collapse

* Random Image

DoubleDate4
DoubleDate4
Posted by: SAGG
Posted in album: SAGG

* Search


* Recent Topics

What have you done today? by Archiecomicxfan215
[Today at 01:54:23 pm]


Sears/Kmart by Tuxedo Mark
[Today at 01:22:48 pm]


Miraculous Ladybug.... by DeCarlo Rules
[Today at 01:44:10 am]


Whew! by SAGG
[Today at 12:36:50 am]


What comics have you been reading? by PTF
[October 18, 2018, 01:57:49 pm]


What are you currently watching? by rusty
[October 16, 2018, 09:34:22 pm]


Days we look foward to as Archie Fans. by BettyReggie
[October 16, 2018, 06:13:52 am]


Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[October 13, 2018, 08:38:41 pm]


New York Comic Con 2018 by BettyReggie
[October 08, 2018, 05:37:04 am]


Anachronism Patrol by DeCarlo Rules
[October 06, 2018, 11:59:27 pm]

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • BettyReggie: I bought The Riverdale 2019 Calendar at 5 Below.
    October 18, 2018, 06:58:16 pm
  • PTF: Does anyone regularly go to a gamestop? If you do, could you PM me a code for Zeraora? ...I do not have nice things where I live. I guess Wal-Mart is nice. :)
    October 18, 2018, 01:59:51 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Twilite" from Archie & Friends #146-147: [link]
    October 13, 2018, 08:39:15 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: OMG the Riverdale premiere: Cheryl is so awesome! :smitten:
    October 10, 2018, 09:18:52 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "The Case of the Sorrel Roan" from Riverdale #3: [link]
    October 06, 2018, 09:43:33 pm
  • ASS-P: I read some of B&V FRIENDS #264.
    October 05, 2018, 10:16:03 pm
  • ASS-P: I read some of B&V FRJENDZ #26R
    October 05, 2018, 10:14:10 pm
  • ASS-P: I read some of B&V Frie d's #264
    October 05, 2018, 10:13:15 pm
  • BettyReggie: Those 2 Riverdale Pens came today from Hot Topic.
    October 01, 2018, 10:03:02 pm
  • BettyReggie: I read Archie #699.
    September 30, 2018, 08:34:33 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of Betty and Veronica: Vixens #10: [link]
    September 30, 2018, 07:59:38 pm
  • BettyReggie: Archie #699 came today.
    September 28, 2018, 03:38:41 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My reviews of all four stories from betty and Veronica #270: [link] [link] [link] [link]
    September 23, 2018, 05:36:07 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: Presumably with an ongoing B&V series, they'd want to keep it nominally in continuity with the ongoing ARCHIE title.
    September 22, 2018, 07:03:48 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: Oh, I hadn't noticed that the story is "Senior Year", so that explains it. It's a one-off story arc, just like "Freshman Year". They're not going to keep them as seniors permanently, or have them graduate and go on to college in an ongoing series.
    September 22, 2018, 06:59:24 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: Probably just a space-filler while they look for a better writer than Jaime Rotante. I hope.
    September 22, 2018, 12:08:34 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: Wait a minute. Betty and Veronica is only a five-issue miniseries?
    September 21, 2018, 08:31:21 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: Archie Comic solicitations for October 2018: [link]
    September 21, 2018, 05:36:35 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: Check out Stadium Comics' entire line of Archie Comics RE variant covers here: [link] All are homages to famous Marvel or DC cover images.
    September 20, 2018, 09:05:41 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: Those are RE (retailer exclusive) variants available only from Stadium Comics. Here's another cool one they have, a variant of ARCHIE 1941 #1 [link]
    September 20, 2018, 09:01:16 am


Author Topic: PTF Reviews Super Suckers #3  (Read 935 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

PTF

Re: PTF Reviews Super Suckers #3
« on: February 03, 2018, 03:05:14 pm »
PTF Reviews Super Suckers 3.2  Electric Balloon!!!

…Awwwhh, I messed it up!!!

Our quad of heroes are at a beach for a couples retreat and so far Jess has a wicked sun burn, Kelly is drinking the Archie as a lifeguard stand in, Stewart was maimed playing frisbee and Vera’s looks about ready to get her freak on.





Things I liked.

1.   Nurse Peggy. Well, the nurse lady is the antagonist of the story and is bat puking insane!!! Let’s a guy die, kidnaps Stewart based on his love of Doctor Who and that frickin’ insane face. So yeah, we got a nice Steven King homage.

2.   The writing. Again it’s very humorous and well paced. I love the idea of an injury prone life guard. I’m hoping the next issue he’s in a body cast. And I like the foreshadowing of Nurse Peggy seeming pretty nice and then you think “well, maybe that guy dying wasn’t just meant for humor.” And we’re seeing a pretty big difference between Jess and Kelly in controlling their bloodlust. At least Jess options for a consensual donor. And Kelly’s karmatic punishment is pretty fun as she continues to be mistaken for a lesbian. And we’re again left at a good point where you want to see is going to happen next. I think my favorite joke is Kelly blowing on Jess to agitate her sunburn.

3.   The art. Cripes, that insane face! That’s like a cartoon going along and then pulling a Ren and Stimpy freak out on you. And yeah, we’re getting the same quality art we all come to expect from Jeff Shultz. Whitmore is doing his fantastic job as well. Love the night beach scene and how consistent he is with Jess’s sunburn. The lettering was great with the guy dying a slow, painful death.

4.   Hey, new commercial. Man, remember when people didn’t get whiney when a hero caused collateral damage? People, fighting a guy that can lift a planet is going to be messy.

5.   Jess. She’s a good friend. Just thought I’d give her props for having standards on drinking blood and showing concern for her friends.

6.   The Cover. It’s funny and well drawn but there might be one problem for some people…

Things I didn’t like.

1.   Me and Stewart agreeing on Doctor Who. This had better be just a coincidence! I swear if next issue I read, Stewart hates Michael Bendis comics and loves Tyler Perry movies, I’ll know something’s up!  Ah, this brings back memories of when I’d wake up early in the morning and Brit American only aired The 4th Doctor episodes over and over. Now it’s just Star Trek Voyager. Yuck.


2.   The cover. I personally like it, but I’ve heard complaints all my comic reading life about covers that don’t have anything to do with the story inside. Me? If it looks good, I’m happy. And I think it’s funny, but you know there’s this one person who will complain.



Things I learned from what I read.

1.   Me and Stewart have the exact same taste in Doctor Who. Seriously, that’s weird. Am I being trolled??  It’s not funny if I am!!
2.   I learned more about Stewart’s underwear than I ever wanted to.
3.   If you’re as clumsy as Spencer, you deserve to be a vampire’s mocha.
4.   Eastern Shore Hospital has a loose dress code. I live in the South and you have to have on a shirt and shoes to enter the local roadside fuel and sundry industry.
5.   Ingrown toenails are serious!!
6.   Ever see Jennifer’s Body? Kelly is starting to remind me a lot of that movie.
7.   Stewart has A+ blood.
8.   Stewart’s last name is Noss.
9.   The people of Metropolis would love to have Magic Insurance’s Super Hero Policy.
10.   This issue did not help my dislike of hospitals.


Yeah, it’s another good issue. Things are going along, characters get their moments to shine and show off their personality dispositions, a crazy sci-fi nurse. Hey, it’s the insanity I’ve come to expect. And I really couldn’t find anything I disliked.  I give an A.

So next issue we finish up. Will there be a wedding? A rescue?  A funeral? Well, find out next time.

 


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.
Live Support