• Welcome to Archie Comics Fan Forum. Please login or sign up.
 
March 24, 2019, 01:56:51 am

News:

We're back! Unfortunately all data was lost. Please re-register to continue posting!


collapse

Random Image

SpringBreak4&5
SpringBreak4&5
Posted by: SAGG
Posted in album: SAGG

Search


Recent Topics

Re: Is It Just Me.... by DeCarlo Rules
[Today at 01:27:02 am]


Re: Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[March 23, 2019, 10:03:44 pm]


Re: ARCHIE COMICS FOR JUNE 2019 by Tuxedo Mark
[March 23, 2019, 07:58:59 pm]


Re: What are you currently watching? by Mefford
[March 23, 2019, 07:37:17 am]


Re: Jughead in Twysting Hearts by PTF
[March 14, 2019, 03:33:43 pm]


Archie in Good Fences by PTF
[March 14, 2019, 03:32:03 pm]


Re: Lucy Hale cast as Katy Keene in Riverdale spin-off pilot by Tuxedo Mark
[March 13, 2019, 11:11:19 pm]


Re: What have you done today? by Archiecomicxfan215
[March 13, 2019, 09:54:40 pm]


Re: Snotgirl #1 by DeCarlo Rules
[March 06, 2019, 08:12:29 am]


Re: ARCHIE COMICS FOR MAY 2019 by DeCarlo Rules
[March 04, 2019, 03:39:52 pm]

Shoutbox

  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "We Need to Talk About Kevin" from Riverdale, No. 4: [link]
    March 23, 2019, 10:04:16 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "The New Archies" series finale, "Horray for Hollywood": [link]
    March 16, 2019, 10:59:51 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Winter" from Betty and Veronica, Vol. 4, No. 3: [link]
    March 09, 2019, 10:16:45 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: You could say that Beverly Hills 90210 was the "Riverdale" of its time -- '80s style,
    March 04, 2019, 03:31:12 pm
  • Archiecomicxfan215: R.I.P Luke Perry
    March 04, 2019, 03:09:34 pm
  • Mr.Lodge: Beverly Hills 90210 Star Luke Perry Dead at 52 from Massive Stroke
    March 04, 2019, 02:53:50 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: So let me see if I've got this right... The confusingly-titled Archie: The Married Life 10th Anniversary is NOT a sequel to any part of the 37-issue run of "The Married Life" in Life With Archie Magazine. But it IS a sequel (10 years on ) to ARCHIE #600 to 606, "Archie Marries".
    March 04, 2019, 02:00:25 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: Ironically Dan Parent was not really involved with the LIFE WITH ARCHIE series at all although he did do ARCHIE #606, the epilogue to "Archie Marries". It's a little confusing now, since this new series is yet another parallel universe where Archie Andrews didn't die... or maybe two of them.
    March 03, 2019, 01:19:06 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: After Archie Meets Batman '66, I was wondering whether that was it for long-form classic Archie stories. So it's nice to see The Married Life again, even if it's only a 6-issue epilogue.
    March 03, 2019, 01:16:09 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "The New Archies": "Take My Butler, Please": [link]
    March 02, 2019, 10:55:11 pm
  • Mr.Lodge: Per [link] - Archie: The Married Life 10th Anniversary #1 (of 6) lands in stores in August.
    March 01, 2019, 03:18:05 am
  • Mr.Lodge: Per Yahoo! - Luke Perry hospitalized after suffering a 'massive stroke,' according to reports
    March 01, 2019, 03:12:29 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "It's in Her Kiss" from Cheryl Blossom, No. 23: [link]
    February 24, 2019, 07:22:08 pm
  • Vegan Jughead: Happy Birthday BettyReggie!
    February 18, 2019, 07:40:11 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Taking Care of Business" from B&V #257: [link]
    February 17, 2019, 09:14:58 am
  • archiecomicscollector: Icon Heroes just announced Riverdale and Sabrina figures will debut later this year.
    February 15, 2019, 08:23:37 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Fall" from Betty and Veronica, Vol. 4, No. 2: [link]
    February 09, 2019, 10:04:42 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Faith, Hope and Cheryl!" from Cheryl Blossom Special, No. 2: [link]
    February 07, 2019, 08:32:08 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Congrats to Riverdale on its renewal! :)
    February 02, 2019, 09:03:31 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Brotherly Love" from Cheryl Blossom, No. 22: [link]
    January 26, 2019, 10:10:27 am

PTF Reviews The Blue Baron 3.1

Started by PTF, February 16, 2019, 12:46:41 am

Previous topic - Next topic

PTF


Boy, am I glad these Sitcomics are cheap--since I'm now out an extra hundred and eighty dollars every month. Because old people get sick and ruin everything for younger people. But hey, maybe reading and reviewing this comic will cheer me up.

When we last left our body swapped protagonists, Ernie is unprepared to run a corporation, other heroes now doubt the Blue Baron as being sane, and one of Blue Baron's strongest allies is in a coma. Carson Cedric finds Ernie's parents more and more coming down on him, feeling more and more helpless.  So how can things go worse? Let's find out as I review BLUE BARON 3.1!

The Good

The Writing: Another strong showing from Darin Henry as he's doing a great job of introducing new characters (villains and heroes alike) while also showing the reaction everyone has to Cedric Carson/Blue Baron with Ernie in his body. People working for him thinks he's lost his mind and the heroes are between thinking he's being manipulated or just a plain liability. And we got consequences to both as Ernie is costing Cedric millions, employees, and his spot on the Hero Union.

And the humor is still there with Cedric deciding to just mess with the shrink his parents send him to and the end result of the session. I like The Clique and how they interacted and bounced off quips on each other. And they all have interesting powers and are relatable. Okay, one of the Clique is named "Teacher's pet." Take a guess what her personality and powers are. Stuff like that just makes me smile.

And there is really touching scene where Ernie Baron visits Max and just feeling helpless as his friend is fighting for his life and there's nothing he can do. And there is Wanda and Roberto (YES! HE HAS A NAME) as their son seems like a totally different person and they don't know what to do.

And I like the introduction to Professor Wraith as William Wharton falls to madness as he seeks to understand evil and how it relates to heroism. I'm a sucker for characters like this. It's a nice origin.

For around nineteen pages we get a great story that covers a lot of ground while having distinct characters and dialogue and continuing to advance storylines for future issues in inventive and swift decisions.  Lord knows a few other writes could learn from this coughIDWTMNTcoff


The art. Yeah, another great job by Ron Frenz with ink by Sal Buscema. The action scenes are great and there's great motion in each panel. From Honcho and Windfall fighting villains to Bully and Class Clown playing a prank on Blue Baron. Each character's personality shines. Honcho wears a suit that consists of sponsors and a camera rig with super inflated hero poses as he fights. Bully of the clique pretty much moves how I would think a kid hero named Bully would. For the introduction to the Clique, you could take out all the word balloons and you would know each character's personality by how they slouch, sit, or tilt there head.

I love all the costume designs. Professor Wraith looks menacing. The Clique and their costumes really work with their code name. Bully's costume is my favorite (hint, think a popular video game from a few years back)

And the inking really does a great job with facial expressions. Best seen when Wharton succumbs to the evil tomes and insanity.

Lettering and coloring is also great as usual with Dillon and Whitmore. It's amazing how boring word balloons have gotten and how excited I get to see one stretch out with a "noooo" or explode with rage.

Super Sleepy. Cute lil' one page story.

The Bad

Ernie. He's probably at his worse here as he's mouthing off, rushing head long into fights, and annoying every character he comes in contact with. Again, this is just part one of the third issue, so this will probably be addressed, but I felt a fair warning for those readers who hate annoying kids. Which begs the question, why are you on an Archie Comics fan message board?

A rare Glenn Whitmore mistake. Page eighteen Blue Ernie has grabbed Bully by his jacket, but the way it's colored it looks like Blue Baron's levitating him. The lesson: no one is perfect.

Class Clown. He's not a clown. He's a mime! Clowns and mimes are totally different! Clowns are funny/scary, Mimes are just annoying.

What I learned.

Roberto is the name of Ernie's dad. ...You people have no idea how long not knowing his name has been bothering me.
  • Maybe donating evil tomes to a college was not the best idea some hero made.

  • Ernie is just killing any hope millions of people who drafted Blue Baron as their first pick have of winning Fantasy Hero.

  • That college student in the lecture hall is the worse kind of person. "How do you know what heroism is without understanding evil?" Boom--new supervillain! "Gee, if you think you can do a better job as president, why don't you run?" Boom--President Trump. "If you don't feel good, why don't you see a doctor?" Boom--cancer!

  • You knew Protégé (autocorrect one this battle of wells) was waiting for the right moment to strike after Blue Ernie insulted his costume.

  • The Hero Union has a much lighter drug policy than I had first thought before I read this issue.

  • Man it sucks being an African American in this comic, you get killed by a new villain, you get put in a coma, get possessed by some sort of mysterious entity or some jerkwad kid in your mentor's body insults your costume.

  • My dream match up is coming true! Cedric Carson vs. Spider-Girl!

  • Doctor Chandler is going to write an amazing case study one day.

  • Finally, a school of higher learning I can believe in.

 
It's a good first part. Ernie is kicked out of the Hero Union and looking for a new team (kids his age, but with one big problem), Cedric being shut out of his own life as he watches it crumble around him, and a new villain.  I'll go B+

And I'm starting a new program. Where you guys send me comics you have bought and I review them and tell you if you made the right decision. If this works out well, I'll expand it to movies, music, and food. Revolutionary concept. So be in on the ground floor.



The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.