• Welcome to Archie Comics Fan Forum. Please login or sign up.
 
August 03, 2021, 02:53:22 AM

News:

Welcome! Please pardon the dust as we work to set the site up again :)


Welcome to Archie Comics Fan Forum. Please login or sign up.

August 03, 2021, 02:53:22 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Topics

Shoutbox

Jul 29 2021 3:07pm
DeCarlo Rules: ACP is only soliciting five comics this month, and I'm getting ALL of them?!

Jul 29 2021 3:05pm
DeCarlo Rules: "But wait... Sabrina would never kill someone, would she??" ... What the hell, anything for a buck.

Jul 29 2021 3:04pm
DeCarlo Rules: Wow, THAT didn't take long... https://www.previewsworld.com/Catalog/AUG211498

Jul 28 2021 8:58pm
Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Water Songs!" from Betty and Veronica Jumbo Comics Digest #295: https://riverdalereviewed.com/2021/07/28/comics-water-songs/

Jul 23 2021 1:27pm
DeCarlo Rules: They should have called it Life After TV With Sabrina. There is no Life After Afterlife With Archie because there was no TV series.

Jul 22 2021 2:25pm
Hanna Barbera Montana: Doesn't say. That depends if Francesco Francavilla is free to work. And if Secasa is free as well.

Jul 22 2021 12:48pm
Tuxedo Mark: Huh. Okay. So will Afterlife With Archie be continuing as well?

Jul 15 2021 10:57am
DeCarlo Rules: I think I like this one better, though... https://youtu.be/PLv_FEA5l_s

Jul 15 2021 10:57am
DeCarlo Rules: I think I like this one better, though... [url]https://youtu.be/PLv_FEA5l_s[/ur;]

Fraudulent Ebay listings

Started by rusty, March 30, 2016, 09:18:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

rusty

Somebody listed a copy of Jackpot #4 (2nd appearance of Archie) in 6.0 condition a couple of days ago.  I put it on my watch list, but something about the listing bothered me.  The listing seemed very familiar and the person selling it had an account that was not very active plus there were no other items up for sale.

I did a google search and found that the same comic with the same description had sold back in 2013 for over $7000.  Somebody had evidently copied the listing and pictures and listed it as if they owned the comic.  The listing is gone now, though.

Oldiesmann

I don't understand why anyone would try that. Someone with enough knowledge of comics and money to buy that would definitely do their research and be very careful before buying it. There's also the fact that eBay and PayPal both offer buyer protection on such things.

rusty

If the account was stolen or hacked then maybe the person would be able to get the money and withdraw it and then disappear before Ebay/Paypal caught up to them.  The buyer might get their money back at the expense of Ebay/Paypal.

The bidding was over $1200 with a couple of days to go when I reported it.  It could very easily have gone over $5000-$6000 before closing.

The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.