• Welcome to Archie Comics Fan Forum. Please login or sign up.
 
October 15, 2019, 05:22:10 am

News:

We're back! Unfortunately all data was lost. Please re-register to continue posting!


collapse

Random Image

della
della
Posted by: Captain Jetpack
Posted in album: Captain Jetpack

Search


Recent Topics

Re: Posts way down. by Tuxedo Mark
[October 14, 2019, 09:40:32 am]


Re: Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[October 13, 2019, 11:09:49 am]


Re: What have you done today? by DeCarlo Rules
[October 11, 2019, 01:23:05 pm]


Re: Okay, I Don't EVEN Want to Think About This Scene! But It's Too Good To Pass Up! by SAGG
[September 26, 2019, 05:10:18 pm]


Re: What are you currently watching? by DeCarlo Rules
[September 23, 2019, 06:27:55 am]


Re: What comics have you been reading? by irishmoxie
[September 19, 2019, 11:19:26 pm]

Shoutbox

  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Pranktober 31st" from Archie Double Digest, No. 303: [link]
    October 13, 2019, 11:10:37 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Fake 'N' Bake" from the same digest: [link]
    October 05, 2019, 08:24:24 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Name Fame!" from Archie Double Digest, No. 302: [link]
    September 28, 2019, 08:36:02 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Hot Fun in the Summertime!" from Cheryl Blossom (Summertime Fun), No. 1: [link]
    September 22, 2019, 08:52:54 pm
  • Mr.Lodge: Please feel free to delete my 2 posts towards him. This guy was an asshole.
    September 21, 2019, 11:44:48 am
  • Oldiesmann: Yeesh. How can one person generate so much spam?
    September 21, 2019, 10:20:07 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: Is the Riverdale: Season Three comic only 5 issues long?
    September 18, 2019, 10:32:24 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "It's Their Miserable Lives!" from Cheryl Blossom Special, No. 3: [link]
    September 14, 2019, 08:40:21 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "All I Want for Christmas is...Everything!" from Cheryl Blossom Special, No. 3: [link]
    September 03, 2019, 05:21:04 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Katy Keene trailer: [link]
    August 28, 2019, 12:46:35 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Fall Guys" from Archie Giant Series Magazine, No. 530: [link]
    August 24, 2019, 05:42:25 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: COSMO returns in November in an all-new miniseries by Ian Flynn and Tracy Yardley!  :)
    August 24, 2019, 02:05:15 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "The Virtuous Villain" from Archie at Riverdale High, No. 89: [link]
    August 19, 2019, 04:28:23 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Life's A Circus" from Cheryl Blossom Special, No. 2: [link]
    August 10, 2019, 03:13:43 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Huh. I just saw it on Vomixology yesterday, but today there's an error message at the same link: [link]
    August 09, 2019, 09:20:52 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: Well, WOA 91 is not in comic shops until 8/14, so...
    August 09, 2019, 07:02:32 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: Okay, yeah, that's up (thanks), but World of Archie Double Digest #91 isn't.
    August 08, 2019, 10:17:28 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: ARCHIE: THE MARRIED LIFE - 10 YEARS LATER #1 (of 6) ?
    August 08, 2019, 01:29:15 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: Did any books come out today? I haven't found any digital editions on Amazon.
    August 07, 2019, 09:45:41 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Seymour No More!" from Cheryl Blossom Special, No. 1: [link]
    August 03, 2019, 10:27:42 pm

LIFE WITH ARCHIE Volume 1 - Contents list & review

Started by DeCarlo Rules, August 31, 2018, 06:16:23 am

Previous topic - Next topic

DeCarlo Rules




   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   issue      cvr date       title      pgs      story      pencils      
   [LwA #  1]      Sep-58      Rise and Shine      6      Sy Reit      Samm Schwartz      
   [LwA #  1]      Sep-58      By Hook or Cook      5      Sy Reit      Samm Schwartz      
   [LwA #16]      Sep-62      Hi-Jinks and Deep Divers!      23      Sy Reit      Bob White      
   [LwA #23]      Oct-63      A Very Lodge Problem      23      Sy Reit      Bob White      
   [LwA #26]      Mar-64      The Great Carnival Mystery!      23      Sy Reit      Bob White      
   [LwA #27]      May-64      The Strange Case of Patient X!      24      George Gladir      Bob White      
   [LwA #30]      Oct-64      Power Play      6      Frank Doyle      Harry Lucey      
   [LwA #30]      Oct-64      Oh Poi      6      Frank Doyle      Harry Lucey      
   [LwA #31]      Nov-64      Rough, Tough - But Fair Enough!      24      George Gladir      Bob White      
   [LwA #33]      Jan-65      A Christmas Tale      13      Frank Doyle      Bob White      
   [LwA #33]      Jan-65      Me Tarpan, You Jane!      11      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo      
   [LwA #34]      Feb-65      The Beatnik Caper!      13      Bob White      Bob White      
   [LwA #35]      Mar-65      It's A Small World!      13      Frank Doyle      Bob White      
   [LwA #35]      Mar-65      Plane and Fancy!      10      Frank Doyle      Bob White      
   [LwA #37]      May-65      Plane Crazy!      13      George Gladir      Bob White      
   [LwA #39]      Jul-65      Taking Up Space      5      Bob Bolling      Bob Bolling      
                     218                  


This is all classic Silver Age ACP material, so if rated by content alone, this collection would get an "A". We can note here that in the earliest stages of LwA, Sy Reit seems to be the default writer, while Bob White was (as indeed he continued to be until the later 1960s) the default artist of this title. I always felt that Bob White never got enough recognition for his contributions to the company, so hopefully this collection will go some ways towards rectifying that.

While not as spotty a collection as ARCHIE AT RIVERDALE HIGH VOL 1, this book still falls far short of being ideal (in other words, a lot closer to what BETTY AND VERONICA SPECTACULAR VOL 1 was). What I'm seeing here is just a rearranging of stories I recognized as having mostly read in digest reprints prior to this. They're good stories, and some of the wilder plots as far as Archie stories go. In sharp contrast to the ARCHIE AT RIVERDALE HIGH VOL 1, while these are also atypical Archie stories for the most part, comedy still remains central despite all the outlandishness, so big points for that. The single story which is probably the highlight of this collection is "Rough, Tough - But Fair Enough!" (the title given on the contents page doesn't actually appear on the story itself, and was taken from the -- here unreproduced -- cover copy). This is the one where Archie and the gang visit the 1964 World's Fair (and a counterpart to a similar JOSIE epic). The most amazing part of this is a 10-page chase sequence motivated by a randomly-introduced incidental character, a taxi driver at the fair. George Gladir had real fun with this one, but I almost think it reads more like a Frank Doyle story... I wonder.

Another thing to note is the first two stories in this collection. Read carefully between the lines of those first two short from LwA #1. In the first story "Rise and Shine", Archie seemingly misses out on an opportunity to attend a class field trip. The next story in this collection "By Hook or Cook", from the same issue, shows the students have just returned from the aforementioned field trip, and Archie is among them -- so in the four stories from LwA #1 NOT reprinted here that came between the two that ARE reprinted ("Please Be Seated," "Mummy Knows Best," "Water Boy," "U.N. Antics" -- story titles courtesy of GCDb), something has occurred which resulted in Archie getting to go on that field trip after all. Too bad the rest of issue #1 is not reprinted so we could see what it was. But what's notable here (as was typically the case with She's JOSIE stories) is that the individual stories in a single issue actually maintain continuity between them.

Overall grade:  B+ (would have rated much higher if they hadn't skipped so many issues, particularly between issues #2 and 15, and between #17 and 22).

Vegan Jughead

Quote from: DeCarlo Rules on August 31, 2018, 06:16:23 am



   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   issue      cvr date       title      pgs      story      pencils      
   [LwA #  1]      Sep-58      Rise and Shine      6      Sy Reit      Samm Schwartz      
   [LwA #  1]      Sep-58      By Hook or Cook      5      Sy Reit      Samm Schwartz      
   [LwA #16]      Sep-62      Hi-Jinks and Deep Divers!      23      Sy Reit      Bob White      
   [LwA #23]      Oct-63      A Very Lodge Problem      23      Sy Reit      Bob White      
   [LwA #26]      Mar-64      The Great Carnival Mystery!      23      Sy Reit      Bob White      
   [LwA #27]      May-64      The Strange Case of Patient X!      24      George Gladir      Bob White      
   [LwA #30]      Oct-64      Power Play      6      Frank Doyle      Harry Lucey      
   [LwA #30]      Oct-64      Oh Poi      6      Frank Doyle      Harry Lucey      
   [LwA #31]      Nov-64      Rough, Tough - But Fair Enough!      24      George Gladir      Bob White      
   [LwA #33]      Jan-65      A Christmas Tale      13      Frank Doyle      Bob White      
   [LwA #33]      Jan-65      Me Tarpan, You Jane!      11      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo      
   [LwA #34]      Feb-65      The Beatnik Caper!      13      Bob White      Bob White      
   [LwA #35]      Mar-65      It's A Small World!      13      Frank Doyle      Bob White      
   [LwA #35]      Mar-65      Plane and Fancy!      10      Frank Doyle      Bob White      
   [LwA #37]      May-65      Plane Crazy!      13      George Gladir      Bob White      
   [LwA #39]      Jul-65      Taking Up Space      5      Bob Bolling      Bob Bolling      
                     218                  


This is all classic Silver Age ACP material, so if rated by content alone, this collection would get an "A". We can note here that in the earliest stages of LwA, Sy Reit seems to be the default writer, while Bob White was (as indeed he continued to be until the later 1960s) the default artist of this title. I always felt that Bob White never got enough recognition for his contributions to the company, so hopefully this collection will go some ways towards rectifying that.

While not as spotty a collection as ARCHIE AT RIVERDALE HIGH VOL 1, this book still falls far short of being ideal (in other words, a lot closer to what BETTY AND VERONICA SPECTACULAR VOL 1 was). What I'm seeing here is just a rearranging of stories I recognized as having mostly read in digest reprints prior to this. They're good stories, and some of the wilder plots as far as Archie stories go. In sharp contrast to the ARCHIE AT RIVERDALE HIGH VOL 1, while these are also atypical Archie stories for the most part, comedy still remains central despite all the outlandishness, so big points for that. The single story which is probably the highlight of this collection is "Rough, Tough - But Fair Enough!" (the title given on the contents page doesn't actually appear on the story itself, and was taken from the -- here unreproduced -- cover copy). This is the one where Archie and the gang visit the 1964 World's Fair (and a counterpart to a similar JOSIE epic). The most amazing part of this is a 10-page chase sequence motivated by a randomly-introduced incidental character, a taxi driver at the fair. George Gladir had real fun with this one, but I almost think it reads more like a Frank Doyle story... I wonder.

Another thing to note is the first two stories in this collection. Read carefully between the lines of those first two short from LwA #1. In the first story "Rise and Shine", Archie seemingly misses out on an opportunity to attend a class field trip. The next story in this collection "By Hook or Cook", from the same issue, shows the students have just returned from the aforementioned field trip, and Archie is among them -- so in the four stories from LwA #1 NOT reprinted here that came between the two that ARE reprinted ("Please Be Seated," "Mummy Knows Best," "Water Boy," "U.N. Antics" -- story titles courtesy of GCDb), something has occurred which resulted in Archie getting to go on that field trip after all. Too bad the rest of issue #1 is not reprinted so we could see what it was. But what's notable here (as was typically the case with She's JOSIE stories) is that the individual stories in a single issue actually maintain continuity between them.

Overall grade:  B+ (would have rated much higher if they hadn't skipped so many issues, particularly between issues #2 and 15, and between #17 and 22).



Thanks for the review DCR.  I'm getting this.  I love this new format. Of course it could be better but it's a step in the right direction. I also agree on Bob White. I believe he was the artist on The Man From R.I.V.E.R.D.A.L.E stories from the 60s and I loved those. 

ASS-P

..As far as LWA material goes, I have aways wanted the early, pre-TV series, Archies stories reprinted! :D

DeCarlo Rules

Of course there's no rule saying that if there were to be a Vol. 2 collection of LwA, it couldn't contain some of the stories from the issues that were skipped over by Vol. 1 -- BUT... it seems apparent that they don't want to invest in any real work of scanning and/or recoloring older stories which have not as yet been digitized. I'm sure that decision is based strictly on economics. They clearly don't want to incur the cost of employing people to do that work, and the mandate here with the "Archie Comics Presents..." series of trade collections seems to be to try to generate income while using only the reprint material they already have on hand.

Which is a crying shame.   :'(


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.