collapse

* Random Image

clothesencounter11
clothesencounter11
Posted by: daren
Posted in album: daren

* Search


* Recent Topics

What comics have you been reading? by DeCarlo Rules
[Today at 01:49:23 AM]


Library Books That You All Read by BettyReggie
[September 20, 2017, 04:46:50 PM]


Whew! by SAGG
[September 20, 2017, 02:20:10 PM]


What have you done today? by Archiecomicxfan215
[September 19, 2017, 04:41:37 PM]


Days we look foward to as Archie Fans. by BettyReggie
[September 19, 2017, 09:02:23 AM]


What are you currently watching? by DeCarlo Rules
[September 18, 2017, 02:36:39 AM]


Rick and Morty by SAGG
[September 16, 2017, 09:05:26 PM]


Latest Hauls, what did you buy? by DeCarlo Rules
[September 16, 2017, 01:09:28 PM]


Betty and Cheryl by Tuxedo Mark
[September 14, 2017, 08:04:01 PM]


Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[September 13, 2017, 08:30:24 PM]

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • Tuxedo Mark: Sabrina series in the works at The CW! [link]
    September 20, 2017, 05:09:30 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Riverdale billboard in New York: [link]
    September 19, 2017, 01:49:42 PM
  • BettyReggie: Riverdale Season 2 premieres Wednesday, October 11th at 8pm on The CW! which is 21 days away.
    September 19, 2017, 09:01:58 AM
  • Vegan Jughead: My wife used to watch him on All My Children.  He's kind of a weird choice for Mr. Lodge, but I guess no weirder than the rest of the characters!
    September 19, 2017, 07:47:21 AM
  • Tuxedo Mark: First look at Hiram: [link]
    September 18, 2017, 02:33:09 PM
  • BettyReggie: The Archie Andrew Show is on the radio right now. It's about Archie getting Veronica bubble bath for party.
    September 17, 2017, 03:22:25 AM
  • DeCarlo Rules: It's easy to tell what people are collecting by seeing what's "out of stock"... all the older Josie and Sabrina issues, B&V Summer Fun & Spectaculars (AGS and regular series).
    September 17, 2017, 12:15:34 AM
  • DeCarlo Rules: Only one Josie comic. About a dozen issues of Sabrina, a dozen issues of Veronica, a dozen Archie Giant Series issues, half-a-dozen B&V Spectaculars, 9 FCBD and HCF issues I was missing. A bunch of different #100, 200, 300 & 400 issues, and a bunch of miscellaneous stuff.
    September 17, 2017, 12:02:26 AM
  • irishmoxie: What did you get DeCarlo? Lots of Sabrina and Josie?
    September 16, 2017, 10:29:49 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Honestly, I never even noticed that before. Anyway, it's weird that the photographer is in the picture, which leads me to believe this isn't the actual publicity shot.
    September 16, 2017, 02:51:52 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: Went a little nuts today and ordered over $200 worth of Archie Comics back issues online. I'm just too impatient to wait until that stuff just happens to turn up somewhere in the bargain bins.
    September 16, 2017, 01:06:04 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: Aw, but it's just a publicity shot. They didn't replicate the most important aspect of that iconic image, which is that Betty is looking at Archie, Archie is looking at Veronica, and Veronica is looking at no one...
    September 16, 2017, 01:14:47 AM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Camila, KJ, and Lili do the iconic "three on a soda" pic: [link]
    September 15, 2017, 08:30:23 PM
  • Vegan Jughead: I wouldn't exactly call that "feeling up", perv!  LOL
    September 14, 2017, 12:27:05 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Vegan Jughead: It is! And I just noticed Betty's feeling up Veronica.
    September 14, 2017, 12:07:06 PM
  • BettyReggie: I just preordered Your Pal Archie Vol. 1 Paperback from Amazon – March 27, 2018 which is 193 days away.
    September 14, 2017, 09:30:12 AM
  • Vegan Jughead: That cover is SO HOT!
    September 14, 2017, 08:59:45 AM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Archie, Veronica, Jughead, and Betty on the cover of "Entertainment Weekly": [link]
    September 14, 2017, 08:49:50 AM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Yeah, they're all fine. Thanks for asking. :)
    September 13, 2017, 08:28:35 PM
  • steveinthecity: @Tuxedo Mark - Hope the chickens made it through unscathed.
    September 13, 2017, 03:34:59 PM


Author Topic: Some reviews.  (Read 20069 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

DeCarlo Rules

Re: Some reviews.
« Reply #75 on: June 15, 2017, 06:49:27 AM »
JEM & THE HOLOGRAMS #24-26 – “Outragreous” – I really wanted to like this comic more than I actually did. This 3-part story was pretty slow-moving and really not much fun. I suspect that the problem here is that the author wants to treat the characters as “realistic” (one of the main problems I have with New Riverdale comics), not as just a fun, funny, or adventure-type story. It really felt like it dragged down the pace of the story because the author insists on cramming so much dialogue on every page. Things do happen, but very slowly, because the focus is not on what’s happening, it’s about the characters all talking about what’s happening – how they feel about everything that’s going on, which is way too angst-y for my taste. The characters really don’t seem like they’re having fun being in a band, instead it’s all about dealing with this problem and that. There are a couple of brief scenes where they actually perform where it looks like they might be having fun, but they’re so brief, it’s over in a page or three. I really don’t know much about the original JEM cartoon series, but I doubt it was anything like this. I’m going to guess that realism is not what people wanted in a JEM comic book, or it wouldn’t be cancelled. Unfortunately some nice art by Gisele can’t save the story from being kind of a drag. I’d like to see IDW just do a straight adaptation of the original cartoon – not updated (taking place in the ‘80s), not ‘realistic’, just a fun adventure with some comedy to it. Nothing to do with the problems of being in a band, just the fantasy of it, the glitz, the glamor, and the adventure, and crazy oddball happenings.
« Last Edit: June 15, 2017, 06:54:47 AM by DeCarlo Rules »

 


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.
Live Support