collapse

* Random Image

RacewayRhythm9
RacewayRhythm9
Posted by: SAGG
Posted in album: SAGG

* Search


* Recent Topics

Days we look foward to as Archie Fans. by BettyReggie
[September 24, 2017, 08:57:48 AM]


Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[September 23, 2017, 10:20:45 PM]


What are you currently watching? by irishmoxie
[September 23, 2017, 08:01:20 PM]


What comics have you been reading? by SAGG
[September 22, 2017, 07:22:18 PM]


hOW i WISH-- by DeCarlo Rules
[September 22, 2017, 11:38:44 AM]


Archie Barber Shop by DeCarlo Rules
[September 22, 2017, 05:51:52 AM]


What have you done today? by Archiecomicxfan215
[September 21, 2017, 09:49:39 AM]


Library Books That You All Read by BettyReggie
[September 20, 2017, 04:46:50 PM]


Whew! by SAGG
[September 20, 2017, 02:20:10 PM]


Rick and Morty by SAGG
[September 16, 2017, 09:05:26 PM]

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • Vegan Jughead: Wow, Mark, that was detailed!  Ha ha
    September 24, 2017, 06:32:42 AM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Here's my review of episode 2 of "Riverdale": [link]
    September 23, 2017, 10:21:29 PM
  • Brandytasir: Hello all....
    September 23, 2017, 07:35:23 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: 25 years...
    September 23, 2017, 02:57:35 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: Oh, the irony~! The proposed superhero revival that was too dark and edgy for ACP in 1989 (Spectrum Comics) had to wait 25 to get published (as Dark Circle)... and by then it was "Been there, done that. Nobody cares." I only hope their take-away from lack of response to all the dark superheroes is to make the new Mighty Crusaders title into a fun action-adventure comic book.
    September 23, 2017, 02:56:55 PM
  • steveinthecity: * Article from July 1989.
    September 23, 2017, 12:27:26 PM
  • steveinthecity: An interesting Washington Post article about Archie & staying true to the CCA in what ACP publishes.[link]
    September 23, 2017, 12:26:28 PM
  • Vegan Jughead: Yes Mark.  192 pages.  Jumbos are 256, which was reduced from 288, which was reduced from 320.  The price continues to rise of course.  If you subscribe all issues are the same price.  I know you've had issues with subscriptions, though.
    September 22, 2017, 08:03:39 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Are Annuals bigger than regular digests?
    September 22, 2017, 06:50:16 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: On the plus side, of those 5 issues of B&V Friends in 2017, 2 of them are Jumbo issues and the other three are Annuals.
    September 22, 2017, 05:46:48 AM
  • DeCarlo Rules: Definitely. I was a little worried when there was no B&V Friends solicitation for November... that means only 5 issues came out this year, instead of 6 -- but since you got a renewal notice, and there's an issue solicited for December, it looks like it will continue!  :)
    September 22, 2017, 05:44:32 AM
  • Ronny G: I just got another email from archie.com wanting me to renew my B&V Friends subscription, so maybe that's a good sign?
    September 22, 2017, 04:43:39 AM
  • DeCarlo Rules: Sorry about the typo in that link!  :-[
    September 22, 2017, 02:03:03 AM
  • DeCarlo Rules: There's at least one more issue of B&V FRIENDS (#257) solicited for December this year. If it's not the last issue, then apparently it will continue. Here are the December 2017 Archie Comics solicits: [link]
    September 22, 2017, 02:02:34 AM
  • DeCarlo Rules: There's at least one more issue of B&V FRIENDS (#257) solicited for December this year. If it's not the last issue, then apparently it will continue. Here are the December 2017 Archie Comics solicits: [url]https://www.previewsworld.com/Catalog?pub=ARCHIE%20COMIC%20PUBLICATIONS[/utl]
    September 22, 2017, 02:02:10 AM
  • DeCarlo Rules: There's at least one more issue of B&V FRIENDS (#257) solicited for December this year. If it's not the last issue, then apparently it will continue. Here are the December 2017 Archie Comics solicits: [url]https://www.previewsworld.com/Catalog?pub=ARCHIE%20COMIC%20PUBLICATIONS[/utl]
    September 22, 2017, 01:59:53 AM
  • DeCarlo Rules: I just got email confirmation from the ACP subscription department... not only is JUGHEAD AND ARCHIE digest ending, but ARCHIE'S FUNHOUSE digest is ending as well. Both subscriptions are automatically switched to the new ARCHIE AND ME digest, unless a subscriber requests a different digest title. No word on B&V FRIENDS digest so far; here's hoping "no news is good news" in this case.
    September 21, 2017, 11:54:07 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: KJ Apa was in a car accident. He's okay. But he fell asleep at the wheel after working a 16-hour day! Cole Sprouse hitched a ride in a production van or something. They should really pay for transportation for the actors after working long hours. [link]
    September 21, 2017, 04:20:59 PM
  • Archiecomicxfan215: My boyfriend is i can probably get some photos from him to post here
    September 21, 2017, 09:48:15 AM
  • BettyReggie: Anybody going to NYCC?
    September 21, 2017, 07:51:27 AM


Author Topic: JOSIE reprint collections - Contents Listings and Comparison  (Read 1260 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

DeCarlo Rules

Thanks for posting all this info, DeCarlo.  :)

I was bummed-out about not being able to get the new collection, but it looks like most of those stories are reprints from other collections or stuff I have already so now I know I can hold off on it for awhile.  :P

You're welcome. I meant to get these all posted a week or so ago (I already had the tables in Excel) but it turned out to be a bear formatting the text in tables for posting on the SimpleMachines forum board, because I had to format the text in each cell with HTML tags nested within tags... a very time-consuming process, especially for the larger collections. I could have left out some of the details (I was forced to omit a short synopsis of each story, because it just took up way too much space, even after trying to pare the synopses down to as basic as possible), but it's really hard to compare if you're just looking at text that isn't separated into columns.

Now in summary, I'd say my recommendations for anyone would be:

If you prefer digital, you DEFINITELY should get --
(CapPalace, I'm pretty sure you must already have all, or at least most, of these):

BEST OF JOSIE AND THE PUSSYCATS (2001) - the digital version is on Comixology/Amazon for $6!
SHE'S JOSIE: BEFORE THE PUSSCATS! (2013)
BEST OF JOSIE AND THE PUSSYCATS: GREATEST HITS! (2014)
JOSIE AND THE SCAREDY CATS (2015)

There's a little duplication between those, but not that much. [Believe me, it's nowhere near as bad as the redundancy on the FIVE different digital exclusive SABRINA collections.] If you have those four above in digital, you can easily skip the ARCHIE 75 SERIES: JOSIE collection, unless you really,really have to have that one 8-page story "Rebellion" from JOSIE #20 (and I admit, it's a great story, where the women in town revolt and take charge, in the most physical way possible)... but it is just ONE story.

You could also add the digital version of ARCHIE'S BIG BOOK, if so inclined. That would largely be an individual choice, depending on how you felt about the Little Archie and Sabrina (all DeCarlo, but one) stories, but the main reason for Josie fans to have it would just be for the complete 4-part stories in JOSIE #2 and 3 -- worth buying just for that, IMO, but your call.

Then you'll have most of the stuff you need. I don't know, look at the list of titles in red from the new BEST OF trade paperback, and make up your mind if you can't live without those for the digital version (but it might be cheaper to just find copies of the original comics or digests in some cases).


And for those people who don't do digital, it's even simpler - just get THE BEST OF JOSIE (2001), ARCHIE'S BIG BOOK, and the new 2017 BEST OF JOSIE trade paperback.


 


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.
Live Support