collapse

* Random Image

TurnaboutTroubles4
TurnaboutTroubles4
Posted by: SAGG
Posted in album: SAGG

* Search


* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • DeCarlo Rules: JUNE Archie Comics solicitations are out! -- [link]
    May 24, 2018, 12:02:50 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Woman Scorned": [link]
    May 19, 2018, 08:03:52 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Cheryl's jacket is red, because she's Cheryl M.F. Blossom, and she can wear whatever custom-made clothes she wants, thankyouverymuch. :P
    May 17, 2018, 09:16:50 AM
  • BettyReggie: I want know why Cheryl's serpent jacket was red? Everyone else coat was black. And near the end of Espoide where were Jughead & Betty at? Was that a hotel?
    May 16, 2018, 09:41:30 PM
  • BettyReggie: I made 3,000 posts .
    May 16, 2018, 07:43:26 PM
  • BettyReggie: 21 Minutes to the season finale of Riverdale.
    May 16, 2018, 07:39:28 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of Betty and Veronica: Vixens #6: [link]
    May 11, 2018, 11:17:28 PM
  • BettyReggie: August 7th 2018 - 87 days till Season 2 of Riverdale comes out
    May 11, 2018, 03:34:05 PM
  • BettyReggie: They have the free Comic Book Days Comics on Midtown Comics. I order 7 of them.
    May 07, 2018, 01:40:00 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: That's pretty much the whole point of having an internet -- it connects you to entertainment, information, and people who would otherwise be too far away from you physically, or would involve much greater effort on your part to connect with. And although there are some advantages for comic book collectors inherent in the direct-market dedicated comic book shop system, the major BIG (obvious) DISadvantage is that only a few thousand of those shops exist, compared to the huge number of retailers who used to carry comic books along with their other products back in the days of the "newsstand distribution system".
    May 07, 2018, 03:35:40 AM
  • Tuxedo Mark: The only "local" comic shop within "reasonable" distance of my house is 18 miles away, in the next county. Yeah, no, I'll continue getting my comics digitally.
    May 06, 2018, 07:39:36 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: @Archiecomicxfan215 - FCBD comic books may be free to you, but the retailer has to PAY for those comic books he gives away for free. The publishers of the FCBD comics make no profit off them, and they're distributed to retailers by Diamond Comics for free, but they have to charge comic shop owners money for them, because paper and printing costs money. Your local comic shop owner loses a small amount of money with every FCBD comic book he gives away. Of course the whole idea behind FCBD is that sampling those free comic books will create interest in customers actually BUYing the retail versions of those FCBD comic books later on.
    May 06, 2018, 01:50:26 AM
  • BettyReggie: On Monday Midtown Comics has the free comics on their website.
    May 05, 2018, 05:11:46 PM
  • Archiecomicxfan215: I brought some comics too. Got my first Sabrina comics for my collection today
    May 05, 2018, 12:49:55 PM
  • Archiecomicxfan215: This year at the comic book store near me I was only allowed to choose 3 comics. Previous years it was 5. My boyfriends local comic book store he was allowed up to 5 comics free. Don’t know why it changed near me.
    May 05, 2018, 12:49:14 PM
  • Archiecomicxfan215: My boyfriend went to a comic book store near his house and picked me up Die Kitty Die and Riverdale
    May 05, 2018, 11:35:02 AM
  • DeCarlo Rules: Don't forget to pick up the FCBD issue of DIE KITTY DIE: I Love You to Death! by Dan & Fernando from Chapterhouse Comics! Oh, and I guess if you care about that RIVERDALE thing, you could pick up the FCBD issue where Pop Tate eavesdrops on all the conversations of his teenage customers (makes him sound a little creepy, if you ask me...) Doesn't an adult business proprietor have more important things to worry about???
    May 04, 2018, 03:48:05 PM
  • Archiecomicxfan215: Free Comic Book Day is tomorrow
    May 04, 2018, 10:15:27 AM
  • BettyReggie: I got a Riverdale Poster at 5 & Below.
    May 03, 2018, 02:03:55 PM
  • BettyReggie: Kevin's boyfriend was on Riverdale last night .
    May 03, 2018, 04:52:50 AM


Author Topic: Some reviews.  (Read 30050 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

DeCarlo Rules

Re: Some reviews.
« Reply #75 on: June 25, 2017, 12:23:25 AM »
SABRINA THE TEENAGE WITCH COMPLETE COLLECTION v1
(1962-1971) TP
  :smitten:

The short version is that it's the BEST trade paperback ACP has released yet, because it's exactly the sort of thing comic collectors want -- ALL Sabrina stories reprinted in chronological order of their original appearance. ALL the stories are credited, and the source of the original publication is noted in each case (there are a few errors that I caught). There's even a table of contents listing all the stories by title, and which page they're found on (something frustratingly lacking in most Archie Comics trade collections). The actual book design is very attractive as well. Here you get to see Sabrina's character develop over the early years in the same order readers of the time did, but in a highly focused and concentrated form. This collection is basically following the same blueprint as Marvel's Essential series, or DC Comics' Showcase Presents series: 500+ pages of comics on cheap paper, in black & white, at a bargain-basement price ($10), but the size is identical to that used for ACP's Best of Archie Comics or Archie's Favorite Comics collections.

How complete is it? ALL of Sabrina's stories (and a single cover appearance) from ARCHIE'S MADHOUSE/MADHOUSE MA-AD JOKES (before the title changed to THE MADHOUSE GLADS) are included, even the one-page and 1/2 page gags (plus you get a bonus 1/2 page gag featuring Fran the Fan and Bippy the Hippy). In a couple of those, Sabrina shared a story with other Madhouse regulars, like Ronald the Rubber Boy and Professor Transistor. ALL of Sabrina's early appearances from ARCHIE'S T.V. LAUGH-OUT (through issue #10), and issues #1 through 4 of SABRINA THE TEENAGE WITCH (all Archie Giant issues), plus the Sabrina stories from ARCHIE'S CHRISTMAS STOCKING and the very first Archie Giant Series SABRINA'S CHRISTMAS MAGIC issue (technically dated Jan. 1972). Many of those early stories have Sabrina interacting with Archie and the gang. ALL of the covers on which Sabrina appeared are also reproduced -- down to those on which Sabrina made only a cameo appearance as part of the crowd, including random issues of ARCHIE and JUGHEAD.

Don't let the black & white format put you off. It's even on cheaper, thinner paper (this applies to the cover stock as well) than previous books in the "Best of Archie Comics/Archie's Favorite Comics" series, which is a detraction, but the content of the book trumps all of those drawbacks. The fact of the matter is that once you begin reading the book, your awareness of "no color" quickly fades, because you become engrossed in the stories, and watching the evolution of Sabrina and her supporting cast unfold. I'm hoping that if people support this, it will someday get the same Deluxe Edition treatment as THE BEST OF ARCHIE COMICS - BOOK ONE. But the catch is, if no one supports this version of the book, that's never going to happen.

 


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.
Live Support