• Welcome to Archie Comics Fan Forum. Please login or sign up.
 
May 23, 2019, 11:31:29 pm

News:

Welcome! Please pardon the dust as we work to set the site up again :)


collapse

Random Image

TennisMenace7
TennisMenace7
Posted by: SAGG
Posted in album: SAGG

Search


Recent Topics

Re: Betty & Veronica Switcheroo Scans 2.0 by Hutch2208
[Today at 01:15:40 pm]


Re: Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[May 20, 2019, 07:48:15 pm]


Re: Prince Harry and Meghan's Baby's Name... by DeCarlo Rules
[May 17, 2019, 06:49:55 pm]


Re: What comics have you been reading? by rusty
[May 15, 2019, 07:49:11 pm]


Re: Scarlet is Back in an All New Story: "FLOWER FEET!" by Captain Jetpack
[May 13, 2019, 07:19:23 am]


Archie & Me in Lunch Crunch by PTF
[April 28, 2019, 12:58:45 pm]


Re: Howdy! by Captain Jetpack
[April 25, 2019, 07:18:17 am]


Re: ARCHIE COMICS FOR JULY 2019 by Fernando Ruiz
[April 25, 2019, 12:50:45 am]


Re: Jugheads new boots by Good Ole Samm
[April 18, 2019, 08:21:21 pm]


Re: Continuities that Riverdale has surpassed by Tuxedo Mark
[April 18, 2019, 04:18:10 pm]

Shoutbox

  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Which is Rich", a 1980s Cheryl story from Archie, No. 323: [link]
    May 20, 2019, 07:49:01 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Totally awesome that Cheryl came to Betty's rescue.
    May 16, 2019, 11:20:40 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: I had to wait until this morning to watch it.
    May 16, 2019, 11:20:06 am
  • archiecomicscollector: Did you watch Riverdale's season finale tonight? Season 4 is expected to air in October.
    May 15, 2019, 10:06:41 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "The Fears of a Clown" from Archie & Friends, No. 98: [link]
    May 14, 2019, 10:48:15 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: And a collage: [link]
    May 09, 2019, 08:41:23 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: Official pic: [link]
    May 09, 2019, 08:36:13 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: Katy Keene ordered to series! Congrats! :)
    May 09, 2019, 08:29:32 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: Internet and phone were knocked out for a few days. Just came back up.
    May 08, 2019, 11:57:36 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Lord of the Games" from Archie DD #297: [link]
    May 04, 2019, 08:50:04 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Double Date" from World of Archie Jumbo Comics Digest #88: [link]
    April 28, 2019, 01:02:44 pm
  • Oldiesmann: Haven't had a chance to look into that yet, but we haven't lost anything as there are still posts here from well before April 15th. I'll try to look into it further later this week and see if I can figure out what the issue is.
    April 22, 2019, 01:04:01 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Spring" from Betty and Veronica, No. 4: [link]
    April 21, 2019, 04:09:18 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: ... and now there are four topics listed over in Recent Topics. Maybe somehow we just lost everything less recent than April 15, which is the oldest new post to the Recent Topics listed.
    April 19, 2019, 01:47:10 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: Last time I looked at Recent Topics it was only two showing, but now it's three. Well, if that trend continues, I guess the problem will eventually fix itself.
    April 18, 2019, 02:23:15 pm
  • Oldiesmann: I'm not sure what's going on with the most recent topics thing. I'll look into that when I get a chance
    April 16, 2019, 10:50:38 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Taking a Tumble" from B&V #263: [link]
    April 15, 2019, 02:52:06 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Only the two mosr recent topics show up in the sidebar.
    April 15, 2019, 02:50:22 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: Now if you could only get some ### pattern overlaid on the orange, it would be perfect!  ;D
    April 15, 2019, 12:40:25 am
  • rusty: I like the orange more than the blue
    April 13, 2019, 11:14:47 pm

Jughead 13

Started by Vegan Jughead, February 22, 2017, 07:59:18 am

Previous topic - Next topic

Vegan Jughead

Just read Jughead 13.  This, with the possible exception of the Sabrina issues, is the best one yet.  Derek Charm's art is amazing and Ryan North is the best and funniest writer currently working for Archie.


Unfortunately, he's leaving the book soon and will be replaced by Mark Waid.  I don't see how Mark Waid will equal what Ryan is doing but maybe he'll surprise me. 


Derek Charm will hopefully stay on the book for a long time.  His depiction of Archie is awesome, especially in this issue where Arch is wearing dark wraparound sunglasses.  He looks like such a jerk, in a good way! 

DeCarlo Rules

February 22, 2017, 01:44:50 pm #1 Last Edit: February 22, 2017, 01:50:12 pm by DeCarlo Rules
Apparently the book will soon be co-written by Mark Waid and Ian Flynn. Now I like Mark Waid's writing on some comics (a lot), but ARCHIE is not one of them. I also enjoyed Ian Flynn's previous writing for ACP on MEGA MAN and NEW CRUSADERS, but those weren't titles that were particularly funny.

Then again, there's no way to know what the split of duties here is between Waid and Flynn. I suspect that Waid's name is being used by ACP to imply a connection to ARCHIE, but he's performing minimal writer's duties here with the bulk of the actual writing being handled by (the much cheaper to hire) Ian Flynn.

Either way, I'm not particularly happy about it. Hope I'm wrong and Flynn might surprise me and turn out to have a talent for humor comics. JUGHEAD is the only New Riverdale title I continue to read at this point. I'm at a loss to explain how Tom DeFalco's REGGIE can be so un-funny, considering that he's written a lot of the best stories for Archie classic comics.

Vegan Jughead

Quote from: DeCarlo Rules on February 22, 2017, 01:44:50 pm
JUGHEAD is the only New Riverdale title I continue to read at this point.


Have you given Josie and the Pussycats a shot?  I think it's great!  Second best after Jughead, and it's a CLOSE second best. 

DeCarlo Rules

Quote from: Vegan Jughead on February 22, 2017, 06:19:04 pm
Quote from: DeCarlo Rules on February 22, 2017, 01:44:50 pm
JUGHEAD is the only New Riverdale title I continue to read at this point.


Have you given Josie and the Pussycats a shot?  I think it's great!  Second best after Jughead, and it's a CLOSE second best.


I've given it 3 shots. Sorry, I absolutely HATE the writing, and didn't find it funny at all. I probably wouldn't have read as far as issue #3 if I hadn't liked Audrey Mok's artwork. I might give it another chance if they changed writers but kept Mok on the art.

Vegan Jughead

Quote from: DeCarlo Rules on February 23, 2017, 02:00:29 am
Quote from: Vegan Jughead on February 22, 2017, 06:19:04 pm
Quote from: DeCarlo Rules on February 22, 2017, 01:44:50 pm
JUGHEAD is the only New Riverdale title I continue to read at this point.


Have you given Josie and the Pussycats a shot?  I think it's great!  Second best after Jughead, and it's a CLOSE second best.


I've given it 3 shots. Sorry, I absolutely HATE the writing, and didn't find it funny at all. I probably wouldn't have read as far as issue #3 if I hadn't liked Audrey Mok's artwork. I might give it another chance if they changed writers but kept Mok on the art.



OK, cool, well at least you gave it a chance.  Different strokes....


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.