collapse

* Random Image

TheBigSurprise7&8
TheBigSurprise7&8
Posted by: SAGG
Posted in album: SAGG

* Search


* Recent Topics

Classic Betty & Veronica is BACK for $2.99 by gillibean
[February 19, 2018, 09:47:44 PM]


Remember The Ala Mode! by Davidizer
[February 19, 2018, 09:17:31 PM]


PTF Reviews Super Suckers #4 by Sitcomics
[February 19, 2018, 04:03:18 PM]


Days we look foward to as Archie Fans. by BettyReggie
[February 19, 2018, 11:10:41 AM]


Library Books That You All Read by BettyReggie
[February 19, 2018, 11:10:08 AM]


"The Archies" will end with issue #7 by DeCarlo Rules
[February 19, 2018, 12:48:33 AM]


Story Jumps In Newest Archie Jumbo Digest by SAGG
[February 18, 2018, 07:44:11 PM]


Adopted an orphan baby monkey by BillysBadFurDay
[February 18, 2018, 06:01:17 PM]


What have you done today? by BettyReggie
[February 18, 2018, 11:14:46 AM]


What comics have you been reading? by DeCarlo Rules
[February 18, 2018, 07:21:59 AM]

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • Davidizer: yeah uhhhh.... what gucci?
    February 19, 2018, 09:27:37 PM
  • castle_crimson: whats up?
    February 19, 2018, 06:39:23 AM
  • castle_crimson: happy birthday BettyReggie
    February 19, 2018, 06:32:34 AM
  • castle_crimson: actually shedding some tears
    February 19, 2018, 06:32:18 AM
  • castle_crimson: hey guys, after three years I'm back here. missed you all. glad to be back
    February 19, 2018, 06:32:08 AM
  • BettyReggie: Thank you
    February 18, 2018, 11:13:12 AM
  • Vegan Jughead: Happy Birthday BettyReggie!
    February 18, 2018, 08:14:19 AM
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "The Best of Buds", a B&V story from 2011 [link]
    February 16, 2018, 09:50:56 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: @irishmoxie -- If they are indeed reprinting those early B&V Spectaculars from the Archie Giant Series, I'd agree it's a good choice (although it makes me wonder why they'd bypass the Betty & Veronica Summer Fun issues, which would be even more desirable to have). The early Life With Archie issues are a good choice as well, and I'll be buying both of those collections. Archie at Riverdale High, one of the dullest titles, is more of a puzzling choice. I won't be buying that one.
    February 16, 2018, 05:48:41 AM
  • irishmoxie: I own all of B&V Spectacular and most of the later issues of Life with Archie but I would definitely get these collections as they are easier to read without worrying about tearing the pages of fragile comics. Digital would be even better for me.
    February 15, 2018, 04:27:51 PM
  • irishmoxie: I don't see that classic B&V Vol 1 from the 50s up for pre-order on Amazon anymore. So it looks like they've ditched that idea for now.
    February 15, 2018, 04:26:14 PM
  • irishmoxie: I think their idea was to go with the more "edgy" Classic Archie ie fantasy stories from Life with Archie. I haven't read many of the Archie at Riverdale High books but my impression was that they were the "issue" books focusing on a particular issue pertinent to teens like protesting school lunches or something.
    February 15, 2018, 04:19:01 PM
  • irishmoxie: I suspect they will start the Spectacular collection with the Dan Parent stuff because that is more distinguishable. Older B&V Spectacular stuff is very similar to regular B&V.
    February 15, 2018, 04:17:08 PM
  • rusty: Dark Horse could still have the rights, even if they are not using them.  Archie may be thinking that the Life With Archie and Archie at Riverdale High books wi be more marketable than the older comics.  If so, I would agree with that thinking.  Cosmo is an interesting choice for a collection, but maybe they are hoping to capitalize on the new series or have other plans.
    February 15, 2018, 08:28:49 AM
  • Vegan Jughead: They also have "Cosmo: The Complete Merry Martian" up for pre-order!  How many of these things are in the works? This could be cool, but as DeCarlo Rules says, it's some kind of weird titles they're starting with.
    February 15, 2018, 07:12:42 AM
  • Vegan Jughead: At least these don't say they'll be black and white!  It says they're  "presented in the new higher-end format of Archie Comics Presents".  That sounds promising if they execute it well, and, you know, actually produce and release the books.
    February 15, 2018, 07:11:06 AM
  • DeCarlo Rules: I'm not really sure if the B&V Spectacular collection goes back to include the individual B&V Spec issues from the Archie Giant Series, or starts with #1 of the 1990s series, either.
    February 15, 2018, 12:11:39 AM
  • DeCarlo Rules: Dark Horse has only really done the 1940s (and early 1950s) ARCHIE and 2 volumes of JUGHEAD, and they haven't solicited a new volume in a couple of years. ACP could certainly start with any title (Archie's Girls B&V, or Archie's Pals 'n' Gals, for instance) besides those two.
    February 15, 2018, 12:08:18 AM
  • rusty: Are the rights to the older titles still tied up with Dark Horse maybe?
    February 14, 2018, 03:54:08 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: Seems odd that they'd start off a line of chronological reprint volumes with titles other than the main ones. Whatever happened to the trade collecting the earliest issues of Archie's Girls Betty and Veronica?
    February 14, 2018, 03:49:04 AM


Author Topic: PTF Reviews Super Suckers #3  (Read 290 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

PTF

Re: PTF Reviews Super Suckers #3
« on: February 03, 2018, 03:05:14 PM »
PTF Reviews Super Suckers 3.2  Electric Balloon!!!

…Awwwhh, I messed it up!!!

Our quad of heroes are at a beach for a couples retreat and so far Jess has a wicked sun burn, Kelly is drinking the Archie as a lifeguard stand in, Stewart was maimed playing frisbee and Vera’s looks about ready to get her freak on.





Things I liked.

1.   Nurse Peggy. Well, the nurse lady is the antagonist of the story and is bat puking insane!!! Let’s a guy die, kidnaps Stewart based on his love of Doctor Who and that frickin’ insane face. So yeah, we got a nice Steven King homage.

2.   The writing. Again it’s very humorous and well paced. I love the idea of an injury prone life guard. I’m hoping the next issue he’s in a body cast. And I like the foreshadowing of Nurse Peggy seeming pretty nice and then you think “well, maybe that guy dying wasn’t just meant for humor.” And we’re seeing a pretty big difference between Jess and Kelly in controlling their bloodlust. At least Jess options for a consensual donor. And Kelly’s karmatic punishment is pretty fun as she continues to be mistaken for a lesbian. And we’re again left at a good point where you want to see is going to happen next. I think my favorite joke is Kelly blowing on Jess to agitate her sunburn.

3.   The art. Cripes, that insane face! That’s like a cartoon going along and then pulling a Ren and Stimpy freak out on you. And yeah, we’re getting the same quality art we all come to expect from Jeff Shultz. Whitmore is doing his fantastic job as well. Love the night beach scene and how consistent he is with Jess’s sunburn. The lettering was great with the guy dying a slow, painful death.

4.   Hey, new commercial. Man, remember when people didn’t get whiney when a hero caused collateral damage? People, fighting a guy that can lift a planet is going to be messy.

5.   Jess. She’s a good friend. Just thought I’d give her props for having standards on drinking blood and showing concern for her friends.

6.   The Cover. It’s funny and well drawn but there might be one problem for some people…

Things I didn’t like.

1.   Me and Stewart agreeing on Doctor Who. This had better be just a coincidence! I swear if next issue I read, Stewart hates Michael Bendis comics and loves Tyler Perry movies, I’ll know something’s up!  Ah, this brings back memories of when I’d wake up early in the morning and Brit American only aired The 4th Doctor episodes over and over. Now it’s just Star Trek Voyager. Yuck.


2.   The cover. I personally like it, but I’ve heard complaints all my comic reading life about covers that don’t have anything to do with the story inside. Me? If it looks good, I’m happy. And I think it’s funny, but you know there’s this one person who will complain.



Things I learned from what I read.

1.   Me and Stewart have the exact same taste in Doctor Who. Seriously, that’s weird. Am I being trolled??  It’s not funny if I am!!
2.   I learned more about Stewart’s underwear than I ever wanted to.
3.   If you’re as clumsy as Spencer, you deserve to be a vampire’s mocha.
4.   Eastern Shore Hospital has a loose dress code. I live in the South and you have to have on a shirt and shoes to enter the local roadside fuel and sundry industry.
5.   Ingrown toenails are serious!!
6.   Ever see Jennifer’s Body? Kelly is starting to remind me a lot of that movie.
7.   Stewart has A+ blood.
8.   Stewart’s last name is Noss.
9.   The people of Metropolis would love to have Magic Insurance’s Super Hero Policy.
10.   This issue did not help my dislike of hospitals.


Yeah, it’s another good issue. Things are going along, characters get their moments to shine and show off their personality dispositions, a crazy sci-fi nurse. Hey, it’s the insanity I’ve come to expect. And I really couldn’t find anything I disliked.  I give an A.

So next issue we finish up. Will there be a wedding? A rescue?  A funeral? Well, find out next time.

 


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.
Live Support