collapse

* Random Image

6
6
Posted by: BettyReggie
Posted in album: BettyReggie favorites

* Search


* Recent Topics

My thoughts on the upcoming Archie 1941 miniseries taking the main series place by ASS-P
[September 22, 2018, 10:12:35 pm]


What are you currently watching? by BettyReggie
[September 22, 2018, 10:04:16 am]


What comics have you been reading? by BettyReggie
[September 22, 2018, 10:02:55 am]


ARCHIE COMICS FOR NOVEMBER 2017 by CanScatC
[September 21, 2018, 01:07:00 pm]


What have you done today? by Archiecomicxfan215
[September 20, 2018, 10:18:25 pm]


Days we look foward to as Archie Fans. by BettyReggie
[September 20, 2018, 04:00:34 pm]


Latest Hauls, what did you buy? by DeCarlo Rules
[September 18, 2018, 11:25:10 am]


An Archie Comics timeline (2009-2018): highlights & lowlights by DeCarlo Rules
[September 16, 2018, 10:50:09 am]


So I bought Archie Archives Vol. 1 and ... by Terry1
[September 14, 2018, 05:58:14 pm]


Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[September 13, 2018, 07:33:58 pm]

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • DeCarlo Rules: Presumably with an ongoing B&V series, they'd want to keep it nominally in continuity with the ongoing ARCHIE title.
    September 22, 2018, 07:03:48 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: Oh, I hadn't noticed that the story is "Senior Year", so that explains it. It's a one-off story arc, just like "Freshman Year". They're not going to keep them as seniors permanently, or have them graduate and go on to college in an ongoing series.
    September 22, 2018, 06:59:24 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: Probably just a space-filler while they look for a better writer than Jaime Rotante. I hope.
    September 22, 2018, 12:08:34 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: Wait a minute. Betty and Veronica is only a five-issue miniseries?
    September 21, 2018, 08:31:21 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: Archie Comic solicitations for October 2018: [link]
    September 21, 2018, 05:36:35 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: Check out Stadium Comics' entire line of Archie Comics RE variant covers here: [link] All are homages to famous Marvel or DC cover images.
    September 20, 2018, 09:05:41 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: Those are RE (retailer exclusive) variants available only from Stadium Comics. Here's another cool one they have, a variant of ARCHIE 1941 #1 [link]
    September 20, 2018, 09:01:16 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: Anyone ever see these B&V Friends Forever variant covers? [link]
    September 19, 2018, 10:15:05 am
  • BettyReggie: I saw the covers for Archie #701. I love Pitilli's.
    September 18, 2018, 09:27:43 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Fashion Fantabulous!" from B&V #271: [link]
    September 13, 2018, 07:34:29 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: It seems like they put extras on a disc because people expect them, or it helps drive sales, but more often than not, it seems like very little thought goes into the content. Of course there are some examples where the extras are exceptional, but usually that's not the case.
    September 10, 2018, 11:42:47 am
  • irishmoxie: I love digital movies and streaming. I usually get the Blu-ray Disc because I like to watch the extras the first time and then end up adding the digital code online or rip it and put it on the hard drive. Just much more convenient to stream it then search for the disc when I want to watch it.
    September 08, 2018, 05:29:56 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "The Breakfast Club" from Riverdale #2: [link]
    September 05, 2018, 06:28:58 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: That's some good reading. Hope they'll put out a Volume 2, and that it'll be just as nearly complete as the first one.
    September 03, 2018, 08:55:41 am
  • BettyReggie: Archie Comics Present Betty & Veronica Spectular Graphic Novel came today.
    September 02, 2018, 03:57:33 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Supply and Demand!" from World of Archie Digest #81: [link]
    September 01, 2018, 08:14:51 pm
  • zhanjiao1212: a1cb584468
    August 31, 2018, 05:33:06 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: On the other hand, maybe I should just bypass the Blu-Ray format altogether, buy a huge terabyte HD, and download everything. There's something to be said for that, in that you can get everything quicker and stacks of Blu-Ray cases aren't taking up space in your house, I guess.
    August 27, 2018, 03:19:15 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: This coming from a guy who still hasn't capitulated to the inevitable domination of Blu-Ray. It's getting to the point where I might have to relent, since I've seen some anime sets being released for the first time on Blu-Ray (no combo pak) with NO release of a DVD version.
    August 27, 2018, 03:09:15 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: I'll never get used to people not being able to wait a few days when they order stuff online. I guess maybe I could understand it IF it were something that there was no other way to see, but I assume you've already seen the episodes.  People who are that impatient usually don't even buy disc sets, they just buy it digitally or stream it.
    August 27, 2018, 03:06:17 pm


Author Topic: PTF Reviews Super Suckers 2.3  (Read 1774 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

PTF

PTF Reviews Super Suckers 2.3
« on: June 10, 2016, 10:15:52 am »
 PTF Reviews Super Suckers 2.3
 
Well, how was everyone’s Memorial Day? Mine involved having to take my aunt to the hospital because she felt dizzy. Fair enough. But then after an eight hour wait, I check on her to find I could have been out much sooner…but she didn’t want to give a urine sample. And personally, I don’t like being in a den of disease and death longer than I have to. So you can imagine I was little miffed. Very angry because I caught a bug in that horrid place.

 
So let’s take all my anger out on Super Suckers Mirror, Mirror part three.
 
Kelly arrested, Jess a druggie, Sy has a weak bladder, fight, pretend girlfriends, and just the occasional insane moment or two awaits us!
 
The Good.
 
Trevor. Fine. I was wrong. It happens. Often. Yeah, I like him now that he’s had more comic time and he’s developed. I like that he’s a dumb oaf with dumb luck who got what he wanted. Plus his hidden side. So yeah, he’s going to be a fun addition to the cast.
 
Sheer insanity: God help me, but I love when there’s so much insanity going on with so many characters. This issue made me think of It’s a Mad, Mad, Mad World. Just everyone running around, fighting, arguing, talking and all going in the same direction. It was all really enjoyable. Every character’s personality’s shined and I can take any word balloon and you probably guess who said what, so I really appreciate that. Every character gets a moment or joke that you laugh at. And that only makes this my favorite part of this story. And the expressions and body language of all the characters was great. Wonderful work by Darin and Shultz. And let’s not forget co-host Robin Taylor.
 
Coloring and Inking: Just the usual superb job. The best showcase for both is when Kelly gets mad and goes ballistic. The red hue surrounding her head was a really nice touch.  And the lettering was also great.
 
 
The Bad.
 
Sitcommerical: Only one and it’s a repeat.

 
Miscoloring. Jess’s night gown was green in one panel. So a rare mistake by Glenn Whitmore. But to be fair, Barry Grossman miscolored the TMNTs bandanas on occasion, so no shame in it.



Yeah, there's not much wrong with this issue.

 
 
What I learned from what I read.
 
 Don’t make Kelly mad.
  • If you’re going to go after vampires, learn to fight.
  • Funny how some people are related, huh?
  • Jess’s dad has a week bladder.
  • No one believes a deranged looking individual screaming at the top of her lungs.
  • When someone says “Freak-a-zoid” I get the old cartoon theme in my head for hours—“freakzoid, chimpanzee!” Cripes, not again…!!
  • Trevor and cosmetology go together like lotion and hands.
  • Adam’s hobbit hat will always be stupid that I will never be wrong about.
  • If you don’t understand someone or they seem different…they’re on drugs.
  • Snoopy walked into some weird going-ons!
 
This is one of my favorite issues I’ve read of Super Suckers. Everything clicked. It was fun face paced conclusion. Everything was wrapped up in a nice bow, great work all around. It’s an easy A+.  You should really pick this comic up as it’s a steal at 1.99 for the quality you get.
 
So until next time. Same time, Same BAT CHANNEL.

 

Sitcomics

Re: PTF Reviews Super Suckers 2.3
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2016, 07:19:55 pm »
Really glad (and really really relieved) to hear you liked the arc's finale.  Your reaction suggests we achieved exactly what we set out to do and that's a good feeling.  And thanks for calling out the price.  Its never going to make a profit but that cover price is worth it for Jeff's art alone. It's an even better deal (99 cents!) at Sitcomics.net 


And sounds like it's Time for me to write some new Sitcommercials.


See you in a month or two for issue 3.1!

DeCarlo Rules

Re: PTF Reviews Super Suckers 2.3
« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2016, 03:09:06 am »

Trevor. Fine. I was wrong. It happens. Often. Yeah, I like him now that he’s had more comic time and he’s developed. I like that he’s a dumb oaf with dumb luck who got what he wanted. Plus his hidden side. So yeah, he’s going to be a fun addition to the cast.


Trevor kinda reminded me of a straight mashup of Reggie and Moose (only without the Midge angle -- because then he'd have to beat himself up).
Adam reminded me of Albert from JOSIE.

PTF

Re: PTF Reviews Super Suckers 2.3
« Reply #3 on: June 12, 2016, 10:37:19 am »
Sounds good to me. :)

 


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.
Live Support