collapse

* Random Image

RainDance1&2
RainDance1&2
Posted by: SAGG
Posted in album: SAGG

* Search


* Recent Topics

What comics have you been reading? by rusty
[Today at 11:13:44 pm]


What have you done today? by BettyReggie
[October 21, 2018, 07:45:49 pm]


Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[October 20, 2018, 08:12:44 pm]


Whew! by SAGG
[October 19, 2018, 11:55:13 pm]


Sears/Kmart by Tuxedo Mark
[October 19, 2018, 01:22:48 pm]


Miraculous Ladybug.... by DeCarlo Rules
[October 19, 2018, 01:44:10 am]


What are you currently watching? by rusty
[October 16, 2018, 09:34:22 pm]


Days we look foward to as Archie Fans. by BettyReggie
[October 16, 2018, 06:13:52 am]


New York Comic Con 2018 by BettyReggie
[October 08, 2018, 05:37:04 am]


Anachronism Patrol by DeCarlo Rules
[October 06, 2018, 11:59:27 pm]

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Archie's Weird Mysteries": "Invisible Archie": [link]
    October 20, 2018, 08:13:13 pm
  • BettyReggie: I bought The Riverdale 2019 Calendar at 5 Below.
    October 18, 2018, 06:58:16 pm
  • PTF: Does anyone regularly go to a gamestop? If you do, could you PM me a code for Zeraora? ...I do not have nice things where I live. I guess Wal-Mart is nice. :)
    October 18, 2018, 01:59:51 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Twilite" from Archie & Friends #146-147: [link]
    October 13, 2018, 08:39:15 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: OMG the Riverdale premiere: Cheryl is so awesome! :smitten:
    October 10, 2018, 09:18:52 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "The Case of the Sorrel Roan" from Riverdale #3: [link]
    October 06, 2018, 09:43:33 pm
  • ASS-P: I read some of B&V FRIENDS #264.
    October 05, 2018, 10:16:03 pm
  • ASS-P: I read some of B&V FRJENDZ #26R
    October 05, 2018, 10:14:10 pm
  • ASS-P: I read some of B&V Frie d's #264
    October 05, 2018, 10:13:15 pm
  • BettyReggie: Those 2 Riverdale Pens came today from Hot Topic.
    October 01, 2018, 10:03:02 pm
  • BettyReggie: I read Archie #699.
    September 30, 2018, 08:34:33 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of Betty and Veronica: Vixens #10: [link]
    September 30, 2018, 07:59:38 pm
  • BettyReggie: Archie #699 came today.
    September 28, 2018, 03:38:41 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My reviews of all four stories from betty and Veronica #270: [link] [link] [link] [link]
    September 23, 2018, 05:36:07 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: Presumably with an ongoing B&V series, they'd want to keep it nominally in continuity with the ongoing ARCHIE title.
    September 22, 2018, 07:03:48 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: Oh, I hadn't noticed that the story is "Senior Year", so that explains it. It's a one-off story arc, just like "Freshman Year". They're not going to keep them as seniors permanently, or have them graduate and go on to college in an ongoing series.
    September 22, 2018, 06:59:24 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: Probably just a space-filler while they look for a better writer than Jaime Rotante. I hope.
    September 22, 2018, 12:08:34 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: Wait a minute. Betty and Veronica is only a five-issue miniseries?
    September 21, 2018, 08:31:21 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: Archie Comic solicitations for October 2018: [link]
    September 21, 2018, 05:36:35 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: Check out Stadium Comics' entire line of Archie Comics RE variant covers here: [link] All are homages to famous Marvel or DC cover images.
    September 20, 2018, 09:05:41 am


Author Topic: Jughead 13  (Read 1566 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Vegan Jughead

Jughead 13
« on: February 22, 2017, 07:59:18 am »
Just read Jughead 13.  This, with the possible exception of the Sabrina issues, is the best one yet.  Derek Charm's art is amazing and Ryan North is the best and funniest writer currently working for Archie.


Unfortunately, he's leaving the book soon and will be replaced by Mark Waid.  I don't see how Mark Waid will equal what Ryan is doing but maybe he'll surprise me. 


Derek Charm will hopefully stay on the book for a long time.  His depiction of Archie is awesome, especially in this issue where Arch is wearing dark wraparound sunglasses.  He looks like such a jerk, in a good way! 

DeCarlo Rules

Re: Jughead 13
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2017, 01:44:50 pm »
Apparently the book will soon be co-written by Mark Waid and Ian Flynn. Now I like Mark Waid's writing on some comics (a lot), but ARCHIE is not one of them. I also enjoyed Ian Flynn's previous writing for ACP on MEGA MAN and NEW CRUSADERS, but those weren't titles that were particularly funny.

Then again, there's no way to know what the split of duties here is between Waid and Flynn. I suspect that Waid's name is being used by ACP to imply a connection to ARCHIE, but he's performing minimal writer's duties here with the bulk of the actual writing being handled by (the much cheaper to hire) Ian Flynn.

Either way, I'm not particularly happy about it. Hope I'm wrong and Flynn might surprise me and turn out to have a talent for humor comics. JUGHEAD is the only New Riverdale title I continue to read at this point. I'm at a loss to explain how Tom DeFalco's REGGIE can be so un-funny, considering that he's written a lot of the best stories for Archie classic comics.
« Last Edit: February 22, 2017, 01:50:12 pm by DeCarlo Rules »

Vegan Jughead

Re: Jughead 13
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2017, 06:19:04 pm »
JUGHEAD is the only New Riverdale title I continue to read at this point.

Have you given Josie and the Pussycats a shot?  I think it's great!  Second best after Jughead, and it's a CLOSE second best. 

DeCarlo Rules

Re: Jughead 13
« Reply #3 on: February 23, 2017, 02:00:29 am »
JUGHEAD is the only New Riverdale title I continue to read at this point.

Have you given Josie and the Pussycats a shot?  I think it's great!  Second best after Jughead, and it's a CLOSE second best.

I've given it 3 shots. Sorry, I absolutely HATE the writing, and didn't find it funny at all. I probably wouldn't have read as far as issue #3 if I hadn't liked Audrey Mok's artwork. I might give it another chance if they changed writers but kept Mok on the art.

Vegan Jughead

Re: Jughead 13
« Reply #4 on: February 23, 2017, 07:42:48 am »
JUGHEAD is the only New Riverdale title I continue to read at this point.

Have you given Josie and the Pussycats a shot?  I think it's great!  Second best after Jughead, and it's a CLOSE second best.

I've given it 3 shots. Sorry, I absolutely HATE the writing, and didn't find it funny at all. I probably wouldn't have read as far as issue #3 if I hadn't liked Audrey Mok's artwork. I might give it another chance if they changed writers but kept Mok on the art.


OK, cool, well at least you gave it a chance.  Different strokes....

 


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.
Live Support