• Welcome to Archie Comics Fan Forum. Please login or sign up.
 
February 22, 2019, 01:41:19 am

News:

We're back! Unfortunately all data was lost. Please re-register to continue posting!


collapse

Random Image

Josie011
Josie011
Posted by: BettyReggie
Posted in album: BettyReggie favorites

Search


Recent Topics

Re: New features by Oldiesmann
[February 21, 2019, 07:05:56 pm]


Re: JUGHEAD’S TIME POLICE returns to the future in June by DeCarlo Rules
[February 21, 2019, 09:18:22 am]


What song are you listening to by Oldiesmann
[February 18, 2019, 10:44:05 pm]


Re: Jughead in Twysting Hearts by Mr.Lodge
[February 18, 2019, 01:37:43 am]


Re: Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[February 17, 2019, 09:12:27 am]


Re: Site Upgrade by Oldiesmann
[February 16, 2019, 06:53:19 pm]


PTF Reviews The Blue Baron 3.1 by PTF
[February 16, 2019, 12:46:41 am]


Re: Days we look foward to as Archie Fans. by BettyReggie
[February 15, 2019, 06:35:13 pm]


Re: Library Books That You All Read by BettyReggie
[February 15, 2019, 06:34:28 pm]


Re: What comics have you been reading? by BettyReggie
[February 15, 2019, 06:31:52 pm]

Shoutbox

  • Vegan Jughead: Happy Birthday BettyReggie!
    February 18, 2019, 07:40:11 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Taking Care of Business" from B&V #257: [link]
    February 17, 2019, 09:14:58 am
  • archiecomicscollector: Icon Heroes just announced Riverdale and Sabrina figures will debut later this year.
    February 15, 2019, 08:23:37 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Fall" from Betty and Veronica, Vol. 4, No. 2: [link]
    February 09, 2019, 10:04:42 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Faith, Hope and Cheryl!" from Cheryl Blossom Special, No. 2: [link]
    February 07, 2019, 08:32:08 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Congrats to Riverdale on its renewal! :)
    February 02, 2019, 09:03:31 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Brotherly Love" from Cheryl Blossom, No. 22: [link]
    January 26, 2019, 10:10:27 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: Jughead the Hunger vs. Vampironica #1 is coming in April. This is the first alternate-Archiverse crossover (they exist in different parallel universes) since "The Married Life".
    January 25, 2019, 06:31:05 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Wild Things" from Riverdale, No. 3: [link]
    January 24, 2019, 05:32:04 pm
  • Archiecomicxfan215: That was a headline on the Archie Comics facebook page i just saw
    January 23, 2019, 11:12:34 pm
  • Archiecomicxfan215: Breaking News: A Riverdale spin-off starring Katy Keene is heading to The CW!
    January 23, 2019, 11:12:11 pm
  • BettyReggie: Later Pals & Gals
    January 21, 2019, 03:12:11 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Summer's End" from Betty & Veronica, Vol. 4, No. 1: [link]
    January 12, 2019, 11:02:58 am
  • BettyReggie: It's pouring in The Bronx.
    January 05, 2019, 03:20:04 pm
  • BettyReggie: Happy New Year
    January 01, 2019, 03:41:55 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Kiss of the Century" from Cheryl Blossom, No. 28: [link]
    December 31, 2018, 09:15:22 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Holi-Daze" from Cheryl Blossom, No. 28: [link]
    December 25, 2018, 06:19:02 pm
  • Vegan Jughead: Thanks, BR!
    December 25, 2018, 11:09:37 am
  • BettyReggie: Merry Christmas Vegan Jughead
    December 25, 2018, 09:49:06 am
  • BettyReggie: I'm still in bed.
    December 25, 2018, 09:48:20 am

PTF Reviews Super Suckers 2.3

Started by PTF, June 10, 2016, 10:15:52 am

Previous topic - Next topic

PTF

 PTF Reviews Super Suckers 2.3

Well, how was everyone's Memorial Day? Mine involved having to take my aunt to the hospital because she felt dizzy. Fair enough. But then after an eight hour wait, I check on her to find I could have been out much sooner...but she didn't want to give a urine sample. And personally, I don't like being in a den of disease and death longer than I have to. So you can imagine I was little miffed. Very angry because I caught a bug in that horrid place.


So let's take all my anger out on Super Suckers Mirror, Mirror part three.

Kelly arrested, Jess a druggie, Sy has a weak bladder, fight, pretend girlfriends, and just the occasional insane moment or two awaits us!

The Good.

Trevor. Fine. I was wrong. It happens. Often. Yeah, I like him now that he's had more comic time and he's developed. I like that he's a dumb oaf with dumb luck who got what he wanted. Plus his hidden side. So yeah, he's going to be a fun addition to the cast.

Sheer insanity: God help me, but I love when there's so much insanity going on with so many characters. This issue made me think of It's a Mad, Mad, Mad World. Just everyone running around, fighting, arguing, talking and all going in the same direction. It was all really enjoyable. Every character's personality's shined and I can take any word balloon and you probably guess who said what, so I really appreciate that. Every character gets a moment or joke that you laugh at. And that only makes this my favorite part of this story. And the expressions and body language of all the characters was great. Wonderful work by Darin and Shultz. And let's not forget co-host Robin Taylor.

Coloring and Inking: Just the usual superb job. The best showcase for both is when Kelly gets mad and goes ballistic. The red hue surrounding her head was a really nice touch.  And the lettering was also great.


The Bad.

Sitcommerical: Only one and it's a repeat.


Miscoloring. Jess's night gown was green in one panel. So a rare mistake by Glenn Whitmore. But to be fair, Barry Grossman miscolored the TMNTs bandanas on occasion, so no shame in it.



Yeah, there's not much wrong with this issue.



What I learned from what I read.

Don't make Kelly mad.
  • If you're going to go after vampires, learn to fight.

  • Funny how some people are related, huh?

  • Jess's dad has a week bladder.

  • No one believes a deranged looking individual screaming at the top of her lungs.

  • When someone says "Freak-a-zoid" I get the old cartoon theme in my head for hours--"freakzoid, chimpanzee!" Cripes, not again...!!

  • Trevor and cosmetology go together like lotion and hands.

  • Adam's hobbit hat will always be stupid that I will never be wrong about.

  • If you don't understand someone or they seem different...they're on drugs.

  • Snoopy walked into some weird going-ons!

 
This is one of my favorite issues I've read of Super Suckers. Everything clicked. It was fun face paced conclusion. Everything was wrapped up in a nice bow, great work all around. It's an easy A+.  You should really pick this comic up as it's a steal at 1.99 for the quality you get.

So until next time. Same time, Same BAT CHANNEL.


Sitcomics

Really glad (and really really relieved) to hear you liked the arc's finale.  Your reaction suggests we achieved exactly what we set out to do and that's a good feeling.  And thanks for calling out the price.  Its never going to make a profit but that cover price is worth it for Jeff's art alone. It's an even better deal (99 cents!) at Sitcomics.net 


And sounds like it's Time for me to write some new Sitcommercials.


See you in a month or two for issue 3.1!

DeCarlo Rules

Quote from: PTF on June 10, 2016, 10:15:52 am

Trevor. Fine. I was wrong. It happens. Often. Yeah, I like him now that he's had more comic time and he's developed. I like that he's a dumb oaf with dumb luck who got what he wanted. Plus his hidden side. So yeah, he's going to be a fun addition to the cast.



Trevor kinda reminded me of a straight mashup of Reggie and Moose (only without the Midge angle -- because then he'd have to beat himself up).
Adam reminded me of Albert from JOSIE.

PTF



The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.