collapse

* Random Image

untitled
untitled
Posted by: BettyReggie
Posted in album: BettyReggie favorites

* Search


* Recent Topics

What comics have you been reading? by DeCarlo Rules
[Today at 01:27:42 AM]


What have you done today? by Archiecomicxfan215
[Today at 12:55:56 AM]


ARCHIE COMICS FOR NOVEMBER 2017 by Tough guy21
[June 19, 2018, 01:52:27 PM]


Days we look foward to as Archie Fans. by BettyReggie
[June 18, 2018, 04:05:53 PM]


Library Books That You All Read by BettyReggie
[June 18, 2018, 03:06:01 PM]


What is to become of me and my collection? by JanaRonnie
[June 18, 2018, 05:16:32 AM]


Archie and Jughead in Winter Christmas Double Date by JanaRonnie
[June 18, 2018, 05:16:24 AM]


Archie & Me: Prank Attack by PTF
[June 17, 2018, 01:42:19 PM]


Super Suckers: That Lady is a Real Witch by PTF
[June 17, 2018, 12:52:44 PM]


Betty and Veronica Vixens coming to an end with issue 10 by DeCarlo Rules
[June 16, 2018, 02:26:26 PM]

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • Tuxedo Mark: And another one: [link]
    June 14, 2018, 08:42:07 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Riverdale spoof: [link]
    June 14, 2018, 08:35:22 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Roughing It!" from B&V Friends #262: [link]
    June 14, 2018, 08:12:53 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: @irishmoxie -- It's definitely complete. All six of the 1958-59 Sy Reit/Bob White original issues, plus the feature-length "Good Guys of the Galaxy" by Tom DeFalco & Fernando Ruiz from ARCHIE #655, and three 5-page digest shorts that guest-starred Cosmo -- and the complete first issue of the Ian Flynn/Tracy Yarley COSMO (2017) thrown in for good measure. It follows the same layout/format as the previous JUGHEAD'S TIME POLICE, even though that didn't carry the "Archie Comics Presents..." trade dress. Not a bad buy for $11.
    June 14, 2018, 01:08:59 AM
  • irishmoxie: Anyone get the Cosmo book that came out today? Any good?
    June 13, 2018, 08:04:49 PM
  • Cosmo: Ah man....and I was worried I was the last enthusiast for ERB's stuff. I'm currently rereading my Dell Tarzan books. Really good fun! It took a while to complete that run.
    June 12, 2018, 06:51:53 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: ...Marvel's earlier JOHN CARTER, WARLORD OF MARS in there, so the DE Tarzan comics need to go in a different box, and SHEENA (also a recent DE title) and DC's RIMA THE JUNGLE GIRL will help fill up that box.
    June 11, 2018, 07:40:48 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: Recently. DE's unauthorized LORD OF THE JUNGLE Tarzan adaptations (and its authorized THE GREATEST ADVENTURE) won't fit into my existing box of previous Tarzan comics from Gold Key, DC, and Dark Horse, so I have to start a new box. Logically these get filed with DE's unauthorized WARLORD OF MARS comics (including DEJAH THORIS) and their authorized JOHN CARTER, WARLORD OF MARS. But I also want to squeeze Marve;
    June 11, 2018, 07:38:48 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: Interesting. I tend not to group titles by publisher at all, if the characters were not created as work-for-hire (meaning the publisher is legally considered the 'author' of the character). Do they belong to that publisher's "universe" (assuming it has one)? There are some publishers like Dynamite Entertainment where the vast majority of the titles they publish are licensed, and thus were "inherited" from other publishers. Therefore it makes more sense to me to group them together in boxes with similar characters. Flash Gordon, The Phantom, and Mandrake comics (regardless of who the actual publisher was) go together in the same box because they're all classic adventure heroes licensed from Hearst Entertainment (formerly King Features Syndicate). Pulp fiction heroes like The Shadow, Doc Savage, and The Spider (regardless of the fact that the latter did not originate with the same publisher as the first two) also get grouped together. Space considerations allowing, Tarzan (and other Edgar Rice Burroughs adaptations) might share the same box with Sheena and Rima, but NOT with Ka-Zar, because he's a Marvel Universe character.
    June 11, 2018, 07:16:22 PM
  • rusty: I do keep all Star Trek series together in their own section and all Star Wars books together.  I also keep all 2000AD titles together and manga books get their own section.  For titles that have switched publishers, I usually keep them all with the publisher that I identify them with the most.  Tarzan has been published by a variety of publishers, but I keep them with Dell/Gold Key.  Conan is starting to get a bit close with all the success Dark Horse has had, but I still identify Conan more with Marvel.
    June 11, 2018, 06:27:26 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: Believe it or not, I even have a box labeled "Pseudo-manga" that contains comics published by American companies and created by American creators like Astro Boy & Racer X (Now Comics), Battle of the Planets (Gold Key & Top Cow/Image), Captain Harlock (Malibu), Godzilla (Dark Horse) and Ultraman. I just want to keep those separate from the boxes of real translated manga in floppy comic format.
    June 11, 2018, 03:34:17 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: Well. the problem is when you get titles with licensed characters that aren't owned by the publisher. So if you collect Star Trek comics, you'd have different series published by Gold Key, Marvel, DC, and IDW (and I probably missed one in there). It doesn't make sense to me to put them in different boxes by publisher, but to each his own. Disney comics would be another example. There are even some instances where if I like a certain artist enough, I will put all his work regardless of publisher or characters into one box, like Paul Gulacy, Steve Rude, or Mike Allred (and file them chronologically from older to newer, rather than alphabetically). Those are examples where my interest in the creator far exceeds my relative interest in whatever characters are involved.
    June 11, 2018, 03:14:29 PM
  • rusty: That makes sense.  There are many ways that people can file books.  What I do is file by company or category and then alphabetically within each section.  My first category is Richie Rich then Archie, then other Harvey titles, then Disney, then other humor/kids books, then by company (unless it is a company where I don't have very many books from them.  Star Trek and Star Wars each get their own section as well.  I will probably revamp a bit when I do my next major sort/merge.  The biggest section by far for me is DC.
    June 11, 2018, 09:28:59 AM
  • DeCarlo Rules: I don't even file my comics alphabetically. I file them according to how closely they're related to other titles, but it's all dependent on the number of issues I have of any given title, and what will fit into a single box. Fpr ACP comics I just put all the short-run series (whether an actual miniseries or just a not particularly successful title) into one box. Even though some of those short run series star Jughead, and I could as easily file those together with the main JUGHEAD title in another box. For longer running ACP titles, "girl" titles are sorted into different boxes than "boy" titles. Eventually when I have enough issues of BETTY (and BETTY AND ME and BETTY'S DIARY) they'll get their own box, and VERONICA will get her own box.
    June 10, 2018, 09:49:06 AM
  • rusty: I file Jughead under J and Reggie under R in all of their incarnations, though I do file the original Lois Lane and Jimmy Olsen books under S since that keeps them with the Superman books and also because they kept that title throughout their entire run.  If anyone wants to look up Jughead or Reggie in Overstreet, though, they will have to look under A for the early issues.
    June 10, 2018, 07:56:27 AM
  • BettyReggie: I can't wait to get that Reggie book. It's coming out the day after my 39th Birthday.
    June 10, 2018, 06:42:06 AM
  • DeCarlo Rules: Yeah, I never understood why publishers felt the need to point that out on the covers of a comic book, like maybe someone didn't really know who REGGIE was, and might buy it just because they noticed the words "Archie's Rival" above the big letters that spelled REGGIE? Same with "Archie's Pal" or "Superman's Pal" or "Superman's Girl Friend" -- like some potential buyer wouldn't know who Jughead, Jimmy Olsen, or Lois Lane was, but would know who Archie or Superman was? Just assume you're selling the product to idiots, I guess. Is anyone really filing REGGIE under "A" for Archie's Pal in their collections??
    June 10, 2018, 05:42:02 AM
  • rusty: In it's first incarnation, Reggie was titled ARCHIE'S RIVAL, REGGIE.  It wasn't until after the title was resurrected nearly a decade later that it became REGGIE and then REGGIE AND ME.
    June 09, 2018, 10:23:13 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: I've never understood why those old titles had "and Me" in them, anyway. Why not just name the titles after the starring characters?
    June 09, 2018, 08:17:45 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: Funny that the trade paperback collection is entitled REGGIE AND ME Vol. 1, when his floppy comic book series was actually titled just plain REGGIE for the first 18 issues (and going on hiatus for nine years in between issues #14 and 15). Since it's only a 224-page book, that should mean we'll be seeing reprints of stories from the first 9 (or maybe 10) issues. So shouldn't it be titled REGGIE Vol. 1? Unless they actually do plan to start the first volume with issue #19 from 1966 (the first classic Evilheart issue) where the title actually changed to REGGIE AND ME. My theory is that the ME in that title = Evilheart, unlike the prior titles ARCHIE AND ME (where ME = Mr. Weatherbee), or BETTY AND ME (where the ME = Archie).
    June 09, 2018, 12:59:59 PM


Author Topic: PTF Reviews The Man From R.I.V.E.R.D.A.L.E.  (Read 5197 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

PTF

PTF Reviews The Man From R.I.V.E.R.D.A.L.E.
« on: April 08, 2016, 12:20:11 PM »
 Mission: To read Man From R.I.V.E.R.D.A.L.E.
Objectives:
 Speak of the good
  • Speak of the bad
  • Try not to ham up the summary
 
 
Archie Andrews is your typical ham-fisted, clumsy teen—that is until his cousin Andy comes for a visit. Turns out Andy is an agent of P.O.P (Protect Our Planet) and is on a mission to stop C.R.U.S.H. (Criminal Recruits United to Spread Havoc) who has aligned with old foe Mad Doctor Doom. With P.O.P. neutralized and Riverdale dazed, can Archie becomes THE MAN FROM R.I.V.E.R.D.A.L.E. and save the day?
 
Two out of three isn’t bad.
 
The Good.
 
The Writing. Tom DeFalco provides us with the script and he knocks it out of the park. Every character is distinguishable. Archie sounds like Archie and even though he’s the hero he still has his traditional moments of going gaga for girls and being clumsy. Jughead is Jughead. And I swear, Chuck is actually interesting and is part of one of the funniest moments near the end of the story. I could pick out a word balloon and you can guess pretty accurately who it came from. The story flows and is packed with little tidbits. This is a fun story that balances comedy and tension really world. The heroes were behind most of the time and had to work to overcome the villain in typical fun Archie fashion. And you can tell, DeFalco loves the old school stories and it really brought Mad Doctor Doom to life. I’ll be honest, I was never a fan of the spy stories, but I really enjoyed this story. It’s funny, it has a great story, and an imaginative end. I can’t do this justice, it’s great writing from Tom DeFalco.
 
The art: It’s Fernando Ruiz so, yeah, naturally this will be awesome. This story is just great to look at. Everything is well done: The characters, the settings, buildings. You can tell he was just having a blast with this story. And I love all the background events. And this story is packed with them! An alien hiding in a garbage bin and later trying to escape a few pages later to teenagers doing stupid stuff, everything you could want is there to make you go back and see what you missed. You see a good slew of Archie favorite characters…and Raj (tee-hee I kid, I kid). And it’s nice to see more Ruiz favorite characters get panel time because it’s usually Parent favored characters in most comics. You even get to see Raj’s dad. The Walking Dazed walk like zombies, characters have their own body language (like Chester and his fixation with his hair and looks). This story really competes with Cyrano Jones, which I considered his best work. Note the past tense because we have a new number one.
 
 
Archie: Have you ever heard of the term, “For every wall there is a door”? If you haven’t it means that if you wait, keep trying, and endure, you’ll eventually breakthrough. That’s Archie in the story. He’s told he can’t do this, he’s not ready, he’s not good enough, but he just won’t quit. When his friends are in trouble he picks himself off the ground and goes back for more. He’s outclassed by the villains who have the numbers, the plan, and everything else, but Archie wins through determination and a bit of luck. You still have the traditional going gaga over the girls and being a clutz, but when things get serious, it’s believable for Archie to step up to fight back. Even most people who don’t like Archie will find him likeable in this story. He’s just a great hero. And the growth is great, Andy keeps telling he can’t and near the end when Andy tells him to let the professionals handle it now, Archie’s response: “Yeah! They’ve been doing a great job so far!” If you like Archie’s Weird Mysteries or the older stories where Archie has to step up to foil a robbery or catch a thief this Archie is for you.
 
 
 
 
The Villains: A hero is only as good as his villains and the bad guys in this story are really good. Mad Doctor Doom is great. He has a great look, he poses an actual threat to the heroes, and he’s intelligent. I love when Chester comments how C.R.U.S.H. can take over the world with the daze formula and the next panel is Mad Doctor Doom shifts his eyes.  He’s the perfect mix of goofy looking and scary.
 
Sharry the Spy Girl. I’ve seen Ruiz draw her in a few stories and I never got why he liked her so much. Well, now I do. She’s a fun character. Again, she’s intelligent and poses a threat, but she’s distinguished from Mad Doctor Doom in her playfulness (her trolling of Reggie must be seen, it’s so hilarious), she’s loyal to her fellow agents, and she does have enough grasp on morality when circumstances get out of hand that she’ll help the good guys.
 
 
The rest of the villains are fun. Crammer and Cranston are the typical goons, but they aren’t total idiots and Crammer has a fun accent. They’re not on the level of Mad Doctor Doom or Sharry, but they are at least capable and even when they blunder it benefits the villains. Chester is a good sidekick to Mad Doctor Doom…but man he kinda got creepy with the captured Betty and Veronica. I’m talking Archie Comics TMNT and MM Null level of ick. But it does help him stand out.
 
The inker, lettering, and coloring. Rich Koslowski is one of Archie’s better inkers and he really helps bring out Ruiz’s art and help give it an extra spring. Jack Morelli really steps up his game with his work especially when he colors and boldens the story. I hate when word balloons have colors around them, but here they make sense like with the security system for P.O.P. and Archie’s reaction and I like how words are enlarged and colored to show their importance like Mad Doctor Doom when his name is first mentioned and when he later goes over the name of his plan to take over the world. Tom Chu does a great job with the coloring, the colors are bright and fun, I like the tint of purple he gave the dazed characters. He made me not miss Barry Grossman and if you know me that’s an accomplishment.
 
Extras: We get an old timey story in traditional newspaper strip with Andy Andrews is a fun little story. Words from Tom DeFalco and Fernado Ruiz and art and sketches where Ruiz and what his ideas where and what changed and why.
 
 
The Bad.
 
A little explanation on Lil’ Archie and Mad Doctor Doom’s history would have helped: If you’re a new reader to Archie Comics or not familiar or a fan of Lil’ Archie you’ll probably wonder what’s up with Mad Doctor Doom not liking Archie and deeming him a threat to ruin his plan over everything else. I think a panel or two explaining and showing what has happened in the past would have benefited the readers.
 
Crammer’s accent comes and goes: Vat is up vith that? Okay, it was just two times…I gotta fill the section out somehow!!
 
Something bad about the art. Okay to be fair I should find something Ruiz did wrong… I don’t like how he made me feel about Beazley.
 
What I learned.
 
 If you twirl round ‘n’ round like Wonder Woman you can disguise yourself as anyone
  • A teenager and his friends >>>> all our government’s agencies including their secret ones
  • Tough Teddy transferred to Riverdale High.
  • All bookstores are the cover for hidden secret organizations.
  • Never hire and fund an evil scientist for any project that involves easy means to take over the world
  • Spies get all the cool toys
  • Chicken soup cures everything
  • Bad girl spies are hot
  • So that’s who the Riverdale Bulldog Mascot is!
  • Honorary Agents of P.O.P. are color coded like any teenage group of heroes.
 
 
 
 
 
This is probably the best Archie story I’ve read. I can’t think of anything that can go against it. Everything just clicks from the writing to the art to the coloring to the lettering to the inking. It’s all great. I can’t really think of any Archie story that comes close to this one. And that’s not counting the great extras. This an A+ and you should buy this story.  You won’t regret it.
 

Nicasio

Re: PTF Reviews The Man From R.I.V.E.R.D.A.L.E.
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2016, 05:27:32 AM »
Our members have a lot to remember.

DeCarlo Rules

Re: PTF Reviews The Man From R.I.V.E.R.D.A.L.E.
« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2016, 07:02:53 AM »
Our members have a lot to remember.

And even more to forget!  ;D

DeCarlo Rules

Re: PTF Reviews The Man From R.I.V.E.R.D.A.L.E.
« Reply #3 on: April 21, 2016, 07:08:15 AM »
Sharry the Spy Girl. I’ve seen Ruiz draw her in a few stories and I never got why he liked her so much.

You pretty much can't go wrong with a Tom DeFalco Archie story. I don't think I've ever read one that was as much as 'just average'. He's definitely in the top tier of Archie writers, despite not having that long a list of credits.

Sharry the Spy Girl appeared in other stories? This is news to me! Where, pray tell?

PTF

Re: PTF Reviews The Man From R.I.V.E.R.D.A.L.E.
« Reply #4 on: April 21, 2016, 08:55:40 AM »
Just in a panel like I think she was in LWA during the trial (we were all challenged to name each character) and I remember someone mentioning she made an appearance in a Betty and Veronica.

Re: PTF Reviews The Man From R.I.V.E.R.D.A.L.E.
« Reply #5 on: April 21, 2016, 12:27:56 PM »
Thanks for the nice write-up and all the kind words, PTF.


The Man From R.I.V.E.R.D.A.L.E. remains one of my all-time favorite projects that I've ever worked on and one of the works of which I am the proudest. I had a blast working on that one. This would be the very first time I ever worked with the legendary Tom DeFalco. What a delightful man! I'd been a fan of Tom's work when I was a kid reading a lot of his Marvel work like Spider-Man, the Fantastic Four, and Thor. It was a thrill to be working from one of his scripts and the experience turned out to be even better than I hoped.


Tom writes a perfect "artist's script." By that, I mean he provides just enough information in his panel descriptions that I can tell what is going on, but he still leaves me plenty of room to play and have fun. Thus I was able to go crazy with the background gags and cameos. Tom loved it! He was such a gentleman that when he saw my pages, he called me at home and left a long, very complimentary message on my answering machine. (Believe me! I listened to it over and over!) It was a very kind gesture to make and it added to the thrill of working with him. One of my favorite childhood writers called me to tell me how much he loved what I did. It was very nice of him to do that.


The collected trade is really the best way to enjoy this story. It is packed with extras including my sketches for the characters and the covers. It really is a very nice slick well-designed package.


A few behind-the-scenes notes...


1. The covers were done well in advance of the script. When I drew the initial cover sketches all I had to go by were very, very brief one to two sentence descriptions of each issue. I took the initiative and designed action-packed covers which is why Part 2 features a cover scene that doesn't appear anywhere in the story. Those ninjas I just pulled out of nowhere!


2. Since I didn't have a lot of story to go by, I designed the agents of R.I.V.E.R.D.A.L.E. uniforms that Archie is sporting on every cover without really knowing if they were going to be used or not. As it turned out, I was only able to get them in at the very end of the fourth and last part.


3. Page 5 Panel 7 of Part 1 features a cameo by the Nomad probe from Star Trek.


4. I designed the P.O.P. logo and based it on the Man From U.N.C.L.E. logo.


5. Panel 3 Page 9 of Part 1 includes cameos of Nick Fury and John Steed.


6. Norman's Taxidermy in Panel 1 Page 12 is a nod to the creepy hobby of serial killer Norman Bates from Psycho.


7. The last panel on Page 17 Part 1 is obviously a tribute to the famous "Spider-Man no more!" panel from Spider-Man. I'm pretty sure this was Tom's idea!


8. Panel 3 Page 3 in Part 2 has cameos from a number of G.I. Joes plus James Bond with his famous jetpack from Thunderball.


9. The girl in the foreground of Panel 1 Page 6 is Sian Mandrake, a student of mine at the time and the daughter of comic book artists Tom Mandrake and Jan Duursema. Sian is now an artist herself and a fellow teacher at the Kubert School.


10. Throughout the series, I was able to sprinkle in cameos of characters I created like Wendy Weatherbee, Raj Patel, and Tono!


11. The trade makes the very first time the Andy Andrews story was ever published anywhere.


Sadly, Man From R.I.V.E.R.D.A.L.E. was a moderate seller but not enough to urge Archie to revisit the idea. The trade itself was supposedly a steady seller but it's no longer in print. I used to do very well with the trades at conventions.








Re: PTF Reviews The Man From R.I.V.E.R.D.A.L.E.
« Reply #6 on: April 21, 2016, 12:29:21 PM »


Sharry the Spy Girl appeared in other stories? This is news to me! Where, pray tell?


I know she was in a few of my crowd scenes in Life With Archie.




Sadly, you'll probably never see Sharry again!






DeCarlo Rules

Re: PTF Reviews The Man From R.I.V.E.R.D.A.L.E.
« Reply #7 on: April 21, 2016, 02:06:22 PM »


Sharry the Spy Girl appeared in other stories? This is news to me! Where, pray tell?


I know she was in a few of my crowd scenes in Life With Archie.




Sadly, you'll probably never see Sharry again!


Awww...   :'(

 


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.
Live Support