collapse

* Random Image

ToughattheTop3
ToughattheTop3
Posted by: SAGG
Posted in album: SAGG

* Search


* Recent Topics

ARCHIE COMICS FOR NOVEMBER 2017 by CanScatC
[Today at 01:07:00 pm]


What are you currently watching? by DeCarlo Rules
[Today at 09:25:48 am]


What have you done today? by Archiecomicxfan215
[September 20, 2018, 10:18:25 pm]


Days we look foward to as Archie Fans. by BettyReggie
[September 20, 2018, 04:00:34 pm]


What comics have you been reading? by DeCarlo Rules
[September 19, 2018, 02:34:21 pm]


Latest Hauls, what did you buy? by DeCarlo Rules
[September 18, 2018, 11:25:10 am]


An Archie Comics timeline (2009-2018): highlights & lowlights by DeCarlo Rules
[September 16, 2018, 10:50:09 am]


So I bought Archie Archives Vol. 1 and ... by Terry1
[September 14, 2018, 05:58:14 pm]


Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[September 13, 2018, 07:33:58 pm]


New york comic con 2017 photos by fandemoniumnetwork
[September 12, 2018, 03:13:03 am]

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • Tuxedo Mark: Wait a minute. Betty and Veronica is only a five-issue miniseries?
    Today at 08:31:21 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: Archie Comic solicitations for October 2018: [link]
    Today at 05:36:35 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: Check out Stadium Comics' entire line of Archie Comics RE variant covers here: [link] All are homages to famous Marvel or DC cover images.
    September 20, 2018, 09:05:41 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: Those are RE (retailer exclusive) variants available only from Stadium Comics. Here's another cool one they have, a variant of ARCHIE 1941 #1 [link]
    September 20, 2018, 09:01:16 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: Anyone ever see these B&V Friends Forever variant covers? [link]
    September 19, 2018, 10:15:05 am
  • BettyReggie: I saw the covers for Archie #701. I love Pitilli's.
    September 18, 2018, 09:27:43 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Fashion Fantabulous!" from B&V #271: [link]
    September 13, 2018, 07:34:29 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: It seems like they put extras on a disc because people expect them, or it helps drive sales, but more often than not, it seems like very little thought goes into the content. Of course there are some examples where the extras are exceptional, but usually that's not the case.
    September 10, 2018, 11:42:47 am
  • irishmoxie: I love digital movies and streaming. I usually get the Blu-ray Disc because I like to watch the extras the first time and then end up adding the digital code online or rip it and put it on the hard drive. Just much more convenient to stream it then search for the disc when I want to watch it.
    September 08, 2018, 05:29:56 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "The Breakfast Club" from Riverdale #2: [link]
    September 05, 2018, 06:28:58 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: That's some good reading. Hope they'll put out a Volume 2, and that it'll be just as nearly complete as the first one.
    September 03, 2018, 08:55:41 am
  • BettyReggie: Archie Comics Present Betty & Veronica Spectular Graphic Novel came today.
    September 02, 2018, 03:57:33 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Supply and Demand!" from World of Archie Digest #81: [link]
    September 01, 2018, 08:14:51 pm
  • zhanjiao1212: a1cb584468
    August 31, 2018, 05:33:06 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: On the other hand, maybe I should just bypass the Blu-Ray format altogether, buy a huge terabyte HD, and download everything. There's something to be said for that, in that you can get everything quicker and stacks of Blu-Ray cases aren't taking up space in your house, I guess.
    August 27, 2018, 03:19:15 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: This coming from a guy who still hasn't capitulated to the inevitable domination of Blu-Ray. It's getting to the point where I might have to relent, since I've seen some anime sets being released for the first time on Blu-Ray (no combo pak) with NO release of a DVD version.
    August 27, 2018, 03:09:15 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: I'll never get used to people not being able to wait a few days when they order stuff online. I guess maybe I could understand it IF it were something that there was no other way to see, but I assume you've already seen the episodes.  People who are that impatient usually don't even buy disc sets, they just buy it digitally or stream it.
    August 27, 2018, 03:06:17 pm
  • BettyReggie: Riverdale Season #2 just came from Amazon.
    August 27, 2018, 02:41:06 pm
  • BettyReggie: It taking too long. So I just order it from Amazon.
    August 25, 2018, 05:17:45 pm
  • BettyReggie: I cancelled Riverdale Season #2 from Target because it taking y
    August 25, 2018, 05:16:49 pm


Author Topic: PTF Reviews Super Suckers #4  (Read 531 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

PTF

Re: PTF Reviews Super Suckers #4
« on: February 19, 2018, 12:28:41 am »
PTF Reviews Super Suckers 4.3

As I was in the middle of writing this review. Got a call from my uncle. Seems he had some timers on his DVR that one of my little cousins had put in that I needed to—what does Matt Hardy like to say? Oh yes…--DELETE!!

Anyway, it was a fun little scavenger hunt. First I had to find the remote because the TV display was set where I could only see half the options. Cabinet in the bathroom. Makes sense, right? How it took me twenty minutes, I’ll never know.  Then I had to look in each room, each filled with junk and debris to find two AAA batteries for the TV remote.


Seriously, why do old people buy new technology? Heck, I have another uncle I’ve had to program about eight different phones in the last year. I’m not joking. He gets angry and quits and gets another cheap one. And those stupid cheap ones are all better than my flip phone!


I’m sorry everyone. I shouldn’t vent at you. I should take all the anger I have out on this comic issue. Now where were we….

When we last left off, Jess believes her boss to be a vampire and tries to get Stewart to be the suckee, but Willow has whisked him away so she settles for Trevor. Stewart has dumped pretend girlfriend Vera. Vera and Kelly have tricked the Thunderhearts (ho!!!) to play Greek Fest and Willow is a vampire who has diabolical plans. So y’know, pretty uneventful issue. But let’s see what happens in

Super Suckers 4.3 Dream Warriors!

Things I did like.

1.   The writing. It’s the typical funny issue and it actually had some good character moments. Surprisingly, from Trevor when he opens up to Stewart. I mean, he stills threatens to beat the heck out of him, but the guy has depth. Kelly even got some backstory where you can relate to her (first person in her family who went to college) And you have Willow with a backstory, maybe a little overlywinded, but it does make sense. And I actually like that a character does something wrong and actually has to face consequences like Jess did.
And the humor is still great. I like the body surfing with Jess just having it the worse. Stewart “standing up to Trevor.” Kelly being from Looneyville, WV. That is just perfect. Trevor’s reasoning from not trying to help Stewart when he felt something was up. And yeah, I had a problem with Kelly being a psycho and beating up the innocent body guard, but I love her when she’s in the middle of a life or death race and she innocently says hello to the guy and he just panics.
And we got some action and a pretty good solution to the problem. And things have advanced as secrets are revealed, love is found, and the next issue should be interesting. Seriously, you can only have someone not find out a secret until they’re just stupid. Looking at you, Lois Lane!
So all in all good work from Darin Henry and David Tolentino

2.   The art. Yeah, this was more like it. I don’t know. It seemed like last issue Shultz was in a bit of a rush. Not this one as it’s back to what I expect. I think my favorite page would be page four with Trevor coming back after—the thing that would get this review not PG rated—and only has one shoe on. And Stewart’s facial reactions.
3.   Coloring and Lettering. Another great issue. I mean, there is one UNFORGIVABLE MISTAKE…but yeah, I’m really happy. I really like all the lighting for Greek Fest. And I have one questioning. How hard do you toss someone head first into a wall to get a BANG ?

Things I didn’t like.

1.   Wow. Glen Whitmore made a boo-boo. Yeah. Brace yourselves. Glen Whitmore is not perfect. From last issue to this, the Thunderheart band has different colored hair. Such a major oversight. I don’t know how this comic series or humanity itself will ever recover.


2.   The senior RHO RHO page. Um, yeah, it was funny, but call me crazy, but wouldn’t it have made more sense to have Kelly and Vera brag to Paisley? The person who started all of this? She’s not seen again. So you can put her in with Jonas in the “creeps who get away with being creeps who cause all the heroes’ problems” category. Heck, at least have the old ladies at Greek Fest. As it is, this is a page I can delete and nothing would be lost when it comes to the overall story.


3.   We might not see Ruben again. NOOOOOOOO!!! He’s like a Kevin Keller with a personality, and better written and drawn, ready to unleash quick quips at a whim!!






Things I learned from what I read:
1.   Kelly is from Looneyville. …Well, I was close.
2.   Women can’t finish a fight to the death when a wardrobe malfunction happens.
3.   You need a seatbelt when body surfing.
4.   There is no reason to go to West Virginia. They have nothing and nothing fun goes there. (Man, there is some Dan Parent fan in West Virginia who really does not like me.  )
5.   You know what they say when you make assumptions…
6.   Jess is the second place trophy.
7.   Women are scornful; vampires are vindictive.
8.   Well, I guess Trevor isn’t wrong that it’s not the worst way to go.
9.   Thunderhearts—hear their music! Hear their voice! Thunderhearts are loose! Thunder-Thunder-Thunder-Thunderhearts!
10.   Vampires in this universe CAN turn into bats. As long as they don’t sparkle, I’m cool.

So this is easily my favorite part. I felt everything came together, all the plot lines, to a satisfying conclusion. The only things I can find wrong is maybe a page that really doesn’t go with the rest of the story and the least important coloring error that no one would ever care about. I give this issue and A.

So there we have it. I’m all out of Sitcomics to review. So until next time when I have money! And please, if you’re reading this, pick up the books. They’re all good and well worth the price.





 


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.
Live Support