• Welcome to Archie Comics Fan Forum. Please login or sign up.
 
July 17, 2019, 05:10:27 pm

News:

We're back! Unfortunately all data was lost. Please re-register to continue posting!


collapse

Random Image

FickleFather4
FickleFather4
Posted by: SAGG
Posted in album: SAGG

Search


Shoutbox

  • Tuxedo Mark: Are Blossoms 666 #5 and Archie and Me Digest #19 out or not? I don't see even print copies on Amazon.
    Today at 10:55:02 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Love Showdown": [link]
    July 12, 2019, 07:30:46 pm
  • ASS-P: Well, Starchie, guess thos lines on the side of your head have REALLY gone grey now:-( ~ Maybe you'll get sprung now:-)?
    July 12, 2019, 07:14:16 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: The Last Straw! ... [link]
    July 12, 2019, 04:23:12 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: And ICv2 interviews Dan Parent and Michael Uslan about the new miniseries HERE [link]
    July 12, 2019, 10:06:46 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: FIRST LOOK -- ARCHIE: THE MARRIED LIFE 10th Anniversary #1 (without dialogue, alas...)  [link]
    July 12, 2019, 09:37:34 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: Digital (ComiXology) is supposed to be same-day-&-date, but I wonder about that sometimes...
    July 12, 2019, 01:23:15 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: @Tuxedo Mark - ARCHIE AND ME #19 arrived in comic shops on July 10th (if you subscribe, your copy may be running late).  BLOSSOMS 666 #5 will be in comic shops on July 17th.
    July 12, 2019, 01:20:36 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: And Archie and Me #19?
    July 11, 2019, 03:58:22 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Has Blossoms 666 #5 been delayed? It was supposed to come out yesterday, but I can't find it on Amazon.
    July 11, 2019, 03:45:02 pm
  • Oldiesmann: Spam has been cleaned up again. It's nice that I can delete all of someone's posts and their account all at once...
    July 10, 2019, 12:50:07 am
  • rusty: So spammers are now posting sports stories instead of about kitchens? Interesting.
    July 09, 2019, 04:47:01 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Snob Hill" from Archie's Pals 'n' Gals, No. 161: [link]
    July 06, 2019, 10:35:22 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: I've been re-reading THE MARRIED LIFE, and suddenly realized that Veronica had a happier life in the Betty-verse, and Betty had a happier life in the Veronica-verse. Archie's life was mostly miserable in either universe. Just like reality... or at least, reality-TV.
    July 05, 2019, 06:04:32 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: I review the "Archie's Weird Mysteries" episode, "Attack of the 50-Foot Veronica": [link]
    July 01, 2019, 10:14:28 pm
  • Mr.Lodge: The covers for these digests by Parent and the Kennedys look like they were drawn by 5 year olds.....
    June 28, 2019, 05:15:49 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Gimme Some Space!" from Betty and Veronica Double Digest, No. 274: [link]
    June 21, 2019, 09:28:19 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: Bring back the Jughead digests! There really does need to be an ongoing Jughead comic.
    June 21, 2019, 04:03:45 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Beach Party Blossom" from World of Archie Double Digest, No. 69: [link]
    June 13, 2019, 04:23:35 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Hot Stuff", a 1980s Cheryl story from AGB&V, No. 328: [link]
    June 12, 2019, 03:06:38 pm

PTF Reviews StartUp #1

Started by PTF, July 25, 2018, 09:55:26 am

Previous topic - Next topic

PTF

 Let' s see $13 dog bed, $10 flea and tick spray for carpet, $10 flea shampoo, $25 flea pill, $15 depo allergy shot. All for an eighteen year old dog. And people wonder why I only review old and free comics...


But enough of my problems it's time to review STARTUP ISSUE ONE

Renee Garcia-Gibson is a single mother, a stenographer, and also over three hundred pounds. And after a day of jeers, jokes, and embarrassment, Renee is offered a chance to kick her life into overdrive. This is StartUp.

The Good

The writing: It's a neat concept and I really like Renee. It's hard not to root for a good person who just is taking grief from everyone. Her son, Malcolm doesn't want to be seen with her at school, single mom, mocked by everyone, and just nothing seemingly going her way. I like how her being a stenographer is worked into the story, like her knowing who The Cloud are and how they navigate around the law. And The Cloud is an interesting idea, a bunch of people who just want to fight heroes. And she has a great hero moment with how to deal with Glut. It's hard to not like a character that perseveres in a universe that seems to enjoy making her miserable.

And the story does what a first issue should do. Introduce the main characters, plot, theme, leave wanting more. We get a good introduction on who the supporting cast will be (son, grandmother, love interest) It's a good origin story. The humor is good, the story pacing is excellent, Renee narrating was a great idea for the story.

There is lot of moments in this comic that I think most people can relate to with how being different can lead to low self-esteem, lack of luck in love, and just various forms of embarrassment or harassment. And Darin Henry dealt with it extremely well.


The art. I'm going to be honest, I have a lot of problems with the art from Craig Rousseau for this issue, but it's not all bad. Renee is drawn well. When StartUp gets her powers the action's really good. I like the blurring of her to show her super speed. Renee looks good throughout the comic (baring the inking). And there's even a fun bit of background where a man is taking picture of Crunch while a female looks angrily at him and a family covering their eyes.

The coloring and lettering. It's okay. The colors are nice and bright. The lettering is good. I think my favorite is the school kids on page 4. I think they do cover up a bit of a major problem I had for this issue.


The Bad

The art. Out of all the Sitcomics that I've read, this is the weakest of all the art. The best way to describe it is...wonky and inconsistent. Heck, just check out the candy bar on the first page for that! The people in the background are just distracting. I don't mind if you give dots for eyes or just go super simplistic...if you're consistent on it. And by that I mean, you have people in the background, they don't have noses. At least keep it that way for the page. We're not even getting that the next panels. People are missing noses, mouths, and ears. An example is page 13. And they just...weird. Like the kids on page four. What's up with that blonde kid's nose?

And the art really doesn't show the action in places. Take when Glut knees Dr. Dow. It doesn't look like there is any impact. Compare it to when Renee is fighting The Cloud and Glut.  Some times the art is just...When Renee was late and barged into the courtroom, I had no idea that yellow thing was her purse. The cat in Dr. Dow's office just...it looks like a fox in one panel when it's not looking demonic.

And the inking does not help. Take Grannie Rosa. It looks like she got punched in the eye! Lines and lines on people. Yeah, they are important to distinguish age and emotions, facial expressions. But it goes overboard on several pages. Page seven sticks out as bad.

I just couldn't get into Craig Rousseau's artwork.



What I learned from What I read.

First they threw stuff at Santa Claus and then laugh at poor Renee? Why does Philly dislike the overweight so?
  • Who are you to talk Officer Sam Rollie Pollie? You've got some love holders on you, too!

  • Dr. Dow's cat is a demonic metamorph with a realty phase shifting collar

  • Wow. A superhero trying to hide their identity? Been a long time since I've seen that.

  • The Cloud is Henchmen Uuber.

  • Pennywise has the formula for instant weight loss. That's why they all float.

  • Super Strength is not one of Raider's powers.

  • Dawson Miller--PROSECUTOR OF VILLAINS.

  • Wolfbarker was Mr. Rollercoaster's defense attorney.

  • Never be late on a payment to a super villain.

 
Overall: Yeah, out of all the first issues I've read of Sitcomics this past week, this is the weakest. Mainly because of the art and inking.

Here's the thing, I consider art the most important thing of a comic because, well, let's be honest, if it doesn't look good or appealing your probably not going to stick around for the reading. 

I really like the writing, StartUp herself, the humor and social commentary. There's some good ideas focused on. The dialogue and narrative are superb. I'm not a fan of the art, but I wouldn't call it hideous. It's not the Jughead art that nearly drove me insane. Just a little below average for me.

I'd give this comic a C+


And there you have it. Overall I've enjoyed reading Sitcomics. They're fun and well written and I mostly really enjoy the art. Again I recommend going to the Sitcomics home page and taking advantages of the three downloads. Sitcomics themselves are cheap in a market where it costs an arm and leg to pick up multiple titles.


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.