collapse

* Random Image

oct160441j
oct160441j
Posted by: BettyReggie
Posted in album: BettyReggie favorites

* Search


* Recent Topics

Classic Betty & Veronica is BACK for $2.99 by Tuxedo Mark
[Today at 04:02:51 PM]


Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[Today at 02:59:00 PM]


Remember The Ala Mode! by Davidizer
[February 19, 2018, 09:17:31 PM]


PTF Reviews Super Suckers #4 by Sitcomics
[February 19, 2018, 04:03:18 PM]


Days we look foward to as Archie Fans. by BettyReggie
[February 19, 2018, 11:10:41 AM]


Library Books That You All Read by BettyReggie
[February 19, 2018, 11:10:08 AM]


"The Archies" will end with issue #7 by DeCarlo Rules
[February 19, 2018, 12:48:33 AM]


Story Jumps In Newest Archie Jumbo Digest by SAGG
[February 18, 2018, 07:44:11 PM]


Adopted an orphan baby monkey by BillysBadFurDay
[February 18, 2018, 06:01:17 PM]


What have you done today? by BettyReggie
[February 18, 2018, 11:14:46 AM]

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • Davidizer: yeah uhhhh.... what gucci?
    February 19, 2018, 09:27:37 PM
  • castle_crimson: whats up?
    February 19, 2018, 06:39:23 AM
  • castle_crimson: happy birthday BettyReggie
    February 19, 2018, 06:32:34 AM
  • castle_crimson: actually shedding some tears
    February 19, 2018, 06:32:18 AM
  • castle_crimson: hey guys, after three years I'm back here. missed you all. glad to be back
    February 19, 2018, 06:32:08 AM
  • BettyReggie: Thank you
    February 18, 2018, 11:13:12 AM
  • Vegan Jughead: Happy Birthday BettyReggie!
    February 18, 2018, 08:14:19 AM
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "The Best of Buds", a B&V story from 2011 [link]
    February 16, 2018, 09:50:56 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: @irishmoxie -- If they are indeed reprinting those early B&V Spectaculars from the Archie Giant Series, I'd agree it's a good choice (although it makes me wonder why they'd bypass the Betty & Veronica Summer Fun issues, which would be even more desirable to have). The early Life With Archie issues are a good choice as well, and I'll be buying both of those collections. Archie at Riverdale High, one of the dullest titles, is more of a puzzling choice. I won't be buying that one.
    February 16, 2018, 05:48:41 AM
  • irishmoxie: I own all of B&V Spectacular and most of the later issues of Life with Archie but I would definitely get these collections as they are easier to read without worrying about tearing the pages of fragile comics. Digital would be even better for me.
    February 15, 2018, 04:27:51 PM
  • irishmoxie: I don't see that classic B&V Vol 1 from the 50s up for pre-order on Amazon anymore. So it looks like they've ditched that idea for now.
    February 15, 2018, 04:26:14 PM
  • irishmoxie: I think their idea was to go with the more "edgy" Classic Archie ie fantasy stories from Life with Archie. I haven't read many of the Archie at Riverdale High books but my impression was that they were the "issue" books focusing on a particular issue pertinent to teens like protesting school lunches or something.
    February 15, 2018, 04:19:01 PM
  • irishmoxie: I suspect they will start the Spectacular collection with the Dan Parent stuff because that is more distinguishable. Older B&V Spectacular stuff is very similar to regular B&V.
    February 15, 2018, 04:17:08 PM
  • rusty: Dark Horse could still have the rights, even if they are not using them.  Archie may be thinking that the Life With Archie and Archie at Riverdale High books wi be more marketable than the older comics.  If so, I would agree with that thinking.  Cosmo is an interesting choice for a collection, but maybe they are hoping to capitalize on the new series or have other plans.
    February 15, 2018, 08:28:49 AM
  • Vegan Jughead: They also have "Cosmo: The Complete Merry Martian" up for pre-order!  How many of these things are in the works? This could be cool, but as DeCarlo Rules says, it's some kind of weird titles they're starting with.
    February 15, 2018, 07:12:42 AM
  • Vegan Jughead: At least these don't say they'll be black and white!  It says they're  "presented in the new higher-end format of Archie Comics Presents".  That sounds promising if they execute it well, and, you know, actually produce and release the books.
    February 15, 2018, 07:11:06 AM
  • DeCarlo Rules: I'm not really sure if the B&V Spectacular collection goes back to include the individual B&V Spec issues from the Archie Giant Series, or starts with #1 of the 1990s series, either.
    February 15, 2018, 12:11:39 AM
  • DeCarlo Rules: Dark Horse has only really done the 1940s (and early 1950s) ARCHIE and 2 volumes of JUGHEAD, and they haven't solicited a new volume in a couple of years. ACP could certainly start with any title (Archie's Girls B&V, or Archie's Pals 'n' Gals, for instance) besides those two.
    February 15, 2018, 12:08:18 AM
  • rusty: Are the rights to the older titles still tied up with Dark Horse maybe?
    February 14, 2018, 03:54:08 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: Seems odd that they'd start off a line of chronological reprint volumes with titles other than the main ones. Whatever happened to the trade collecting the earliest issues of Archie's Girls Betty and Veronica?
    February 14, 2018, 03:49:04 AM


Author Topic: JOSIE reprint collections - Contents Listings and Comparison  (Read 2318 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

DeCarlo Rules

Now we're caught up to last month, and we're back to print comics with ARCHIE'S BIG BOOK: MAGIC, MUSIC & MISCHIEF trade paperback collection. I'm not going to list the Sabrina and Little Archie stories here, because they're not relevant to a comparison between collections focusing on Josie.




   ARCHIE'S BIG BOOK: MAGIC, MUSIC & MISCHIEF Vol. 1      (111 pages)      source of 1st publication      Aug. 2017      writer      penciller      inker      
   A Gym Dandy - Chapter I      8 pages      JOSIE #1      Feb. 1963      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo      Vincent DeCarlo      
   Neat Workers - Chapter II      6 pages      JOSIE #1      Feb. 1963      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo      Vincent DeCarlo      
   Muscle Hustle - Chapter III      5 pages      JOSIE #1      Feb. 1963      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo      Vincent DeCarlo      
   Track Down - Chapter IV      6 pages      JOSIE #1      Feb. 1963      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo      Vincent DeCarlo      
   Footlight Follies - Chapter I      8 pages      JOSIE #2      Aug. 1963      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo      Vincent DeCarlo      
   The Bright Side - Chapter II      6 pages      JOSIE #2      Aug. 1963      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo      Vincent DeCarlo      
   Show Biz Blues - Chapter III      5 pages      JOSIE #2      Aug. 1963      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo      Vincent DeCarlo      
   It's Curtain Time - Chapter IV      5 pages      JOSIE #2      Aug. 1963      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo      Vincent DeCarlo      
   Sweater Girls - Chapter I      8 pages      JOSIE #3      Oct. 1963      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo      Vincent DeCarlo      
   Bad Sort - Chapter II      6 pages      JOSIE #3      Oct. 1963      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo      Vincent DeCarlo      
   Native Nuisance - Chapter III      5 pages      JOSIE #3      Oct. 1963      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo      Vincent DeCarlo      
   Force Feed - Chapter IV   5 pages      JOSIE #3      Oct. 1963      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo      Vincent DeCarlo      
   Off To A Good Start      11 pages      JOSIE #45      Dec. 1969   Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo      Rudy Lapick      
   Take Me To Your Leader      10 pages      JOSIE #51      Oct. 1970      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo      Rudy Lapick      
   Please Take Note      5 pages      JOSIE #55      June 1971      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo      Rudy Lapick      
   Sing A Song of Sixpence      6 pages      JOSIE #59      Dec. 1971      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo      Rudy Lapick      
   Club Crisis      6 pages      JOSIE #93      Dec. 1976      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo      Rudy Lapick      
   The Image      5 pages      ARCHIE'S TV LAUGH-OUT #98      Dec. 1984      George Gladir      Stan Goldberg      Rudy Lapick      

Once again, stories exclusive to this collection are listed in RED, which includes a complete reprinting of the stories from SHE'S JOSIE #2 & 3! Worth it for that alone, IMO, even if you're mainly a digital reader collecting all the other digital exclusive collections.
« Last Edit: September 07, 2017, 09:47:15 AM by DeCarlo Rules »

 


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.
Live Support