* Random Image

Posted by: SAGG
Posted in album: SAGG

* Search

* Recent Topics

Archie June 2018 Solicitations by DeCarlo Rules
[Today at 12:30:56 AM]

Archie meets Batman '66! by BettyReggie
[March 23, 2018, 10:32:44 PM]

What comics have you been reading? by DeCarlo Rules
[March 23, 2018, 05:19:38 AM]

Adopted an orphan baby monkey by BillysBadFurDay
[March 22, 2018, 02:50:38 PM]

Library Books That You All Read by BettyReggie
[March 19, 2018, 01:47:55 PM]

What have you done today? by Archiecomicxfan215
[March 19, 2018, 12:16:17 PM]

Days we look foward to as Archie Fans. by BettyReggie
[March 19, 2018, 07:54:36 AM]

"The Archies" will end with issue #7 by Vegan Jughead
[March 18, 2018, 09:01:15 PM]

Archie and Friends Digital Digest... by DeCarlo Rules
[March 18, 2018, 01:00:03 AM]

Sears/Kmart by ASS-P
[March 17, 2018, 07:19:01 PM]

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • DeCarlo Rules: @Tuxedo Mark - Archie Double Digest #284 (cover-dated Jan. 2018) was the last issue to appear using the "Double Digest" logo. All issues since then have appeared under the title Archie Jumbo Comics Digest. Issue #288 is scheduled to ship Apr. 25th, and #289 is scheduled to ship May 30th. If you're searching on Amazon, maybe you need to type in "Archie Jumbo Comics Digest" instead of "Archie Double Digest". Except for Archie and Me Digest, all the remaining ongoing classic Archie digest issues in 2018 have been Jumbo Comics digests.
    Today at 02:06:56 AM
  • rusty: They have a cover for #288 on, but no date.  Maybe it will come out later than normal.
    March 23, 2018, 11:56:37 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Has Archie Comics Double Digest been cancelled? #288 isn't listed for preorder on Amazon.
    March 23, 2018, 08:35:16 PM
  • BettyReggie: Riverdale #11 just came
    March 19, 2018, 04:16:25 PM
  • BettyReggie: 200 Days till New York Comic Con.
    March 19, 2018, 07:55:31 AM
  • BettyReggie: Last espoide of Riverdale Season #2 is only 61 days away.
    March 15, 2018, 11:09:14 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Color Coded", a 1980s Cheryl story: [link]
    March 14, 2018, 11:03:59 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Ick. Let's try that again.
    March 14, 2018, 11:03:39 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Color Coded", a 1980s Cheryl story:  Still, that's not as odd as the fact that, despite the cover, there's not a Halloween-themed story in the entire issue.
    March 14, 2018, 11:03:19 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Really awesome cosplay of Cheryl [link]
    March 09, 2018, 09:09:14 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Get out of the city! Bronson Pinchot cast as villanous high school principal in new Sabrina series! [link]
    March 09, 2018, 08:42:06 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "The New Archies": "Change of Minds" [link]
    March 08, 2018, 05:19:04 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Have all of the Archies issues been removed from Amazon? Everything's coming up in my searches except that one series.
    March 08, 2018, 11:33:55 AM
  • irishmoxie: I think they just want you to use comiXology. I prefer the kindle app to comiXology. Much easier to swipe through pages.
    March 06, 2018, 01:49:17 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: Maybe there's some slight modification to the PDF files they use in the ComiXology app to adapt it to feature-specific things in Amazon's Kindle reader app, and that takes a little while for them to convert the files? Just a wild guess.
    March 05, 2018, 06:20:53 AM
  • Vegan Jughead: That's weird since Amazon owns Comixology.
    March 03, 2018, 08:20:53 PM
  • irishmoxie: A lot of times Amazon's digital comics' releases are later than Comixology's.
    March 03, 2018, 11:51:24 AM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Yeah, it's the digital version.
    March 03, 2018, 08:34:18 AM
  • DeCarlo Rules: Oh, and if you're talking about the digital version, then it might have a different release date, too. Amazon's digital comics are really ComiXology's digital comics. Amazon owns ComiXology. Most publishers have a same-day-and-date print & digital release policy, but ACP's might be different, or it could just be an odd fluke.
    March 03, 2018, 02:34:50 AM
  • DeCarlo Rules: Comic book shops gor VIXENS #4 on February 28th. Sometimes Amazon may get products on a different date, because the bookseller market is serviced by a different distribution system. Could be later, or sometimes, earlier, but usually only by a few days or a week.
    March 02, 2018, 11:42:37 AM

Author Topic: PTF Reviews Super Suckers #4  (Read 214 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.


Re: PTF Reviews Super Suckers #4
« on: February 19, 2018, 12:28:10 AM »
I'll check. But in my defense, it has been awhile from the first two issues to the last two. :)

PTF Reviews Super Suckers 4.2

Well, another Valentine’s Day has come and gone. And I followed through on my tradition of being alone and spending the next day crying. I also watched Valentine’s Day for the very first time. It’s horrible. How can the man who gave us The Fonz subject us all to that drech?

But this isn’t a movie review, it’s a comic review. And when we last left off, Kelly and Vera have to get The Thunderhearts (hooooooo!) to play at Greek Fest, Jess thinks her boss is a vampire, and Stewart is Stewart. And someone is set to bring chaos into the lives of our heroes. So let’s review….

Super Suckers 4.2

Things I did like.

The writing. Yeah, it’s a funny story. I think my favorite part is the Trevor sequence with Tatiana. And even though the Vera eye gag hit close to home (Don’t have zippers on your pillow case, you wake up on one of those, you’re eye hurts for a day!!) it was still funny and the poor guy who she mistook for Stewart. Stewart being a loser geek is always fun, especially when his stupid ego he doesn’t warrant leads him to trouble. Jess trying to make her job easier and how it coincides with the Willow being a vampire is setting up nicely. Kelly and Vera were great together in their plan to get Thunderheart to play at Greek Fest. And I’m just a sucker for reading funny accents.  I had a few problems but nothing that hurts the overall story.

The art. It’s not up to his best but it’s still pretty good. The best pages for me are page 12 just before we go to commercial and page ten because of all the different facial and body expressions going on. I love the expression of the guy who Vera blindly kissed. He looks like the life was drained out of him. It’s not his best issue of Super Suckers but I still like the work he’s done.

The Coloring and lettering: Whitmore and Marshall do a great job like always. My favorite coloring is the salt and pepper shakers coming back from commercial. And I really like the moon glow. And the sound effects and word balloon effects were good. Can’t go wrong when I get a SLUGGO.

Things I didn’t like.

1.   Kelly’s a jerk again. Here’s the thing, I don’t mind her threatening Thunderheart because he’s kind of a sleaze so that’s fine with me. Beating up the bodyguard who didn’t do anything; that’s the problem I just wish he had an attitude with her or made an unwanted pass at her. Something to deserve it. Again I’m of the Bugs Bunny school of “you start anything with me, that warrants me going at you nonstop.” Also, it just kind of ends. Next we see Kelly she’s crying about Thunderheart saying no. So he took the beating? I think it would have been better if he had just not reacted to the strength (since we later learn he’s pretty much fired his brain) and Kelly’s bluff being called and her running away crying leading to her next panel. These pages just really contradicts with how Kelly has been the last and most of this issue. That or she’s just from Crazytown and that’s how they function.

2.   I thought she hated her?!?! So Kelly goes to Jess after Thunderheart told her he wasn’t playing at Greek Fest and Jess breaks up with her for…um, Tatiana? Yeah, Jess still hated her last time I checked even after setting her up. She just wanted her to ease up at the workplace. I think it would have been better if Jess felt she just solved her own problem and just didn’t want to get involved with Kelly’s problem right after and walked out on her.

3.   Greekfest or Greek Fest. Page ten there’s a word balloon with “Greekfest” instead of Greek Fest. Nothing escapes me…except love.

4.   The art. Wow. This is rare, huh. But there are a few problems I actually had. It just seemed like the art was rushed on a few pages. For example, page five check out panel three. Are those three black spots supposed to be a shadow? And a few panels hands look really rough. In one panel, Jess definitely only has four fingers on one hand, but maybe it evens out because she has six on the other (page 10 panel four).   And few inking spots that I found questionable. I mean, overall the art is great, but there are a few noticeable things I can’t really ignore.  It just seemed like he was in a rush.

5.   Stewart. What kind of person rolls up a comic like that?!!?

Things I learned from what I read.
1.   Kelly is still a psychopath.
2.   Dragos might be a liar.
3.   Horsefeathers, Poppycock, and Bullpucky, on the case for you!
4.   Trevor’s always willing to help a friend.
5.   Comic store owners all talk like well known Shakespearean scholar The Mighty Thor.
6.   There is no such thing as a rock star doing it only for the art. It’s for the women.
7.   Paint chip addition is a real problem amongst college students.
8.   We all need a briefcase filled with cupcakes.
9.   Betty and Veronica both heard Dan Parent is getting ANOTHER series to ruin old school Archie stories for the masses so they moved to Dung Hill, Pennsylvania instead.
10.   The Super Center is really on the ball when it comes to updating their giant sign.

Things are being set up for the season finale (what issue five isn’t out) as we’re probably getting to Greek Fest and a confrontation with Willow. The jokes really landed for me. And the art overall was good. There were patches in both that I felt needed going over but overall the comic is still worth reading for anyone. It’s a B.

So tune in when I review Super Suckers 4.3!!!


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at
Live Support