News:

We're back! Unfortunately all data was lost. Please re-register to continue posting!

Main Menu
Welcome to Archie Comics Fan Forum. Please login or sign up.

August 15, 2022, 07:01:51 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Topics

Shoutbox

Aug 14 2022 4:05pm
Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Cinderblossom" from Cheryl Blossom #20: https://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com/2022/08/14/comics-cinderblossom/

Aug 13 2022 9:51am
DeCarlo Rules: According to the current profiles for "traditional" characters on Archiecomics.com, the official nomenclature now is: Josie McCoy, Melody Valentine, and Valerie Smith. Pepper has no character profile, but there are only 21 of them.

Aug 12 2022 5:23pm
Tuxedo Mark: The new Pepper story that came out uses Valentine for Melody, so I guess that's officially her last name now.

Aug 12 2022 3:11pm
Tuxedo Mark: Melody's last name was Jones in the comics and Valentine in the movie. In the Josie manga (which came out after the movie), Josie's last name was Jones for the sole purpose of making a Bridget Jones reference. I forget what the New Riverdale comics used.

Aug 12 2022 3:09pm
Tuxedo Mark: Valerie's had the last name Smith in the comics, but I don't know when that started. Her last name in the movie was Brown. Josie's last name was James in the comics and McCoy in the movie and on Riverdale.

Aug 12 2022 10:56am
DeCarlo Rules: It's weird that sometimes they acknowledge that a character hasn't been seen in some time (I remember them doing that with Frankie Valdez, Evelyn Evernever, and Cheryl).

Aug 12 2022 10:53am
DeCarlo Rules: And Pepper did have a small appearance somewhere else in a classic story since Civil Chore, but I can't remember now. But the recent digest story is the first where she's actually the title character.

Aug 12 2022 10:50am
DeCarlo Rules: Valerie's had the last name Smith since... the 2001 movie? Unless Pepper's last name predates that , I can't see any excuse for using Smith again.

Aug 12 2022 10:47am
DeCarlo Rules: Stories have definitely been rescheduled from their original solicitations. Some digest solicits that promised two stories did not deliver when published..

Aug 10 2022 10:19am
Tuxedo Mark: I think we're meant to assume Pepper (like all of the rarely-used characters) have been in Riverdale this whole time (see, for example, Civil Chore, where she cameoed), but they don't warrant appearances.

PTF Reviews Blue Baron 3.3

Started by PTF, July 25, 2020, 01:26:36 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

PTF

PTF Reviews Blue Baron 3.3

Well, still stuck at home. Still feel fine. Still having my life wasted.  So might as well do something constructive and review a good comic.

What's worse than being in the body of a hero? How about ending up in a hell dimension? Who is the Wonder Witch and what ties does she have to The Blue Baron? Will Professor Wraith give the world a crash course in evil? And how desperate is Cedric Carson to get his life back to super normal? Find out in—BLUE BARON.


The Good

Writing: Yeah, it's another typical great issue from Darin Henry. One thing I'd like to point out is I like how the A storyline and the B storyline connect. You have demons connected to Cedric in Ernie's body and Jenna as Professor Wraith prepares his spell. Also, I love the two demons reactions as the demon with Cedric/Ernie has no idea what this kid's issue is. And I really liked Cedric and how everything blew up in his face because he is a nice guy and women, no matter the age, are tricky. Seriously, guys, we play checkers, they play chess. Never forget that. We're going to lose. The goal is to not lose as badly as possible.

And I like the Wonder Witch character as she's a super likeable character. Nice, kind, and it's really hard not to root for a character who seems like the universe took a swing at and then forgot about entirely. She connects to the Blue Baron's past and sets up a future storyline with a new villain. And best of all, she never felt forced or shoehorned into the story. And she does contribute to the defeat of Prof. Wraith. And it serves as motivation for Ernie in the future. And I'll admit it, I'm invested in Wonder Witch being saved. Helps that she gave the biggest laughs for this issue.

And really it is a feel good issue that I think was needed. One of my problems with Invincible is that—well, darn if that kid ever did anything right or was allowed a moment of joy. Ernie got that and it's well deserved. After all the kid's went through, he deserved a bit of happiness and respect. And he learned an important lesson about being a grown up.

And for those of you who are more sadistic, there is some tragedy. The Wonder Witch loses her only companion and is left with the same promise that was broken over two hundred years ago. Also...NASDACK.


And I love the last two pages and what is set up. Especially Cedric's as he turns to an unlikely ally to help. Also, what is going to happen with Ernie and his parents is going to be super fun to read. Oh, and also a reminder of the entity that is still looming on the horizon.


The art. Ron Frenz does what he does: draw good comics that only costed me 99 cents. If only all artists could have those two traits...

It's just his typical great work that I've enjoyed since Spider-Girl. I like The Wonder Witch's design. And I like really like some of the angles and positions he took for panels, like when the demons break into Wonder Witch's home with the overhead shot. Also the last three panels we see of The Wonder Witch as we zoom out more and more to show how alone she now is. And I like Cedric in Ernie's one panel where he breaks away from Jenna. Coherent motion in just one panel. Hard to do. And I love the two demons over their heads as they don't know what to make of these two. And as for the best pages to look at I actually like Blue Baron's fight with Prof Wraith as it captures the tone of this book perfectly and looks great.

Lettering, Colors, and inking: I really like the lettering in this comic. You have the pink word balloon and purple lettering when Wonder Witch casts a spell. Nifty. And helps her stand out. I especially love when she gets angry over her friend's death and the WAAAKOOOOM. The colors are again great. I love all the demonsion and the colors and the inking.

I think I'll name my newest Pokemon WABAMMO.

...

Sigh, I miss freedom.

Super Sleepy. Awww. Fun little story that reminds me of the old Harvey comics I used to read. And not because of how I say Super Sleepy looks like Lil' Audrey. In fact,

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oafovdaVB7M

Turns out I was completely wrong.

Heh. Waited awhile to do that joke. But now to get to—

Why doesn't Dot have more dots? She's Dot! Oh, um back to the comic review--


The Bad

Blue Baron taking down Prof Wrath. This issue doesn't have the same action as the last. And I can see some people complaining about how easily Wraith went down, especially after we saw what he can do in the last issue. I'm not one of them. Like I said, I think Ernie needed a strong showing. And he did have a magical lamp to aid him. And really, when you read this story in just a single sitting, there really isn't an argument.

Sargasso Lamp. That ain't a lamp. That's a lantern! A lamp has genies and a lantern has the souls contained in it. This is common knowledge! Sheesh!

Law enforcement in this universe: Remember the bad guys from the first story. Released from police custody. And people complain about the revolving door in Arkham!!

Somebody forgot something. Just before Blue Baron returns, we see The Clique and no energy field holding them in place.



Headmistress. Wow. Amazing how you just showed up the second after Blue Baron handled things. You are not fooling anyone here. You are a horrible mentor, robot lady!

Freddy. We never learn why Freddy was mad at Audrey. Was it because of using "like" as a conversational pause or the dumb hat? It's like Ernie's dad all over again and I know it'll be six issues before I get my answer!

Darin Henry. Great, now I have to buy another comic to find out what happens to Wonder Witch. Can't believe this guy wants me to buy his comic that he's making and wants to profit off of it. Wait, I can just illegally—no no, he made a special note against it! Curse you and your foolproof schemes and ironclad foresight Darin Henry!!


The second page. We're getting dangerously too close to hentai for my liking...

What I learned from what I read.

1. Mayday Parker is going to take Cedric Corp to the cleaners!
2. How lucky I am to be an only child.
3. I'd want a pet like Delphyne if I was in the demonsion.
4. Destruction of property, robbery, endangering lives, and fighting the main hero team of this universe is only a slap on the wrist.
5. Wonder Witch is easily the most observant and rational person this comic has ever had.
6. Christopher Carson was a liar!
7. "Platonic friends" had a different meaning when I was a teen.
8. Bean can ski.
9. Wolfbarker knows fake news when he sees it!
10. I'm not the only person who needs his banky to help with sleep.


Overall. A. It's a great job by the team and we have several set up for future stories. Not much more to it then that folks.


So until next time--if I'm not in a makeshift bed in my hospital's ICU—thank you for reading and I hope the reviews were informative and entertaining.

The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.