• Welcome to Archie Comics Fan Forum. Please login or sign up.
 
January 19, 2020, 01:17:48 am

News:

We're back! Unfortunately all data was lost. Please re-register to continue posting!


collapse

Random Image

Trial&Error6
Trial&Error6
Posted by: SAGG
Posted in album: SAGG

Search


Recent Topics

Re: Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[January 11, 2020, 04:16:15 pm]


archie meets little archie by sailorxtreme
[January 07, 2020, 02:38:28 pm]


Re: SENTIMENTAL MOMENTS WITH ARCHIE COMICS. by ASS-P
[December 30, 2019, 06:03:39 pm]


Re: Change settings? by DeCarlo Rules
[December 07, 2019, 05:26:17 am]


Re: Posts way down. by Shuester
[November 29, 2019, 11:50:40 pm]


Re: Latest Hauls, what did you buy? by rusty
[November 20, 2019, 11:44:53 am]


Printer Driver Software by Brandytasir
[November 18, 2019, 11:11:00 am]


Car Photo (HD) by Brandytasir
[November 18, 2019, 11:08:00 am]


Re: New here by Tuxedo Mark
[November 17, 2019, 08:12:52 am]


Re: Archie - The Married Life - 10th Anniversary - Opinions? by DeCarlo Rules
[November 07, 2019, 12:21:29 am]

Shoutbox

  • DeCarlo Rules: A week is nothing. That can pretty much happen with any title from any publisher.
    January 16, 2020, 03:05:10 am
  • Mr.Lodge: They want to finish Afterlife with Archie first.....
    January 12, 2020, 10:37:50 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Archie #710 has been delayed a week. I guess I shouldn't be surprised.
    January 11, 2020, 07:37:46 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: The third and fourth stories in my series, Vampire Killer, are free on Amazon right now: [link] and [link]
    January 11, 2020, 05:07:17 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "The Case of the Triple Cross" from B&V Friends Jumbo Comics Digest, No. 276: [link]
    January 10, 2020, 11:36:11 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Congrats to Riverdale on its renewal and Katy Keene on its additional 13-script order.
    January 07, 2020, 10:47:15 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: ACP's solicitations for January include SABRINA The Complete Collection Vol. 2 (1972-1973) and the latest Archie Comics character to be rebooted -- SUPER DUCK! [link]
    January 02, 2020, 07:02:52 am
  • TeamBlossom: Changed my username as I left a hobby I do not want to share...
    January 01, 2020, 11:43:20 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Happy New Year, everyone! :)
    January 01, 2020, 12:07:15 am
  • ASS-P: ......o. Facebook, a wave from (what I thought was) a deceased Archie artist...
    December 30, 2019, 06:10:55 pm
  • ASS-P: I still can't figure our how to sign in:-(...I was able to reply to someone. Too bad, as I have an anecdote of having received, a
    December 30, 2019, 06:09:49 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: The first story in my original series, Destined, is free on Amazon right now: [link]
    December 29, 2019, 10:55:45 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Jingles' New Job" from Archie and Me Comics Digest, No. 23 [link]
    December 25, 2019, 08:07:57 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My reviews of "It's the Thoughtlessness That Counts" from World of Archie Double Digest, No. 94 [link]
    December 25, 2019, 08:07:41 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Hey, everyone, I just wanted to let you know the first two stories in my original series, Vampire Killer, are free on Amazon right now: [link] and [link]
    December 22, 2019, 01:34:46 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: Two new bonus SAM HILL stories appear in B & V Friends Jumbo Comics Digest 276 and Betty and Veronica Jumbo Comics Digest 279... in addition to the regular new 5-page lead stories. That was a nice surprise -- Sam's still wearing the red bow tie he wore in 1950s stories.
    December 14, 2019, 12:07:09 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Archie's Holiday Fun Scrapbook" from Archie's Holiday Fun Digest, No. 12" [link]
    December 08, 2019, 06:27:45 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My reviews of "Photo Finish" [link] and "Hotshot Friend" [link] from Betty and Veronica Digest, No. 177.
    November 26, 2019, 08:23:14 pm
  • ASS-P: Briefly - There were none.
    November 26, 2019, 07:18:28 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My reviews of "Drop The Shopping" [link] and "Rerun Fun?" [link] from Betty and Veronica Digest, No. 176
    November 25, 2019, 11:10:54 am

PTF Reviews Blue Baron 2.1

Started by PTF, May 27, 2018, 02:06:23 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

PTF

 PTF Reviews The Blue Baron 2.1
First off thank you to all veterans for all you have done for us.
Well, finally saw the Batman anime. It's okay. I don't think it's the greatest thing ever like everyone is letting on, but it's fun to watch if you turn off your brain off( (like Batman during the movie) and just have fun.

And it sounds a lot better than the Solo movie. I had a friend go see it and to quote him, "I want to punch Opie in the face!"

I think I should end all bad reviews like that.

But I'm not here to talk about an anime or a really angry Star Wars fanboy., so let's get started with the review.


Anyway, last we left off a nerdy 13 year old loser and his least favorite hero switched bodies. Luckily with Blue Baron's advice, Ernie was able to save the day after nearly blowing it. But it's a new issue, new challenges--let's review Blue Baron!!!


The Good

Ernie is a snot. So what do you get when a teenager suddenly becomes rich, can boss people around, and do whatever he wants when he wants--a little prick. And that's what Ernie is for the majority of the issue. He's letting Cedric Corp go while he just spends his time eating nachos and playing video games. When he's confronted with a chore he runs out or is just rude. And he dresses like a tool. And that's pretty much how it should be. And it is fun watching people react to their boss or friend like he's having a mid-life crisis...or he's just lost it. And we get some fun moments with "Stranger Danger" and him deciding to drive.

And Blue Baron is shown to be adjusting well. I like his wardrobe being like Bruce Wayne's and him rousing the troops to do something about Slater and his bullying way. And right now, he's the only adult guiding Ernie's life in anyway and the only person in the issue he shows respect to; like when he teaches Ernie how to shave. And I like the little internal war he's developing with Ernie's family as he hates Wanda and fears Rosa.

The Writing. So yeah the writing is fun. And humor is still great. Control Freak making Blue Ernie look like an idiot was a riot. Especially the hot coffee and the kids watching the hero fight but really wanting to play jump rope when it's over. I love Blue Baron's reaction Ernie's celebration as he's watching his respectability go down the drain. Ernie Baron's rousing speech to the geeks was great. And Ernie being a total brat was great. We get more information on Bishop and meet Rossi. And the issue ends on a great cliffhanger.


The Villains. Hey, we're building us a rogue gallery. This issue is Control Freak who can possess a body part of a person and is shown to be effect with it with how he holds up the bank and has Blue Ernie on the ropes the majority of their conflict. And it's nice seeing a villain in a loving relationship with another guy.

Then there is Blowback who is nuclear powered and can repel anything that comes his way. We don't know much about him but what we do know is good. He's not motivated by money--just revenge. He hates Cedric Carson and is vandalizing any facility that uses his security system just to bankrupt one of his divisions.

The art. Yeah, Ron Frenz kills it again this issue. I really like all the facial reactions the characters have reacting to Blue Ernie. I love the crazy eyed Blue Ernie on TV celebrating like a tool. I think my favorite pages might be Ernie driving and all the different angles and layout. Specially the second panel sums up everyone involved. Again I like the design for the villains and I really like looking at the background and all the different types of people.

The coloring, inking, and lettering is great. Love the word balloon shaped around Blue Ernie screaming while hot coffee is poured on him. And the coloring and inking two places stand out. The shading and diabolic look Ernie gets when he gets the idea to drive and the very last page with green light and the shading is superb.



The Bad

Maybe Blue Baron could use more panel time. So far it's been more focused on Ernie as Blue Baron, and that makes sense since this is a hero book, but I would like to see more of Blue Baron adjusting to Ernie's life. I mean, I still don't know Ernie's dad's name, what his parents do for an occupation. And Rosa's a monster but we're not shown why. So in turn  you have a portion of the supporting staff not getting much development as the other. Plus Wanda was not in this issue and I didn't get to make a Spider-Girl/Mayday joke this review. That is not acceptable.







What I learned from what I read.

Ernie's little sister name is Rosa.
  • Harold not only doesn't get a French vacation but his boyfriend is in jail. That's sad.

  • It's always Jump Rope Time.

  • Speaking off...that's one mighty strong jump rope.

  • Blue Baron might be a bit of a player.

  • REVENGE OF THE NERDS: HERO EDITION. It's happening.

  • Carson Corp needs to work on their contracts. I mean, yeah, paying in full for failure in security is nice--but that'll bankrupt you. Need to find that fine line between Tony Stark and Lex Luthor.

  • I think Rossi was born on Yancy Street.

  • It's nice to know some villains don't do it for the money. Sometimes it's about love and pure, unadulterated hatred.

  • I would follow Ernie Baron into battle.

 
Overall. Yeah, it's great issue. Everything's great. I only really have the slightest of nitpicks and even then it's not so bad because of the rest of the supporting cast and Ernie's situation is more fun and relevant to the plot of the issue. It's an A.





The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.