collapse

* Random Image

StrangeLove2
StrangeLove2
Posted by: SAGG
Posted in album: SAGG

* Search


* Recent Topics

New Sabrina comic book miniseries (non-horror) by DeCarlo Rules
[Today at 01:28:13 am]


What comics have you been reading? by rusty
[November 15, 2018, 12:59:56 am]


What are you currently watching? by BettyReggie
[November 14, 2018, 03:39:33 pm]


Days we look foward to as Archie Fans. by BettyReggie
[November 14, 2018, 03:37:27 pm]


Library Books That You All Read by BettyReggie
[November 14, 2018, 03:33:32 pm]


Stan Lee has died by DeCarlo Rules
[November 13, 2018, 11:34:58 am]


Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[November 11, 2018, 07:04:36 pm]


Sears/Kmart by DeCarlo Rules
[November 11, 2018, 03:48:37 am]


Features by Oldiesmann
[November 10, 2018, 10:21:28 pm]


WARNING about Palladous the freelance writing company by BillysBadFurDay
[October 26, 2018, 04:58:52 am]

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • Oldiesmann: RIP Stan Lee :( [link]
    November 12, 2018, 02:04:24 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Fashion Emergency" from Cherl Blossom #26: [link]
    November 11, 2018, 07:05:28 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Internet outage for nearly 24 hours, but I'm back now. :)
    November 09, 2018, 05:37:49 pm
  • rusty: That is hilarious.
    November 04, 2018, 02:36:07 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: The funniest thing I've seen all year (and maybe ever)... [link]  :2funny:
    November 04, 2018, 07:12:01 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: It's crazy that ACP hasn't reprinted those 2 issues as a double-size one-shot. Or the lead story in a TP collection of vampire stories (including "Twilite" and others).
    November 04, 2018, 03:21:35 am
  • irishmoxie: That's crazy about those Betty and Veronica issues being worth so much. They're only about 6 years old. I'm pretty sure I have copies of them.
    November 04, 2018, 01:36:00 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: On a relatated note, the real FIRST Vampironica appeared in Larry Welz' underground comic Cherry Poptart #1 [link]. That can be had right now, CGCed at 9.4, at the Buy-It-Now price of $280 on ebay. Although the book had several subsequent printings, only the first printing ($2 cover price) contains the Vampironica story. Much, much scarcer than B&V #261 & 262, but then far fewer people seem to be aware of its existence. It may not be the same Vampironica as the one that appears in her own comic book from ACP, but then you can easily make the argument that neither is the Vampironica from B&V 261-262.
    November 04, 2018, 01:15:09 am
  • rusty: Crazy.  I obviously missed that back then.
    November 03, 2018, 10:06:11 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: Yes, I mentioned this a while back somewhere around the time Vampironica #1 was first solicted or shipped. I even mentioned it to Dan Parent and told him if he still had copies he should get them CGC'ed.
    November 03, 2018, 04:33:03 pm
  • rusty: Apparently Betty and Veronica #261 and 262 (1987 series) are popular now due to Vampironica.  Somebody actually purchased a copy of #261 for $299 on ebay recently.
    November 03, 2018, 01:41:51 pm
  • archiecomicscollector: I've been watching Chilling Adventures of Sabrina on Netflix...so no Riverdale means more time in Greendale :)
    November 01, 2018, 10:17:35 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Quite easy. I don't need a new episode every single week.
    November 01, 2018, 09:05:48 pm
  • BettyReggie: How did everyone survive with no Riverdale last Wednesday?
    November 01, 2018, 03:56:28 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My reviews of the Cheryl stories Psyc-Out [link] Take the Mummy and Run! [link] and A Midsummer's Magic [link]
    October 31, 2018, 10:15:29 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Oh, and there's no "The" in the title.
    October 30, 2018, 10:52:11 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Just on Netflix for now.
    October 30, 2018, 10:51:44 pm
  • BettyReggie: I can't find The Chilling Adventures Of Sabrina on Netflix. Is it just streaming or is it in discs YOU can rent?
    October 30, 2018, 02:17:31 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: LOL! Nice! A bit too pricey, though: [link]
    October 30, 2018, 01:44:46 pm
  • Oldiesmann: Site is fixed now. Security certificate expired.
    October 24, 2018, 10:23:54 pm


Author Topic: PTF Reviews Super Suckers 2.3  (Read 1852 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

PTF

PTF Reviews Super Suckers 2.3
« on: June 10, 2016, 10:15:52 am »
 PTF Reviews Super Suckers 2.3
 
Well, how was everyone’s Memorial Day? Mine involved having to take my aunt to the hospital because she felt dizzy. Fair enough. But then after an eight hour wait, I check on her to find I could have been out much sooner…but she didn’t want to give a urine sample. And personally, I don’t like being in a den of disease and death longer than I have to. So you can imagine I was little miffed. Very angry because I caught a bug in that horrid place.

 
So let’s take all my anger out on Super Suckers Mirror, Mirror part three.
 
Kelly arrested, Jess a druggie, Sy has a weak bladder, fight, pretend girlfriends, and just the occasional insane moment or two awaits us!
 
The Good.
 
Trevor. Fine. I was wrong. It happens. Often. Yeah, I like him now that he’s had more comic time and he’s developed. I like that he’s a dumb oaf with dumb luck who got what he wanted. Plus his hidden side. So yeah, he’s going to be a fun addition to the cast.
 
Sheer insanity: God help me, but I love when there’s so much insanity going on with so many characters. This issue made me think of It’s a Mad, Mad, Mad World. Just everyone running around, fighting, arguing, talking and all going in the same direction. It was all really enjoyable. Every character’s personality’s shined and I can take any word balloon and you probably guess who said what, so I really appreciate that. Every character gets a moment or joke that you laugh at. And that only makes this my favorite part of this story. And the expressions and body language of all the characters was great. Wonderful work by Darin and Shultz. And let’s not forget co-host Robin Taylor.
 
Coloring and Inking: Just the usual superb job. The best showcase for both is when Kelly gets mad and goes ballistic. The red hue surrounding her head was a really nice touch.  And the lettering was also great.
 
 
The Bad.
 
Sitcommerical: Only one and it’s a repeat.

 
Miscoloring. Jess’s night gown was green in one panel. So a rare mistake by Glenn Whitmore. But to be fair, Barry Grossman miscolored the TMNTs bandanas on occasion, so no shame in it.



Yeah, there's not much wrong with this issue.

 
 
What I learned from what I read.
 
 Don’t make Kelly mad.
  • If you’re going to go after vampires, learn to fight.
  • Funny how some people are related, huh?
  • Jess’s dad has a week bladder.
  • No one believes a deranged looking individual screaming at the top of her lungs.
  • When someone says “Freak-a-zoid” I get the old cartoon theme in my head for hours—“freakzoid, chimpanzee!” Cripes, not again…!!
  • Trevor and cosmetology go together like lotion and hands.
  • Adam’s hobbit hat will always be stupid that I will never be wrong about.
  • If you don’t understand someone or they seem different…they’re on drugs.
  • Snoopy walked into some weird going-ons!
 
This is one of my favorite issues I’ve read of Super Suckers. Everything clicked. It was fun face paced conclusion. Everything was wrapped up in a nice bow, great work all around. It’s an easy A+.  You should really pick this comic up as it’s a steal at 1.99 for the quality you get.
 
So until next time. Same time, Same BAT CHANNEL.

 

Sitcomics

Re: PTF Reviews Super Suckers 2.3
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2016, 07:19:55 pm »
Really glad (and really really relieved) to hear you liked the arc's finale.  Your reaction suggests we achieved exactly what we set out to do and that's a good feeling.  And thanks for calling out the price.  Its never going to make a profit but that cover price is worth it for Jeff's art alone. It's an even better deal (99 cents!) at Sitcomics.net 


And sounds like it's Time for me to write some new Sitcommercials.


See you in a month or two for issue 3.1!

DeCarlo Rules

Re: PTF Reviews Super Suckers 2.3
« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2016, 03:09:06 am »

Trevor. Fine. I was wrong. It happens. Often. Yeah, I like him now that he’s had more comic time and he’s developed. I like that he’s a dumb oaf with dumb luck who got what he wanted. Plus his hidden side. So yeah, he’s going to be a fun addition to the cast.


Trevor kinda reminded me of a straight mashup of Reggie and Moose (only without the Midge angle -- because then he'd have to beat himself up).
Adam reminded me of Albert from JOSIE.

PTF

Re: PTF Reviews Super Suckers 2.3
« Reply #3 on: June 12, 2016, 10:37:19 am »
Sounds good to me. :)

 


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.
Live Support