collapse

* Random Image

1544490 ful
1544490 ful
Posted by: BettyReggie
Posted in album: BettyReggie favorites

* Search


* Recent Topics

WANTED--Dan Parent Tattoo Prints by DeCarlo Rules
[Today at 06:14:42 am]


Favorite Purchases of 2018 by DeCarlo Rules
[Today at 06:04:57 am]


Sliding timeline by DeCarlo Rules
[Today at 05:58:15 am]


Stan Lee has died by DeCarlo Rules
[Today at 05:24:14 am]


What comics have you been reading? by DeCarlo Rules
[Today at 04:32:19 am]


What are you currently watching? by BettyReggie
[January 16, 2019, 10:20:05 pm]


Archie and Reggie spend the night. by Wrial Huden
[January 16, 2019, 06:10:21 pm]


Latest Hauls, what did you buy? by BettyReggie
[January 15, 2019, 06:09:50 pm]


Baby Rants... by ASS-P
[January 13, 2019, 11:42:43 am]


Sears/Kmart by ASS-P
[January 13, 2019, 10:01:21 am]

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Summer's End" from Betty & Veronica, Vol. 4, No. 1: [link]
    January 12, 2019, 11:02:58 am
  • BettyReggie: It's pouring in The Bronx.
    January 05, 2019, 03:20:04 pm
  • BettyReggie: Happy New Year
    January 01, 2019, 03:41:55 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Kiss of the Century" from Cheryl Blossom, No. 28: [link]
    December 31, 2018, 09:15:22 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Holi-Daze" from Cheryl Blossom, No. 28: [link]
    December 25, 2018, 06:19:02 pm
  • Vegan Jughead: Thanks, BR!
    December 25, 2018, 11:09:37 am
  • BettyReggie: Merry Christmas Vegan Jughead
    December 25, 2018, 09:49:06 am
  • BettyReggie: I'm still in bed.
    December 25, 2018, 09:48:20 am
  • Vegan Jughead: No, it's still early out here. My wife won't be up for hours. Merry Christmas, BettyReggie!
    December 25, 2018, 06:47:38 am
  • BettyReggie: Is anyone up already opening presents?
    December 25, 2018, 04:33:37 am
  • BettyReggie: I hope everyone has a great Christmas tomorrow
    December 24, 2018, 08:52:33 pm
  • Archiecomicxfan215: Merry Christmas Eve
    December 24, 2018, 05:54:18 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: Archie Comics Presents . . . [link]  AWESOMESAUCE!!!
    December 22, 2018, 01:58:29 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "All Malled Out" from Cheryl Blossom, No. 19: [link]
    December 20, 2018, 03:09:36 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Here We Come a Caroling!" from Cheryl Blossom, No. 19: [link]
    December 14, 2018, 04:53:47 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "'Ti$ the Sea$on" from Cheryl Blossom, No. 9: [link]
    December 02, 2018, 06:14:22 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Thanks. Yeah, we don't know what happened to him. Possibly a stomach problem of some kind.
    November 29, 2018, 08:36:52 am
  • rusty: Sorry for your loss.  7 years is pretty young for a cat.
    November 28, 2018, 11:49:53 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: R.I.P., my sweet, beloved cat, Misiu (2011-2018). :'(
    November 28, 2018, 08:50:46 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "The New Archies": "Making of Mr. Righteous": [link]
    November 24, 2018, 03:59:01 pm


Author Topic: Jughead 13  (Read 1719 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Vegan Jughead

Jughead 13
« on: February 22, 2017, 07:59:18 am »
Just read Jughead 13.  This, with the possible exception of the Sabrina issues, is the best one yet.  Derek Charm's art is amazing and Ryan North is the best and funniest writer currently working for Archie.


Unfortunately, he's leaving the book soon and will be replaced by Mark Waid.  I don't see how Mark Waid will equal what Ryan is doing but maybe he'll surprise me. 


Derek Charm will hopefully stay on the book for a long time.  His depiction of Archie is awesome, especially in this issue where Arch is wearing dark wraparound sunglasses.  He looks like such a jerk, in a good way! 

DeCarlo Rules

Re: Jughead 13
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2017, 01:44:50 pm »
Apparently the book will soon be co-written by Mark Waid and Ian Flynn. Now I like Mark Waid's writing on some comics (a lot), but ARCHIE is not one of them. I also enjoyed Ian Flynn's previous writing for ACP on MEGA MAN and NEW CRUSADERS, but those weren't titles that were particularly funny.

Then again, there's no way to know what the split of duties here is between Waid and Flynn. I suspect that Waid's name is being used by ACP to imply a connection to ARCHIE, but he's performing minimal writer's duties here with the bulk of the actual writing being handled by (the much cheaper to hire) Ian Flynn.

Either way, I'm not particularly happy about it. Hope I'm wrong and Flynn might surprise me and turn out to have a talent for humor comics. JUGHEAD is the only New Riverdale title I continue to read at this point. I'm at a loss to explain how Tom DeFalco's REGGIE can be so un-funny, considering that he's written a lot of the best stories for Archie classic comics.
« Last Edit: February 22, 2017, 01:50:12 pm by DeCarlo Rules »

Vegan Jughead

Re: Jughead 13
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2017, 06:19:04 pm »
JUGHEAD is the only New Riverdale title I continue to read at this point.

Have you given Josie and the Pussycats a shot?  I think it's great!  Second best after Jughead, and it's a CLOSE second best. 

DeCarlo Rules

Re: Jughead 13
« Reply #3 on: February 23, 2017, 02:00:29 am »
JUGHEAD is the only New Riverdale title I continue to read at this point.

Have you given Josie and the Pussycats a shot?  I think it's great!  Second best after Jughead, and it's a CLOSE second best.

I've given it 3 shots. Sorry, I absolutely HATE the writing, and didn't find it funny at all. I probably wouldn't have read as far as issue #3 if I hadn't liked Audrey Mok's artwork. I might give it another chance if they changed writers but kept Mok on the art.

Vegan Jughead

Re: Jughead 13
« Reply #4 on: February 23, 2017, 07:42:48 am »
JUGHEAD is the only New Riverdale title I continue to read at this point.

Have you given Josie and the Pussycats a shot?  I think it's great!  Second best after Jughead, and it's a CLOSE second best.

I've given it 3 shots. Sorry, I absolutely HATE the writing, and didn't find it funny at all. I probably wouldn't have read as far as issue #3 if I hadn't liked Audrey Mok's artwork. I might give it another chance if they changed writers but kept Mok on the art.


OK, cool, well at least you gave it a chance.  Different strokes....

 


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.
Live Support