collapse

* Random Image

* Search


* Recent Topics

The Jughead/Veronica Feud by kingofthewatermelons
[April 22, 2018, 10:24:30 AM]


What have you done today? by Archiecomicxfan215
[April 22, 2018, 12:05:11 AM]


Days we look foward to as Archie Fans. by BettyReggie
[April 21, 2018, 06:26:17 AM]


Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[April 19, 2018, 10:24:59 PM]


What comics have you been reading? by DeCarlo Rules
[April 19, 2018, 12:15:57 PM]


Adopted an orphan baby monkey by BillysBadFurDay
[April 18, 2018, 02:40:14 PM]


Latest Hauls, what did you buy? by BettyReggie
[April 17, 2018, 02:35:32 PM]


Mr. Weatherbee gardening by Gnathitima
[April 17, 2018, 04:12:08 AM]


Graduation by Gnathitima
[April 17, 2018, 04:08:57 AM]


bulk sms delhi by Katharine
[April 17, 2018, 01:38:35 AM]

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • DeCarlo Rules: I just took a peek at online preview pages of Superteens vs. Crusaders #2, and I'm actually starting to get pretty excited about this. Not from an Archie-centric POV, because it's not classic Archie-style... but the Mighty Crusaders are looking mighty good to me, maybe better than I've ever seen them done. I don't expect that to make any difference in sales, since practically no one else cares about those characters...  :(
    April 21, 2018, 06:57:03 AM
  • DeCarlo Rules: Ah, I was hoping for some kind of surprise. The usual ongoing titles plus TPB collections of VIXENS Vol. 1, ARCHIE'S BIG BOOK Vol. 4 (Fairy Tales), and the previously-announced debut issues of the miniseries ARCHIE MEETS BATMAN '66 and ARCHIE'S SUPERTEENS VS. MIGHTY CRUSADERS. It's nice to see a second issue of Dan Parent's BETTY & VERONICA FRIENDS FOREVER, which means that it's bi-monthly, for however long it lasts.  :smitten:
    April 21, 2018, 06:29:19 AM
  • BettyReggie: Midtown Comics has the July 2018 Solicitations.
    April 20, 2018, 05:48:51 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Hmm, according to GCDb, a story called "Family Tree Trials" in Archie #332 (11/1984) reveals Archie is distantly related to Midge!
    April 19, 2018, 11:08:53 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Fast and Loose", a 1980s Cheryl story: [link]
    April 19, 2018, 10:26:06 PM
  • CAPalace: You probably have to wait until 'Riverdale' ends, Tokyo. I think that's all they care about right now lol
    April 17, 2018, 01:39:10 PM
  • Tokyo: What are the chances of Afterlife with Archie: Betty RIP being released this year...or ever?
    April 16, 2018, 01:37:59 AM
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Extra Disastrous!": [link]
    April 12, 2018, 07:35:02 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Just Another Day!" from B&V #269: [link]
    April 11, 2018, 08:46:47 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Betty and Cheryl meet Felicity Smoak: [link]
    April 08, 2018, 09:23:18 PM
  • BettyReggie: Later Gators
    April 07, 2018, 10:22:31 PM
  • BettyReggie: Good Night Pals & Gals
    April 06, 2018, 10:26:19 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of Betty and Veronica: Vixens #5: [link]
    April 04, 2018, 10:29:22 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Just saw "Ready Player One"; it was awesome!
    April 04, 2018, 04:54:20 PM
  • BettyReggie: Good Night Pals & Gals
    April 02, 2018, 10:50:20 PM
  • BettyReggie: Awesome
    April 02, 2018, 10:46:07 PM
  • Archiecomicxfan215: Riverdale has been renewed for season 3
    April 02, 2018, 03:25:31 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Thanks. :)
    March 30, 2018, 11:37:12 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: Six issues. #6 came out the week of March 7th.
    March 30, 2018, 10:29:28 AM
  • Tuxedo Mark: How long was the Harley and Ivy Meet B&V series supposed to last?
    March 29, 2018, 07:11:20 PM


Author Topic: Jughead 13  (Read 1270 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Vegan Jughead

Jughead 13
« on: February 22, 2017, 07:59:18 AM »
Just read Jughead 13.  This, with the possible exception of the Sabrina issues, is the best one yet.  Derek Charm's art is amazing and Ryan North is the best and funniest writer currently working for Archie.


Unfortunately, he's leaving the book soon and will be replaced by Mark Waid.  I don't see how Mark Waid will equal what Ryan is doing but maybe he'll surprise me. 


Derek Charm will hopefully stay on the book for a long time.  His depiction of Archie is awesome, especially in this issue where Arch is wearing dark wraparound sunglasses.  He looks like such a jerk, in a good way! 

DeCarlo Rules

Re: Jughead 13
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2017, 01:44:50 PM »
Apparently the book will soon be co-written by Mark Waid and Ian Flynn. Now I like Mark Waid's writing on some comics (a lot), but ARCHIE is not one of them. I also enjoyed Ian Flynn's previous writing for ACP on MEGA MAN and NEW CRUSADERS, but those weren't titles that were particularly funny.

Then again, there's no way to know what the split of duties here is between Waid and Flynn. I suspect that Waid's name is being used by ACP to imply a connection to ARCHIE, but he's performing minimal writer's duties here with the bulk of the actual writing being handled by (the much cheaper to hire) Ian Flynn.

Either way, I'm not particularly happy about it. Hope I'm wrong and Flynn might surprise me and turn out to have a talent for humor comics. JUGHEAD is the only New Riverdale title I continue to read at this point. I'm at a loss to explain how Tom DeFalco's REGGIE can be so un-funny, considering that he's written a lot of the best stories for Archie classic comics.
« Last Edit: February 22, 2017, 01:50:12 PM by DeCarlo Rules »

Vegan Jughead

Re: Jughead 13
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2017, 06:19:04 PM »
JUGHEAD is the only New Riverdale title I continue to read at this point.

Have you given Josie and the Pussycats a shot?  I think it's great!  Second best after Jughead, and it's a CLOSE second best. 

DeCarlo Rules

Re: Jughead 13
« Reply #3 on: February 23, 2017, 02:00:29 AM »
JUGHEAD is the only New Riverdale title I continue to read at this point.

Have you given Josie and the Pussycats a shot?  I think it's great!  Second best after Jughead, and it's a CLOSE second best.

I've given it 3 shots. Sorry, I absolutely HATE the writing, and didn't find it funny at all. I probably wouldn't have read as far as issue #3 if I hadn't liked Audrey Mok's artwork. I might give it another chance if they changed writers but kept Mok on the art.

Vegan Jughead

Re: Jughead 13
« Reply #4 on: February 23, 2017, 07:42:48 AM »
JUGHEAD is the only New Riverdale title I continue to read at this point.

Have you given Josie and the Pussycats a shot?  I think it's great!  Second best after Jughead, and it's a CLOSE second best.

I've given it 3 shots. Sorry, I absolutely HATE the writing, and didn't find it funny at all. I probably wouldn't have read as far as issue #3 if I hadn't liked Audrey Mok's artwork. I might give it another chance if they changed writers but kept Mok on the art.


OK, cool, well at least you gave it a chance.  Different strokes....

 


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.
Live Support