• Welcome to Archie Comics Fan Forum. Please login or sign up.
 
collapse

Random Image

SpringBlossom6
SpringBlossom6
Posted by: SAGG
Posted in album: SAGG

Search


Recent Topics

Is It Just Me.... by SAGG
[March 20, 2019, 11:27:35 pm]


Re: Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[March 16, 2019, 10:59:13 pm]


Re: Jughead in Twysting Hearts by PTF
[March 14, 2019, 03:33:43 pm]


Archie in Good Fences by PTF
[March 14, 2019, 03:32:03 pm]


Re: Lucy Hale cast as Katy Keene in Riverdale spin-off pilot by Tuxedo Mark
[March 13, 2019, 11:11:19 pm]


Re: What have you done today? by Archiecomicxfan215
[March 13, 2019, 09:54:40 pm]


Re: Snotgirl #1 by DeCarlo Rules
[March 06, 2019, 08:12:29 am]


Re: ARCHIE COMICS FOR MAY 2019 by DeCarlo Rules
[March 04, 2019, 03:39:52 pm]


Re: What comics have you been reading? by rusty
[February 24, 2019, 07:43:52 pm]


Re: JUGHEAD’S TIME POLICE returns to the future in June by DeCarlo Rules
[February 23, 2019, 12:22:08 am]

Shoutbox

  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "The New Archies" series finale, "Horray for Hollywood": [link]
    March 16, 2019, 10:59:51 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Winter" from Betty and Veronica, Vol. 4, No. 3: [link]
    March 09, 2019, 10:16:45 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: You could say that Beverly Hills 90210 was the "Riverdale" of its time -- '80s style,
    March 04, 2019, 03:31:12 pm
  • Archiecomicxfan215: R.I.P Luke Perry
    March 04, 2019, 03:09:34 pm
  • Mr.Lodge: Beverly Hills 90210 Star Luke Perry Dead at 52 from Massive Stroke
    March 04, 2019, 02:53:50 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: So let me see if I've got this right... The confusingly-titled Archie: The Married Life 10th Anniversary is NOT a sequel to any part of the 37-issue run of "The Married Life" in Life With Archie Magazine. But it IS a sequel (10 years on ) to ARCHIE #600 to 606, "Archie Marries".
    March 04, 2019, 02:00:25 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: Ironically Dan Parent was not really involved with the LIFE WITH ARCHIE series at all although he did do ARCHIE #606, the epilogue to "Archie Marries". It's a little confusing now, since this new series is yet another parallel universe where Archie Andrews didn't die... or maybe two of them.
    March 03, 2019, 01:19:06 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: After Archie Meets Batman '66, I was wondering whether that was it for long-form classic Archie stories. So it's nice to see The Married Life again, even if it's only a 6-issue epilogue.
    March 03, 2019, 01:16:09 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "The New Archies": "Take My Butler, Please": [link]
    March 02, 2019, 10:55:11 pm
  • Mr.Lodge: Per [link] - Archie: The Married Life 10th Anniversary #1 (of 6) lands in stores in August.
    March 01, 2019, 03:18:05 am
  • Mr.Lodge: Per Yahoo! - Luke Perry hospitalized after suffering a 'massive stroke,' according to reports
    March 01, 2019, 03:12:29 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "It's in Her Kiss" from Cheryl Blossom, No. 23: [link]
    February 24, 2019, 07:22:08 pm
  • Vegan Jughead: Happy Birthday BettyReggie!
    February 18, 2019, 07:40:11 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Taking Care of Business" from B&V #257: [link]
    February 17, 2019, 09:14:58 am
  • archiecomicscollector: Icon Heroes just announced Riverdale and Sabrina figures will debut later this year.
    February 15, 2019, 08:23:37 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Fall" from Betty and Veronica, Vol. 4, No. 2: [link]
    February 09, 2019, 10:04:42 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Faith, Hope and Cheryl!" from Cheryl Blossom Special, No. 2: [link]
    February 07, 2019, 08:32:08 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Congrats to Riverdale on its renewal! :)
    February 02, 2019, 09:03:31 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Brotherly Love" from Cheryl Blossom, No. 22: [link]
    January 26, 2019, 10:10:27 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: Jughead the Hunger vs. Vampironica #1 is coming in April. This is the first alternate-Archiverse crossover (they exist in different parallel universes) since "The Married Life".
    January 25, 2019, 06:31:05 am

LIFE WITH ARCHIE Volume 1 - Contents list & review

Started by DeCarlo Rules, August 31, 2018, 06:16:23 am

Previous topic - Next topic

DeCarlo Rules




   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   issue      cvr date       title      pgs      story      pencils      
   [LwA #  1]      Sep-58      Rise and Shine      6      Sy Reit      Samm Schwartz      
   [LwA #  1]      Sep-58      By Hook or Cook      5      Sy Reit      Samm Schwartz      
   [LwA #16]      Sep-62      Hi-Jinks and Deep Divers!      23      Sy Reit      Bob White      
   [LwA #23]      Oct-63      A Very Lodge Problem      23      Sy Reit      Bob White      
   [LwA #26]      Mar-64      The Great Carnival Mystery!      23      Sy Reit      Bob White      
   [LwA #27]      May-64      The Strange Case of Patient X!      24      George Gladir      Bob White      
   [LwA #30]      Oct-64      Power Play      6      Frank Doyle      Harry Lucey      
   [LwA #30]      Oct-64      Oh Poi      6      Frank Doyle      Harry Lucey      
   [LwA #31]      Nov-64      Rough, Tough - But Fair Enough!      24      George Gladir      Bob White      
   [LwA #33]      Jan-65      A Christmas Tale      13      Frank Doyle      Bob White      
   [LwA #33]      Jan-65      Me Tarpan, You Jane!      11      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo      
   [LwA #34]      Feb-65      The Beatnik Caper!      13      Bob White      Bob White      
   [LwA #35]      Mar-65      It's A Small World!      13      Frank Doyle      Bob White      
   [LwA #35]      Mar-65      Plane and Fancy!      10      Frank Doyle      Bob White      
   [LwA #37]      May-65      Plane Crazy!      13      George Gladir      Bob White      
   [LwA #39]      Jul-65      Taking Up Space      5      Bob Bolling      Bob Bolling      
                     218                  


This is all classic Silver Age ACP material, so if rated by content alone, this collection would get an "A". We can note here that in the earliest stages of LwA, Sy Reit seems to be the default writer, while Bob White was (as indeed he continued to be until the later 1960s) the default artist of this title. I always felt that Bob White never got enough recognition for his contributions to the company, so hopefully this collection will go some ways towards rectifying that.

While not as spotty a collection as ARCHIE AT RIVERDALE HIGH VOL 1, this book still falls far short of being ideal (in other words, a lot closer to what BETTY AND VERONICA SPECTACULAR VOL 1 was). What I'm seeing here is just a rearranging of stories I recognized as having mostly read in digest reprints prior to this. They're good stories, and some of the wilder plots as far as Archie stories go. In sharp contrast to the ARCHIE AT RIVERDALE HIGH VOL 1, while these are also atypical Archie stories for the most part, comedy still remains central despite all the outlandishness, so big points for that. The single story which is probably the highlight of this collection is "Rough, Tough - But Fair Enough!" (the title given on the contents page doesn't actually appear on the story itself, and was taken from the -- here unreproduced -- cover copy). This is the one where Archie and the gang visit the 1964 World's Fair (and a counterpart to a similar JOSIE epic). The most amazing part of this is a 10-page chase sequence motivated by a randomly-introduced incidental character, a taxi driver at the fair. George Gladir had real fun with this one, but I almost think it reads more like a Frank Doyle story... I wonder.

Another thing to note is the first two stories in this collection. Read carefully between the lines of those first two short from LwA #1. In the first story "Rise and Shine", Archie seemingly misses out on an opportunity to attend a class field trip. The next story in this collection "By Hook or Cook", from the same issue, shows the students have just returned from the aforementioned field trip, and Archie is among them -- so in the four stories from LwA #1 NOT reprinted here that came between the two that ARE reprinted ("Please Be Seated," "Mummy Knows Best," "Water Boy," "U.N. Antics" -- story titles courtesy of GCDb), something has occurred which resulted in Archie getting to go on that field trip after all. Too bad the rest of issue #1 is not reprinted so we could see what it was. But what's notable here (as was typically the case with She's JOSIE stories) is that the individual stories in a single issue actually maintain continuity between them.

Overall grade:  B+ (would have rated much higher if they hadn't skipped so many issues, particularly between issues #2 and 15, and between #17 and 22).

Vegan Jughead

Quote from: DeCarlo Rules on August 31, 2018, 06:16:23 am



   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   issue      cvr date       title      pgs      story      pencils      
   [LwA #  1]      Sep-58      Rise and Shine      6      Sy Reit      Samm Schwartz      
   [LwA #  1]      Sep-58      By Hook or Cook      5      Sy Reit      Samm Schwartz      
   [LwA #16]      Sep-62      Hi-Jinks and Deep Divers!      23      Sy Reit      Bob White      
   [LwA #23]      Oct-63      A Very Lodge Problem      23      Sy Reit      Bob White      
   [LwA #26]      Mar-64      The Great Carnival Mystery!      23      Sy Reit      Bob White      
   [LwA #27]      May-64      The Strange Case of Patient X!      24      George Gladir      Bob White      
   [LwA #30]      Oct-64      Power Play      6      Frank Doyle      Harry Lucey      
   [LwA #30]      Oct-64      Oh Poi      6      Frank Doyle      Harry Lucey      
   [LwA #31]      Nov-64      Rough, Tough - But Fair Enough!      24      George Gladir      Bob White      
   [LwA #33]      Jan-65      A Christmas Tale      13      Frank Doyle      Bob White      
   [LwA #33]      Jan-65      Me Tarpan, You Jane!      11      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo      
   [LwA #34]      Feb-65      The Beatnik Caper!      13      Bob White      Bob White      
   [LwA #35]      Mar-65      It's A Small World!      13      Frank Doyle      Bob White      
   [LwA #35]      Mar-65      Plane and Fancy!      10      Frank Doyle      Bob White      
   [LwA #37]      May-65      Plane Crazy!      13      George Gladir      Bob White      
   [LwA #39]      Jul-65      Taking Up Space      5      Bob Bolling      Bob Bolling      
                     218                  


This is all classic Silver Age ACP material, so if rated by content alone, this collection would get an "A". We can note here that in the earliest stages of LwA, Sy Reit seems to be the default writer, while Bob White was (as indeed he continued to be until the later 1960s) the default artist of this title. I always felt that Bob White never got enough recognition for his contributions to the company, so hopefully this collection will go some ways towards rectifying that.

While not as spotty a collection as ARCHIE AT RIVERDALE HIGH VOL 1, this book still falls far short of being ideal (in other words, a lot closer to what BETTY AND VERONICA SPECTACULAR VOL 1 was). What I'm seeing here is just a rearranging of stories I recognized as having mostly read in digest reprints prior to this. They're good stories, and some of the wilder plots as far as Archie stories go. In sharp contrast to the ARCHIE AT RIVERDALE HIGH VOL 1, while these are also atypical Archie stories for the most part, comedy still remains central despite all the outlandishness, so big points for that. The single story which is probably the highlight of this collection is "Rough, Tough - But Fair Enough!" (the title given on the contents page doesn't actually appear on the story itself, and was taken from the -- here unreproduced -- cover copy). This is the one where Archie and the gang visit the 1964 World's Fair (and a counterpart to a similar JOSIE epic). The most amazing part of this is a 10-page chase sequence motivated by a randomly-introduced incidental character, a taxi driver at the fair. George Gladir had real fun with this one, but I almost think it reads more like a Frank Doyle story... I wonder.

Another thing to note is the first two stories in this collection. Read carefully between the lines of those first two short from LwA #1. In the first story "Rise and Shine", Archie seemingly misses out on an opportunity to attend a class field trip. The next story in this collection "By Hook or Cook", from the same issue, shows the students have just returned from the aforementioned field trip, and Archie is among them -- so in the four stories from LwA #1 NOT reprinted here that came between the two that ARE reprinted ("Please Be Seated," "Mummy Knows Best," "Water Boy," "U.N. Antics" -- story titles courtesy of GCDb), something has occurred which resulted in Archie getting to go on that field trip after all. Too bad the rest of issue #1 is not reprinted so we could see what it was. But what's notable here (as was typically the case with She's JOSIE stories) is that the individual stories in a single issue actually maintain continuity between them.

Overall grade:  B+ (would have rated much higher if they hadn't skipped so many issues, particularly between issues #2 and 15, and between #17 and 22).



Thanks for the review DCR.  I'm getting this.  I love this new format. Of course it could be better but it's a step in the right direction. I also agree on Bob White. I believe he was the artist on The Man From R.I.V.E.R.D.A.L.E stories from the 60s and I loved those. 

ASS-P

..As far as LWA material goes, I have aways wanted the early, pre-TV series, Archies stories reprinted! :D

DeCarlo Rules

Of course there's no rule saying that if there were to be a Vol. 2 collection of LwA, it couldn't contain some of the stories from the issues that were skipped over by Vol. 1 -- BUT... it seems apparent that they don't want to invest in any real work of scanning and/or recoloring older stories which have not as yet been digitized. I'm sure that decision is based strictly on economics. They clearly don't want to incur the cost of employing people to do that work, and the mandate here with the "Archie Comics Presents..." series of trade collections seems to be to try to generate income while using only the reprint material they already have on hand.

Which is a crying shame.   :'(


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.