• Welcome to Archie Comics Fan Forum. Please login or sign up.
 
April 09, 2020, 04:25:58 pm

News:

Welcome! Please pardon the dust as we work to set the site up again :)


collapse

Random Image

JugheadDD27
JugheadDD27
Posted by: SAGG
Posted in album: SAGG

Search


Recent Topics

Re: Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[April 05, 2020, 08:29:47 pm]


I'm here. by ASS-P
[April 05, 2020, 12:42:32 am]


Re: Archie Comics Digests... the origin story by ASS-P
[April 05, 2020, 12:33:16 am]


Hypothetical Highlights for May/June 2020 by DeCarlo Rules
[March 27, 2020, 02:42:30 am]


Re: New issue of Super ‘Suckers has just debuted by DeCarlo Rules
[March 21, 2020, 12:47:01 am]


Re: Red Sonja & Vampirella Meet Betty & Veronica #9 by Amy Chu & Dan Parent by Tuxedo Mark
[March 18, 2020, 09:25:00 am]


Re: Archie Comics Funko Pops coming this year!! by archiecomicscollector
[March 09, 2020, 09:13:43 pm]


Re: RIP Victor Gorelick by darkmark
[March 05, 2020, 07:36:55 pm]


Re: ARCHIE SHOWCASE DIGEST by botolo
[March 03, 2020, 09:49:35 am]


Re: New Collect Sabrina Pre-Order by DeCarlo Rules
[February 29, 2020, 01:51:01 am]

Shoutbox

  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Seal it with a Kiss" from Cheryl Blossom #34: [link]
    April 05, 2020, 08:30:30 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Are You Like a Millionaire?" from Cheryl Blossom #34: [link]
    April 05, 2020, 11:17:39 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: Stories #1-4 in my Vampire Killer original serial are free through April 1 on Amazon: [link] [link] [link] [link]
    March 28, 2020, 04:40:08 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: I realize digital readers may not give a fug about comic shops, but... Well, just try to be patient a *little* while longer. All your hopes and dreams have never been closer to reality than they are right now.
    March 26, 2020, 03:22:43 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: There is a same day/same date digital/print release schedule agreement between publishers and Diamond Comics.
    March 26, 2020, 02:55:20 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: Red Sonja and Vampirella Meet Betty and Veronica #11 has been delayed from April 22 to May 27 (presumably due to the Diamond thing regarding coronavirus). But why not make the digital edition available on the originally scheduled release date, so people will have something to read?
    March 25, 2020, 07:12:27 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Stuck With You" from Cheryl Blossom: Summertime Fun #3 (1995): [link]
    March 22, 2020, 02:38:32 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Beach Blanket Blossom" from Cheryl Blossom: Summertime Fun #3 (1995): [link]
    March 19, 2020, 10:20:58 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "By the Book!" from Betty and Veronica Jumbo Comics Digest #281: [link]
    March 12, 2020, 10:18:03 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Story #05 of my Blackjack Jill series is now free on Amazon: [link]
    February 25, 2020, 07:29:40 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Tough Turf" from Cheryl Blossom: Summertime Fun #2 (1995): [link]
    February 24, 2020, 09:28:47 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: HERE-WE-GO-AGAIN TIME:  Sabrina the Teenage Witch Complete Collection v2 TP (solicited in January with a shipping date of 3/18/2020) is now CANCELLED. I thought this kind of stuff was over with by now...
    February 19, 2020, 06:49:11 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: Story #03 of my Blackjack Jill original series is now free on Amazon: [link]
    February 12, 2020, 11:03:22 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Distress Over a Dress" from Veronica #179: [link]
    February 10, 2020, 08:02:05 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Definitely more of a light-hearted comedy.
    February 07, 2020, 11:30:30 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: I loved the first episode of Katy Keene! :)
    February 07, 2020, 11:30:10 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Whose Beach is It, Anyway?" from Archie's Summer Splash! (the FCBD 2010 issue): [link]
    January 31, 2020, 10:39:40 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "The Dating Analysis" from Archie Double Digest #306: [link]
    January 26, 2020, 05:20:43 pm
  • Gotapenname: I lent my dad all most  Archie the Married life 10th aniversary series and the experince so far has been more fun than reading comic. I guess really is bettter to give than recive.:)
    January 24, 2020, 04:11:42 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: I suspected it was coming when I didn't see ARCHIE AND ME listed in the titles for the subscription ad appearing in the digests...
    January 24, 2020, 03:17:40 pm

ARCHIE Modern Classics Vol. 2

Started by DeCarlo Rules, January 24, 2020, 06:50:50 am

Previous topic - Next topic

DeCarlo Rules

January 24, 2020, 06:50:50 am Last Edit: January 24, 2020, 03:51:48 pm by DeCarlo Rules


It's good to get this because it represents kind of an annual survey of classic Archie stories. There were 48 stories in this book -- I got the feeling that a couple were left out to keep it down to 256 pages. By my account there should have been 50 Archie digest issues released in 2019; possibly a couple of those individual digest issues had more than one new story, so maybe as many as 52 new 5-pagers saw print in 2019. Of the 48 stories in this collection, Bill Golliher wrote 28 of them (and he's virtually the sole writer now for B&V stories). Francis Bonnet wrote 9 stories appearing in the 3 Archie digest titles, followed by Angelo DeCesare with 8. The remaining 3 writers only contributed a single story in 2019 (or if they did more, they weren't included in this collection). Dan Parent drew most of the B&V stories, and contributed a single Archie & Jughead story (which he also wrote) as well. I wish that Jeff Shultz and the Kennedy brothers had drawn more of the remaining stories; their work is sorely missed and I always appreciate seeing a new story by them.

I don't recall seeing any stories by Francis Bonnet prior to 2019, but on average, they're as good as any of the other stories in this collection. That just strikes me as really odd, that a new writer could potentially break in at ACP by writing classic Archie stories at a time when the number of pages of those stories is at an all-time low, but there it is. Unless "Francis Bonnet" is actually a pseudonym for some established writer who for some reason doesn't want to reveal his true identity. He does seem very familiar with the characters and typical Archie-style plots, though, so I wonder...

I no longer subscribe to any of the three Archie digests, although I still get the two B&V digests. It's good to be patient and get a large dose of the new Archie stories at the end of the year, though, which makes this compilation really worthwhile for me.

Tuxedo Mark

Good review. Wait, this is volume 2, and it covers 2018? So there was no volume covering 2016 (the first year in which new stories appeared in only the digests)?
BV-kiss-small
Riverdale Reviewed
http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
Every episode of "Riverdale", "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries" reviewed.
My digital wish list
https://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/14FS742SI1R5I

DeCarlo Rules

January 24, 2020, 02:56:11 pm #2 Last Edit: January 24, 2020, 03:14:00 pm by DeCarlo Rules
Quote from: Tuxedo Mark on January 24, 2020, 10:06:56 amGood review. Wait, this is volume 2, and it covers 2018? So there was no volume covering 2016 (the first year in which new stories appeared in only the digests)?

Sorry, I had a brainfart. Still stuck in the timewarp of last month, but at the same time trying to think "previous year". Since edited and corrected -- the stories are indeed from last year, 2019. Volume 1 covered the stories from 2018. My bad.

New digest stories from years prior to that were collected in a series of digital-only releases entitled ARCHIE BEST OF 2015/2016/2017 DIGEST ANNUAL (available on ComiXology, Amazon and elsewhere), but were never made available in a print collection, unlike the ARCHIE MODERN CLASSICS series.

If I recall correctly, ACP started including new 5-page stories in every digest issue sometime in 2014 (not sure of the exact month), so the year 2014 did not have a new story in every single issue of every digest title from January through December, but that was the year that the digests ARCHIE'S FUNHOUSE (#1, March) and JUGHEAD AND ARCHIE (#1, June) were launched, and the inclusion of new 5-page stories may have started with those first issues (if not the other digests published in the same months).


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.