collapse

* Random Image

giant23COVEREDIT
giant23COVEREDIT
Posted by: Captain Jetpack
Posted in album: Captain Jetpack

* Search


* Recent Topics

'Dandy' Dan De in "BINGO to GO-GO!" by DeCarlo Rules
[Today at 03:14:53 AM]


PTF Reviews Blue Baron 2.1 by PTF
[May 27, 2018, 02:06:23 PM]


Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[May 26, 2018, 09:19:23 PM]


Will Archie comics main comic book line will one day return to it's classic styl by DeCarlo Rules
[May 26, 2018, 01:50:54 PM]


Library Books That You All Read by BettyReggie
[May 26, 2018, 12:27:59 PM]


What are you currently watching? by Vegan Jughead
[May 26, 2018, 08:39:12 AM]


sunday stumper by archiefan2
[May 25, 2018, 08:04:56 PM]


What have you done today? by BettyReggie
[May 25, 2018, 12:47:01 PM]


What comics have you been reading? by DeCarlo Rules
[May 25, 2018, 03:50:50 AM]


PTF Reviews Blue Baron 1.2 by DeCarlo Rules
[May 21, 2018, 10:04:51 AM]

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Bloodsport" from Riverdale #1: [link]
    May 26, 2018, 09:19:54 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: JUNE Archie Comics solicitations are out! -- [link]
    May 24, 2018, 12:02:50 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Woman Scorned": [link]
    May 19, 2018, 08:03:52 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Cheryl's jacket is red, because she's Cheryl M.F. Blossom, and she can wear whatever custom-made clothes she wants, thankyouverymuch. :P
    May 17, 2018, 09:16:50 AM
  • BettyReggie: I want know why Cheryl's serpent jacket was red? Everyone else coat was black. And near the end of Espoide where were Jughead & Betty at? Was that a hotel?
    May 16, 2018, 09:41:30 PM
  • BettyReggie: I made 3,000 posts .
    May 16, 2018, 07:43:26 PM
  • BettyReggie: 21 Minutes to the season finale of Riverdale.
    May 16, 2018, 07:39:28 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of Betty and Veronica: Vixens #6: [link]
    May 11, 2018, 11:17:28 PM
  • BettyReggie: August 7th 2018 - 87 days till Season 2 of Riverdale comes out
    May 11, 2018, 03:34:05 PM
  • BettyReggie: They have the free Comic Book Days Comics on Midtown Comics. I order 7 of them.
    May 07, 2018, 01:40:00 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: That's pretty much the whole point of having an internet -- it connects you to entertainment, information, and people who would otherwise be too far away from you physically, or would involve much greater effort on your part to connect with. And although there are some advantages for comic book collectors inherent in the direct-market dedicated comic book shop system, the major BIG (obvious) DISadvantage is that only a few thousand of those shops exist, compared to the huge number of retailers who used to carry comic books along with their other products back in the days of the "newsstand distribution system".
    May 07, 2018, 03:35:40 AM
  • Tuxedo Mark: The only "local" comic shop within "reasonable" distance of my house is 18 miles away, in the next county. Yeah, no, I'll continue getting my comics digitally.
    May 06, 2018, 07:39:36 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: @Archiecomicxfan215 - FCBD comic books may be free to you, but the retailer has to PAY for those comic books he gives away for free. The publishers of the FCBD comics make no profit off them, and they're distributed to retailers by Diamond Comics for free, but they have to charge comic shop owners money for them, because paper and printing costs money. Your local comic shop owner loses a small amount of money with every FCBD comic book he gives away. Of course the whole idea behind FCBD is that sampling those free comic books will create interest in customers actually BUYing the retail versions of those FCBD comic books later on.
    May 06, 2018, 01:50:26 AM
  • BettyReggie: On Monday Midtown Comics has the free comics on their website.
    May 05, 2018, 05:11:46 PM
  • Archiecomicxfan215: I brought some comics too. Got my first Sabrina comics for my collection today
    May 05, 2018, 12:49:55 PM
  • Archiecomicxfan215: This year at the comic book store near me I was only allowed to choose 3 comics. Previous years it was 5. My boyfriends local comic book store he was allowed up to 5 comics free. Don’t know why it changed near me.
    May 05, 2018, 12:49:14 PM
  • Archiecomicxfan215: My boyfriend went to a comic book store near his house and picked me up Die Kitty Die and Riverdale
    May 05, 2018, 11:35:02 AM
  • DeCarlo Rules: Don't forget to pick up the FCBD issue of DIE KITTY DIE: I Love You to Death! by Dan & Fernando from Chapterhouse Comics! Oh, and I guess if you care about that RIVERDALE thing, you could pick up the FCBD issue where Pop Tate eavesdrops on all the conversations of his teenage customers (makes him sound a little creepy, if you ask me...) Doesn't an adult business proprietor have more important things to worry about???
    May 04, 2018, 03:48:05 PM
  • Archiecomicxfan215: Free Comic Book Day is tomorrow
    May 04, 2018, 10:15:27 AM
  • BettyReggie: I got a Riverdale Poster at 5 & Below.
    May 03, 2018, 02:03:55 PM


Author Topic: PTF Reviews Super Suckers #3  (Read 534 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

PTF

Re: PTF Reviews Super Suckers #3
« on: February 07, 2018, 06:40:37 PM »
PTF Reviews Super Suckers 3.3


Sorry for being late on this review. First there was the Super Bowl where, after a season of getting everything their way, the karma fairy finally got The Patriots! And then Tuesday, my Uncle had an allergic reaction to a cold pill. And fell down. A lot. Don’t worry he didn’t hurt himself and the pill has just about worn off and he’s getting his strength back.

So this review will be a little shorter because I am super tired. Speaking of things that are “super”

LET’S REVIEW SUPER SUCKERS!!!





Things I liked.

1.   The writing. Well, the story was well paced over the three issues, beginning, middle, and ending. And things wrapped up nicely save for one thing that I’ll go into later in the review. And it was a pretty funny issue with Nurse Peggy being bat puking insane. I loved Kelly sacrificing Jess so she could get the file to rescue Stewart. Stewart’s attitude after the rescue. And I like the twist of Vera falling in love with Stewart for real. And I liked how things worked out for Jess as she did get rewarded for all she had to deal with this story.


2.   The art. It’s nice having an artist like Jeff Shultz. He makes my life so easy. I like his art style, he draws each character different, everything is well laid out. And he does little things that I enjoy. Just check out Spencer’s hearts as the comic goes. And Whitmore does a great job with the colors. I just love how I can tell what time of day it is because of his colors. Really puts me into the story. The lettering is great and if you like the old Batman show, you’ll be really happy with this issue. BLEED. Yep.


Things I didn’t like.

1. Kelly’s a jerk. A super jerk. I was waiting on this one since this really is just one story I bought in three separate issues, and I’ve been waiting to see how this ends, but yeah. Kelly’s is mean this story. Like with Jess (just making it hard for her to study and leaving her in the hospital) and Vera (drinking her blood while she’s asleep). I can over look these two a bit because Jess did get the time to study (not Kelly’s intent) and she did save Stewart…where she was channeled her inner Punisher. But hey, Peggy, did kidnap someone, was crazy, and did hit her with a shovel.

My problem is with Spencer. I’m a big supporter of the Bugs Bunny rule where if someone is a jerk to you or gets in your way maliciously…you have every right to go at them and never stop. Spencer never did anything to deserve being put in worse and worse condition by Kelly. I mean, he called her a “freak” but I don’t warrants broken bones. I would have been fine with this if he had been shown to be uncaring about people on the beach or just some negative aspect, but he was just clumsy. That’s kind of like seeing a guy with a broke arm and going “wouldn’t it be funny if he other arm was broke?”

Of course, considering my last few days, I might be sensitive to the whole falling thing. But if you did a Jim from “The Office” where he goes over everything he’s done to Dwight—Kelly doesn’t look to good this issue.

2.   Not all the cast. This one’s more for sticklers who want to see every character in the comic appear. Me, I don’t mind. This is a pretty crammed issue. And it wouldn’t make sense for Trevor to be there. But I don’t get why Paisley/”other name she went by I can’t remember right now” isn’t here. I mean, you have Clover, but, um, yeah, she just exists for Jonas to be her boyfriend. Why have a new character for that? Unless she pulls a Trevor; which at that point, I’m going to have to skim ahead to make sure I don’t look like a dumb-dumb again.


Things I’ve learned from what I read.
1.   Kelly’s a psychopath.
2.   Kelly was poor and lived in a trailer.
3.   Oh, so that’s how you treat severe sunburns.
4.   Fly by Knight definitely better than Southwest Airlines.
5.   Never tell an insane woman you want to be “just friends.” Heck, don’t tell any woman that!
6.   Mr. Wubbzy looked like he didn’t approve of Peggy’s fiancé.
7.   Dewhurst Cola, top selling beverage in the Delmarvia Pennisula.
8.   You can’t kill a vampire with a shovel to the back of the head.
9.   If you pretend hard enough, it will become real. Right, Rick the Outer Space Rocket Bandit? …He says yes and you can’t have Uranus back.
10.   No lady, this is not Riverdale. And you should be glad. Riverdale has become a much, much darker place.

It was a really good story. I liked the art and I liked the writing. My main problem is Kelly being a tad uncharacteristically mean. And even then she did help out her friends and my main gripe is to a one shot character who made Archie look like Captain Safety.  It’s still a funny, well drawn book that I think should be given a chance by everyone. Especially at the price.

I give this issue a B+ and I can’t wait for the next issue. So thanks to everyone reading my reviews and please pick up these issues.


 


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.
Live Support