• Welcome to Archie Comics Fan Forum. Please login or sign up.
 
May 23, 2019, 05:31:40 am

News:

We're back! Unfortunately all data was lost. Please re-register to continue posting!


collapse

Random Image

The InjuredParty4&5
The InjuredParty4&5
Posted by: SAGG
Posted in album: SAGG

Search


Recent Topics

Re: Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[May 20, 2019, 07:48:15 pm]


Re: Prince Harry and Meghan's Baby's Name... by DeCarlo Rules
[May 17, 2019, 06:49:55 pm]


Re: What comics have you been reading? by rusty
[May 15, 2019, 07:49:11 pm]


Re: Scarlet is Back in an All New Story: "FLOWER FEET!" by Captain Jetpack
[May 13, 2019, 07:19:23 am]


Archie & Me in Lunch Crunch by PTF
[April 28, 2019, 12:58:45 pm]


Re: Howdy! by Captain Jetpack
[April 25, 2019, 07:18:17 am]


Re: ARCHIE COMICS FOR JULY 2019 by Fernando Ruiz
[April 25, 2019, 12:50:45 am]


Re: Jugheads new boots by Good Ole Samm
[April 18, 2019, 08:21:21 pm]


Re: Continuities that Riverdale has surpassed by Tuxedo Mark
[April 18, 2019, 04:18:10 pm]

Shoutbox

  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Which is Rich", a 1980s Cheryl story from Archie, No. 323: [link]
    May 20, 2019, 07:49:01 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Totally awesome that Cheryl came to Betty's rescue.
    May 16, 2019, 11:20:40 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: I had to wait until this morning to watch it.
    May 16, 2019, 11:20:06 am
  • archiecomicscollector: Did you watch Riverdale's season finale tonight? Season 4 is expected to air in October.
    May 15, 2019, 10:06:41 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "The Fears of a Clown" from Archie & Friends, No. 98: [link]
    May 14, 2019, 10:48:15 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: And a collage: [link]
    May 09, 2019, 08:41:23 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: Official pic: [link]
    May 09, 2019, 08:36:13 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: Katy Keene ordered to series! Congrats! :)
    May 09, 2019, 08:29:32 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: Internet and phone were knocked out for a few days. Just came back up.
    May 08, 2019, 11:57:36 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Lord of the Games" from Archie DD #297: [link]
    May 04, 2019, 08:50:04 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Double Date" from World of Archie Jumbo Comics Digest #88: [link]
    April 28, 2019, 01:02:44 pm
  • Oldiesmann: Haven't had a chance to look into that yet, but we haven't lost anything as there are still posts here from well before April 15th. I'll try to look into it further later this week and see if I can figure out what the issue is.
    April 22, 2019, 01:04:01 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Spring" from Betty and Veronica, No. 4: [link]
    April 21, 2019, 04:09:18 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: ... and now there are four topics listed over in Recent Topics. Maybe somehow we just lost everything less recent than April 15, which is the oldest new post to the Recent Topics listed.
    April 19, 2019, 01:47:10 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: Last time I looked at Recent Topics it was only two showing, but now it's three. Well, if that trend continues, I guess the problem will eventually fix itself.
    April 18, 2019, 02:23:15 pm
  • Oldiesmann: I'm not sure what's going on with the most recent topics thing. I'll look into that when I get a chance
    April 16, 2019, 10:50:38 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Taking a Tumble" from B&V #263: [link]
    April 15, 2019, 02:52:06 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Only the two mosr recent topics show up in the sidebar.
    April 15, 2019, 02:50:22 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: Now if you could only get some ### pattern overlaid on the orange, it would be perfect!  ;D
    April 15, 2019, 12:40:25 am
  • rusty: I like the orange more than the blue
    April 13, 2019, 11:14:47 pm

PTF Reviews The Blue Baron 2.3

Started by PTF, June 06, 2018, 10:59:25 am

Previous topic - Next topic

PTF

 Finally caught up on Riverdale (see my reviews do relate to Archie Comics!) on my DVR and--well, at least I liked the last episode. Look, I get that this is darker, but I think you can do dark and have likable and intelligent characters. Seriously, out of all of Riverdale, only Fred Andrews is a decent human being at this point. I really liked the first season, but I thought season two was pretty rotten. Really bad writing.


Speaking of bad writing, I'll be posting another Super Sucker fan fic soon. :)


But now onto good writing and everything else that a comic needs....THE BLUE BARON.



When we last left off Blowback was on a rampage, consumed with vengeance on Cedric Carson. Now alone, can The Blue Baron/Ernie Rodriguez defeat the day? And what of the Blue Baron, stuck in a teenage body, facing off against a school bully. How both fights end might surprise you.

The good.

The writing. Whoa. This issue hits like a sledgehammer to the gut. There isn't as much humor as the other issues, but just the emotion, just the reactions to Ernie and the Blue Baron at the end of the issue is heartbreaking because both are in situations where they are helpless to do anything; one because he lacks the maturity and experience the other trapped outside of his life.

And for anyone worried, it's not all depressing. You get some funny moments with Wanda "Mayday Parker Lives On" Rodriguez confronts Ernie Baron after the fight and his deadpan reaction. Jenna, the blond haired girl from last issue, moments with Ernie Baron are sweet and I already like her. And the mirroring of Blue Baron and Ernie and what's going on at the same time was great work.

And the issue leaves you wanting more as potential storylines and threats are introduced. As Rossi and Bishop are set to be more of a presence and a mystery from the first issue is solved.


And let me put it to you this way. Normally, I give details because, this came out in the first of the year, but I think it would be best for anyone who is reading or wants to read this comic to pick it up with a pretty clear mind on what to expect. It's that good.

The art. Ron Frenz is really great here. Just the emotion of the characters. Just the facial expressions of the aftermath is really stunning. This might be the best work that I've seen from him. It certainly stands out. The coloring and lettering for emotional responses were appropriate. The inking really shines in this issue. Excellent work from everyone involved.

Battle Blogs. Yeah, I didn't mention these the last few issues because, well, it was about Start-up and I'd like no spoilers if I ever get more than one issue of the series. But this issue is cool as we have one about Blowback. Nothing special but I was always a fan of the TMNT sourcebooks that went over the history and power of the character...then the stupid internet happen and made it all pointless.

The bad.

I think one character could have used more flexing out. Heck, this issue I just learned he knew Cedric Carson/Blue Baron were the same person. I have gone back three times and I don't see anything that would make me believe this character knew Blue Baron's secret identity.
  • No more Milo. A great loss for us all.

  • He who shall not be named.

 

What I learned from what I read.

Wanting to go back to where you were held hostage by a supervillain makes you the second stupidest man alive.
  • Volunteering to go back to where you were held hostage instead of the guy who originally wanted to go makes you the stupidest person alive.

  • Congrates Start-up, you're the smartest person in this comic or at least the best detective.

  • Teenage hormones are wretched indeed.

  • I don't even want to think about the possible laws Cedric Carson might be breaking in the next slew of issues

  • Just like in Civil War, I don't blame the hero for what happened. ...But I don't think this is Joe Quesada's fault either.

  • Mr. Baxter is like professional wrestling referees: Only interfering when the good guy is winning!

  • Slater is hardcore like American Kirby.

  • Mr. Shilling is still a dillweed.

  • Don't worry Blowback, we all make little mistakes we have to live with--oh. Right....

 



Overall: Well, it's not the funniest of the issues, but if you were wanting more drama and gravitas, here you go. My favorite issue up to this point. Everything hits the mark. The art, writing, coloring, pacing it's all superb.

It's an A.

So yeah, this is a series you should be reading. Great quality for an insanely low price.


Sitcomics

Thanks for reading and reviewing The Blue Baron, PTF. I'm so glad you enjoyed it!  I'd love to print some of your comments here in issue 3's letters page so please reply or pm me to let me know if that would be okay.


By the way, I'm currently working on the script for Blue Baron 3.1 and you'll be relieved to know that Ernie's father is addressed by name but I won't spoil it here.





The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.