• Welcome to Archie Comics Fan Forum. Please login or sign up.
 
February 17, 2020, 12:26:40 pm

News:

Welcome! Please pardon the dust as we work to set the site up again :)


collapse

Random Image

eeriecuties
eeriecuties
Posted by: daren
Posted in album: daren

Search


Recent Topics

Re: RIP Victor Gorelick by DeCarlo Rules
[February 15, 2020, 02:04:57 am]


Re: Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[February 10, 2020, 08:01:23 pm]


Re: What have you done today? by Archiecomicxfan215
[January 29, 2020, 08:52:38 pm]


Re: ARCHIE COMICS FOR FEBRUARY 2017 by Gotapenname
[January 24, 2020, 04:19:29 pm]


Re: ARCHIE Modern Classics Vol. 2 by DeCarlo Rules
[January 24, 2020, 02:56:11 pm]


Re: Latest Hauls, what did you buy? by Tuxedo Mark
[January 24, 2020, 11:15:56 am]


Re: Archie (1943) #130-"The Reject" by DeCarlo Rules
[January 24, 2020, 01:02:32 am]


archie meets little archie by sailorxtreme
[January 07, 2020, 02:38:28 pm]


Re: SENTIMENTAL MOMENTS WITH ARCHIE COMICS. by ASS-P
[December 30, 2019, 06:03:39 pm]


Re: Change settings? by DeCarlo Rules
[December 07, 2019, 05:26:17 am]

Shoutbox

  • Tuxedo Mark: Story #03 of my Blackjack Jill original series is now free on Amazon: [link]
    February 12, 2020, 11:03:22 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Distress Over a Dress" from Veronica #179: [link]
    February 10, 2020, 08:02:05 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Definitely more of a light-hearted comedy.
    February 07, 2020, 11:30:30 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: I loved the first episode of Katy Keene! :)
    February 07, 2020, 11:30:10 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Whose Beach is It, Anyway?" from Archie's Summer Splash! (the FCBD 2010 issue): [link]
    January 31, 2020, 10:39:40 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "The Dating Analysis" from Archie Double Digest #306: [link]
    January 26, 2020, 05:20:43 pm
  • Gotapenname: I lent my dad all most  Archie the Married life 10th aniversary series and the experince so far has been more fun than reading comic. I guess really is bettter to give than recive.:)
    January 24, 2020, 04:11:42 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: I suspected it was coming when I didn't see ARCHIE AND ME listed in the titles for the subscription ad appearing in the digests...
    January 24, 2020, 03:17:40 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Has Archie and Me been cancelled?
    January 24, 2020, 11:38:01 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "The Case of the Walk-Away Shoes" from Betty and Veronica Double Digest #279: [link]
    January 20, 2020, 07:21:25 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: 21, the first story in my Blackjack Jill serial, is available for free right now: [link]
    January 20, 2020, 11:37:36 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: A week is nothing. That can pretty much happen with any title from any publisher.
    January 16, 2020, 03:05:10 am
  • Mr.Lodge: They want to finish Afterlife with Archie first.....
    January 12, 2020, 10:37:50 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Archie #710 has been delayed a week. I guess I shouldn't be surprised.
    January 11, 2020, 07:37:46 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: The third and fourth stories in my series, Vampire Killer, are free on Amazon right now: [link] and [link]
    January 11, 2020, 05:07:17 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "The Case of the Triple Cross" from B&V Friends Jumbo Comics Digest, No. 276: [link]
    January 10, 2020, 11:36:11 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Congrats to Riverdale on its renewal and Katy Keene on its additional 13-script order.
    January 07, 2020, 10:47:15 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: ACP's solicitations for January include SABRINA The Complete Collection Vol. 2 (1972-1973) and the latest Archie Comics character to be rebooted -- SUPER DUCK! [link]
    January 02, 2020, 07:02:52 am
  • TeamBlossom: Changed my username as I left a hobby I do not want to share...
    January 01, 2020, 11:43:20 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Happy New Year, everyone! :)
    January 01, 2020, 12:07:15 am

ARCHIE Modern Classics Vol. 2

Started by DeCarlo Rules, January 24, 2020, 06:50:50 am

Previous topic - Next topic

DeCarlo Rules

January 24, 2020, 06:50:50 am Last Edit: January 24, 2020, 03:51:48 pm by DeCarlo Rules


It's good to get this because it represents kind of an annual survey of classic Archie stories. There were 48 stories in this book -- I got the feeling that a couple were left out to keep it down to 256 pages. By my account there should have been 50 Archie digest issues released in 2019; possibly a couple of those individual digest issues had more than one new story, so maybe as many as 52 new 5-pagers saw print in 2019. Of the 48 stories in this collection, Bill Golliher wrote 28 of them (and he's virtually the sole writer now for B&V stories). Francis Bonnet wrote 9 stories appearing in the 3 Archie digest titles, followed by Angelo DeCesare with 8. The remaining 3 writers only contributed a single story in 2019 (or if they did more, they weren't included in this collection). Dan Parent drew most of the B&V stories, and contributed a single Archie & Jughead story (which he also wrote) as well. I wish that Jeff Shultz and the Kennedy brothers had drawn more of the remaining stories; their work is sorely missed and I always appreciate seeing a new story by them.

I don't recall seeing any stories by Francis Bonnet prior to 2019, but on average, they're as good as any of the other stories in this collection. That just strikes me as really odd, that a new writer could potentially break in at ACP by writing classic Archie stories at a time when the number of pages of those stories is at an all-time low, but there it is. Unless "Francis Bonnet" is actually a pseudonym for some established writer who for some reason doesn't want to reveal his true identity. He does seem very familiar with the characters and typical Archie-style plots, though, so I wonder...

I no longer subscribe to any of the three Archie digests, although I still get the two B&V digests. It's good to be patient and get a large dose of the new Archie stories at the end of the year, though, which makes this compilation really worthwhile for me.

Tuxedo Mark

Good review. Wait, this is volume 2, and it covers 2018? So there was no volume covering 2016 (the first year in which new stories appeared in only the digests)?
BV-kiss-small
Riverdale Reviewed
http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
Every episode of "Riverdale", "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries" reviewed.
My digital wish list
https://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/14FS742SI1R5I

DeCarlo Rules

January 24, 2020, 02:56:11 pm #2 Last Edit: January 24, 2020, 03:14:00 pm by DeCarlo Rules
Quote from: Tuxedo Mark on January 24, 2020, 10:06:56 amGood review. Wait, this is volume 2, and it covers 2018? So there was no volume covering 2016 (the first year in which new stories appeared in only the digests)?

Sorry, I had a brainfart. Still stuck in the timewarp of last month, but at the same time trying to think "previous year". Since edited and corrected -- the stories are indeed from last year, 2019. Volume 1 covered the stories from 2018. My bad.

New digest stories from years prior to that were collected in a series of digital-only releases entitled ARCHIE BEST OF 2015/2016/2017 DIGEST ANNUAL (available on ComiXology, Amazon and elsewhere), but were never made available in a print collection, unlike the ARCHIE MODERN CLASSICS series.

If I recall correctly, ACP started including new 5-page stories in every digest issue sometime in 2014 (not sure of the exact month), so the year 2014 did not have a new story in every single issue of every digest title from January through December, but that was the year that the digests ARCHIE'S FUNHOUSE (#1, March) and JUGHEAD AND ARCHIE (#1, June) were launched, and the inclusion of new 5-page stories may have started with those first issues (if not the other digests published in the same months).


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.