• Welcome to Archie Comics Fan Forum. Please login or sign up.
 
December 09, 2019, 07:55:57 pm

News:

Welcome! Please pardon the dust as we work to set the site up again :)


collapse

Random Image

Josie011
Josie011
Posted by: BettyReggie
Posted in album: BettyReggie favorites

Search


Recent Topics

Re: Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[December 08, 2019, 06:27:02 pm]


Re: Change settings? by DeCarlo Rules
[December 07, 2019, 05:26:17 am]


Re: SENTIMENTAL MOMENTS WITH ARCHIE COMICS. by Bluto
[December 03, 2019, 09:29:58 am]


Re: Posts way down. by Shuester
[November 29, 2019, 11:50:40 pm]


Re: Latest Hauls, what did you buy? by rusty
[November 20, 2019, 11:44:53 am]


Printer Driver Software by Brandytasir
[November 18, 2019, 11:11:00 am]


Car Photo (HD) by Brandytasir
[November 18, 2019, 11:08:00 am]


Re: New here by Tuxedo Mark
[November 17, 2019, 08:12:52 am]


Re: Archie - The Married Life - 10th Anniversary - Opinions? by DeCarlo Rules
[November 07, 2019, 12:21:29 am]


Re: Super7 Figures by DeCarlo Rules
[November 06, 2019, 07:59:22 am]

Shoutbox

  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Archie's Holiday Fun Scrapbook" from Archie's Holiday Fun Digest, No. 12" [link]
    December 08, 2019, 06:27:45 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My reviews of "Photo Finish" [link] and "Hotshot Friend" [link] from Betty and Veronica Digest, No. 177.
    November 26, 2019, 08:23:14 pm
  • ASS-P: Briefly - There were none.
    November 26, 2019, 07:18:28 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My reviews of "Drop The Shopping" [link] and "Rerun Fun?" [link] from Betty and Veronica Digest, No. 176
    November 25, 2019, 11:10:54 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My reviews of "Drop The Shopping" [link] and Rerun Fun"
    November 25, 2019, 11:09:54 am
  • ASS-P: I'm standing across from s Safeway, I'm a-going to go in and see if they have any Archie digests...
    November 22, 2019, 02:39:05 pm
  • rusty: Both digests are out.  I don't have them yet because I get my comics monthly, but they are listed in my next shipment from Mycomicshop which means they have them in stock.
    November 21, 2019, 05:57:11 pm
  • Mr.Lodge: What happened to "Archie Jumbo Comics Digest #304" and "World of Archie Jumbo Comics Digest #94"? Not out yet?
    November 20, 2019, 05:30:30 pm
  • Mr.Lodge: Get lost you fucking spammer.....
    November 18, 2019, 04:17:51 pm
  • Brandytasir: if you need more car picture [link]
    November 18, 2019, 11:05:06 am
  • Brandytasir: printer driver download [link]
    November 18, 2019, 11:04:35 am
  • Brandytasir: hello
    November 18, 2019, 11:03:38 am
  • Fernando Ruiz: I don't know where the idea originated for the "Archie meets Archie" story. I know one day Victor Gorelick gave me the assignment to write a story where the current Archie meets the first appearance Archie. It was going to be for a digest celebrating whatever anniversary they were celebrating. That.
    November 17, 2019, 02:47:30 am
  • Mr.Lodge: The first batch of "Memory Lane" stories were the best but were never given the chance to "conclude" properly. The 10th Anniversary one are total crap.....
    November 16, 2019, 06:10:50 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: @Fernando Ruiz I never heard that before! Good to know! :)
    November 16, 2019, 06:08:57 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: Nice to establish that. I forgot about that Twilight Zone episode! But of course, the phrase "a stroll down Memory Lane" is a familiar euphemism, so TZ took that as a literal plot device. The Memory Lane stories were the beginning of a fertile period for ACP, idea-wise.
    November 16, 2019, 05:05:30 am
  • Fernando Ruiz: Responding to the comments for the "When Archie Meets Archie" review, the idea for "Memory Lane" was mine. I borrowed it from an old Twilight Zone episode and thought it was a nice convenient device for the story.
    November 15, 2019, 10:23:33 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "When Archie Meets Archie..." [link] "The Late Great Veronica!" [link] and "2 For 1 Sale!" [link]
    November 09, 2019, 06:19:36 pm
  • Mr.Lodge: Have these meatheads provide their email address and send them an email to confirm their identity - may help.
    November 08, 2019, 01:56:14 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: Is ARCHIE AND ME digest ending with #23 later this month? It doesn't appear on the list of digest titles in the most recent subscription ads from this month...
    November 07, 2019, 01:50:15 am

PTF Reviews Die Kitty Die

Started by PTF, March 30, 2016, 06:03:15 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

PTF

Aha! And people said I was a fool for saving everything!


PTF Reviews DIE KITTY DIE

Well, I'm back. Can't say I had a lot of fun with the last series, but when you want to gouge your eyes out with an ice cream scoop, you can only go up. So let's delve into a book you all have probably already read and commented on...because I am that guy who is always late to the party!!

Kitty Ravencraft is a comic book icon on the decline. Sales are down and not even the most ludicrous of publicity have garnered lasting acclaim. Leaving only one option: KILL KITTY. How do you kill a witch? Let's find out!


The art: Ohhthankyouthankyouthankyouthankyou! I think...finally the horrible nightmares of heads with shifting noses, chins, and skeletal structure might just end! We have Dan Parent and Fernando Ruiz, so I went in thinking the art would be great, and it was wonderful. Dan Parent does a great job with the opening and Kitty Comics/Evil Corp. Ruiz did an amazing job at the comic shop and Kitty's manor. I keep going back and finding new things to admire.

The writing: It's a first issue and it does what a first issue is supposed to do: introduce the characters, start the story and point to where it will be going in future issues. And if you're a fan of...jokes relating to a female's frame, then you'll be happy. I like that all the characters have their own dialogue and way of speaking. Rudy is a pervert, Ace is a moron and totally tubular dude, Skip is skuzzy and angry. The characters have their own personalities and it's a joy to read.

The pacing is really well. I really like the set up for the villains: Skip is the boss, Ace is an idiot, and Monica seems to have common sense to her. So it's a pretty good dynamic. The supporting cast is fun. Most of all Kitty is a well rounded person. She's fun, she's friendly, she has worries (no longer being famous, being forgotten, and mansions ain't cheap) and is a character I'm going to root for to survive whatever comes her way. Seriously, if this ends like Drag Me To Hell, I'll be depressed for weeks.


The lettering. Janice Chiang did a really wonderful job. Especially on the first pages with the old school effects. I liked the emphasis on the EWW when Rudy the frog wanted a kiss from Kitty and skip deciding to KILL Kitty. Dippy the Dead Kid getting his own special word balloons. And the ending with DIE, KITTY! DIE!

The coloring. Glen Whitmore did an amazing job with this issue. I give him major props for the opening pages. I actually pulled out my first issue of Mighty Mutaninals #1 to really respect how great a job he did with the coloring to capture the old time comic feel. He could not have done that any better. And he's got two different artists with different styles and he does not miss a beat. And he looks like he'll be the colorist for Super Suckers so that comic is already on good footing with me.

The inside references and quips: There done where you don't have to be in the know and can just use common sense to realize how stupid these ideas are...and yet real comic companies do them (Sigh). Oh, and for future issues, if the jabs, quips, pokes at DC Comics continue and increase, I'll be more than willing to give an automatic B. Just throwing that out there...

The homages to Harvey Comics: I used to have a huge ton of Harvey comics: Casper, Hot Stuff, Little Dot, Spooky (my favorite) so I really appreciate the trip down memory lane.

Extras: We have few gag pages for the old timey junk you'd mail off for and then be vastly disappointed when it did not live up to the hype. And awesome pin ups from Mike Rooth and Gisele Lagace along with Dan Parent and Fernando Ruiz. Also plugs to their websites and other online comics. And I love the homage to old ads in comics that looked amazing...until you realize they didn't work at all.




The Bad


Misspellings and grammar: We got two pretty bad ones early on with "torpedos" and "missles" both on the same page. Also you had "...wasn't 'a' very clear." I consider these pretty big no-no's with comics. I learned to read mainly from comics and read comics aloud to myself to improve my speech, so this really bothers me. Although it is nice knowing there is a worse spellcheck than mine. Like now how spellcheck is saying spellcheck is--I can grammatically use it as one word or two or with a hyphen you stupid piece of!!!--er, um, yeah, moving on.

Who's that guy? The first issue did a great job introducing us to the protagonist, the antagonists, supporting cast, future friends/allies...but who was the fat guy with the blond hair and five 'o'clock shade? I'm assuming he's a reoccurring supporting cast member. I'll just call him Kevin Smith until I have conformation.



Things I've learned.


That Rudy and my cousin both do things with Barbie dolls that worry me.
  • Dippy The Dead Kid is much more Spooky than he is Casper.

  • Zombies make everything better.

  • Hello Kitty Comics might not have been for younger children.

  • Freaky Delivery is the only way to go.

  • Ending comic with an "X" makes it cooler.

  • Killing a living being is much better than investing in better ideas and smarter marketing.

  • Skip prefers the Rob Liefield method for achieving financial success in the comic book industry.

  • I can buy a nuclear missile AND lazer-x-specs for less than ten dollars! Wowie!

  • Breasts jokes are the best jokes.

 

Yeah, this was an amazing issue, the art is great, the writing is very good, the lettering, the coloring, and the extra art is nice. But there is a major problem with the spelling and grammar that I can't overlook, so instead of an A+, I've got to give it a B+. But I'm hoping that won't be a problem for the rest of the series. I highly recommend this book. And so far it's the best book I've read this month.

Next up is Super Suckers issue 1! Is it all bite like a vampire or bark like a sissy werewolf? Find out!


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.