collapse

* Random Image

MusicDepreciation3
MusicDepreciation3
Posted by: SAGG
Posted in album: SAGG

* Search


* Recent Topics

Classic Betty & Veronica is BACK for $2.99 by Tuxedo Mark
[Today at 04:02:51 PM]


Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[Today at 02:59:00 PM]


Remember The Ala Mode! by Davidizer
[February 19, 2018, 09:17:31 PM]


PTF Reviews Super Suckers #4 by Sitcomics
[February 19, 2018, 04:03:18 PM]


Days we look foward to as Archie Fans. by BettyReggie
[February 19, 2018, 11:10:41 AM]


Library Books That You All Read by BettyReggie
[February 19, 2018, 11:10:08 AM]


"The Archies" will end with issue #7 by DeCarlo Rules
[February 19, 2018, 12:48:33 AM]


Story Jumps In Newest Archie Jumbo Digest by SAGG
[February 18, 2018, 07:44:11 PM]


Adopted an orphan baby monkey by BillysBadFurDay
[February 18, 2018, 06:01:17 PM]


What have you done today? by BettyReggie
[February 18, 2018, 11:14:46 AM]

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • Davidizer: yeah uhhhh.... what gucci?
    February 19, 2018, 09:27:37 PM
  • castle_crimson: whats up?
    February 19, 2018, 06:39:23 AM
  • castle_crimson: happy birthday BettyReggie
    February 19, 2018, 06:32:34 AM
  • castle_crimson: actually shedding some tears
    February 19, 2018, 06:32:18 AM
  • castle_crimson: hey guys, after three years I'm back here. missed you all. glad to be back
    February 19, 2018, 06:32:08 AM
  • BettyReggie: Thank you
    February 18, 2018, 11:13:12 AM
  • Vegan Jughead: Happy Birthday BettyReggie!
    February 18, 2018, 08:14:19 AM
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "The Best of Buds", a B&V story from 2011 [link]
    February 16, 2018, 09:50:56 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: @irishmoxie -- If they are indeed reprinting those early B&V Spectaculars from the Archie Giant Series, I'd agree it's a good choice (although it makes me wonder why they'd bypass the Betty & Veronica Summer Fun issues, which would be even more desirable to have). The early Life With Archie issues are a good choice as well, and I'll be buying both of those collections. Archie at Riverdale High, one of the dullest titles, is more of a puzzling choice. I won't be buying that one.
    February 16, 2018, 05:48:41 AM
  • irishmoxie: I own all of B&V Spectacular and most of the later issues of Life with Archie but I would definitely get these collections as they are easier to read without worrying about tearing the pages of fragile comics. Digital would be even better for me.
    February 15, 2018, 04:27:51 PM
  • irishmoxie: I don't see that classic B&V Vol 1 from the 50s up for pre-order on Amazon anymore. So it looks like they've ditched that idea for now.
    February 15, 2018, 04:26:14 PM
  • irishmoxie: I think their idea was to go with the more "edgy" Classic Archie ie fantasy stories from Life with Archie. I haven't read many of the Archie at Riverdale High books but my impression was that they were the "issue" books focusing on a particular issue pertinent to teens like protesting school lunches or something.
    February 15, 2018, 04:19:01 PM
  • irishmoxie: I suspect they will start the Spectacular collection with the Dan Parent stuff because that is more distinguishable. Older B&V Spectacular stuff is very similar to regular B&V.
    February 15, 2018, 04:17:08 PM
  • rusty: Dark Horse could still have the rights, even if they are not using them.  Archie may be thinking that the Life With Archie and Archie at Riverdale High books wi be more marketable than the older comics.  If so, I would agree with that thinking.  Cosmo is an interesting choice for a collection, but maybe they are hoping to capitalize on the new series or have other plans.
    February 15, 2018, 08:28:49 AM
  • Vegan Jughead: They also have "Cosmo: The Complete Merry Martian" up for pre-order!  How many of these things are in the works? This could be cool, but as DeCarlo Rules says, it's some kind of weird titles they're starting with.
    February 15, 2018, 07:12:42 AM
  • Vegan Jughead: At least these don't say they'll be black and white!  It says they're  "presented in the new higher-end format of Archie Comics Presents".  That sounds promising if they execute it well, and, you know, actually produce and release the books.
    February 15, 2018, 07:11:06 AM
  • DeCarlo Rules: I'm not really sure if the B&V Spectacular collection goes back to include the individual B&V Spec issues from the Archie Giant Series, or starts with #1 of the 1990s series, either.
    February 15, 2018, 12:11:39 AM
  • DeCarlo Rules: Dark Horse has only really done the 1940s (and early 1950s) ARCHIE and 2 volumes of JUGHEAD, and they haven't solicited a new volume in a couple of years. ACP could certainly start with any title (Archie's Girls B&V, or Archie's Pals 'n' Gals, for instance) besides those two.
    February 15, 2018, 12:08:18 AM
  • rusty: Are the rights to the older titles still tied up with Dark Horse maybe?
    February 14, 2018, 03:54:08 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: Seems odd that they'd start off a line of chronological reprint volumes with titles other than the main ones. Whatever happened to the trade collecting the earliest issues of Archie's Girls Betty and Veronica?
    February 14, 2018, 03:49:04 AM


Author Topic: JOSIE reprint collections - Contents Listings and Comparison  (Read 2319 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

DeCarlo Rules

Thanks for posting all this info, DeCarlo.  :)

I was bummed-out about not being able to get the new collection, but it looks like most of those stories are reprints from other collections or stuff I have already so now I know I can hold off on it for awhile.  :P

You're welcome. I meant to get these all posted a week or so ago (I already had the tables in Excel) but it turned out to be a bear formatting the text in tables for posting on the SimpleMachines forum board, because I had to format the text in each cell with HTML tags nested within tags... a very time-consuming process, especially for the larger collections. I could have left out some of the details (I was forced to omit a short synopsis of each story, because it just took up way too much space, even after trying to pare the synopses down to as basic as possible), but it's really hard to compare if you're just looking at text that isn't separated into columns.

Now in summary, I'd say my recommendations for anyone would be:

If you prefer digital, you DEFINITELY should get --
(CapPalace, I'm pretty sure you must already have all, or at least most, of these):

BEST OF JOSIE AND THE PUSSYCATS (2001) - the digital version is on Comixology/Amazon for $6!
SHE'S JOSIE: BEFORE THE PUSSCATS! (2013)
BEST OF JOSIE AND THE PUSSYCATS: GREATEST HITS! (2014)
JOSIE AND THE SCAREDY CATS (2015)

There's a little duplication between those, but not that much. [Believe me, it's nowhere near as bad as the redundancy on the FIVE different digital exclusive SABRINA collections.] If you have those four above in digital, you can easily skip the ARCHIE 75 SERIES: JOSIE collection, unless you really,really have to have that one 8-page story "Rebellion" from JOSIE #20 (and I admit, it's a great story, where the women in town revolt and take charge, in the most physical way possible)... but it is just ONE story.

You could also add the digital version of ARCHIE'S BIG BOOK, if so inclined. That would largely be an individual choice, depending on how you felt about the Little Archie and Sabrina (all DeCarlo, but one) stories, but the main reason for Josie fans to have it would just be for the complete 4-part stories in JOSIE #2 and 3 -- worth buying just for that, IMO, but your call.

Then you'll have most of the stuff you need. I don't know, look at the list of titles in red from the new BEST OF trade paperback, and make up your mind if you can't live without those for the digital version (but it might be cheaper to just find copies of the original comics or digests in some cases).


And for those people who don't do digital, it's even simpler - just get THE BEST OF JOSIE (2001), ARCHIE'S BIG BOOK, and the new 2017 BEST OF JOSIE trade paperback.


 


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.
Live Support