FCBD issue of DIE KITTY DIE: I Love You to Death! by Dan & Fernando from Chapterhouse Comics! Oh, and I guess if you care about that RIVERDALE thing, you could pick up the FCBD issue where Pop Tate eavesdrops on all the conversations of his teenage customers (makes him sound a little creepy, if you ask me...) Doesn't an adult business proprietor have more important things to worry about???
    May 04, 2018, 03:48:05 PM
  • Archiecomicxfan215: Free Comic Book Day is tomorrow
    May 04, 2018, 10:15:27 AM
  • BettyReggie: I got a Riverdale Poster at 5 & Below.
    May 03, 2018, 02:03:55 PM
  • BettyReggie: Kevin's boyfriend was on Riverdale last night .
    May 03, 2018, 04:52:50 AM
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "The New Archies": "Incredible Shrinking Archie": [link]
    May 02, 2018, 09:44:18 PM


Author Topic: Will Archie comics main comic book line will one day return to it's classic styl  (Read 190 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

terrence12

Archie comics has gained a renaissance after going through low sales throughout the 80’s,90s and 2000s all thanks to the  the leadership of current CEO  Jon Goldwater.
It introduce a gay character named Kevin Keller,It introduce mature storytelling with Life with Archie: The Married Life that focus on Archie’s married relationship with Betty and Veronica of both worlds.It introduce a horror series for teen readers called Afterlife with Archie which give a dark and grimmy  take on the archie characters while facing monsters and zombies.It with CW introduce a teen drama television version of the Archie characters called Riverdale which like Afterlife with Archie  is dark but with mystery elements.
And gave a reboot of the Archie universe with Archie #1 aiming for the teen demographic after ending the main classic line and speaking of the classic line,have you wondered that 3 years after the classic line ended.There isn’t a single new classic lineup story in the main comic book lineup except the Digest because they are still running with new stories in classic line up  but there are mostly reprint and less new material.
Now even though the modern reboot stays faithful to the classic with its humour and drama. Archie comics attempted to revive the classic lineup with Your pal Archie which is a redesigned version of the archie classic with  new material, Archie vs predator which is black comedy crossover between archie characters and the predator painted in classic style but with gore and blood  and then the upcoming Betty and Veronica Friends forever ,
The classic style still has new material in the digest  since they are still available in the magazine racks that you see in your local supermarket but only less as they mostly reprints of various stories and will continue in various newspaper strips under creators syndicate as shown here : https://www.creators.com/read/archie and even co-CEO Nancy Silberkleit which Jon Goldwater made a personal feud with her over the property distributing her own archie comics one of them focus on Autism awareness with a character named Scarlet as shown here :https://www.bleedingcool.com/2018/01/19/nancy-silberkleit-archie-comic-scarlet/

But this is what we need to discuss in this topic,Will Archie main comic book line will one day return to it’s classic style?

« Last Edit: May 16, 2018, 10:51:30 PM by terrence12 »

Vegan Jughead

They will probably start a "Classic Archie" title published along side the current flagship title and if it sells as well or better, they'll discontinue the current one.


I will point out that "Your Pal Archie" was close to classic style and didn't sell.  And it was a great book in my opinion. 

terrence12

They will probably start a "Classic Archie" title published along side the current flagship title and if it sells as well or better, they'll discontinue the current one.


I will point out that "Your Pal Archie" was close to classic style and didn't sell.  And it was a great book in my opinion.




You have a good point there

DeCarlo Rules

Archie comics has gained a renaissance after going through low sales throughout the 80’s,90s and 2000s all thanks to the  the leadership of current CEO  Jon Goldwater.

Archie Comics' average monthly sales are still lower than they were in the '80s, '90s, and from 2000-2009.
So if you want to spin those statistics under the heading of "renaissance", then yeah whatever, I guess.

Archie comics has gained a renaissance after going through low sales throughout the 80’s,90s and 2000s all thanks to the  the leadership of current CEO  Jon Goldwater.

Archie Comics' average monthly sales are still lower than they were in the '80s, '90s, and from 2000-2009.
So if you want to spin those statistics under the heading of "renaissance", then yeah whatever, I guess.


ALL comic sales are much lower than the past decades.
For instance, there was a time when Marvel comics selling 150,000 issues in a month would be cancelled.  Now, that would be the #1 or #2 selling title across all companies.


So you can't really compare numbers to those time periods, you'd have to look at how they did vs all the other companies - where did they rank in sales for the month, and if those relative numbers improved.

DeCarlo Rules

Archie comics has gained a renaissance after going through low sales throughout the 80’s,90s and 2000s all thanks to the  the leadership of current CEO  Jon Goldwater.

Archie Comics' average monthly sales are still lower than they were in the '80s, '90s, and from 2000-2009.
So if you want to spin those statistics under the heading of "renaissance", then yeah whatever, I guess.

So you can't really compare numbers to those time periods, you'd have to look at how they did vs all the other companies - where did they rank in sales for the month, and if those relative numbers improved.

I don't know where you'd find accurate comparative sales statistics, because the only sales available are those for the direct (comic shop) market -- and we all know Archie does terrible in that market, both then and now. Perhaps a little less terrible in that market than they did 5 years ago, but on the other hand, ACP's newsstand sales continue to slide, and I hardly imagine a couple of blips like the Death of Archie, new ARCHIE #1, and Adam Hughes' B&V #1 were able to counterbalance the overall downward trend. It's easy for ACP to spin the hype, because it's all a magician's game of misdirection -- getting you to look only at what they want you to look at. Yeah, look at those amazing sales on ARCHIE #1... but don't ask about all the "ongoing" titles we launched in the last three years, and then cancelled. Don't ask what our sales are like outside the direct market; ask me no questions and I'll tell you no lies.

But you have to wonder how, if ACP had half-a-dozen ongoing floppy comics in the 2000s, they can only have a couple now in the 2010s  (ARCHIE and RIVERDALE). You can't count titles that are as new as VIXENS, THE HUNGER, or VAMPIRONICA, or "supposedly" ongoing ones like AFTERLIFE and SABRINA, which have no actual publication schedule. I read that as, if ACP was doing relatively as well as they were in the 2000s, they'd still have half-a-dozen stable ongoing floppy titles, even if (on average) they were selling less copies overall.

 


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.
Live Support