collapse

* Random Image

TheLetter5
TheLetter5
Posted by: SAGG
Posted in album: SAGG

* Search


* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • DeCarlo Rules: JUNE Archie Comics solicitations are out! -- [link]
    May 24, 2018, 12:02:50 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Woman Scorned": [link]
    May 19, 2018, 08:03:52 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Cheryl's jacket is red, because she's Cheryl M.F. Blossom, and she can wear whatever custom-made clothes she wants, thankyouverymuch. :P
    May 17, 2018, 09:16:50 AM
  • BettyReggie: I want know why Cheryl's serpent jacket was red? Everyone else coat was black. And near the end of Espoide where were Jughead & Betty at? Was that a hotel?
    May 16, 2018, 09:41:30 PM
  • BettyReggie: I made 3,000 posts .
    May 16, 2018, 07:43:26 PM
  • BettyReggie: 21 Minutes to the season finale of Riverdale.
    May 16, 2018, 07:39:28 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of Betty and Veronica: Vixens #6: [link]
    May 11, 2018, 11:17:28 PM
  • BettyReggie: August 7th 2018 - 87 days till Season 2 of Riverdale comes out
    May 11, 2018, 03:34:05 PM
  • BettyReggie: They have the free Comic Book Days Comics on Midtown Comics. I order 7 of them.
    May 07, 2018, 01:40:00 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: That's pretty much the whole point of having an internet -- it connects you to entertainment, information, and people who would otherwise be too far away from you physically, or would involve much greater effort on your part to connect with. And although there are some advantages for comic book collectors inherent in the direct-market dedicated comic book shop system, the major BIG (obvious) DISadvantage is that only a few thousand of those shops exist, compared to the huge number of retailers who used to carry comic books along with their other products back in the days of the "newsstand distribution system".
    May 07, 2018, 03:35:40 AM
  • Tuxedo Mark: The only "local" comic shop within "reasonable" distance of my house is 18 miles away, in the next county. Yeah, no, I'll continue getting my comics digitally.
    May 06, 2018, 07:39:36 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: @Archiecomicxfan215 - FCBD comic books may be free to you, but the retailer has to PAY for those comic books he gives away for free. The publishers of the FCBD comics make no profit off them, and they're distributed to retailers by Diamond Comics for free, but they have to charge comic shop owners money for them, because paper and printing costs money. Your local comic shop owner loses a small amount of money with every FCBD comic book he gives away. Of course the whole idea behind FCBD is that sampling those free comic books will create interest in customers actually BUYing the retail versions of those FCBD comic books later on.
    May 06, 2018, 01:50:26 AM
  • BettyReggie: On Monday Midtown Comics has the free comics on their website.
    May 05, 2018, 05:11:46 PM
  • Archiecomicxfan215: I brought some comics too. Got my first Sabrina comics for my collection today
    May 05, 2018, 12:49:55 PM
  • Archiecomicxfan215: This year at the comic book store near me I was only allowed to choose 3 comics. Previous years it was 5. My boyfriends local comic book store he was allowed up to 5 comics free. Don’t know why it changed near me.
    May 05, 2018, 12:49:14 PM
  • Archiecomicxfan215: My boyfriend went to a comic book store near his house and picked me up Die Kitty Die and Riverdale
    May 05, 2018, 11:35:02 AM
  • DeCarlo Rules: Don't forget to pick up the FCBD issue of DIE KITTY DIE: I Love You to Death! by Dan & Fernando from Chapterhouse Comics! Oh, and I guess if you care about that RIVERDALE thing, you could pick up the FCBD issue where Pop Tate eavesdrops on all the conversations of his teenage customers (makes him sound a little creepy, if you ask me...) Doesn't an adult business proprietor have more important things to worry about???
    May 04, 2018, 03:48:05 PM
  • Archiecomicxfan215: Free Comic Book Day is tomorrow
    May 04, 2018, 10:15:27 AM
  • BettyReggie: I got a Riverdale Poster at 5 & Below.
    May 03, 2018, 02:03:55 PM
  • BettyReggie: Kevin's boyfriend was on Riverdale last night .
    May 03, 2018, 04:52:50 AM


Author Topic: PTF Reviews Super Suckers 2.3  (Read 1615 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

PTF

PTF Reviews Super Suckers 2.3
« on: June 10, 2016, 10:15:52 AM »
 PTF Reviews Super Suckers 2.3
 
Well, how was everyone’s Memorial Day? Mine involved having to take my aunt to the hospital because she felt dizzy. Fair enough. But then after an eight hour wait, I check on her to find I could have been out much sooner…but she didn’t want to give a urine sample. And personally, I don’t like being in a den of disease and death longer than I have to. So you can imagine I was little miffed. Very angry because I caught a bug in that horrid place.

 
So let’s take all my anger out on Super Suckers Mirror, Mirror part three.
 
Kelly arrested, Jess a druggie, Sy has a weak bladder, fight, pretend girlfriends, and just the occasional insane moment or two awaits us!
 
The Good.
 
Trevor. Fine. I was wrong. It happens. Often. Yeah, I like him now that he’s had more comic time and he’s developed. I like that he’s a dumb oaf with dumb luck who got what he wanted. Plus his hidden side. So yeah, he’s going to be a fun addition to the cast.
 
Sheer insanity: God help me, but I love when there’s so much insanity going on with so many characters. This issue made me think of It’s a Mad, Mad, Mad World. Just everyone running around, fighting, arguing, talking and all going in the same direction. It was all really enjoyable. Every character’s personality’s shined and I can take any word balloon and you probably guess who said what, so I really appreciate that. Every character gets a moment or joke that you laugh at. And that only makes this my favorite part of this story. And the expressions and body language of all the characters was great. Wonderful work by Darin and Shultz. And let’s not forget co-host Robin Taylor.
 
Coloring and Inking: Just the usual superb job. The best showcase for both is when Kelly gets mad and goes ballistic. The red hue surrounding her head was a really nice touch.  And the lettering was also great.
 
 
The Bad.
 
Sitcommerical: Only one and it’s a repeat.

 
Miscoloring. Jess’s night gown was green in one panel. So a rare mistake by Glenn Whitmore. But to be fair, Barry Grossman miscolored the TMNTs bandanas on occasion, so no shame in it.



Yeah, there's not much wrong with this issue.

 
 
What I learned from what I read.
 
 Don’t make Kelly mad.
  • If you’re going to go after vampires, learn to fight.
  • Funny how some people are related, huh?
  • Jess’s dad has a week bladder.
  • No one believes a deranged looking individual screaming at the top of her lungs.
  • When someone says “Freak-a-zoid” I get the old cartoon theme in my head for hours—“freakzoid, chimpanzee!” Cripes, not again…!!
  • Trevor and cosmetology go together like lotion and hands.
  • Adam’s hobbit hat will always be stupid that I will never be wrong about.
  • If you don’t understand someone or they seem different…they’re on drugs.
  • Snoopy walked into some weird going-ons!
 
This is one of my favorite issues I’ve read of Super Suckers. Everything clicked. It was fun face paced conclusion. Everything was wrapped up in a nice bow, great work all around. It’s an easy A+.  You should really pick this comic up as it’s a steal at 1.99 for the quality you get.
 
So until next time. Same time, Same BAT CHANNEL.

 

Re: PTF Reviews Super Suckers 2.3
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2016, 07:19:55 PM »
Really glad (and really really relieved) to hear you liked the arc's finale.  Your reaction suggests we achieved exactly what we set out to do and that's a good feeling.  And thanks for calling out the price.  Its never going to make a profit but that cover price is worth it for Jeff's art alone. It's an even better deal (99 cents!) at Sitcomics.net 


And sounds like it's Time for me to write some new Sitcommercials.


See you in a month or two for issue 3.1!

DeCarlo Rules

Re: PTF Reviews Super Suckers 2.3
« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2016, 03:09:06 AM »

Trevor. Fine. I was wrong. It happens. Often. Yeah, I like him now that he’s had more comic time and he’s developed. I like that he’s a dumb oaf with dumb luck who got what he wanted. Plus his hidden side. So yeah, he’s going to be a fun addition to the cast.


Trevor kinda reminded me of a straight mashup of Reggie and Moose (only without the Midge angle -- because then he'd have to beat himself up).
Adam reminded me of Albert from JOSIE.

PTF

Re: PTF Reviews Super Suckers 2.3
« Reply #3 on: June 12, 2016, 10:37:19 AM »
Sounds good to me. :)

 


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.
Live Support