• Welcome to Archie Comics Fan Forum. Please login or sign up.
 
January 20, 2020, 02:26:04 am

News:

We're back! Unfortunately all data was lost. Please re-register to continue posting!


collapse

Random Image

HomeIsWhereMyHeartIs3
HomeIsWhereMyHeartIs3
Posted by: SAGG
Posted in album: SAGG

Search


Recent Topics

Re: Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[January 11, 2020, 04:16:15 pm]


archie meets little archie by sailorxtreme
[January 07, 2020, 02:38:28 pm]


Re: SENTIMENTAL MOMENTS WITH ARCHIE COMICS. by ASS-P
[December 30, 2019, 06:03:39 pm]


Re: Change settings? by DeCarlo Rules
[December 07, 2019, 05:26:17 am]


Re: Posts way down. by Shuester
[November 29, 2019, 11:50:40 pm]


Re: Latest Hauls, what did you buy? by rusty
[November 20, 2019, 11:44:53 am]


Printer Driver Software by Brandytasir
[November 18, 2019, 11:11:00 am]


Car Photo (HD) by Brandytasir
[November 18, 2019, 11:08:00 am]


Re: New here by Tuxedo Mark
[November 17, 2019, 08:12:52 am]


Re: Archie - The Married Life - 10th Anniversary - Opinions? by DeCarlo Rules
[November 07, 2019, 12:21:29 am]

Shoutbox

  • DeCarlo Rules: A week is nothing. That can pretty much happen with any title from any publisher.
    January 16, 2020, 03:05:10 am
  • Mr.Lodge: They want to finish Afterlife with Archie first.....
    January 12, 2020, 10:37:50 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Archie #710 has been delayed a week. I guess I shouldn't be surprised.
    January 11, 2020, 07:37:46 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: The third and fourth stories in my series, Vampire Killer, are free on Amazon right now: [link] and [link]
    January 11, 2020, 05:07:17 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "The Case of the Triple Cross" from B&V Friends Jumbo Comics Digest, No. 276: [link]
    January 10, 2020, 11:36:11 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Congrats to Riverdale on its renewal and Katy Keene on its additional 13-script order.
    January 07, 2020, 10:47:15 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: ACP's solicitations for January include SABRINA The Complete Collection Vol. 2 (1972-1973) and the latest Archie Comics character to be rebooted -- SUPER DUCK! [link]
    January 02, 2020, 07:02:52 am
  • TeamBlossom: Changed my username as I left a hobby I do not want to share...
    January 01, 2020, 11:43:20 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Happy New Year, everyone! :)
    January 01, 2020, 12:07:15 am
  • ASS-P: ......o. Facebook, a wave from (what I thought was) a deceased Archie artist...
    December 30, 2019, 06:10:55 pm
  • ASS-P: I still can't figure our how to sign in:-(...I was able to reply to someone. Too bad, as I have an anecdote of having received, a
    December 30, 2019, 06:09:49 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: The first story in my original series, Destined, is free on Amazon right now: [link]
    December 29, 2019, 10:55:45 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Jingles' New Job" from Archie and Me Comics Digest, No. 23 [link]
    December 25, 2019, 08:07:57 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My reviews of "It's the Thoughtlessness That Counts" from World of Archie Double Digest, No. 94 [link]
    December 25, 2019, 08:07:41 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Hey, everyone, I just wanted to let you know the first two stories in my original series, Vampire Killer, are free on Amazon right now: [link] and [link]
    December 22, 2019, 01:34:46 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: Two new bonus SAM HILL stories appear in B & V Friends Jumbo Comics Digest 276 and Betty and Veronica Jumbo Comics Digest 279... in addition to the regular new 5-page lead stories. That was a nice surprise -- Sam's still wearing the red bow tie he wore in 1950s stories.
    December 14, 2019, 12:07:09 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Archie's Holiday Fun Scrapbook" from Archie's Holiday Fun Digest, No. 12" [link]
    December 08, 2019, 06:27:45 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My reviews of "Photo Finish" [link] and "Hotshot Friend" [link] from Betty and Veronica Digest, No. 177.
    November 26, 2019, 08:23:14 pm
  • ASS-P: Briefly - There were none.
    November 26, 2019, 07:18:28 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My reviews of "Drop The Shopping" [link] and "Rerun Fun?" [link] from Betty and Veronica Digest, No. 176
    November 25, 2019, 11:10:54 am

Fraudulent Ebay listings

Started by rusty, March 30, 2016, 09:18:11 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

rusty

Somebody listed a copy of Jackpot #4 (2nd appearance of Archie) in 6.0 condition a couple of days ago.  I put it on my watch list, but something about the listing bothered me.  The listing seemed very familiar and the person selling it had an account that was not very active plus there were no other items up for sale.

I did a google search and found that the same comic with the same description had sold back in 2013 for over $7000.  Somebody had evidently copied the listing and pictures and listed it as if they owned the comic.  The listing is gone now, though.

Oldiesmann

I don't understand why anyone would try that. Someone with enough knowledge of comics and money to buy that would definitely do their research and be very careful before buying it. There's also the fact that eBay and PayPal both offer buyer protection on such things.

rusty

If the account was stolen or hacked then maybe the person would be able to get the money and withdraw it and then disappear before Ebay/Paypal caught up to them.  The buyer might get their money back at the expense of Ebay/Paypal.

The bidding was over $1200 with a couple of days to go when I reported it.  It could very easily have gone over $5000-$6000 before closing.


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.