collapse

* Search


* Recent Topics

What comics have you been reading? by BettyReggie
[December 09, 2018, 12:39:55 pm]


Library Books That You All Read by BettyReggie
[December 09, 2018, 12:37:11 pm]


Features by Oldiesmann
[December 07, 2018, 11:49:38 pm]


What have you done today? by Archiecomicxfan215
[December 05, 2018, 06:50:22 pm]


Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[December 02, 2018, 06:13:49 pm]


Latest Hauls, what did you buy? by BettyReggie
[November 27, 2018, 10:08:42 pm]


What are you currently watching? by BettyReggie
[November 26, 2018, 09:27:21 am]


Days we look foward to as Archie Fans. by BettyReggie
[November 22, 2018, 09:45:09 pm]


Sears/Kmart by SAGG
[November 20, 2018, 06:47:00 am]


New Sabrina comic book miniseries (non-horror) by DeCarlo Rules
[November 16, 2018, 01:28:13 am]

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "'Ti$ the Sea$on" from Cheryl Blossom, No. 9: [link]
    December 02, 2018, 06:14:22 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Thanks. Yeah, we don't know what happened to him. Possibly a stomach problem of some kind.
    November 29, 2018, 08:36:52 am
  • rusty: Sorry for your loss.  7 years is pretty young for a cat.
    November 28, 2018, 11:49:53 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: R.I.P., my sweet, beloved cat, Misiu (2011-2018). :'(
    November 28, 2018, 08:50:46 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "The New Archies": "Making of Mr. Righteous": [link]
    November 24, 2018, 03:59:01 pm
  • Vegan Jughead: Happy Thanksgiving, y'all!
    November 22, 2018, 07:30:50 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Skateboardin' Blossom" from Cheryl Blossom #26: [link]
    November 18, 2018, 06:22:18 pm
  • Oldiesmann: RIP Stan Lee :( [link]
    November 12, 2018, 02:04:24 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Fashion Emergency" from Cherl Blossom #26: [link]
    November 11, 2018, 07:05:28 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Internet outage for nearly 24 hours, but I'm back now. :)
    November 09, 2018, 05:37:49 pm
  • rusty: That is hilarious.
    November 04, 2018, 02:36:07 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: The funniest thing I've seen all year (and maybe ever)... [link]  :2funny:
    November 04, 2018, 07:12:01 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: It's crazy that ACP hasn't reprinted those 2 issues as a double-size one-shot. Or the lead story in a TP collection of vampire stories (including "Twilite" and others).
    November 04, 2018, 03:21:35 am
  • irishmoxie: That's crazy about those Betty and Veronica issues being worth so much. They're only about 6 years old. I'm pretty sure I have copies of them.
    November 04, 2018, 01:36:00 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: On a relatated note, the real FIRST Vampironica appeared in Larry Welz' underground comic Cherry Poptart #1 [link]. That can be had right now, CGCed at 9.4, at the Buy-It-Now price of $280 on ebay. Although the book had several subsequent printings, only the first printing ($2 cover price) contains the Vampironica story. Much, much scarcer than B&V #261 & 262, but then far fewer people seem to be aware of its existence. It may not be the same Vampironica as the one that appears in her own comic book from ACP, but then you can easily make the argument that neither is the Vampironica from B&V 261-262.
    November 04, 2018, 01:15:09 am
  • rusty: Crazy.  I obviously missed that back then.
    November 03, 2018, 10:06:11 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: Yes, I mentioned this a while back somewhere around the time Vampironica #1 was first solicted or shipped. I even mentioned it to Dan Parent and told him if he still had copies he should get them CGC'ed.
    November 03, 2018, 04:33:03 pm
  • rusty: Apparently Betty and Veronica #261 and 262 (1987 series) are popular now due to Vampironica.  Somebody actually purchased a copy of #261 for $299 on ebay recently.
    November 03, 2018, 01:41:51 pm
  • archiecomicscollector: I've been watching Chilling Adventures of Sabrina on Netflix...so no Riverdale means more time in Greendale :)
    November 01, 2018, 10:17:35 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Quite easy. I don't need a new episode every single week.
    November 01, 2018, 09:05:48 pm


Author Topic: PTF Reviews Super Suckers #4  (Read 711 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

PTF

Re: PTF Reviews Super Suckers #4
« on: February 19, 2018, 12:28:41 am »
PTF Reviews Super Suckers 4.3

As I was in the middle of writing this review. Got a call from my uncle. Seems he had some timers on his DVR that one of my little cousins had put in that I needed to—what does Matt Hardy like to say? Oh yes…--DELETE!!

Anyway, it was a fun little scavenger hunt. First I had to find the remote because the TV display was set where I could only see half the options. Cabinet in the bathroom. Makes sense, right? How it took me twenty minutes, I’ll never know.  Then I had to look in each room, each filled with junk and debris to find two AAA batteries for the TV remote.


Seriously, why do old people buy new technology? Heck, I have another uncle I’ve had to program about eight different phones in the last year. I’m not joking. He gets angry and quits and gets another cheap one. And those stupid cheap ones are all better than my flip phone!


I’m sorry everyone. I shouldn’t vent at you. I should take all the anger I have out on this comic issue. Now where were we….

When we last left off, Jess believes her boss to be a vampire and tries to get Stewart to be the suckee, but Willow has whisked him away so she settles for Trevor. Stewart has dumped pretend girlfriend Vera. Vera and Kelly have tricked the Thunderhearts (ho!!!) to play Greek Fest and Willow is a vampire who has diabolical plans. So y’know, pretty uneventful issue. But let’s see what happens in

Super Suckers 4.3 Dream Warriors!

Things I did like.

1.   The writing. It’s the typical funny issue and it actually had some good character moments. Surprisingly, from Trevor when he opens up to Stewart. I mean, he stills threatens to beat the heck out of him, but the guy has depth. Kelly even got some backstory where you can relate to her (first person in her family who went to college) And you have Willow with a backstory, maybe a little overlywinded, but it does make sense. And I actually like that a character does something wrong and actually has to face consequences like Jess did.
And the humor is still great. I like the body surfing with Jess just having it the worse. Stewart “standing up to Trevor.” Kelly being from Looneyville, WV. That is just perfect. Trevor’s reasoning from not trying to help Stewart when he felt something was up. And yeah, I had a problem with Kelly being a psycho and beating up the innocent body guard, but I love her when she’s in the middle of a life or death race and she innocently says hello to the guy and he just panics.
And we got some action and a pretty good solution to the problem. And things have advanced as secrets are revealed, love is found, and the next issue should be interesting. Seriously, you can only have someone not find out a secret until they’re just stupid. Looking at you, Lois Lane!
So all in all good work from Darin Henry and David Tolentino

2.   The art. Yeah, this was more like it. I don’t know. It seemed like last issue Shultz was in a bit of a rush. Not this one as it’s back to what I expect. I think my favorite page would be page four with Trevor coming back after—the thing that would get this review not PG rated—and only has one shoe on. And Stewart’s facial reactions.
3.   Coloring and Lettering. Another great issue. I mean, there is one UNFORGIVABLE MISTAKE…but yeah, I’m really happy. I really like all the lighting for Greek Fest. And I have one questioning. How hard do you toss someone head first into a wall to get a BANG ?

Things I didn’t like.

1.   Wow. Glen Whitmore made a boo-boo. Yeah. Brace yourselves. Glen Whitmore is not perfect. From last issue to this, the Thunderheart band has different colored hair. Such a major oversight. I don’t know how this comic series or humanity itself will ever recover.


2.   The senior RHO RHO page. Um, yeah, it was funny, but call me crazy, but wouldn’t it have made more sense to have Kelly and Vera brag to Paisley? The person who started all of this? She’s not seen again. So you can put her in with Jonas in the “creeps who get away with being creeps who cause all the heroes’ problems” category. Heck, at least have the old ladies at Greek Fest. As it is, this is a page I can delete and nothing would be lost when it comes to the overall story.


3.   We might not see Ruben again. NOOOOOOOO!!! He’s like a Kevin Keller with a personality, and better written and drawn, ready to unleash quick quips at a whim!!






Things I learned from what I read:
1.   Kelly is from Looneyville. …Well, I was close.
2.   Women can’t finish a fight to the death when a wardrobe malfunction happens.
3.   You need a seatbelt when body surfing.
4.   There is no reason to go to West Virginia. They have nothing and nothing fun goes there. (Man, there is some Dan Parent fan in West Virginia who really does not like me.  )
5.   You know what they say when you make assumptions…
6.   Jess is the second place trophy.
7.   Women are scornful; vampires are vindictive.
8.   Well, I guess Trevor isn’t wrong that it’s not the worst way to go.
9.   Thunderhearts—hear their music! Hear their voice! Thunderhearts are loose! Thunder-Thunder-Thunder-Thunderhearts!
10.   Vampires in this universe CAN turn into bats. As long as they don’t sparkle, I’m cool.

So this is easily my favorite part. I felt everything came together, all the plot lines, to a satisfying conclusion. The only things I can find wrong is maybe a page that really doesn’t go with the rest of the story and the least important coloring error that no one would ever care about. I give this issue and A.

So there we have it. I’m all out of Sitcomics to review. So until next time when I have money! And please, if you’re reading this, pick up the books. They’re all good and well worth the price.





 


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.
Live Support