collapse

* Random Image

Ciql6l8WYAAz99E
Ciql6l8WYAAz99E
Posted by: BettyReggie
Posted in album: BettyReggie favorites

* Search


* Recent Topics

Nike Air VaporMax Khaki Debut This Summer by blair2019
[Today at 09:18:59 am]


How many of each type of continuity came out in the last few years by DeCarlo Rules
[Today at 01:55:29 am]


What comics have you been reading? by Vegan Jughead
[August 17, 2018, 03:52:48 pm]


adidas Ultra Boost Clima Solar Yellow is coming next month by blair2019
[August 14, 2018, 03:18:01 am]


North American comics sales 2011-2016 by Welchhardy
[August 14, 2018, 02:57:04 am]


Maps of Riverdale? by Welchhardy
[August 14, 2018, 02:56:51 am]


What have you done today? by Archiecomicxfan215
[August 13, 2018, 08:38:56 pm]


Archie and Me in A Walk a Hallway in Someone Else's Shoes. by PTF
[August 12, 2018, 01:57:58 pm]


Reggie in Let's Play by PTF
[August 12, 2018, 01:35:08 pm]


What are you currently watching? by rusty
[August 12, 2018, 08:48:18 am]

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • DeCarlo Rules: My review of BETTY & VERONICA SPECTACULAR VOL 01 TP: [link]
    August 17, 2018, 01:56:12 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: GISÈLE LAGACÉ has a new series coming out from Image Comics in October, EXORSISTERS. [link]  :)
    August 13, 2018, 12:59:31 am
  • Archiecomicxfan215: Im still here but been busy with work.
    August 12, 2018, 09:17:16 am
  • BettyReggie: Where is everyone?
    August 11, 2018, 04:26:15 pm
  • BettyReggie: I still have not recieved Riverdale Season # 2. It was supposed to come on 8/7/18
    August 10, 2018, 04:16:23 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "The New Archies": "Jughead's Millions": [link]
    August 09, 2018, 09:02:27 pm
  • Vegan Jughead: Good theory.  The other reason is Thomas Pitilli sucks.  I thought most of the stories in that comic were really, really good. I wrote to Archie saying please change the artist.  Of course they didn't answer.
    August 09, 2018, 12:38:23 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: I have a theory about why the Riverdale comic didn't sell well, despite the obvious success of the show, and why it doesn't seem to have improved the sales of ARCHIE, either. Why buy a cow when you can get the milk for free? I can only think of a few rare exceptions where the success of a TV series or movie increased comic sales in any significant way (THE WALKING DEAD). Mostly people don't seem to want to go out of their way or make any effort to be entertained, they just want it to be right there and available.
    August 09, 2018, 01:58:01 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: Riverdale comic officially cancelled, to be relaunched: [link]
    August 08, 2018, 10:54:38 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Fall from Grace" from Riverdale One-Shot: [link]
    August 01, 2018, 09:41:55 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Here's a fictional press release that was made up for Riverdale High's production of "Carrie: The Musical": [link]
    August 01, 2018, 09:30:52 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: DeCarlo Rules: Yeah, I saw that novel listed on Amazon. Definitely gonna get it.
    July 30, 2018, 12:14:33 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Been offline since Friday night due to computer problems. Thankfully, it was just a bad RAM stick.
    July 30, 2018, 12:14:09 pm
  • Fernando Ruiz: And of course... Don't miss out on the Die Kitty Die Cathouse of Horror Halloween Special!
    July 30, 2018, 10:48:17 am
  • Fernando Ruiz: PLUS plus... I've done the art on the eight page back up story in the Bettie Page Halloween Special!
    July 30, 2018, 10:47:34 am
  • Fernando Ruiz: Plus, I'll be doing the art on the eight page back-up.
    July 30, 2018, 10:47:01 am
  • Fernando Ruiz: In addition to the artwork, Dan and I are also writing the main twenty page story in the Elvira Halloween Special!
    July 30, 2018, 10:46:42 am
  • Fernando Ruiz: !
    July 30, 2018, 10:45:56 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: Serious fans of the Riverdale TV series might find this book of interest... [link]
    July 29, 2018, 06:08:48 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: Correction! Dan Parent & Fernando Ruiz provided the story & artwork for Dynamite's ELVIRA MISTRESS OF THE DARK HALLOWEEN SPECIAL [link] solicited for October 24th release.
    July 29, 2018, 01:54:33 am


Author Topic: PTF Reviews Super Suckers #3  (Read 685 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

PTF

Re: PTF Reviews Super Suckers #3
« on: February 03, 2018, 03:05:14 pm »
PTF Reviews Super Suckers 3.2  Electric Balloon!!!

…Awwwhh, I messed it up!!!

Our quad of heroes are at a beach for a couples retreat and so far Jess has a wicked sun burn, Kelly is drinking the Archie as a lifeguard stand in, Stewart was maimed playing frisbee and Vera’s looks about ready to get her freak on.





Things I liked.

1.   Nurse Peggy. Well, the nurse lady is the antagonist of the story and is bat puking insane!!! Let’s a guy die, kidnaps Stewart based on his love of Doctor Who and that frickin’ insane face. So yeah, we got a nice Steven King homage.

2.   The writing. Again it’s very humorous and well paced. I love the idea of an injury prone life guard. I’m hoping the next issue he’s in a body cast. And I like the foreshadowing of Nurse Peggy seeming pretty nice and then you think “well, maybe that guy dying wasn’t just meant for humor.” And we’re seeing a pretty big difference between Jess and Kelly in controlling their bloodlust. At least Jess options for a consensual donor. And Kelly’s karmatic punishment is pretty fun as she continues to be mistaken for a lesbian. And we’re again left at a good point where you want to see is going to happen next. I think my favorite joke is Kelly blowing on Jess to agitate her sunburn.

3.   The art. Cripes, that insane face! That’s like a cartoon going along and then pulling a Ren and Stimpy freak out on you. And yeah, we’re getting the same quality art we all come to expect from Jeff Shultz. Whitmore is doing his fantastic job as well. Love the night beach scene and how consistent he is with Jess’s sunburn. The lettering was great with the guy dying a slow, painful death.

4.   Hey, new commercial. Man, remember when people didn’t get whiney when a hero caused collateral damage? People, fighting a guy that can lift a planet is going to be messy.

5.   Jess. She’s a good friend. Just thought I’d give her props for having standards on drinking blood and showing concern for her friends.

6.   The Cover. It’s funny and well drawn but there might be one problem for some people…

Things I didn’t like.

1.   Me and Stewart agreeing on Doctor Who. This had better be just a coincidence! I swear if next issue I read, Stewart hates Michael Bendis comics and loves Tyler Perry movies, I’ll know something’s up!  Ah, this brings back memories of when I’d wake up early in the morning and Brit American only aired The 4th Doctor episodes over and over. Now it’s just Star Trek Voyager. Yuck.


2.   The cover. I personally like it, but I’ve heard complaints all my comic reading life about covers that don’t have anything to do with the story inside. Me? If it looks good, I’m happy. And I think it’s funny, but you know there’s this one person who will complain.



Things I learned from what I read.

1.   Me and Stewart have the exact same taste in Doctor Who. Seriously, that’s weird. Am I being trolled??  It’s not funny if I am!!
2.   I learned more about Stewart’s underwear than I ever wanted to.
3.   If you’re as clumsy as Spencer, you deserve to be a vampire’s mocha.
4.   Eastern Shore Hospital has a loose dress code. I live in the South and you have to have on a shirt and shoes to enter the local roadside fuel and sundry industry.
5.   Ingrown toenails are serious!!
6.   Ever see Jennifer’s Body? Kelly is starting to remind me a lot of that movie.
7.   Stewart has A+ blood.
8.   Stewart’s last name is Noss.
9.   The people of Metropolis would love to have Magic Insurance’s Super Hero Policy.
10.   This issue did not help my dislike of hospitals.


Yeah, it’s another good issue. Things are going along, characters get their moments to shine and show off their personality dispositions, a crazy sci-fi nurse. Hey, it’s the insanity I’ve come to expect. And I really couldn’t find anything I disliked.  I give an A.

So next issue we finish up. Will there be a wedding? A rescue?  A funeral? Well, find out next time.

 


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.
Live Support