collapse

* Random Image

TheMudslingers10
TheMudslingers10
Posted by: SAGG
Posted in album: SAGG

* Search


* Recent Topics

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • DeCarlo Rules: What I don't understand is why they're trying to discourage subscriptions to B&V FRIENDS Jumbo digest. It's been published at 10 times per year frequency for the last 3 years -- just like the other B&V jumbo digest. So if they're both published just as often, why do they offer a choice of 10 issue or 20 issue subscriptions for BETTY & VERONICA, but only a 6 issue subscription for B&V FRIENDS? You can get a 12-issue subscription to B&V FRIENDS on the website, but if I remember correctly, the printed ad for subs only offers the 6-issue sub option. Why isn't it the same option as the other digests (10 issues or 20 issues), if they're all published 10 times a year? And they ARE.
    Today at 01:11:44 PM
  • BettyReggie: Archie was just on The Simpsons on FX.
    July 20, 2018, 06:50:15 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Summer Nights" from Riverdale One-Shot: [link]
    July 19, 2018, 08:53:14 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Just looked at Archie Comics' subsciption page. Archie Meets Batman '66 is a six-issue miniseries. Archie 1941 is a five-issue miniseries. There's a six-issue subscription for Betty and Veronica: Friends Forever and Vixens (surprisingly; might get transferred to the new B&V title) and a twelve-issue subscription for Riverdale. Riverdale Digest isn't listed, so it looks like it's been cancelled.
    July 18, 2018, 10:03:11 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: New Sabrina's new Instagram welcome message: [link]
    July 14, 2018, 03:29:59 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "The New Archies": "Gunk for Gold": [link]
    July 11, 2018, 11:09:16 PM
  • Vegan Jughead: Pretty sure Archie Comics, being New York based, knows someone at the Times
    July 11, 2018, 06:15:50 AM
  • ASS-P: I just find it " How things have changed " weird when comic book news breaks in The New York Times...but they hardly SELL anything! :-0 Strangeness.
    July 10, 2018, 10:42:57 AM
  • CAPalace: I'm a woman btw and I'm just so sick of the blatant anti-men thing going on in comics these days. It's not doing women any favors either. :/
    July 09, 2018, 09:05:40 PM
  • CAPalace: They're banking on Archie 700 to sell a lot because "lol a new number wow lol" and it will for the first issue but it'll just go back to the average/poor numbers it had before. And YOU KNOW with that writer on B+V it's going to turn into an anti-men, oooh girl power lol violence against men and demeaning men is feminism and fun lol lol Good luck. I'll stick to Ebay to find the DeCarlo stuff thanks.
    July 09, 2018, 09:04:54 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: I'm looking forward to the new B&V series. Personally, I think that previous B&V series by what's-his-name was way worse than anything that Rotante wrote on Vixens.
    July 09, 2018, 08:43:47 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: So, so predictable... they love to exploit NUMBERS, whether it's a single digit (1 or 0) or a triple-digit ending in 00. Good lord, I can't believe they're actually giving Jamie Rotante ANOTHER B&V series to write ruin! She is the worst I've read -- although it's a tough call, Marguerite Bennett was pretty horrible as well. Nick Spencer can actually be quite good as a writer... or pretty bad, depending on the character and the direction. He was great on ANT-MAN and SUPERIOR FOES OF SPIDER-MAN (both books that had a strong humorous subtext), and not so hot on CAPTAIN AMERICA and THE AVENGERS. And he's he new writer on (yet another) first issue of THE AMAZING SPIDER-MAN, so I wouldn't guess the ARCHIE gig will last. ACP could probably only afford to hire him for that ONE issue, #700.
    July 09, 2018, 06:00:07 PM
  • Vegan Jughead: News on new numbering for the Archie Flagship series and a new B&V series and DeCarlo Rules, you ain't gonna be into this!  And really neither am I: [link]
    July 09, 2018, 01:37:43 PM
  • Mr.Lodge: I still think 'The Married Life' was the best of the most recent and ended way too soon.
    July 06, 2018, 04:46:36 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: No "big news about the flagship ARCHIE title" could possibly rock my world, short of CLASSIC ARCHIE RETURNS!
    July 06, 2018, 01:18:04 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Sweetwater" from Riverdale One-Shot: [link]
    July 05, 2018, 08:44:20 PM
  • Vegan Jughead: ARCHIE isn't on hiatus officially. The last official word from Archie Comics is that there is "big news about the flagship ARCHIE title" coming up after the "1941" miniseries. We'll see. RIVERDALE is supposed to come back early '19 after the TV show returns.
    July 05, 2018, 06:14:32 AM
  • Mr.Lodge: Think it's time for new leadership, especially in the creative front?
    July 05, 2018, 03:09:04 AM
  • DeCarlo Rules: I guess there's still THE HUNGER and VAMPIRONICA, but they're still so new that it's hard to think of them as "ongoing".
    July 05, 2018, 12:14:16 AM
  • DeCarlo Rules: So both ARCHIE and RIVERDALE are "on hiatus"? That means ACP has no ongoing floppy comic titles. Not a good sign. Good thing they still have the digests going (knock on wood).
    July 05, 2018, 12:12:47 AM


Author Topic: PTF Reviews Super Suckers 2.3  (Read 1685 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

PTF

PTF Reviews Super Suckers 2.3
« on: June 10, 2016, 10:15:52 AM »
 PTF Reviews Super Suckers 2.3
 
Well, how was everyone’s Memorial Day? Mine involved having to take my aunt to the hospital because she felt dizzy. Fair enough. But then after an eight hour wait, I check on her to find I could have been out much sooner…but she didn’t want to give a urine sample. And personally, I don’t like being in a den of disease and death longer than I have to. So you can imagine I was little miffed. Very angry because I caught a bug in that horrid place.

 
So let’s take all my anger out on Super Suckers Mirror, Mirror part three.
 
Kelly arrested, Jess a druggie, Sy has a weak bladder, fight, pretend girlfriends, and just the occasional insane moment or two awaits us!
 
The Good.
 
Trevor. Fine. I was wrong. It happens. Often. Yeah, I like him now that he’s had more comic time and he’s developed. I like that he’s a dumb oaf with dumb luck who got what he wanted. Plus his hidden side. So yeah, he’s going to be a fun addition to the cast.
 
Sheer insanity: God help me, but I love when there’s so much insanity going on with so many characters. This issue made me think of It’s a Mad, Mad, Mad World. Just everyone running around, fighting, arguing, talking and all going in the same direction. It was all really enjoyable. Every character’s personality’s shined and I can take any word balloon and you probably guess who said what, so I really appreciate that. Every character gets a moment or joke that you laugh at. And that only makes this my favorite part of this story. And the expressions and body language of all the characters was great. Wonderful work by Darin and Shultz. And let’s not forget co-host Robin Taylor.
 
Coloring and Inking: Just the usual superb job. The best showcase for both is when Kelly gets mad and goes ballistic. The red hue surrounding her head was a really nice touch.  And the lettering was also great.
 
 
The Bad.
 
Sitcommerical: Only one and it’s a repeat.

 
Miscoloring. Jess’s night gown was green in one panel. So a rare mistake by Glenn Whitmore. But to be fair, Barry Grossman miscolored the TMNTs bandanas on occasion, so no shame in it.



Yeah, there's not much wrong with this issue.

 
 
What I learned from what I read.
 
 Don’t make Kelly mad.
  • If you’re going to go after vampires, learn to fight.
  • Funny how some people are related, huh?
  • Jess’s dad has a week bladder.
  • No one believes a deranged looking individual screaming at the top of her lungs.
  • When someone says “Freak-a-zoid” I get the old cartoon theme in my head for hours—“freakzoid, chimpanzee!” Cripes, not again…!!
  • Trevor and cosmetology go together like lotion and hands.
  • Adam’s hobbit hat will always be stupid that I will never be wrong about.
  • If you don’t understand someone or they seem different…they’re on drugs.
  • Snoopy walked into some weird going-ons!
 
This is one of my favorite issues I’ve read of Super Suckers. Everything clicked. It was fun face paced conclusion. Everything was wrapped up in a nice bow, great work all around. It’s an easy A+.  You should really pick this comic up as it’s a steal at 1.99 for the quality you get.
 
So until next time. Same time, Same BAT CHANNEL.

 

Sitcomics

Re: PTF Reviews Super Suckers 2.3
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2016, 07:19:55 PM »
Really glad (and really really relieved) to hear you liked the arc's finale.  Your reaction suggests we achieved exactly what we set out to do and that's a good feeling.  And thanks for calling out the price.  Its never going to make a profit but that cover price is worth it for Jeff's art alone. It's an even better deal (99 cents!) at Sitcomics.net 


And sounds like it's Time for me to write some new Sitcommercials.


See you in a month or two for issue 3.1!

DeCarlo Rules

Re: PTF Reviews Super Suckers 2.3
« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2016, 03:09:06 AM »

Trevor. Fine. I was wrong. It happens. Often. Yeah, I like him now that he’s had more comic time and he’s developed. I like that he’s a dumb oaf with dumb luck who got what he wanted. Plus his hidden side. So yeah, he’s going to be a fun addition to the cast.


Trevor kinda reminded me of a straight mashup of Reggie and Moose (only without the Midge angle -- because then he'd have to beat himself up).
Adam reminded me of Albert from JOSIE.

PTF

Re: PTF Reviews Super Suckers 2.3
« Reply #3 on: June 12, 2016, 10:37:19 AM »
Sounds good to me. :)

 


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.
Live Support