collapse

* Random Image

Docudramarama5
Docudramarama5
Posted by: SAGG
Posted in album: SAGG

* Search


* Recent Topics

Stan Lee has died by DeCarlo Rules
[Today at 11:34:58 am]


What comics have you been reading? by rusty
[November 12, 2018, 08:39:49 pm]


What are you currently watching? by DeCarlo Rules
[November 12, 2018, 03:18:23 am]


Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[November 11, 2018, 07:04:36 pm]


Sears/Kmart by DeCarlo Rules
[November 11, 2018, 03:48:37 am]


Features by Oldiesmann
[November 10, 2018, 10:21:28 pm]


Days we look foward to as Archie Fans. by BettyReggie
[November 01, 2018, 04:02:05 pm]


WARNING about Palladous the freelance writing company by BillysBadFurDay
[October 26, 2018, 04:58:52 am]


What have you done today? by BettyReggie
[October 21, 2018, 07:45:49 pm]


Whew! by SAGG
[October 19, 2018, 11:55:13 pm]

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • Oldiesmann: RIP Stan Lee :( [link]
    November 12, 2018, 02:04:24 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Fashion Emergency" from Cherl Blossom #26: [link]
    November 11, 2018, 07:05:28 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Internet outage for nearly 24 hours, but I'm back now. :)
    November 09, 2018, 05:37:49 pm
  • rusty: That is hilarious.
    November 04, 2018, 02:36:07 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: The funniest thing I've seen all year (and maybe ever)... [link]  :2funny:
    November 04, 2018, 07:12:01 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: It's crazy that ACP hasn't reprinted those 2 issues as a double-size one-shot. Or the lead story in a TP collection of vampire stories (including "Twilite" and others).
    November 04, 2018, 03:21:35 am
  • irishmoxie: That's crazy about those Betty and Veronica issues being worth so much. They're only about 6 years old. I'm pretty sure I have copies of them.
    November 04, 2018, 01:36:00 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: On a relatated note, the real FIRST Vampironica appeared in Larry Welz' underground comic Cherry Poptart #1 [link]. That can be had right now, CGCed at 9.4, at the Buy-It-Now price of $280 on ebay. Although the book had several subsequent printings, only the first printing ($2 cover price) contains the Vampironica story. Much, much scarcer than B&V #261 & 262, but then far fewer people seem to be aware of its existence. It may not be the same Vampironica as the one that appears in her own comic book from ACP, but then you can easily make the argument that neither is the Vampironica from B&V 261-262.
    November 04, 2018, 01:15:09 am
  • rusty: Crazy.  I obviously missed that back then.
    November 03, 2018, 10:06:11 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: Yes, I mentioned this a while back somewhere around the time Vampironica #1 was first solicted or shipped. I even mentioned it to Dan Parent and told him if he still had copies he should get them CGC'ed.
    November 03, 2018, 04:33:03 pm
  • rusty: Apparently Betty and Veronica #261 and 262 (1987 series) are popular now due to Vampironica.  Somebody actually purchased a copy of #261 for $299 on ebay recently.
    November 03, 2018, 01:41:51 pm
  • archiecomicscollector: I've been watching Chilling Adventures of Sabrina on Netflix...so no Riverdale means more time in Greendale :)
    November 01, 2018, 10:17:35 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Quite easy. I don't need a new episode every single week.
    November 01, 2018, 09:05:48 pm
  • BettyReggie: How did everyone survive with no Riverdale last Wednesday?
    November 01, 2018, 03:56:28 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My reviews of the Cheryl stories Psyc-Out [link] Take the Mummy and Run! [link] and A Midsummer's Magic [link]
    October 31, 2018, 10:15:29 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Oh, and there's no "The" in the title.
    October 30, 2018, 10:52:11 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Just on Netflix for now.
    October 30, 2018, 10:51:44 pm
  • BettyReggie: I can't find The Chilling Adventures Of Sabrina on Netflix. Is it just streaming or is it in discs YOU can rent?
    October 30, 2018, 02:17:31 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: LOL! Nice! A bit too pricey, though: [link]
    October 30, 2018, 01:44:46 pm
  • Oldiesmann: Site is fixed now. Security certificate expired.
    October 24, 2018, 10:23:54 pm


Author Topic: PTF Reviews The Blue Baron 2.3  (Read 547 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

PTF

PTF Reviews The Blue Baron 2.3
« on: June 06, 2018, 10:59:25 am »
 Finally caught up on Riverdale (see my reviews do relate to Archie Comics!) on my DVR and—well, at least I liked the last episode. Look, I get that this is darker, but I think you can do dark and have likable and intelligent characters. Seriously, out of all of Riverdale, only Fred Andrews is a decent human being at this point. I really liked the first season, but I thought season two was pretty rotten. Really bad writing.

 
Speaking of bad writing, I’ll be posting another Super Sucker fan fic soon. :)

 
But now onto good writing and everything else that a comic needs….THE BLUE BARON.
 
 
 
When we last left off Blowback was on a rampage, consumed with vengeance on Cedric Carson. Now alone, can The Blue Baron/Ernie Rodriguez defeat the day? And what of the Blue Baron, stuck in a teenage body, facing off against a school bully. How both fights end might surprise you.
 
The good.
 
The writing. Whoa. This issue hits like a sledgehammer to the gut. There isn’t as much humor as the other issues, but just the emotion, just the reactions to Ernie and the Blue Baron at the end of the issue is heartbreaking because both are in situations where they are helpless to do anything; one because he lacks the maturity and experience the other trapped outside of his life.
 
And for anyone worried, it’s not all depressing. You get some funny moments with Wanda “Mayday Parker Lives On” Rodriguez confronts Ernie Baron after the fight and his deadpan reaction. Jenna, the blond haired girl from last issue, moments with Ernie Baron are sweet and I already like her. And the mirroring of Blue Baron and Ernie and what’s going on at the same time was great work.
 
And the issue leaves you wanting more as potential storylines and threats are introduced. As Rossi and Bishop are set to be more of a presence and a mystery from the first issue is solved.
 
 
And let me put it to you this way. Normally, I give details because, this came out in the first of the year, but I think it would be best for anyone who is reading or wants to read this comic to pick it up with a pretty clear mind on what to expect. It’s that good.
 
The art. Ron Frenz is really great here. Just the emotion of the characters. Just the facial expressions of the aftermath is really stunning. This might be the best work that I’ve seen from him. It certainly stands out. The coloring and lettering for emotional responses were appropriate. The inking really shines in this issue. Excellent work from everyone involved.
 
Battle Blogs. Yeah, I didn’t mention these the last few issues because, well, it was about Start-up and I’d like no spoilers if I ever get more than one issue of the series. But this issue is cool as we have one about Blowback. Nothing special but I was always a fan of the TMNT sourcebooks that went over the history and power of the character…then the stupid internet happen and made it all pointless.
 
The bad.
 
 I think one character could have used more flexing out. Heck, this issue I just learned he knew Cedric Carson/Blue Baron were the same person. I have gone back three times and I don’t see anything that would make me believe this character knew Blue Baron’s secret identity.
  • No more Milo. A great loss for us all.
  • He who shall not be named.
 
 
What I learned from what I read.
 
 Wanting to go back to where you were held hostage by a supervillain makes you the second stupidest man alive.
  • Volunteering to go back to where you were held hostage instead of the guy who originally wanted to go makes you the stupidest person alive.
  • Congrates Start-up, you’re the smartest person in this comic or at least the best detective.
  • Teenage hormones are wretched indeed.
  • I don’t even want to think about the possible laws Cedric Carson might be breaking in the next slew of issues
  • Just like in Civil War, I don’t blame the hero for what happened. …But I don’t think this is Joe Quesada’s fault either.
  • Mr. Baxter is like professional wrestling referees: Only interfering when the good guy is winning!
  • Slater is hardcore like American Kirby.
  • Mr. Shilling is still a dillweed.
  • Don’t worry Blowback, we all make little mistakes we have to live with—oh. Right….
 
 
 
 
Overall: Well, it’s not the funniest of the issues, but if you were wanting more drama and gravitas, here you go. My favorite issue up to this point. Everything hits the mark. The art, writing, coloring, pacing it’s all superb.
 
It’s an A.
 
So yeah, this is a series you should be reading. Great quality for an insanely low price.
 
 

Sitcomics

Re: PTF Reviews The Blue Baron 2.3
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2018, 12:55:13 am »
Thanks for reading and reviewing The Blue Baron, PTF. I’m so glad you enjoyed it!  I’d love to print some of your comments here in issue 3’s letters page so please reply or pm me to let me know if that would be okay.


By the way, I’m currently working on the script for Blue Baron 3.1 and you’ll be relieved to know that Ernie’s father is addressed by name but I won’t spoil it here.




 


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.
Live Support