• Welcome to Archie Comics Fan Forum. Please login or sign up.
 
October 28, 2020, 01:12:01 pm

News:

Welcome! Please pardon the dust as we work to set the site up again :)


Welcome to Archie Comics Fan Forum. Please login or sign up.

October 28, 2020, 01:12:01 pm

Login with username, password and session length

Random Image

Recent Topics

Shoutbox

Oct 25 2020 11:43pm
ASS-P: !!!!!!!!!! Maybe they're gonna concentrate on this one title for mass-market exposure?

Oct 25 2020 11:41pm
ASS-P: Hey, I'm in the same Target I namedroppes before and I saw - and will buy - ARCHIE SHOWCASE DIGEST (PRESENTS JUGHEAD) #2 :D

Oct 25 2020 7:11pm
Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Movie Madness" from Cheryl Blossom (Goes to Hollywood) #2: https://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com/2020/10/25/comics-movie-madness/

Oct 23 2020 11:25am
Hanna Barbera Montana: Bob Montana was born 100 years today.

Oct 19 2020 9:17pm
Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Season of the Witch" from Betty and Veronica Best Friends Jumbo Comics Digest #285: https://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com/2020/10/19/comics-season-of-the-witch/

Oct 18 2020 10:04am
Tuxedo Mark: Kind of odd that there's no digital version.

Oct 17 2020 12:12am
rusty: I ordered the Riverdale Diaries book from DCBS, but they canceled the order, saying that it was canceled by Previews.  Maybe Diamond just didn't get enough orders and decided not to carry it.

Oct 14 2020 12:21pm
Tuxedo Mark: Anyone read The Riverdale Diaries: Hello, Betty! graphic novel? https://www.amazon.com/Riverdale-Diaries-vol-Hello-Archie/dp/1499810547/ref=sr_1_1?dchild=1

Oct 03 2020 12:12pm
Tuxedo Mark: My review of "She Ought to Be in Pictures!" from Cheryl Blossom (Goes to Hollywood) #1: https://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com/2020/10/03/comics-she-ought-to-be-in-pictures/

Sep 20 2020 10:44pm
Tuxedo Mark: No, I don't think Dollar General is.

Fraudulent Ebay listings

Started by rusty, March 30, 2016, 09:18:11 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

rusty

Somebody listed a copy of Jackpot #4 (2nd appearance of Archie) in 6.0 condition a couple of days ago.  I put it on my watch list, but something about the listing bothered me.  The listing seemed very familiar and the person selling it had an account that was not very active plus there were no other items up for sale.

I did a google search and found that the same comic with the same description had sold back in 2013 for over $7000.  Somebody had evidently copied the listing and pictures and listed it as if they owned the comic.  The listing is gone now, though.

Oldiesmann

I don't understand why anyone would try that. Someone with enough knowledge of comics and money to buy that would definitely do their research and be very careful before buying it. There's also the fact that eBay and PayPal both offer buyer protection on such things.

rusty

If the account was stolen or hacked then maybe the person would be able to get the money and withdraw it and then disappear before Ebay/Paypal caught up to them.  The buyer might get their money back at the expense of Ebay/Paypal.

The bidding was over $1200 with a couple of days to go when I reported it.  It could very easily have gone over $5000-$6000 before closing.

The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.