collapse

* Random Image

ScrambledEgghead2
ScrambledEgghead2
Posted by: SAGG
Posted in album: SAGG

* Search


* Recent Topics

"Kindness Works!" A NEW Archie Story! by Fernando Ruiz
[January 22, 2018, 02:16:42 PM]


Adopted an orphan baby monkey by BillysBadFurDay
[January 22, 2018, 11:12:19 AM]


Days we look foward to as Archie Fans. by BettyReggie
[January 21, 2018, 11:59:03 AM]


Jughead: The Hunger by Vegan Jughead
[January 21, 2018, 11:32:19 AM]


Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[January 20, 2018, 05:49:19 PM]


What have you done today? by Archiecomicxfan215
[January 19, 2018, 07:35:01 AM]


What comics have you been reading? by PTF
[January 19, 2018, 03:02:32 AM]


What are you currently watching? by irishmoxie
[January 18, 2018, 01:23:26 PM]


Library Books That You All Read by DeCarlo Rules
[January 18, 2018, 01:07:48 AM]


Latest Hauls, what did you buy? by BettyReggie
[January 17, 2018, 09:40:37 AM]

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • Tuxedo Mark: So Madelaine goes to Starbucks, and this happens [link]
    January 23, 2018, 09:54:11 AM
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of Betty and Veronica: Vixens #2 [link]
    January 20, 2018, 05:49:45 PM
  • irishmoxie: 5 issues
    January 18, 2018, 12:18:14 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Wasn't that a digital-only series that lasted only 3 issues?
    January 18, 2018, 09:40:14 AM
  • BettyReggie: I only read the first chapter so far & I love it.
    January 18, 2018, 07:24:10 AM
  • DeCarlo Rules: @BettyReggie - so what did you think of LIFE WITH KEVIN?
    January 18, 2018, 01:08:44 AM
  • BettyReggie: Great Espoide of Riverdale tonight
    January 17, 2018, 09:51:03 PM
  • BettyReggie: The Life With Kevin Book just came.
    January 16, 2018, 04:01:39 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: @Kallell - Right. That's what I meant. The solicitations that came OUT for the months of November, December, and January... as Diamond Comics Distribution dates their catalogs. And those ACP comics digests solicited in those catalogs would indeed have shipping dates in the months of January, February, and March.  Which means ALL the issues of Archie, World of Archie, Betty and Veronica, and B & V Friends in those solicitations are JUMBO COMICS digests. Unlike those titles, Riverdale Comics Digest, Marvel Comics Digest, and Archie and Me Comics Digest haven't varied in their format from one issue to the next.
    January 15, 2018, 12:22:20 PM
  • Archie Comics Collector(Kalell): Very interesting observation DeCarlo Rules. Actually December 2017 was the last month in which there was still three Digest formats: Annual, Comics Double Digest and a Jumbo Comics Digest. As I looked through Jan, Feb and March solicits it seems that the main two formats are Comics Digest 128 pager: Archie and Me and the rest of the main Archie Digests will just be Jumbo Comics Digest 192 pagers. They seem to be doing away with the Annuals and Comics Double Digests for now.
    January 15, 2018, 11:41:08 AM
  • DeCarlo Rules: Looking back through the ACP solicitations from November, December and January, it just dawned on me that EVERY regular digest title solicted (except for Archie and Me Comics Digest, Riverdale Comics Digest, and Marvel Comics Digest) is a JUMBO COMICS Digest (192 pages). Are Jumbo Comics Digests the new permanent format? It sure looks that way.
    January 14, 2018, 03:28:01 AM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Cami! O. M. Wowza. :smitten: [link]
    January 11, 2018, 09:53:48 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Here's my review of "Last Dance!" from the final issue of the old B&V title: [link]
    January 11, 2018, 09:44:48 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Skeet Ulrich, patron saint of dad jokes: [link]
    January 11, 2018, 10:24:54 AM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Thanks. :)
    January 10, 2018, 09:28:25 AM
  • DeCarlo Rules: @ TM -- Both Archie's Funhouse and Jughead and Archie digests were cancelled at the end of last summer, Mark.
    January 10, 2018, 02:21:53 AM
  • Andrewtub: hello world
    January 10, 2018, 12:55:22 AM
  • Vegan Jughead: I think that's the one that was replaced by Archie and Me, Mark.
    January 09, 2018, 12:50:13 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Is Archie's Funhouse Double Digest cancelled? There hasn't been a new issue since September 20.
    January 09, 2018, 12:45:11 PM
  • BettyReggie: Riverdale Espoide #1 Season #2 is on now.
    January 03, 2018, 08:07:13 PM


Author Topic: Some reviews.  (Read 24561 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

DeCarlo Rules

Re: Some reviews.
« Reply #75 on: June 15, 2017, 06:49:27 AM »
JEM & THE HOLOGRAMS #24-26 – “Outragreous” – I really wanted to like this comic more than I actually did. This 3-part story was pretty slow-moving and really not much fun. I suspect that the problem here is that the author wants to treat the characters as “realistic” (one of the main problems I have with New Riverdale comics), not as just a fun, funny, or adventure-type story. It really felt like it dragged down the pace of the story because the author insists on cramming so much dialogue on every page. Things do happen, but very slowly, because the focus is not on what’s happening, it’s about the characters all talking about what’s happening – how they feel about everything that’s going on, which is way too angst-y for my taste. The characters really don’t seem like they’re having fun being in a band, instead it’s all about dealing with this problem and that. There are a couple of brief scenes where they actually perform where it looks like they might be having fun, but they’re so brief, it’s over in a page or three. I really don’t know much about the original JEM cartoon series, but I doubt it was anything like this. I’m going to guess that realism is not what people wanted in a JEM comic book, or it wouldn’t be cancelled. Unfortunately some nice art by Gisele can’t save the story from being kind of a drag. I’d like to see IDW just do a straight adaptation of the original cartoon – not updated (taking place in the ‘80s), not ‘realistic’, just a fun adventure with some comedy to it. Nothing to do with the problems of being in a band, just the fantasy of it, the glitz, the glamor, and the adventure, and crazy oddball happenings.
« Last Edit: June 15, 2017, 06:54:47 AM by DeCarlo Rules »

 


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.
Live Support