• Welcome to Archie Comics Fan Forum. Please login or sign up.
 
March 24, 2019, 07:53:33 am

News:

Welcome! Please pardon the dust as we work to set the site up again :)


collapse

Random Image

Scents&Nonsense5
Scents&Nonsense5
Posted by: SAGG
Posted in album: SAGG

Search


Recent Topics

Re: ARCHIE COMICS FOR JUNE 2019 by DeCarlo Rules
[Today at 03:10:29 am]


Re: Is It Just Me.... by DeCarlo Rules
[Today at 01:27:02 am]


Re: Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[March 23, 2019, 10:03:44 pm]


Re: What are you currently watching? by Mefford
[March 23, 2019, 07:37:17 am]


Re: Jughead in Twysting Hearts by PTF
[March 14, 2019, 03:33:43 pm]


Archie in Good Fences by PTF
[March 14, 2019, 03:32:03 pm]


Re: Lucy Hale cast as Katy Keene in Riverdale spin-off pilot by Tuxedo Mark
[March 13, 2019, 11:11:19 pm]


Re: What have you done today? by Archiecomicxfan215
[March 13, 2019, 09:54:40 pm]


Re: Snotgirl #1 by DeCarlo Rules
[March 06, 2019, 08:12:29 am]


Re: ARCHIE COMICS FOR MAY 2019 by DeCarlo Rules
[March 04, 2019, 03:39:52 pm]

Shoutbox

  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "We Need to Talk About Kevin" from Riverdale, No. 4: [link]
    March 23, 2019, 10:04:16 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "The New Archies" series finale, "Horray for Hollywood": [link]
    March 16, 2019, 10:59:51 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Winter" from Betty and Veronica, Vol. 4, No. 3: [link]
    March 09, 2019, 10:16:45 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: You could say that Beverly Hills 90210 was the "Riverdale" of its time -- '80s style,
    March 04, 2019, 03:31:12 pm
  • Archiecomicxfan215: R.I.P Luke Perry
    March 04, 2019, 03:09:34 pm
  • Mr.Lodge: Beverly Hills 90210 Star Luke Perry Dead at 52 from Massive Stroke
    March 04, 2019, 02:53:50 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: So let me see if I've got this right... The confusingly-titled Archie: The Married Life 10th Anniversary is NOT a sequel to any part of the 37-issue run of "The Married Life" in Life With Archie Magazine. But it IS a sequel (10 years on ) to ARCHIE #600 to 606, "Archie Marries".
    March 04, 2019, 02:00:25 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: Ironically Dan Parent was not really involved with the LIFE WITH ARCHIE series at all although he did do ARCHIE #606, the epilogue to "Archie Marries". It's a little confusing now, since this new series is yet another parallel universe where Archie Andrews didn't die... or maybe two of them.
    March 03, 2019, 01:19:06 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: After Archie Meets Batman '66, I was wondering whether that was it for long-form classic Archie stories. So it's nice to see The Married Life again, even if it's only a 6-issue epilogue.
    March 03, 2019, 01:16:09 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "The New Archies": "Take My Butler, Please": [link]
    March 02, 2019, 10:55:11 pm
  • Mr.Lodge: Per [link] - Archie: The Married Life 10th Anniversary #1 (of 6) lands in stores in August.
    March 01, 2019, 03:18:05 am
  • Mr.Lodge: Per Yahoo! - Luke Perry hospitalized after suffering a 'massive stroke,' according to reports
    March 01, 2019, 03:12:29 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "It's in Her Kiss" from Cheryl Blossom, No. 23: [link]
    February 24, 2019, 07:22:08 pm
  • Vegan Jughead: Happy Birthday BettyReggie!
    February 18, 2019, 07:40:11 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Taking Care of Business" from B&V #257: [link]
    February 17, 2019, 09:14:58 am
  • archiecomicscollector: Icon Heroes just announced Riverdale and Sabrina figures will debut later this year.
    February 15, 2019, 08:23:37 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Fall" from Betty and Veronica, Vol. 4, No. 2: [link]
    February 09, 2019, 10:04:42 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Faith, Hope and Cheryl!" from Cheryl Blossom Special, No. 2: [link]
    February 07, 2019, 08:32:08 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Congrats to Riverdale on its renewal! :)
    February 02, 2019, 09:03:31 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Brotherly Love" from Cheryl Blossom, No. 22: [link]
    January 26, 2019, 10:10:27 am

Is It Just Me....

Started by SAGG, March 20, 2019, 11:27:35 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

SAGG

... Or does the Kennedy's recent work on the newest Archie and B&V stories at the front of the digests look sort of like Harry Lucey's style? His B&V sure does... 🤔

Mr.Lodge

I've noticed that the newer stories drawn is the past several years in the digests look awful and cheap as opposed in the past.



Vegan Jughead

Quote from: Mr.Lodge on March 21, 2019, 06:31:28 amI've noticed that the newer stories drawn is the past several years in the digests look awful and cheap as opposed in the past.



I actually think this is the Kennedys trying to be Harry Lucey and it isn't too bad at that! Veronica's skirt is too short and her stance is pretty vulgar considering these are supposed to be teenagers.  I'm no prude but I don't really read Archie for that.  

SAGG

Quote from: Vegan Jughead on March 22, 2019, 04:35:24 pm
Quote from: Mr.Lodge on March 21, 2019, 06:31:28 amI've noticed that the newer stories drawn is the past several years in the digests look awful and cheap as opposed in the past.



I actually think this is the Kennedys trying to be Harry Lucey and it isn't too bad at that! Veronica's skirt is too short and her stance is pretty vulgar considering these are supposed to be teenagers.  I'm no prude but I don't really read Archie for that. 
Quote from: Vegan Jughead on March 22, 2019, 04:35:24 pm
Quote from: Mr.Lodge on March 21, 2019, 06:31:28 amI've noticed that the newer stories drawn is the past several years in the digests look awful and cheap as opposed in the past.



I actually think this is the Kennedys trying to be Harry Lucey and it isn't too bad at that! Veronica's skirt is too short and her stance is pretty vulgar considering these are supposed to be teenagers.  I'm no prude but I don't really read Archie for that. 
Yet you noticed... 😆

DeCarlo Rules

March 23, 2019, 01:08:22 pm #4 Last Edit: March 23, 2019, 01:14:41 pm by DeCarlo Rules
Vulgar??  :tickedoff:

Yet when Lucey and DeCarlo did it, it was somehow okay, but if the Kennedys do it today... well, NOW it's just "awful and cheap". And what in bloody blazes does a page of Chic Stone drawing the gang making a snowman have to do with anything??

THIS (this kind of criticism) is EXACTLY what's wrong with comics today. Yeah, you really ARE a prude.


Vegan Jughead

Quote from: DeCarlo Rules on March 23, 2019, 01:08:22 pmVulgar??  :tickedoff:

Yet when Lucey and DeCarlo did it, it was somehow okay, but if the Kennedys do it today... well, NOW it's just "awful and cheap". And what in bloody blazes does a page of Chic Stone drawing the gang making a snowman have to do with anything??

THIS (this kind of criticism) is EXACTLY what's wrong with comics today. Yeah, you really ARE a prude.


OK, guilty as charged I guess.  I don't mind the stuff being made. I'm first amendment ALL the way! Just not what I look for in Archie, though I admit I enjoyed this digest cover and I say that as someone that isn't a HUGE Fernando fan. This is one of his best IMO. Despite what I said, I appreciate the Kennedys paying tribute to Harry!

Tuxedo Mark

Quote from: DeCarlo Rules on March 23, 2019, 01:08:22 pm

I have nothing to add to the discussion. I just wanna point out that I just noticed, for the first time, Betty has blossoms all over her bikini top. Probably got it from Cheryl. :coolsmiley:
BV-kiss-small
Riverdale Reviewed
http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
Every episode of "Riverdale", "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries" reviewed.
My digital wish list
https://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/14FS742SI1R5I

DeCarlo Rules

Today at 01:27:02 am #7 Last Edit: Today at 01:43:05 am by DeCarlo Rules
In defense of the Kennedy brothers, I have to say that the quality of their work as cartoonists in the humor genre has improved 1000% over the course of the last 20 years. I'm not sure what, exactly, spurred the brothers on to new artistic heights, but I first began noticing it in the wake of their work on the LIFE WITH ARCHIE magazine series. Somehow that lit a fire under their butts. I truly believe they ARE, more than any other artists employed by ACP, the true heirs to the legacy of the rather specific Archie style blazed by Harry Lucey. I'm not just talking about their ability to draw sexy attractive cartoon girls -- when you really study their art, you can tell that they've taken to mastering the real "animation-on-paper" aspects of the comic medium. Their mastery of time & space, as applied to slapstick comedy, is truly amazing. Bodies float or fly, trip or tumble, end-over-end, in an almost balletic display of aerial acrobatics. Body language, attitudes and facial expressions are incredibly well-defined. Background details are rich with what MAD's Will Elder deemed as "chicken fat"... the sort of visual detail that may add nothing to the story itself, but makes the world of the comic come alive. They're paying close attention to fashion as well, in a way that virtually no other ACP artists do. I mean, Dan Parent used to pay a lot more attention to that sort of thing when he had the time and luxury to do so -- but not as much these days, except on those special projects Like Archie Meets Batman '66, or Your Pal Archie. That's part of Dan DeCarlo's legacy of contribution to teen humor comics. When you look at the Kennedys' work from 20 years back, it's... unremarkable. I mean, there was nothing technically WRONG with it. It's... "perfectly acceptable". There just wasn't anything to say about it -- like that page of art by Chic Stone with the snowman that we just saw above. It's okay, but nobody's going to notice it, or linger on it to study it. So I guess the Kennedys are forcing us to NOTICE them, and some people don't like that. Blend in with the crowd, don't stand out -- be bland but steady and dependable. Frankly I prefer the Kennedy brothers of today, not yesterday. Lest you think this is just a Kennedy love-fest, I will point out that their work in the horror genre is nowhere near as well-developed as their humor work. There's nothing WRONG with it, it's just... unremarkable. But then I'm judging it by different standards, the standards that have been set for outstanding work in the horror genre.


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.