collapse

* Random Image

CatattheCrossroads1
CatattheCrossroads1
Posted by: SAGG
Posted in album: SAGG

* Search


* Recent Topics

Some reviews. by DeCarlo Rules
[October 23, 2017, 05:42:36 AM]


What comics have you been reading? by DeCarlo Rules
[October 23, 2017, 03:39:36 AM]


Suppose if a live action comedy-drama series is based on an Archie Comics proper by terrence12
[October 23, 2017, 01:28:49 AM]


Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[October 22, 2017, 09:03:05 PM]


your pal Archie complete(?) wraparound chocklit shoppe variant cover by Ronny G
[October 22, 2017, 07:16:12 PM]


What have you done today? by Archiecomicxfan215
[October 21, 2017, 11:55:10 PM]


Library Books That You All Read by BettyReggie
[October 20, 2017, 07:34:34 AM]


Days we look foward to as Archie Fans. by BettyReggie
[October 20, 2017, 07:32:12 AM]


My mixed thought about Cosmo and Archie Action Brand by terrence12
[October 19, 2017, 01:26:56 AM]


What are you currently watching? by Archiecomicxfan215
[October 19, 2017, 12:00:38 AM]

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • DeCarlo Rules: Thanks, VJ. I did not know of Penny Peabody. If they're going to reprint Little Archie, I wish they'd reprint the longer, better (pre-1965) ones by Bolling. It seems like the longer stories allowed Bolling to create something more interesting out of LA, but there seems like some taboo against reprinting them in the digests.
    October 23, 2017, 09:46:35 PM
  • BettyReggie: I plan to watch Riverdale Espoide #1 & # 2 on The CW. Website later.
    October 23, 2017, 06:42:39 PM
  • Vegan Jughead: Penny Peabody was the girlfriend of Fangs Fogarty, the bully in the Little Archie comics.  I know you don't love those and even if you did read a lot of them, she's barely in them.  Really obscure.  Real Ms Grundy is dead I think.  This one stole her identity if I remember correctly.
    October 23, 2017, 12:23:28 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: ...and if Ms. Grundy wasn't Ms. Grundy, then who was she, and where is the real Ms. Grundy?
    October 23, 2017, 05:59:39 AM
  • DeCarlo Rules: Penny Peabody? ... original character created by the show's writers?
    October 23, 2017, 05:56:42 AM
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Archie's Weird Mysteries": "I Was a Teenage Vampire": [link]
    October 22, 2017, 09:04:01 PM
  • Ronny G: Actually yesterday. Today's Sunday, but I just got home from vacation today!
    October 22, 2017, 07:11:20 PM
  • Ronny G: Got my Betty and Veronica Halloween Annual digest in the mail today! YAY!
    October 22, 2017, 07:09:45 PM
  • Vegan Jughead: Hey but who needs Moose and Midge when you can have such prominent characters as Penny Peabody and Toni Topaz on the show?
    October 22, 2017, 10:30:03 AM
  • Vegan Jughead: Ms. Grundy would have been a total surprise but it turned out she wasn't really Ms. Grundy so I can let that go.  Killing Moose after barely seeing him last year and Midge after she was in literally one episode (and barely in it, at that) seems ridiculous.
    October 21, 2017, 08:31:51 AM
  • DeCarlo Rules: For a character franchise that's been running for 75+ years, ARCHIE really has a pretty small cast of regulars. Apart from the core 5 and the other 6 already mentioned, there's Cheryl & Jason and Kevin... and (filed under "extended supporting players") the teachers and parents. That's pretty much it. 14 teen characters and their parents & teachers. Sabrina and Josie and their supporting casts coexist in Riverdale, but they're really their own separate franchises. If your murder victims turn out to be Jinx Malloy and Cricket O'Dell, there's not much drama in it, beyond a shrug.
    October 21, 2017, 07:12:39 AM
  • DeCarlo Rules: Why Moose and Midge? Good question... let me know if you can think of any other ongoing characters who are more expendable, but still well-known. I guess the other likely candidates would be Dilton and Ethel, or Chuck and Nancy. I guess you could come up with a short list of other names, but are they really that well-known? Ms. Grundy was a total surprise!
    October 21, 2017, 06:45:30 AM
  • BettyReggie: Midtown Comics has the new January 2018 Comics. I preordered mine.
    October 20, 2017, 05:17:44 PM
  • CAPalace: Seriously though why are Moose and Midge like one of the first people to die whenever they are in the horror stories line and now Riverdale lol
    October 20, 2017, 12:36:49 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: I recently watched Geek House's reaction to the episode. They're very amateur. They often leave in false starts and farting around before the actual intro. Joey often struggles with the episode title, like he can't just look it up before they start recording. Joey has to announce that he's putting the video into full screen and then does a countdown. Cut all of that stuff out! In the new review, he and his wife didn't react at all to Moose and Midge being killed. It soon became apparent that they didn't even know it was Moose and Midge! Joey referred to them as the "drug addicts".
    October 20, 2017, 11:42:14 AM
  • Vegan Jughead: Oh, wow, that sucks.
    October 20, 2017, 09:21:57 AM
  • JonInIowaCity: I'm not saying that they're dead, but they're not listed as appearing in any future episodes in IMBD, while other minor characters are.
    October 20, 2017, 08:53:10 AM
  • Vegan Jughead: I don't think Moose and Midge are dead.  I hope not.  It's one thing to kill Jason Blossom.  Killing two characters who have been around for 68 years is something else entirely.
    October 20, 2017, 07:43:40 AM


Author Topic: Jughead 13  (Read 866 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Vegan Jughead

Jughead 13
« on: February 22, 2017, 07:59:18 AM »
Just read Jughead 13.  This, with the possible exception of the Sabrina issues, is the best one yet.  Derek Charm's art is amazing and Ryan North is the best and funniest writer currently working for Archie.


Unfortunately, he's leaving the book soon and will be replaced by Mark Waid.  I don't see how Mark Waid will equal what Ryan is doing but maybe he'll surprise me. 


Derek Charm will hopefully stay on the book for a long time.  His depiction of Archie is awesome, especially in this issue where Arch is wearing dark wraparound sunglasses.  He looks like such a jerk, in a good way! 

DeCarlo Rules

Re: Jughead 13
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2017, 01:44:50 PM »
Apparently the book will soon be co-written by Mark Waid and Ian Flynn. Now I like Mark Waid's writing on some comics (a lot), but ARCHIE is not one of them. I also enjoyed Ian Flynn's previous writing for ACP on MEGA MAN and NEW CRUSADERS, but those weren't titles that were particularly funny.

Then again, there's no way to know what the split of duties here is between Waid and Flynn. I suspect that Waid's name is being used by ACP to imply a connection to ARCHIE, but he's performing minimal writer's duties here with the bulk of the actual writing being handled by (the much cheaper to hire) Ian Flynn.

Either way, I'm not particularly happy about it. Hope I'm wrong and Flynn might surprise me and turn out to have a talent for humor comics. JUGHEAD is the only New Riverdale title I continue to read at this point. I'm at a loss to explain how Tom DeFalco's REGGIE can be so un-funny, considering that he's written a lot of the best stories for Archie classic comics.
« Last Edit: February 22, 2017, 01:50:12 PM by DeCarlo Rules »

Vegan Jughead

Re: Jughead 13
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2017, 06:19:04 PM »
JUGHEAD is the only New Riverdale title I continue to read at this point.

Have you given Josie and the Pussycats a shot?  I think it's great!  Second best after Jughead, and it's a CLOSE second best. 

DeCarlo Rules

Re: Jughead 13
« Reply #3 on: February 23, 2017, 02:00:29 AM »
JUGHEAD is the only New Riverdale title I continue to read at this point.

Have you given Josie and the Pussycats a shot?  I think it's great!  Second best after Jughead, and it's a CLOSE second best.

I've given it 3 shots. Sorry, I absolutely HATE the writing, and didn't find it funny at all. I probably wouldn't have read as far as issue #3 if I hadn't liked Audrey Mok's artwork. I might give it another chance if they changed writers but kept Mok on the art.

Vegan Jughead

Re: Jughead 13
« Reply #4 on: February 23, 2017, 07:42:48 AM »
JUGHEAD is the only New Riverdale title I continue to read at this point.

Have you given Josie and the Pussycats a shot?  I think it's great!  Second best after Jughead, and it's a CLOSE second best.

I've given it 3 shots. Sorry, I absolutely HATE the writing, and didn't find it funny at all. I probably wouldn't have read as far as issue #3 if I hadn't liked Audrey Mok's artwork. I might give it another chance if they changed writers but kept Mok on the art.


OK, cool, well at least you gave it a chance.  Different strokes....

 


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.
Live Support