• Welcome to Archie Comics Fan Forum. Please login or sign up.
 
October 17, 2021, 04:46:41 AM

News:

Welcome! Please pardon the dust as we work to set the site up again :)


Welcome to Archie Comics Fan Forum. Please login or sign up.

October 17, 2021, 04:46:41 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Topics

Shoutbox

Oct 08 2021 3:01pm
DeCarlo Rules: Because it's not like it's the last chance we'll get to see those 5-page stories...

Oct 08 2021 2:59pm
DeCarlo Rules: Hmm... Archie Milestones is back... BUT I already bought all the "Best of Archie" TPBs... So I'm going to have to pass on paying the steep cover price just for one new 5-page story.

Oct 08 2021 2:53pm
DeCarlo Rules: I would have expected them to just release Super Duck as a TP rather than let the already completed issues languish. I kind of liked it.

Oct 08 2021 11:28am
Hanna Barbera Montana: New digest stories in January will be special throwback tales featuring the cast in a specific decade: https://archiecomics.com/new-throwback-archie-comics-stories-debut-in-januarys-milestone-digest-issue/

Oct 08 2021 12:25am
Tuxedo Mark: Official Riverdale/Sabrina crossover happening next season: https://ew.com/tv/sabrina-riverdale-crossover-kiernan-shipka/

Oct 06 2021 12:02am
Hanna Barbera Montana: I'm reminded about something: whatever happened to the Super Duck relaunch by Ian Flynn? One issue came out and the series went on extended hiatus.

Sep 30 2021 9:41pm
Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Wedded Blitz!" from Cheryl Blossom #7: https://riverdalereviewed.com/2021/09/30/comics-wedded-blitz-2/

Sep 30 2021 1:47pm
Tuxedo Mark: My review of 'What a Doll!" from Cheryl Blossom #7: https://riverdalereviewed.com/2021/09/30/comics-what-a-doll/

Sep 22 2021 9:09am
Tuxedo Mark: The first three episodes of Big Ethel Energy are up: https://www.webtoons.com/en/drama/archie-comics-big-ethel-energy/episode-1/viewer?title_no=3363

Sep 18 2021 11:09pm
Tuxedo Mark: Upcoming Christmas anthology with 3 new stories, Archie's Holiday Magic Special: https://archiecomics.com/archies-holiday-magic-special-anthology-delivers-laughs-and-life-lessons-this-december/

Fraudulent Ebay listings

Started by rusty, March 30, 2016, 09:18:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

rusty

Somebody listed a copy of Jackpot #4 (2nd appearance of Archie) in 6.0 condition a couple of days ago.  I put it on my watch list, but something about the listing bothered me.  The listing seemed very familiar and the person selling it had an account that was not very active plus there were no other items up for sale.

I did a google search and found that the same comic with the same description had sold back in 2013 for over $7000.  Somebody had evidently copied the listing and pictures and listed it as if they owned the comic.  The listing is gone now, though.

Oldiesmann

I don't understand why anyone would try that. Someone with enough knowledge of comics and money to buy that would definitely do their research and be very careful before buying it. There's also the fact that eBay and PayPal both offer buyer protection on such things.

rusty

If the account was stolen or hacked then maybe the person would be able to get the money and withdraw it and then disappear before Ebay/Paypal caught up to them.  The buyer might get their money back at the expense of Ebay/Paypal.

The bidding was over $1200 with a couple of days to go when I reported it.  It could very easily have gone over $5000-$6000 before closing.

The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.