• Welcome to Archie Comics Fan Forum. Please login or sign up.
 
November 16, 2019, 10:32:23 pm

News:

We're back! Unfortunately all data was lost. Please re-register to continue posting!


collapse

Random Image

regbet
regbet
Posted by: BettyReggie
Posted in album: BettyReggie favorites

Search


Recent Topics

Re: Latest Hauls, what did you buy? by archiecomicscollector
[November 09, 2019, 08:49:17 pm]


Re: Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[November 09, 2019, 06:18:12 pm]


Re: Archie - The Married Life - 10th Anniversary - Opinions? by DeCarlo Rules
[November 07, 2019, 12:21:29 am]


Re: Posts way down. by DeCarlo Rules
[November 06, 2019, 08:05:47 am]


Re: Super7 Figures by DeCarlo Rules
[November 06, 2019, 07:59:22 am]


Revolut: Get your first card for free without shipping costs by WilliamCib
[November 05, 2019, 12:34:53 pm]


Re: Bend-Ems Figures by archiecomicscollector
[November 02, 2019, 09:55:57 pm]


Re: Vanessa dress mishap by SAGG
[October 25, 2019, 06:11:16 am]


Re: What have you done today? by Archiecomicxfan215
[October 22, 2019, 12:39:20 pm]


Re: What are you currently watching? by Archiecomicxfan215
[October 22, 2019, 12:37:57 pm]

Shoutbox

  • Mr.Lodge: The first batch of "Memory Lane" stories were the best but were never given the chance to "conclude" properly. The 10th Anniversary one are total crap.....
    Today at 06:10:50 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: @Fernando Ruiz I never heard that before! Good to know! :)
    Today at 06:08:57 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: Nice to establish that. I forgot about that Twilight Zone episode! But of course, the phrase "a stroll down Memory Lane" is a familiar euphemism, so TZ took that as a literal plot device. The Memory Lane stories were the beginning of a fertile period for ACP, idea-wise.
    Today at 05:05:30 am
  • Fernando Ruiz: Responding to the comments for the "When Archie Meets Archie" review, the idea for "Memory Lane" was mine. I borrowed it from an old Twilight Zone episode and thought it was a nice convenient device for the story.
    November 15, 2019, 10:23:33 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "When Archie Meets Archie..." [link] "The Late Great Veronica!" [link] and "2 For 1 Sale!" [link]
    November 09, 2019, 06:19:36 pm
  • Mr.Lodge: Have these meatheads provide their email address and send them an email to confirm their identity - may help.
    November 08, 2019, 01:56:14 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: Is ARCHIE AND ME digest ending with #23 later this month? It doesn't appear on the list of digest titles in the most recent subscription ads from this month...
    November 07, 2019, 01:50:15 am
  • ASS-P: I can't figure out, onbthis new phone, how to post either a new one or a reply!!!!!
    November 03, 2019, 05:56:39 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of Archie, No. 699: [link]
    October 27, 2019, 06:25:12 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: That said, the single issue floppy comic is probably headed for extinction sooner or later anyway... eventually, it will be only digital single issues, then straight to trade paperbacks.
    October 26, 2019, 12:24:28 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: I have no problem with your choice, Mark. The important thing is that we're OFFERED a choice. You'd feel the same as me if the only thing they were offering was "print comic ONLY".
    October 26, 2019, 12:22:29 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: I buy only digital comics these days. The prices for physical comics are already jacked up on Amazon, and that's before shipping.
    October 26, 2019, 09:09:28 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: Josie and the Pussycats in Space... written by Alex DiCampi?? UGH. Digital only... UGH. Pass.
    October 26, 2019, 01:47:14 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: Here's another one for coloring book fans that you won't find under ACP's solicits: [link]
    October 25, 2019, 07:41:13 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: November solicitations for ACP are online: [link]
    October 25, 2019, 07:15:47 am
  • Mr.Lodge: Josie and the Pussycats in Space 001 - Yuck
    October 24, 2019, 02:28:06 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "The Facts of Leaf" from World of Archie Double Digest, No. 93: [link]
    October 19, 2019, 06:13:18 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: I notice Blossoms 666 #5 is finally up on Amazon in digital format. Admittedly, I haven't checked for the past few weeks, but it's been frustrating that there's been such a delay.
    October 16, 2019, 10:36:20 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Pranktober 31st" from Archie Double Digest, No. 303: [link]
    October 13, 2019, 11:10:37 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Fake 'N' Bake" from the same digest: [link]
    October 05, 2019, 08:24:24 pm

PTF Reviews The Blue Baron 3.1

Started by PTF, February 16, 2019, 12:46:41 am

Previous topic - Next topic

PTF


Boy, am I glad these Sitcomics are cheap--since I'm now out an extra hundred and eighty dollars every month. Because old people get sick and ruin everything for younger people. But hey, maybe reading and reviewing this comic will cheer me up.

When we last left our body swapped protagonists, Ernie is unprepared to run a corporation, other heroes now doubt the Blue Baron as being sane, and one of Blue Baron's strongest allies is in a coma. Carson Cedric finds Ernie's parents more and more coming down on him, feeling more and more helpless.  So how can things go worse? Let's find out as I review BLUE BARON 3.1!

The Good

The Writing: Another strong showing from Darin Henry as he's doing a great job of introducing new characters (villains and heroes alike) while also showing the reaction everyone has to Cedric Carson/Blue Baron with Ernie in his body. People working for him thinks he's lost his mind and the heroes are between thinking he's being manipulated or just a plain liability. And we got consequences to both as Ernie is costing Cedric millions, employees, and his spot on the Hero Union.

And the humor is still there with Cedric deciding to just mess with the shrink his parents send him to and the end result of the session. I like The Clique and how they interacted and bounced off quips on each other. And they all have interesting powers and are relatable. Okay, one of the Clique is named "Teacher's pet." Take a guess what her personality and powers are. Stuff like that just makes me smile.

And there is really touching scene where Ernie Baron visits Max and just feeling helpless as his friend is fighting for his life and there's nothing he can do. And there is Wanda and Roberto (YES! HE HAS A NAME) as their son seems like a totally different person and they don't know what to do.

And I like the introduction to Professor Wraith as William Wharton falls to madness as he seeks to understand evil and how it relates to heroism. I'm a sucker for characters like this. It's a nice origin.

For around nineteen pages we get a great story that covers a lot of ground while having distinct characters and dialogue and continuing to advance storylines for future issues in inventive and swift decisions.  Lord knows a few other writes could learn from this coughIDWTMNTcoff


The art. Yeah, another great job by Ron Frenz with ink by Sal Buscema. The action scenes are great and there's great motion in each panel. From Honcho and Windfall fighting villains to Bully and Class Clown playing a prank on Blue Baron. Each character's personality shines. Honcho wears a suit that consists of sponsors and a camera rig with super inflated hero poses as he fights. Bully of the clique pretty much moves how I would think a kid hero named Bully would. For the introduction to the Clique, you could take out all the word balloons and you would know each character's personality by how they slouch, sit, or tilt there head.

I love all the costume designs. Professor Wraith looks menacing. The Clique and their costumes really work with their code name. Bully's costume is my favorite (hint, think a popular video game from a few years back)

And the inking really does a great job with facial expressions. Best seen when Wharton succumbs to the evil tomes and insanity.

Lettering and coloring is also great as usual with Dillon and Whitmore. It's amazing how boring word balloons have gotten and how excited I get to see one stretch out with a "noooo" or explode with rage.

Super Sleepy. Cute lil' one page story.

The Bad

Ernie. He's probably at his worse here as he's mouthing off, rushing head long into fights, and annoying every character he comes in contact with. Again, this is just part one of the third issue, so this will probably be addressed, but I felt a fair warning for those readers who hate annoying kids. Which begs the question, why are you on an Archie Comics fan message board?

A rare Glenn Whitmore mistake. Page eighteen Blue Ernie has grabbed Bully by his jacket, but the way it's colored it looks like Blue Baron's levitating him. The lesson: no one is perfect.

Class Clown. He's not a clown. He's a mime! Clowns and mimes are totally different! Clowns are funny/scary, Mimes are just annoying.

What I learned.

Roberto is the name of Ernie's dad. ...You people have no idea how long not knowing his name has been bothering me.
  • Maybe donating evil tomes to a college was not the best idea some hero made.

  • Ernie is just killing any hope millions of people who drafted Blue Baron as their first pick have of winning Fantasy Hero.

  • That college student in the lecture hall is the worse kind of person. "How do you know what heroism is without understanding evil?" Boom--new supervillain! "Gee, if you think you can do a better job as president, why don't you run?" Boom--President Trump. "If you don't feel good, why don't you see a doctor?" Boom--cancer!

  • You knew Protégé (autocorrect one this battle of wells) was waiting for the right moment to strike after Blue Ernie insulted his costume.

  • The Hero Union has a much lighter drug policy than I had first thought before I read this issue.

  • Man it sucks being an African American in this comic, you get killed by a new villain, you get put in a coma, get possessed by some sort of mysterious entity or some jerkwad kid in your mentor's body insults your costume.

  • My dream match up is coming true! Cedric Carson vs. Spider-Girl!

  • Doctor Chandler is going to write an amazing case study one day.

  • Finally, a school of higher learning I can believe in.

 
It's a good first part. Ernie is kicked out of the Hero Union and looking for a new team (kids his age, but with one big problem), Cedric being shut out of his own life as he watches it crumble around him, and a new villain.  I'll go B+

And I'm starting a new program. Where you guys send me comics you have bought and I review them and tell you if you made the right decision. If this works out well, I'll expand it to movies, music, and food. Revolutionary concept. So be in on the ground floor.



The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.