collapse

* Random Image

WorkerBee2
WorkerBee2
Posted by: SAGG
Posted in album: SAGG

* Search


* Recent Topics

Latest Hauls, what did you buy? by BettyReggie
[June 21, 2018, 09:13:43 PM]


Library Books That You All Read by BettyReggie
[June 21, 2018, 08:54:20 AM]


What comics have you been reading? by DeCarlo Rules
[June 21, 2018, 01:14:33 AM]


Days we look foward to as Archie Fans. by BettyReggie
[June 20, 2018, 05:26:49 PM]


What have you done today? by Archiecomicxfan215
[June 20, 2018, 12:55:56 AM]


ARCHIE COMICS FOR NOVEMBER 2017 by Tough guy21
[June 19, 2018, 01:52:27 PM]


What is to become of me and my collection? by JanaRonnie
[June 18, 2018, 05:16:32 AM]


Archie and Jughead in Winter Christmas Double Date by JanaRonnie
[June 18, 2018, 05:16:24 AM]


Archie & Me: Prank Attack by PTF
[June 17, 2018, 01:42:19 PM]


Super Suckers: That Lady is a Real Witch by PTF
[June 17, 2018, 12:52:44 PM]

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • irishmoxie: Anyone get Archie at Riverdale Vol 1?
    June 21, 2018, 09:43:56 PM
  • BettyReggie: 112 Days until Wednesday 10th 2018 ,  Riverdale Season #3 on The CW at 8pm.
    June 20, 2018, 05:28:15 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: And another one: [link]
    June 14, 2018, 08:42:07 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Riverdale spoof: [link]
    June 14, 2018, 08:35:22 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Roughing It!" from B&V Friends #262: [link]
    June 14, 2018, 08:12:53 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: @irishmoxie -- It's definitely complete. All six of the 1958-59 Sy Reit/Bob White original issues, plus the feature-length "Good Guys of the Galaxy" by Tom DeFalco & Fernando Ruiz from ARCHIE #655, and three 5-page digest shorts that guest-starred Cosmo -- and the complete first issue of the Ian Flynn/Tracy Yarley COSMO (2017) thrown in for good measure. It follows the same layout/format as the previous JUGHEAD'S TIME POLICE, even though that didn't carry the "Archie Comics Presents..." trade dress. Not a bad buy for $11.
    June 14, 2018, 01:08:59 AM
  • irishmoxie: Anyone get the Cosmo book that came out today? Any good?
    June 13, 2018, 08:04:49 PM
  • Cosmo: Ah man....and I was worried I was the last enthusiast for ERB's stuff. I'm currently rereading my Dell Tarzan books. Really good fun! It took a while to complete that run.
    June 12, 2018, 06:51:53 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: ...Marvel's earlier JOHN CARTER, WARLORD OF MARS in there, so the DE Tarzan comics need to go in a different box, and SHEENA (also a recent DE title) and DC's RIMA THE JUNGLE GIRL will help fill up that box.
    June 11, 2018, 07:40:48 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: Recently. DE's unauthorized LORD OF THE JUNGLE Tarzan adaptations (and its authorized THE GREATEST ADVENTURE) won't fit into my existing box of previous Tarzan comics from Gold Key, DC, and Dark Horse, so I have to start a new box. Logically these get filed with DE's unauthorized WARLORD OF MARS comics (including DEJAH THORIS) and their authorized JOHN CARTER, WARLORD OF MARS. But I also want to squeeze Marve;
    June 11, 2018, 07:38:48 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: Interesting. I tend not to group titles by publisher at all, if the characters were not created as work-for-hire (meaning the publisher is legally considered the 'author' of the character). Do they belong to that publisher's "universe" (assuming it has one)? There are some publishers like Dynamite Entertainment where the vast majority of the titles they publish are licensed, and thus were "inherited" from other publishers. Therefore it makes more sense to me to group them together in boxes with similar characters. Flash Gordon, The Phantom, and Mandrake comics (regardless of who the actual publisher was) go together in the same box because they're all classic adventure heroes licensed from Hearst Entertainment (formerly King Features Syndicate). Pulp fiction heroes like The Shadow, Doc Savage, and The Spider (regardless of the fact that the latter did not originate with the same publisher as the first two) also get grouped together. Space considerations allowing, Tarzan (and other Edgar Rice Burroughs adaptations) might share the same box with Sheena and Rima, but NOT with Ka-Zar, because he's a Marvel Universe character.
    June 11, 2018, 07:16:22 PM
  • rusty: I do keep all Star Trek series together in their own section and all Star Wars books together.  I also keep all 2000AD titles together and manga books get their own section.  For titles that have switched publishers, I usually keep them all with the publisher that I identify them with the most.  Tarzan has been published by a variety of publishers, but I keep them with Dell/Gold Key.  Conan is starting to get a bit close with all the success Dark Horse has had, but I still identify Conan more with Marvel.
    June 11, 2018, 06:27:26 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: Believe it or not, I even have a box labeled "Pseudo-manga" that contains comics published by American companies and created by American creators like Astro Boy & Racer X (Now Comics), Battle of the Planets (Gold Key & Top Cow/Image), Captain Harlock (Malibu), Godzilla (Dark Horse) and Ultraman. I just want to keep those separate from the boxes of real translated manga in floppy comic format.
    June 11, 2018, 03:34:17 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: Well. the problem is when you get titles with licensed characters that aren't owned by the publisher. So if you collect Star Trek comics, you'd have different series published by Gold Key, Marvel, DC, and IDW (and I probably missed one in there). It doesn't make sense to me to put them in different boxes by publisher, but to each his own. Disney comics would be another example. There are even some instances where if I like a certain artist enough, I will put all his work regardless of publisher or characters into one box, like Paul Gulacy, Steve Rude, or Mike Allred (and file them chronologically from older to newer, rather than alphabetically). Those are examples where my interest in the creator far exceeds my relative interest in whatever characters are involved.
    June 11, 2018, 03:14:29 PM
  • rusty: That makes sense.  There are many ways that people can file books.  What I do is file by company or category and then alphabetically within each section.  My first category is Richie Rich then Archie, then other Harvey titles, then Disney, then other humor/kids books, then by company (unless it is a company where I don't have very many books from them.  Star Trek and Star Wars each get their own section as well.  I will probably revamp a bit when I do my next major sort/merge.  The biggest section by far for me is DC.
    June 11, 2018, 09:28:59 AM
  • DeCarlo Rules: I don't even file my comics alphabetically. I file them according to how closely they're related to other titles, but it's all dependent on the number of issues I have of any given title, and what will fit into a single box. Fpr ACP comics I just put all the short-run series (whether an actual miniseries or just a not particularly successful title) into one box. Even though some of those short run series star Jughead, and I could as easily file those together with the main JUGHEAD title in another box. For longer running ACP titles, "girl" titles are sorted into different boxes than "boy" titles. Eventually when I have enough issues of BETTY (and BETTY AND ME and BETTY'S DIARY) they'll get their own box, and VERONICA will get her own box.
    June 10, 2018, 09:49:06 AM
  • rusty: I file Jughead under J and Reggie under R in all of their incarnations, though I do file the original Lois Lane and Jimmy Olsen books under S since that keeps them with the Superman books and also because they kept that title throughout their entire run.  If anyone wants to look up Jughead or Reggie in Overstreet, though, they will have to look under A for the early issues.
    June 10, 2018, 07:56:27 AM
  • BettyReggie: I can't wait to get that Reggie book. It's coming out the day after my 39th Birthday.
    June 10, 2018, 06:42:06 AM
  • DeCarlo Rules: Yeah, I never understood why publishers felt the need to point that out on the covers of a comic book, like maybe someone didn't really know who REGGIE was, and might buy it just because they noticed the words "Archie's Rival" above the big letters that spelled REGGIE? Same with "Archie's Pal" or "Superman's Pal" or "Superman's Girl Friend" -- like some potential buyer wouldn't know who Jughead, Jimmy Olsen, or Lois Lane was, but would know who Archie or Superman was? Just assume you're selling the product to idiots, I guess. Is anyone really filing REGGIE under "A" for Archie's Pal in their collections??
    June 10, 2018, 05:42:02 AM
  • rusty: In it's first incarnation, Reggie was titled ARCHIE'S RIVAL, REGGIE.  It wasn't until after the title was resurrected nearly a decade later that it became REGGIE and then REGGIE AND ME.
    June 09, 2018, 10:23:13 PM


Author Topic: PTF Reviews Super Suckers #4  (Read 384 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

PTF

Re: PTF Reviews Super Suckers #4
« on: February 19, 2018, 12:28:10 AM »
I'll check. But in my defense, it has been awhile from the first two issues to the last two. :)

PTF Reviews Super Suckers 4.2

Well, another Valentine’s Day has come and gone. And I followed through on my tradition of being alone and spending the next day crying. I also watched Valentine’s Day for the very first time. It’s horrible. How can the man who gave us The Fonz subject us all to that drech?

But this isn’t a movie review, it’s a comic review. And when we last left off, Kelly and Vera have to get The Thunderhearts (hooooooo!) to play at Greek Fest, Jess thinks her boss is a vampire, and Stewart is Stewart. And someone is set to bring chaos into the lives of our heroes. So let’s review….

Super Suckers 4.2


Things I did like.

The writing. Yeah, it’s a funny story. I think my favorite part is the Trevor sequence with Tatiana. And even though the Vera eye gag hit close to home (Don’t have zippers on your pillow case, you wake up on one of those, you’re eye hurts for a day!!) it was still funny and the poor guy who she mistook for Stewart. Stewart being a loser geek is always fun, especially when his stupid ego he doesn’t warrant leads him to trouble. Jess trying to make her job easier and how it coincides with the Willow being a vampire is setting up nicely. Kelly and Vera were great together in their plan to get Thunderheart to play at Greek Fest. And I’m just a sucker for reading funny accents.  I had a few problems but nothing that hurts the overall story.

The art. It’s not up to his best but it’s still pretty good. The best pages for me are page 12 just before we go to commercial and page ten because of all the different facial and body expressions going on. I love the expression of the guy who Vera blindly kissed. He looks like the life was drained out of him. It’s not his best issue of Super Suckers but I still like the work he’s done.

The Coloring and lettering: Whitmore and Marshall do a great job like always. My favorite coloring is the salt and pepper shakers coming back from commercial. And I really like the moon glow. And the sound effects and word balloon effects were good. Can’t go wrong when I get a SLUGGO.

Things I didn’t like.

1.   Kelly’s a jerk again. Here’s the thing, I don’t mind her threatening Thunderheart because he’s kind of a sleaze so that’s fine with me. Beating up the bodyguard who didn’t do anything; that’s the problem I just wish he had an attitude with her or made an unwanted pass at her. Something to deserve it. Again I’m of the Bugs Bunny school of “you start anything with me, that warrants me going at you nonstop.” Also, it just kind of ends. Next we see Kelly she’s crying about Thunderheart saying no. So he took the beating? I think it would have been better if he had just not reacted to the strength (since we later learn he’s pretty much fired his brain) and Kelly’s bluff being called and her running away crying leading to her next panel. These pages just really contradicts with how Kelly has been the last and most of this issue. That or she’s just from Crazytown and that’s how they function.


2.   I thought she hated her?!?! So Kelly goes to Jess after Thunderheart told her he wasn’t playing at Greek Fest and Jess breaks up with her for…um, Tatiana? Yeah, Jess still hated her last time I checked even after setting her up. She just wanted her to ease up at the workplace. I think it would have been better if Jess felt she just solved her own problem and just didn’t want to get involved with Kelly’s problem right after and walked out on her.


3.   Greekfest or Greek Fest. Page ten there’s a word balloon with “Greekfest” instead of Greek Fest. Nothing escapes me…except love.


4.   The art. Wow. This is rare, huh. But there are a few problems I actually had. It just seemed like the art was rushed on a few pages. For example, page five check out panel three. Are those three black spots supposed to be a shadow? And a few panels hands look really rough. In one panel, Jess definitely only has four fingers on one hand, but maybe it evens out because she has six on the other (page 10 panel four).   And few inking spots that I found questionable. I mean, overall the art is great, but there are a few noticeable things I can’t really ignore.  It just seemed like he was in a rush.


5.   Stewart. What kind of person rolls up a comic like that?!!?



Things I learned from what I read.
1.   Kelly is still a psychopath.
2.   Dragos might be a liar.
3.   Horsefeathers, Poppycock, and Bullpucky, on the case for you!
4.   Trevor’s always willing to help a friend.
5.   Comic store owners all talk like well known Shakespearean scholar The Mighty Thor.
6.   There is no such thing as a rock star doing it only for the art. It’s for the women.
7.   Paint chip addition is a real problem amongst college students.
8.   We all need a briefcase filled with cupcakes.
9.   Betty and Veronica both heard Dan Parent is getting ANOTHER series to ruin old school Archie stories for the masses so they moved to Dung Hill, Pennsylvania instead.
10.   The Super Center is really on the ball when it comes to updating their giant sign.

Things are being set up for the season finale (what issue five isn’t out) as we’re probably getting to Greek Fest and a confrontation with Willow. The jokes really landed for me. And the art overall was good. There were patches in both that I felt needed going over but overall the comic is still worth reading for anyone. It’s a B.

So tune in when I review Super Suckers 4.3!!!

 


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.
Live Support