collapse

* Random Image

ToughattheTop2
ToughattheTop2
Posted by: SAGG
Posted in album: SAGG

* Search


* Recent Topics

'Dandy' Dan De in "BINGO to GO-GO!" by DeCarlo Rules
[Today at 03:14:53 AM]


PTF Reviews Blue Baron 2.1 by PTF
[May 27, 2018, 02:06:23 PM]


Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[May 26, 2018, 09:19:23 PM]


Will Archie comics main comic book line will one day return to it's classic styl by DeCarlo Rules
[May 26, 2018, 01:50:54 PM]


Library Books That You All Read by BettyReggie
[May 26, 2018, 12:27:59 PM]


What are you currently watching? by Vegan Jughead
[May 26, 2018, 08:39:12 AM]


sunday stumper by archiefan2
[May 25, 2018, 08:04:56 PM]


What have you done today? by BettyReggie
[May 25, 2018, 12:47:01 PM]


What comics have you been reading? by DeCarlo Rules
[May 25, 2018, 03:50:50 AM]


PTF Reviews Blue Baron 1.2 by DeCarlo Rules
[May 21, 2018, 10:04:51 AM]

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Bloodsport" from Riverdale #1: [link]
    May 26, 2018, 09:19:54 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: JUNE Archie Comics solicitations are out! -- [link]
    May 24, 2018, 12:02:50 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Woman Scorned": [link]
    May 19, 2018, 08:03:52 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Cheryl's jacket is red, because she's Cheryl M.F. Blossom, and she can wear whatever custom-made clothes she wants, thankyouverymuch. :P
    May 17, 2018, 09:16:50 AM
  • BettyReggie: I want know why Cheryl's serpent jacket was red? Everyone else coat was black. And near the end of Espoide where were Jughead & Betty at? Was that a hotel?
    May 16, 2018, 09:41:30 PM
  • BettyReggie: I made 3,000 posts .
    May 16, 2018, 07:43:26 PM
  • BettyReggie: 21 Minutes to the season finale of Riverdale.
    May 16, 2018, 07:39:28 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of Betty and Veronica: Vixens #6: [link]
    May 11, 2018, 11:17:28 PM
  • BettyReggie: August 7th 2018 - 87 days till Season 2 of Riverdale comes out
    May 11, 2018, 03:34:05 PM
  • BettyReggie: They have the free Comic Book Days Comics on Midtown Comics. I order 7 of them.
    May 07, 2018, 01:40:00 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: That's pretty much the whole point of having an internet -- it connects you to entertainment, information, and people who would otherwise be too far away from you physically, or would involve much greater effort on your part to connect with. And although there are some advantages for comic book collectors inherent in the direct-market dedicated comic book shop system, the major BIG (obvious) DISadvantage is that only a few thousand of those shops exist, compared to the huge number of retailers who used to carry comic books along with their other products back in the days of the "newsstand distribution system".
    May 07, 2018, 03:35:40 AM
  • Tuxedo Mark: The only "local" comic shop within "reasonable" distance of my house is 18 miles away, in the next county. Yeah, no, I'll continue getting my comics digitally.
    May 06, 2018, 07:39:36 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: @Archiecomicxfan215 - FCBD comic books may be free to you, but the retailer has to PAY for those comic books he gives away for free. The publishers of the FCBD comics make no profit off them, and they're distributed to retailers by Diamond Comics for free, but they have to charge comic shop owners money for them, because paper and printing costs money. Your local comic shop owner loses a small amount of money with every FCBD comic book he gives away. Of course the whole idea behind FCBD is that sampling those free comic books will create interest in customers actually BUYing the retail versions of those FCBD comic books later on.
    May 06, 2018, 01:50:26 AM
  • BettyReggie: On Monday Midtown Comics has the free comics on their website.
    May 05, 2018, 05:11:46 PM
  • Archiecomicxfan215: I brought some comics too. Got my first Sabrina comics for my collection today
    May 05, 2018, 12:49:55 PM
  • Archiecomicxfan215: This year at the comic book store near me I was only allowed to choose 3 comics. Previous years it was 5. My boyfriends local comic book store he was allowed up to 5 comics free. Don’t know why it changed near me.
    May 05, 2018, 12:49:14 PM
  • Archiecomicxfan215: My boyfriend went to a comic book store near his house and picked me up Die Kitty Die and Riverdale
    May 05, 2018, 11:35:02 AM
  • DeCarlo Rules: Don't forget to pick up the FCBD issue of DIE KITTY DIE: I Love You to Death! by Dan & Fernando from Chapterhouse Comics! Oh, and I guess if you care about that RIVERDALE thing, you could pick up the FCBD issue where Pop Tate eavesdrops on all the conversations of his teenage customers (makes him sound a little creepy, if you ask me...) Doesn't an adult business proprietor have more important things to worry about???
    May 04, 2018, 03:48:05 PM
  • Archiecomicxfan215: Free Comic Book Day is tomorrow
    May 04, 2018, 10:15:27 AM
  • BettyReggie: I got a Riverdale Poster at 5 & Below.
    May 03, 2018, 02:03:55 PM


Author Topic: PTF Reviews Super Suckers #3  (Read 534 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

PTF

Re: PTF Reviews Super Suckers #3
« on: February 03, 2018, 03:05:14 PM »
PTF Reviews Super Suckers 3.2  Electric Balloon!!!

…Awwwhh, I messed it up!!!

Our quad of heroes are at a beach for a couples retreat and so far Jess has a wicked sun burn, Kelly is drinking the Archie as a lifeguard stand in, Stewart was maimed playing frisbee and Vera’s looks about ready to get her freak on.





Things I liked.

1.   Nurse Peggy. Well, the nurse lady is the antagonist of the story and is bat puking insane!!! Let’s a guy die, kidnaps Stewart based on his love of Doctor Who and that frickin’ insane face. So yeah, we got a nice Steven King homage.

2.   The writing. Again it’s very humorous and well paced. I love the idea of an injury prone life guard. I’m hoping the next issue he’s in a body cast. And I like the foreshadowing of Nurse Peggy seeming pretty nice and then you think “well, maybe that guy dying wasn’t just meant for humor.” And we’re seeing a pretty big difference between Jess and Kelly in controlling their bloodlust. At least Jess options for a consensual donor. And Kelly’s karmatic punishment is pretty fun as she continues to be mistaken for a lesbian. And we’re again left at a good point where you want to see is going to happen next. I think my favorite joke is Kelly blowing on Jess to agitate her sunburn.

3.   The art. Cripes, that insane face! That’s like a cartoon going along and then pulling a Ren and Stimpy freak out on you. And yeah, we’re getting the same quality art we all come to expect from Jeff Shultz. Whitmore is doing his fantastic job as well. Love the night beach scene and how consistent he is with Jess’s sunburn. The lettering was great with the guy dying a slow, painful death.

4.   Hey, new commercial. Man, remember when people didn’t get whiney when a hero caused collateral damage? People, fighting a guy that can lift a planet is going to be messy.

5.   Jess. She’s a good friend. Just thought I’d give her props for having standards on drinking blood and showing concern for her friends.

6.   The Cover. It’s funny and well drawn but there might be one problem for some people…

Things I didn’t like.

1.   Me and Stewart agreeing on Doctor Who. This had better be just a coincidence! I swear if next issue I read, Stewart hates Michael Bendis comics and loves Tyler Perry movies, I’ll know something’s up!  Ah, this brings back memories of when I’d wake up early in the morning and Brit American only aired The 4th Doctor episodes over and over. Now it’s just Star Trek Voyager. Yuck.


2.   The cover. I personally like it, but I’ve heard complaints all my comic reading life about covers that don’t have anything to do with the story inside. Me? If it looks good, I’m happy. And I think it’s funny, but you know there’s this one person who will complain.



Things I learned from what I read.

1.   Me and Stewart have the exact same taste in Doctor Who. Seriously, that’s weird. Am I being trolled??  It’s not funny if I am!!
2.   I learned more about Stewart’s underwear than I ever wanted to.
3.   If you’re as clumsy as Spencer, you deserve to be a vampire’s mocha.
4.   Eastern Shore Hospital has a loose dress code. I live in the South and you have to have on a shirt and shoes to enter the local roadside fuel and sundry industry.
5.   Ingrown toenails are serious!!
6.   Ever see Jennifer’s Body? Kelly is starting to remind me a lot of that movie.
7.   Stewart has A+ blood.
8.   Stewart’s last name is Noss.
9.   The people of Metropolis would love to have Magic Insurance’s Super Hero Policy.
10.   This issue did not help my dislike of hospitals.


Yeah, it’s another good issue. Things are going along, characters get their moments to shine and show off their personality dispositions, a crazy sci-fi nurse. Hey, it’s the insanity I’ve come to expect. And I really couldn’t find anything I disliked.  I give an A.

So next issue we finish up. Will there be a wedding? A rescue?  A funeral? Well, find out next time.

 


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.
Live Support