collapse

* Random Image

FashionEnforcer4
FashionEnforcer4
Posted by: SAGG
Posted in album: SAGG

* Search


* Recent Topics

What comics have you been reading? by irishmoxie
[Today at 12:58:38 AM]


Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[November 22, 2017, 09:09:51 PM]


What have you done today? by Archiecomicxfan215
[November 20, 2017, 08:45:28 PM]


What are you currently watching? by Archiecomicxfan215
[November 20, 2017, 08:43:16 PM]


Library Books That You All Read by BettyReggie
[November 20, 2017, 06:01:47 PM]


Latest Hauls, what did you buy? by BettyReggie
[November 20, 2017, 04:43:38 PM]


Days we look foward to as Archie Fans. by BettyReggie
[November 20, 2017, 11:22:36 AM]


Archie Charm Bracelet Search by Pamtherese
[November 17, 2017, 09:24:44 PM]


Riverdale season two episode three. by Upsiditus
[November 16, 2017, 10:08:46 PM]


Riverdale, season 2, episodes 5-6 by Tuxedo Mark
[November 16, 2017, 08:17:46 PM]

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • Tuxedo Mark: My reviews of "Camp Out Clout" [link] and the first issue of "Betty and Veronica: Vixens" [link]
    November 22, 2017, 09:11:30 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Fake newspaper article tying in to Betty & Veronica: Vixens: [link]
    November 22, 2017, 04:08:46 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Cami did a photo shoot for Men's Health: [link]
    November 22, 2017, 09:02:23 AM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Anyone willing to beta-read my Sabrina fic and offer feedback?
    November 21, 2017, 09:48:12 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Haha: [link]
    November 20, 2017, 08:21:32 PM
  • Ronny G: The latest Betty and Veronica digest arrived in the mail today! YAY!!!!
    November 16, 2017, 08:14:15 PM
  • BettyReggie: Jughead Volume #3 came from Amazon today.
    November 14, 2017, 04:16:35 PM
  • Jabroniville: Has anyone seen Zach Ziggster since the forums had to be re-set? I miss that guy.
    November 14, 2017, 04:25:23 AM
  • Tuxedo Mark: *Andre
    November 13, 2017, 10:27:19 AM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Adre finally did a new Riverdale recap: [link]
    November 13, 2017, 10:27:05 AM
  • Jabroniville: Is MA3 ending then? I was never a HUGE fan, but that's too bad for her. Ten years is a HUGE run!
    November 13, 2017, 03:44:17 AM
  • DeCarlo Rules: I thought the ad money was only a piece of the webcomics big picture, with the other pieces being commission work and print collections of past webcomics, and word-of-mouth that leads to paying assignments from established publishers. It seems like Gisele just has too much talent to stay out of the game for long, and if nothing else, minus the expenses of hosting and time spent creating webcomics, she ought to be able to make a living just doing covers (which pay better than interior pages), if nothing else.
    November 12, 2017, 06:23:36 AM
  • irishmoxie: Apparently the ad money for webcomics couldn't pay her living expenses anymore.
    November 11, 2017, 08:38:24 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: Aw, dang. I hope Gisele gets a regular print comic series going. Hopefully that's the only reason she's quitting webcomics.
    November 11, 2017, 03:40:31 AM
  • irishmoxie: Gisele posted on her Facebook that she's quitting webcomics. Kinda sad though I really only liked MA3.
    November 10, 2017, 02:20:19 PM
  • irishmoxie: The first two issues of the Annual.
    November 10, 2017, 02:19:39 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: The Archie Annuals actually ran from 1950 to 1975 (after that they continued as digests). Does ComiXology have all 26 of the comic book-sized Annuals?
    November 09, 2017, 02:36:54 PM
  • irishmoxie: They're selling the old Archie Annuals from 40s and 50s on ComiXology
    November 09, 2017, 12:45:20 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: @queenhenny - My copy of WOA 73 had all the correct pages.
    November 09, 2017, 08:57:20 AM
  • queenhenny: For me its The Chatty Charioteer to It Must be Magic, as well as a one-pager and a game
    November 07, 2017, 10:16:36 PM


Author Topic: JOSIE reprint collections - Contents Listings and Comparison  (Read 1769 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

DeCarlo Rules

Now we're caught up to last month, and we're back to print comics with ARCHIE'S BIG BOOK: MAGIC, MUSIC & MISCHIEF trade paperback collection. I'm not going to list the Sabrina and Little Archie stories here, because they're not relevant to a comparison between collections focusing on Josie.




   ARCHIE'S BIG BOOK: MAGIC, MUSIC & MISCHIEF Vol. 1      (111 pages)      source of 1st publication      Aug. 2017      writer      penciller      inker      
   A Gym Dandy - Chapter I      8 pages      JOSIE #1      Feb. 1963      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo      Vincent DeCarlo      
   Neat Workers - Chapter II      6 pages      JOSIE #1      Feb. 1963      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo      Vincent DeCarlo      
   Muscle Hustle - Chapter III      5 pages      JOSIE #1      Feb. 1963      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo      Vincent DeCarlo      
   Track Down - Chapter IV      6 pages      JOSIE #1      Feb. 1963      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo      Vincent DeCarlo      
   Footlight Follies - Chapter I      8 pages      JOSIE #2      Aug. 1963      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo      Vincent DeCarlo      
   The Bright Side - Chapter II      6 pages      JOSIE #2      Aug. 1963      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo      Vincent DeCarlo      
   Show Biz Blues - Chapter III      5 pages      JOSIE #2      Aug. 1963      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo      Vincent DeCarlo      
   It's Curtain Time - Chapter IV      5 pages      JOSIE #2      Aug. 1963      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo      Vincent DeCarlo      
   Sweater Girls - Chapter I      8 pages      JOSIE #3      Oct. 1963      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo      Vincent DeCarlo      
   Bad Sort - Chapter II      6 pages      JOSIE #3      Oct. 1963      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo      Vincent DeCarlo      
   Native Nuisance - Chapter III      5 pages      JOSIE #3      Oct. 1963      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo      Vincent DeCarlo      
   Force Feed - Chapter IV   5 pages      JOSIE #3      Oct. 1963      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo      Vincent DeCarlo      
   Off To A Good Start      11 pages      JOSIE #45      Dec. 1969   Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo      Rudy Lapick      
   Take Me To Your Leader      10 pages      JOSIE #51      Oct. 1970      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo      Rudy Lapick      
   Please Take Note      5 pages      JOSIE #55      June 1971      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo      Rudy Lapick      
   Sing A Song of Sixpence      6 pages      JOSIE #59      Dec. 1971      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo      Rudy Lapick      
   Club Crisis      6 pages      JOSIE #93      Dec. 1976      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo      Rudy Lapick      
   The Image      5 pages      ARCHIE'S TV LAUGH-OUT #98      Dec. 1984      George Gladir      Stan Goldberg      Rudy Lapick      

Once again, stories exclusive to this collection are listed in RED, which includes a complete reprinting of the stories from SHE'S JOSIE #2 & 3! Worth it for that alone, IMO, even if you're mainly a digital reader collecting all the other digital exclusive collections.
« Last Edit: September 07, 2017, 09:47:15 AM by DeCarlo Rules »

Vegan Jughead

I just got this.  I love the size!  GREAT collection.

DeCarlo Rules

I just got this.  I love the size!  GREAT collection.

Yeah, I'm surprised what a difference it makes. It's not like you ever have to strain your eyes reading a digest-sized reprint, or even the slightly larger "Best of Archie Series" TPB format, or the one they used to use for the "Archie & Friends All-Stars". But it's really nice to see them printed at the same size as the original comics. Even better on the larger, magazine sized pages used for the Archie Comics Super Specials and those IDW "Best of" Archie artists hardcovers. Maybe the ultimate (even though it only reprinted selected stories from the first two hardcover volumes of IDW's The Best of Dan DeCarlo) was that ARCHIE by Dan DeCarlo Treasury Edition, with pages that measure almost 10"x 13"!!

If you're a Josie fan, I recommend IDW's Archie Hardcover book, "The Best of Dan DeCarlo" Volume 4. I have all 4 volumes, but vol. 4 is my favorite because it has a six Josie stories (pre-Pussycats) nicely reproduced in large format on quality paper. Two of the stories are from Pep and Laugh before she got her own series.
« Last Edit: September 07, 2017, 05:20:11 PM by Ronny G »

DeCarlo Rules

If you're a Josie fan, I recommend IDW's Archie Hardcover book, "The Best of Dan DeCarlo" Volume 4. I have all 4 volumes, but vol. 4 is my favorite because it has a six Josie stories (pre-Pussycats) nicely reproduced in large format on quality paper. Two of the stories are from Pep and Laugh before she got her own series.

No, (She's) JOSIE #1 was her true first appearance. Some people think it was Archie's Pals 'n' Gals #23, but that actually hit the stands a week or so later. During the 1960s, PEP and LAUGH were the true anthology titles where you might find any of the Archie characters. Some issues even had short comics featuring The Jaguar, or The Fly (or Fly-Girl), for a while. Josie was in some issues of each of those titles before Archie's TV Laugh-Out came along, but it was while she had her own comic book.

What I want to know about is this cover image....



Found that on the internet, with a claim that it was published April 24, 2012 by Archie Comics (supposedly a 160-page hardcover). The design actually looks more like one of the IDW books, but I'm not yet convinced that this thing actually exists. It's possible, though, if it were some sort of exclusive deal made by Archie Comics with a major bookseller, and wasn't available elsewhere, like the comic shop direct market.


Thanks for the info! I thought she started out in other comics first--sorta like Sabrina started out in the pages of Archie's Mad House. Thanks for clearing that up.
Regarding the other Best of Josie you pictured. I had pre-ordered it on amazon when it first showed up, but as the date approached, they cancelled it. I don't think it exists either.  :(
Would you happen to know about Katy Keene? I would like to read some of her old stories. I know some were reprinted in the digests, but they seem to be sporadic.  Do you have, or do you know of a list of reprinted Katy stories like the one you are doing of Josie.
« Last Edit: September 07, 2017, 07:15:55 PM by Ronny G »

DeCarlo Rules

Thanks for the info! I thought she started out in other comics first--sorta like Sabrina started out in the pages of Archie's Mad House. Thanks for clearing that up.
Regarding the other Best of Josie you pictured. I had pre-ordered it on amazon when it first showed up, but as the date approached, they cancelled it. I don't think it exists either.  :(
Would you happen to know about Katy Keene? I would like to read some of her old stories. I know some were reprinted in the digests, but they seem to be sporadic.  Do you have, or do you know of a list of reprinted Katy stories like the one you are doing of Josie.

Katy Keene reprints have occasionally shown up in B & V Friends Double Digest. There was one in the latest issue, but it's from the Andrew Pepoy series of shorts which ran in ARCHIE & FRIENDS, and I suspect you're referring to the earlier ones. (I actually rather liked Pepoy's 21st century update of the character, all of which have been reprinted in a trade paperback collection, Katy Keene: Model Behavior from 2008.) There hasn't really been a digest title which had Katy reprints as a regular feature, but a few of them showed up in 2009-2012 in Betty and Veronica Double Digest #168, 169, 175, 178, 179, 185, 196, 197, and 199. Some of those issues (and others in-between) had Ginger reprints, too. Katy may possibly have been in other issues around that time, but I don't have a complete listing of contents of all the issues.

One thing I'm curious about is that whenever I do see Katy Keene reprints, they're never reprints of the 1980s series (another which I liked, of the few I've actually had a chance to read). The 1980s series of Katy Keene comics might still be found relatively more easily than her original series that ran from 1949 to 1961, so here's a list of them:

KATY KEENE SPECIAL #1 - 6 (September 1983 - October 1984)
KATY KEENE (Vol. 2) #7 - 33 (December 1984 - January 1990)
KATY KEENE COMICS DIGEST MAGAZINE #1 - 10 (1987 - 1990)

It seems to me that if you're looking for the most Katy stories you can get in one place, finding copies of those 10 digests would be your best bet. Unfortunately I don't own them myself, and the contents aren't indexed at the Grand Comics Database, so I can't tell you what the stories are, but it was a regular-size (96-page) digest, issued 4 times annually. Hope that helps.

Here's a typical issue's cover:







« Last Edit: September 07, 2017, 10:03:53 PM by DeCarlo Rules »

DeCarlo Rules



And finally, we come to the most recent (and largest) collection of Josie stories yet, THE BEST OF JOSIE AND THE PUSSYCATS (Aug. 2017) -- and at 385 pages, it outweighs the previous BEST OF JOSIE AND THE PUSSCATS: GREATEST HITS! digital exclusive collection by a whopping 92 pages of comics. You may have noticed that this is the third time they've used the words "The Best of Josie and the Pussycats" in the title of a collection. We had the 2001 trade paperback collection by that name, the 2014 digital exclusive collection subtitled "Greatest Hits!", and now this, which, by the physical dimensions of the book, I guess is intended to be considered part of "The Best of Archie Comics" series of trade collections.

Waitaminnit... how can I say 385 pages, when it says right on the cover of the trade paperback "Over 400 Pages"? Well, technically the book IS over 400 pages. Just not 400 pages of comics, and that's all I'm counting -- the actual pages of comics reprinted. Add the contents, credits and comments pages by some notable names in the comics biz (and elsewhere) and it does total over 400 pages -- but you're only buying it for the comics, right?

That being the case, let's be absolutely honest here and admit that the last 30 pages of comics in this book really don't count, because they're included for ACP's own self-serving purposes as advertising -- so that means there are really only 62 pages more of comics in this trade paperback collection than there are in the 2014 "Greatest Hits!" digital exclusive collection. My reasoning is as follows: The 20-page story from JOSIE AND THE PUSSYCATS (2016) #1 is immediately followed by a full-page reproduction of the cover of the trade paperback collecting the first 5 issues of that series (advertising). The 10-page story reprinted from RIVERDALE #3 only appeared a few months ago, in July 2017. By what stretch of the imagination can these stories honestly be judged as "the best of" anything? Unless you've been living under a rock somewhere, if you are a fan of Josie, you're already aware that these stories exist, and if you care about that kind of thing, you've probably already read them -- or, you've decided you don't care about them -- as the case may be. Even accepting the hypothetical premise that some under-rock-dweller might not have been aware that these stories existed, they're far too recent for any value judgment regarding their relative quality as among the "best of" Josie stories to be honestly assessed. These stories are included here by ACP solely for the purpose of promoting trade paperback sales (of JOSIE) and floppy comic book sales (of RIVERDALE). Harsh, but undeniably true. Nuff 'said.

All that said, apart from those, there are only 6 other stories in this collection (totaling 56 pages) that have never been included in any previous Josie collections. The 2014 "Greatest Hits!" digital exclusive compilation has 10 stories (totaling 84 pages) that aren't duplicated in any other Josie collections. So if digital is your preference in buying comics, you're much better off purchasing that collection as opposed to the digital version of this one. Apart from those 6 stories unique to this collection, you can get the other ones not common to the "Greatest Hits!" collection in other Josie collections. Furthermore, 2 of those stories ("Love & War" and "Maxim Mix-Up") did first appear in JOSIE AND THE PUSSYCATS (1993) #2, so there's another 13 pages you can subtract if you can manage to find a copy of that comic book. "Zero to Rock Hero" is another excellent story exclusive to this collection, but unfortunately, only the second part of the two-part continued story is reprinted here. And finally, it should be duly noted that one of those 6 stories, "Vengeance From the Crypt" from JOSIE #72, while undeniably a classic and also a first-time reprinting, is reproduced as shot straight from the printed comic book pages, giving it a somewhat muddy look compared to the other stories reprinted here, with, sadly, no attempt made at digital clean-up.  If there is a single story included in this collection but no other, that represents a worthy argument for buying this collection over 2014's "Greatest Hits!" digital exclusive, it's "Showstopper!", the sole Josie story ever drawn by Gisele Lagace, originally appearing in B & V FRIENDS DOUBLE DIGEST #244. As with my previous contents listings, the ones in RED listed here are the stories unique to this collection.

   BEST OF JOSIE AND THE PUSSYCATS      385 Pages      source of 1st publication      Aug. 2017      writer      penciller      inker      
   cover            JOSIE #50                  Dan DeCarlo            
   Decisions, Decisions      6 pages      JOSIE #45      Dec. 1969      Dick Malmgren      Dan DeCarlo      Rudy Lapick      
   Off To A Good Start      11 pages      JOSIE #45      Dec. 1969      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo      Rudy Lapick      
   Pussy Footing      5 pages      JOSIE #45      Dec. 1969      Dick Malmgren      Dan DeCarlo      Rudy Lapick      
   Sounds Silly To Me      5 pages      JOSIE #47      Apr. 1970      Dick Malmgren      Dan DeCarlo      Rudy Lapick      
   Using His Head      11 pages      JOSIE #48      June 1970      Dick Malmgren      Dan DeCarlo      Rudy Lapick      
   Quiet On The Set      8 pages      JOSIE #50      Sept. 1970      Dick Malmgren      Dan DeCarlo      Rudy Lapick      
   Shopping Spree      5 pages      JOSIE #50      Sept. 1970      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo      Rudy Lapick      
   Litter By Litter      6 pages      JOSIE #51      Oct. 1970      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo      Rudy Lapick      
   Take Me To Your Leader      10 pages      JOSIE #51      Oct. 1970      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo      Rudy Lapick      
   A Moment Of Truth      7 pages      JOSIE #55      June 1971      Dick Malmgren      Dan DeCarlo      Rudy Lapick      
   Please Take Note      5 pages      JOSIE #55      June 1971      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo      Rudy Lapick      
   Power Shortage      6 pages      JOSIE #55      June 1971      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo      Rudy Lapick      
   The Ghost of Dark Valley Manor      16 pages      JOSIE #57      Sept. 1971      Dick Malmgren      Dan DeCarlo      Rudy Lapick      
   My Brother's Keeper      8 pages      JOSIE #65      Oct. 1972      Frank Doyle      Stan Goldberg      Mario Acquaviva      
   The Swamp Mist Monster!      8 pages      JOSIE #67      Feb. 1973      Frank Doyle      Stan Goldberg      Mario Acquaviva      
   Vengeance From The Crypt      10 pages      JOSIE #72      Oct. 1973      Frank Doyle      Stan Goldberg      Jon D'Agostino      
   Club Crisis      6 pages      JOSIE #93      Dec. 1976      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo      Rudy Lapick      
   Some You Win      5 pages      JOSIE #98      Oct. 1978      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo      Rudy Lapick      
   A New View      5 pages      ARCHIE'S TV LAUGH-OUT #84      Feb. 1982      George Gladir      Stan Goldberg            
   Head Count      6 pages      ARCHIE'S TV LAUGH-OUT #95      June 1984      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo      Jim DeCarlo      
   What Price Failure      6 pages      ARCHIE'S TV LAUGH-OUT #96      Aug. 1984      George Gladir      Dan DeCarlo      Jim DeCarlo      
   The Swingers      6 pages      ARCHIE'S TV LAUGH-OUT #97      Oct. 1984      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo      Rudy Lapick      
   The Image      5 pages      ARCHIE'S TV LAUGH-OUT #98      Dec. 1984      George Gladir      Stan Goldberg      Rudy Lapick      
   Gimmick Happy      6 pages      LAUGH #1      June 1987      Bill Webb      Stan Goldberg      Jon D'Agostino      
   Gig Gala!      5 pages      LAUGH #4      Dec. 1987      George Gladir      Stan Goldberg      Hy Eisman      
   Say Cheese      1 page      ARCHIE'S PALS 'N' GALS #194      Jan. 1988      George Gladir      Stan Goldberg      Rod Ollerenshaw      
   Gig Gaga      5 pages      LAUGH #5      Feb. 1988      George Gladir      Stan Goldberg      Rudy Lapick      
   Costume Capers      5 pages      LAUGH #16      Aug. 1989      George Gladir      Stan Goldberg      Mike Esposito      
   Oldies But Goodies      5 pages      LAUGH #20      Apr. 1990      Frank Doyle      Stan Goldberg      Rod Ollerenshaw      
   Double Duty      5 pages      LAUGH #23      Aug. 1990      George Gladir      Dan DeCarlo      Mike Esposito      
   Love & War      8 pages      JOSIE & THE PUSSYCATS (1994) #2      Spring 1994      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo      Alison Flood      
   Maxim Mix-Up      5 pages      JOSIE & THE PUSSYCATS (1994) #2      Spring 1994      Hal Smith      Dan DeCarlo      Rudy Lapick      
   O Solo Mio      11 pages      ARCHIE & FRIENDS #52      Dec. 2001      Dan Parent      Holly Golightly      John Costanza      
   Bad News Boys      11 pages      ARCHIE & FRIENDS #53      Jan. 2002      Holly Golightly      Holly Golightly      John Costanza      
   Ice Princess of the Lost Civilization      11 pages      ARCHIE & FRIENDS #54      Mar. 2002      Holly Golightly      Holly Golightly      John Costanza      
   Stage Fright      11 pages      ARCHIE & FRIENDS #55      Apr. 2002      Holly Golightly      Holly Golightly      John Costanza      
   A Singular Idea      6 pages      ARCHIE & FRIENDS #63      Dec. 2002      Holly Golightly      Holly Golightly      John Costanza      
   Photo Oops!      6 pages      ARCHIE & FRIENDS #68      May 2003      Angelo DeCesare      Rex W. Lindsey      Rich Koslowski      
   Go Figure!      6 pages      ARCHIE & FRIENDS #69      June 2003      Angelo DeCesare      Al Bigley      Al Milgrom      
   Fame Blame      6 pages      ARCHIE & FRIENDS #70      July 2003      Angelo DeCesare      Al Bigley      Al Milgrom      
   Show Offs!      6 pages      ARCHIE & FRIENDS #76      Dec. 2003      Angelo DeCesare      Rex W. Lindsey      Rich Koslowski      
   Zero To Rock Hero, Part 2      22 pages      ARCHIE & FRIENDS #131      July 2009      Stephen Oswald      Bill Galvan      Al Milgrom      
   It Starts With A Kiss!      22 pages      ARCHIE #608 (June 2010)      June 2010      Dan Parent      Bill Galvan      Rich Koslowski      
   With This Ring!      20 pages      ARCHIE #632      June 2012      Dan Parent      Dan Parent      Rich Koslowski      
   Showstopper!      6 pages      B & V FRIENDS DOUBLE DIGEST #244      Sept. 2015      J. Torres      Gisele Lagace      Rich Koslowski      
   (no title)      20 pages      JOSIE & THE PUSSYCATS (2016) #1      Nov. 2016      Marguerite Bennett      Audrey Mok      Audrey Mok      
   Wild Things      10 pages      RIVERDALE #3      Jul. 2017      James DeWille      Joe Eisma      A. Syzmanowicz      
« Last Edit: September 08, 2017, 06:01:04 AM by DeCarlo Rules »

DeCarlo Rules

FRINGE BENEFITS OF BEING THE MANAGER OF AN ALL-GIRL ROCK BAND...

AND HE CLAIMED HE WAS "ONLY IN IT FOR THE MONEY" (AND TO PISS OFF HIS SISTER)

Thanks for posting all this info, DeCarlo.  :)

I was bummed-out about not being able to get the new collection, but it looks like most of those stories are reprints from other collections or stuff I have already so now I know I can hold off on it for awhile.  :P

DeCarlo Rules

Thanks for posting all this info, DeCarlo.  :)

I was bummed-out about not being able to get the new collection, but it looks like most of those stories are reprints from other collections or stuff I have already so now I know I can hold off on it for awhile.  :P

You're welcome. I meant to get these all posted a week or so ago (I already had the tables in Excel) but it turned out to be a bear formatting the text in tables for posting on the SimpleMachines forum board, because I had to format the text in each cell with HTML tags nested within tags... a very time-consuming process, especially for the larger collections. I could have left out some of the details (I was forced to omit a short synopsis of each story, because it just took up way too much space, even after trying to pare the synopses down to as basic as possible), but it's really hard to compare if you're just looking at text that isn't separated into columns.

Now in summary, I'd say my recommendations for anyone would be:

If you prefer digital, you DEFINITELY should get --
(CapPalace, I'm pretty sure you must already have all, or at least most, of these):

BEST OF JOSIE AND THE PUSSYCATS (2001) - the digital version is on Comixology/Amazon for $6!
SHE'S JOSIE: BEFORE THE PUSSCATS! (2013)
BEST OF JOSIE AND THE PUSSYCATS: GREATEST HITS! (2014)
JOSIE AND THE SCAREDY CATS (2015)

There's a little duplication between those, but not that much. [Believe me, it's nowhere near as bad as the redundancy on the FIVE different digital exclusive SABRINA collections.] If you have those four above in digital, you can easily skip the ARCHIE 75 SERIES: JOSIE collection, unless you really,really have to have that one 8-page story "Rebellion" from JOSIE #20 (and I admit, it's a great story, where the women in town revolt and take charge, in the most physical way possible)... but it is just ONE story.

You could also add the digital version of ARCHIE'S BIG BOOK, if so inclined. That would largely be an individual choice, depending on how you felt about the Little Archie and Sabrina (all DeCarlo, but one) stories, but the main reason for Josie fans to have it would just be for the complete 4-part stories in JOSIE #2 and 3 -- worth buying just for that, IMO, but your call.

Then you'll have most of the stuff you need. I don't know, look at the list of titles in red from the new BEST OF trade paperback, and make up your mind if you can't live without those for the digital version (but it might be cheaper to just find copies of the original comics or digests in some cases).


And for those people who don't do digital, it's even simpler - just get THE BEST OF JOSIE (2001), ARCHIE'S BIG BOOK, and the new 2017 BEST OF JOSIE trade paperback.


Yes, thanks, DeCarlo, for putting this together! :)
It looks like the only book I need is Archie's Big Book of Mischief..., since I don't do digital.
I already have all the Josie comic books, but its nice to have the reprints so I don't have to handle the originals since they are so old and valuable.

Yes, thanks, DeCarlo, for putting this together! :)

Seconded. It's really useful information

I'm very much in the 'non-digital' camp. Perhaps it's that I work at a computer all day, so I don't want to be spending all my leisure time at one, but I enjoy the experience of reading a physical comic book rather than messing about with one on a screen


DeCarlo Rules

Yes, thanks, DeCarlo, for putting this together! :)

Seconded. It's really useful information

I'm very much in the 'non-digital' camp. Perhaps it's that I work at a computer all day, so I don't want to be spending all my leisure time at one, but I enjoy the experience of reading a physical comic book rather than messing about with one on a screen

I can identity with that, spending most of my working day in front of a computer. It's only with the greatest of reluctance that I'll give in to the temptation to purchase a digital comic, and only where there's no equivalent print versions available. The digital Josie and Sabrina collections are really the only exceptions that I've made to that rule, apart from Kickstarter initiatives and a few webcomics I've saved.

 


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.
Live Support