collapse

* Random Image

JugheadGrillMaster
JugheadGrillMaster
Posted by: SAGG
Posted in album: SAGG

* Search


* Recent Topics

Nike Air VaporMax Khaki Debut This Summer by blair2019
[Today at 09:18:59 am]


How many of each type of continuity came out in the last few years by DeCarlo Rules
[Today at 01:55:29 am]


What comics have you been reading? by Vegan Jughead
[August 17, 2018, 03:52:48 pm]


adidas Ultra Boost Clima Solar Yellow is coming next month by blair2019
[August 14, 2018, 03:18:01 am]


North American comics sales 2011-2016 by Welchhardy
[August 14, 2018, 02:57:04 am]


Maps of Riverdale? by Welchhardy
[August 14, 2018, 02:56:51 am]


What have you done today? by Archiecomicxfan215
[August 13, 2018, 08:38:56 pm]


Archie and Me in A Walk a Hallway in Someone Else's Shoes. by PTF
[August 12, 2018, 01:57:58 pm]


Reggie in Let's Play by PTF
[August 12, 2018, 01:35:08 pm]


What are you currently watching? by rusty
[August 12, 2018, 08:48:18 am]

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • DeCarlo Rules: My review of BETTY & VERONICA SPECTACULAR VOL 01 TP: [link]
    August 17, 2018, 01:56:12 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: GISÈLE LAGACÉ has a new series coming out from Image Comics in October, EXORSISTERS. [link]  :)
    August 13, 2018, 12:59:31 am
  • Archiecomicxfan215: Im still here but been busy with work.
    August 12, 2018, 09:17:16 am
  • BettyReggie: Where is everyone?
    August 11, 2018, 04:26:15 pm
  • BettyReggie: I still have not recieved Riverdale Season # 2. It was supposed to come on 8/7/18
    August 10, 2018, 04:16:23 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "The New Archies": "Jughead's Millions": [link]
    August 09, 2018, 09:02:27 pm
  • Vegan Jughead: Good theory.  The other reason is Thomas Pitilli sucks.  I thought most of the stories in that comic were really, really good. I wrote to Archie saying please change the artist.  Of course they didn't answer.
    August 09, 2018, 12:38:23 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: I have a theory about why the Riverdale comic didn't sell well, despite the obvious success of the show, and why it doesn't seem to have improved the sales of ARCHIE, either. Why buy a cow when you can get the milk for free? I can only think of a few rare exceptions where the success of a TV series or movie increased comic sales in any significant way (THE WALKING DEAD). Mostly people don't seem to want to go out of their way or make any effort to be entertained, they just want it to be right there and available.
    August 09, 2018, 01:58:01 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: Riverdale comic officially cancelled, to be relaunched: [link]
    August 08, 2018, 10:54:38 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Fall from Grace" from Riverdale One-Shot: [link]
    August 01, 2018, 09:41:55 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Here's a fictional press release that was made up for Riverdale High's production of "Carrie: The Musical": [link]
    August 01, 2018, 09:30:52 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: DeCarlo Rules: Yeah, I saw that novel listed on Amazon. Definitely gonna get it.
    July 30, 2018, 12:14:33 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Been offline since Friday night due to computer problems. Thankfully, it was just a bad RAM stick.
    July 30, 2018, 12:14:09 pm
  • Fernando Ruiz: And of course... Don't miss out on the Die Kitty Die Cathouse of Horror Halloween Special!
    July 30, 2018, 10:48:17 am
  • Fernando Ruiz: PLUS plus... I've done the art on the eight page back up story in the Bettie Page Halloween Special!
    July 30, 2018, 10:47:34 am
  • Fernando Ruiz: Plus, I'll be doing the art on the eight page back-up.
    July 30, 2018, 10:47:01 am
  • Fernando Ruiz: In addition to the artwork, Dan and I are also writing the main twenty page story in the Elvira Halloween Special!
    July 30, 2018, 10:46:42 am
  • Fernando Ruiz: !
    July 30, 2018, 10:45:56 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: Serious fans of the Riverdale TV series might find this book of interest... [link]
    July 29, 2018, 06:08:48 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: Correction! Dan Parent & Fernando Ruiz provided the story & artwork for Dynamite's ELVIRA MISTRESS OF THE DARK HALLOWEEN SPECIAL [link] solicited for October 24th release.
    July 29, 2018, 01:54:33 am


Author Topic: PTF Reviews Super Suckers #3  (Read 685 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

DeCarlo Rules

Re: PTF Reviews Super Suckers #3
« on: February 03, 2018, 02:27:56 am »
I haven't as yet read the new issues of SUPER SUCKERS, but I'd just like to make an observation here, relative to comparing what ACP is publishing in the floppy comics format, and books like SUPER SUCKERS, DIE KITTY DIE!, and the various PixieTrix Comics of Gisele Lagace.

To me those other companies' evolution of an Archie-style teen humor comic seems like a total no-brainer... that is, they combine the visual appeal and comedic approach of the classic Archie Comics while jettisoning the "all-ages" approach in favor of a "PG-rated" comic book (because that's the consumer audience demographic that exists in the floppy comics marketplace... and indeed it makes no difference whether we are talking about print comics or digital comics).

So why isn't ACP doing comic books like this in the floppy (and digital) format? I had to think hard about that, but the answer appears to me to have a lot to do with Archie Comics' traditional "branding" of its most recognized characters as being ALL-ages, and the ongoing viability of the digest reprint titles for that same audience. ACP doesn't seem willing to put Archie & the gang out there as "PG-rated" characters drawn in the traditional classic style in a floppy comic book due to "brand confusion" that might lead younger readers (and their watchful parents) into confusing a PG-rated Archie comic (even a comic book featuring lesser-known or new characters) with a traditional all-ages Archie comic -- unless it's a glaringly obvious genre variation on the characters like the Archie Horror books. Non-horror titles then need to be identifiable immediately as "non-classic Archie" (for some reason... even though the New Riverdale floppy titles are, at best, written at the "TEEN" or "TEEN+" rating level). And that is done at a glance by differentiating the art style, and dispensing with any situation comedy approach. The closest that ACP has come to doing a title in the classic style aimed at a slightly older reader demographic than the traditional audience is LIFE WITH KEVIN -- and that was also differentiated at first glace, less by J. Bone's somewhat different inking style than by the monochrome coloring pallette, which immediately gives pause to a consumer, by signalling "wait a minute, there's something different about this Archie comic". Yet the loss of the appealing cartoon-style artwork and sitcom-type comedy tropes in the New Riverdale comics robs the Archie characters of the greatest strength of their original appeal. It's not the names of the characters that compel me to purchase a comic about those characters, nor even the basic (although modified in New Riverdale comics) orientation of the characters' relationships to each other.

Thankfully, other people like Sitcomics, AstroComix, and Pixie Trix Comics recognize where the basic appeal of this type of teen humor comic lies, and aren't bound up in some kind of marketing dilemma over how to splinter the characters into various different versions adapted and aimed at completely different demographics.

 


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.
Live Support