collapse

* Random Image

* Search


* Recent Topics

What are you currently watching? by DeCarlo Rules
[Today at 02:10:44 am]


What have you done today? by Archiecomicxfan215
[December 13, 2018, 10:41:01 pm]


Library Books That You All Read by BettyReggie
[December 13, 2018, 06:43:04 pm]


What comics have you been reading? by BettyReggie
[December 13, 2018, 06:41:49 pm]


Days we look foward to as Archie Fans. by BettyReggie
[December 12, 2018, 03:58:53 pm]


Features by Oldiesmann
[December 07, 2018, 11:49:38 pm]


Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[December 02, 2018, 06:13:49 pm]


Latest Hauls, what did you buy? by BettyReggie
[November 27, 2018, 10:08:42 pm]


Sears/Kmart by SAGG
[November 20, 2018, 06:47:00 am]


New Sabrina comic book miniseries (non-horror) by DeCarlo Rules
[November 16, 2018, 01:28:13 am]

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "'Ti$ the Sea$on" from Cheryl Blossom, No. 9: [link]
    December 02, 2018, 06:14:22 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Thanks. Yeah, we don't know what happened to him. Possibly a stomach problem of some kind.
    November 29, 2018, 08:36:52 am
  • rusty: Sorry for your loss.  7 years is pretty young for a cat.
    November 28, 2018, 11:49:53 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: R.I.P., my sweet, beloved cat, Misiu (2011-2018). :'(
    November 28, 2018, 08:50:46 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "The New Archies": "Making of Mr. Righteous": [link]
    November 24, 2018, 03:59:01 pm
  • Vegan Jughead: Happy Thanksgiving, y'all!
    November 22, 2018, 07:30:50 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Skateboardin' Blossom" from Cheryl Blossom #26: [link]
    November 18, 2018, 06:22:18 pm
  • Oldiesmann: RIP Stan Lee :( [link]
    November 12, 2018, 02:04:24 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Fashion Emergency" from Cherl Blossom #26: [link]
    November 11, 2018, 07:05:28 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Internet outage for nearly 24 hours, but I'm back now. :)
    November 09, 2018, 05:37:49 pm
  • rusty: That is hilarious.
    November 04, 2018, 02:36:07 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: The funniest thing I've seen all year (and maybe ever)... [link]  :2funny:
    November 04, 2018, 07:12:01 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: It's crazy that ACP hasn't reprinted those 2 issues as a double-size one-shot. Or the lead story in a TP collection of vampire stories (including "Twilite" and others).
    November 04, 2018, 03:21:35 am
  • irishmoxie: That's crazy about those Betty and Veronica issues being worth so much. They're only about 6 years old. I'm pretty sure I have copies of them.
    November 04, 2018, 01:36:00 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: On a relatated note, the real FIRST Vampironica appeared in Larry Welz' underground comic Cherry Poptart #1 [link]. That can be had right now, CGCed at 9.4, at the Buy-It-Now price of $280 on ebay. Although the book had several subsequent printings, only the first printing ($2 cover price) contains the Vampironica story. Much, much scarcer than B&V #261 & 262, but then far fewer people seem to be aware of its existence. It may not be the same Vampironica as the one that appears in her own comic book from ACP, but then you can easily make the argument that neither is the Vampironica from B&V 261-262.
    November 04, 2018, 01:15:09 am
  • rusty: Crazy.  I obviously missed that back then.
    November 03, 2018, 10:06:11 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: Yes, I mentioned this a while back somewhere around the time Vampironica #1 was first solicted or shipped. I even mentioned it to Dan Parent and told him if he still had copies he should get them CGC'ed.
    November 03, 2018, 04:33:03 pm
  • rusty: Apparently Betty and Veronica #261 and 262 (1987 series) are popular now due to Vampironica.  Somebody actually purchased a copy of #261 for $299 on ebay recently.
    November 03, 2018, 01:41:51 pm
  • archiecomicscollector: I've been watching Chilling Adventures of Sabrina on Netflix...so no Riverdale means more time in Greendale :)
    November 01, 2018, 10:17:35 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Quite easy. I don't need a new episode every single week.
    November 01, 2018, 09:05:48 pm


Author Topic: Some reviews.  (Read 35518 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

DeCarlo Rules

Re: Some reviews.
« Reply #90 on: April 13, 2018, 04:38:39 am »
ARCHIE'S BIG BOOK VOL. 3: ROCK 'N' ROLL


   Original appearance:            story title:            writer:      artist:      
   1960s:                                    
   LIFE WITH ARCHIE #72      Apr. 1968      "Labor of Love"      11 pages      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo      
   ARCHIE #185      Sept. 1968      "Music Soothes"       6 pages      Frank Doyle      Harry Lucey      
   1970s:                                    
   EVERYTHING'S ARCHIE #8      Jun. 1970      "Mister Appetite"       6 pages      Frank Doyle      Harry Lucey      
   LIFE WITH ARCHIE #120      Apr. 1972      "Reggie Mantle, Super Star"      12 pages      Dick Malmgren      Bob Bolling      
   EVERYTHING'S ARCHIE #21      Aug. 1972      "Bubble Trouble"       5 pages      George Gladir      Bill Vigoda      
   ARCHIE'S T.V. LAUGH-OUT #37      Feb. 1976      "Group Gripe"       5 pages      George Gladir      Harry Lucey      
   1980s:                                    
   EVERYTHING'S ARCHIE #111 (?)      May 1984      "Sign Off!"       5 pages      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo Jr.      
   ARCHIE'S T.V. LAUGH-OUT #96      Aug. 1984      "Rock n' Roll Is Here to Stay See"       5 pages      George Gladir      Stan Goldberg      
   ARCHIE'S T.V. LAUGH-OUT #98      Dec. 1984      SABRINA in "Monster Melody"       6 pages      George Gladir      Stan Goldberg      
   EVERYTHING'S ARCHIE #129      May 1987      The Vocal       5 pages      George Gladir      Stan Goldberg      
   EVERYTHING'S ARCHIE #135 (?)      Mar. 1988      "The Name of the Game"       6 pages      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo Jr.      
   1990s:                                    
   EVERYTHING'S ARCHIE #148      Mar. 1990      "The Fame Game"       5 pages      George Gladir      Doug Crane      
   ARCHIE & FRIENDS #16      Nov. 1995      CHUCK CLAYTON in "What's In A Name?"       5 pages      Bill Golliher      Bill Golliher      
   SABRINA THE TEENAGE WITCH (1997) #7      Nov. 1997      SABRINA in "Mr. Hoagland's Opus"       6 pages      Bill Golliher      Dan DeCarlo      
   2000s:                                    
   ARCHIE & FRIENDS #52      Dec. 2001      JOSIE in "Oh Solo Mio"      11 pages      Dan Parent      Holly Golightly      
   SABRINA THE TEENAGE WITCH (2000) #41      Mar. 2003      SABRINA in "Between a Rock and a Hard Place"       6 pages      Holly Golightly      Holly Golightly      
   ARCHIE & FRIENDS #124      Dec. 2008      "Battle of the Bands" - Part 1      22 pages      Jane Smith Fisher      Stan Goldberg      
   ARCHIE & FRIENDS #125      Jan. 2009      "Battle of the Bands" - Part 2      22 pages      Jane Smith Fisher      Stan Goldberg      
   ARCHIE & FRIENDS #134      Oct. 2009      "The Archies in New York"      12 pages      Hal Lifson      Dan Parent      
   2010s:                                    
   ARCHIE #623      Sept. 2011      "Banded Together!"      22 pages      Dan Parent      Fernando Ruiz      
   ARCHIE #625      Nov. 2011      "Send in the Clowns!"      22 pages      Alex Simmons      Dan Parent      
               THE ARCHIES' ROCKIN' WORLD TOUR!:                        
   ARCHIE #650      Jan. 2014      Part 1 - "Bollywood Love!"      20 pages      Dan Parent      Dan Parent      
   ARCHIE #651      Feb. 2014      Part 2 - "Love on the Road"      20 pages      Dan Parent      Dan Parent      
   ARCHIE #652      Mar. 2014      Part 3 - "Blunder Down Under!"      20 pages      Dan Parent      Dan Parent      
   ARCHIE #653      Apr. 2014      Part 4 - "Close to the Borderline"      20 pages      Dan Parent      Dan Parent      


Curiously, while the original dates of publication are sourced for these stories, the actual titles and issue numbers of the comic books they appeared in do not appear in the credits in this trade collection. I've tried to source those comics here (with a couple of guesses when I couldn't confirm the original appearance for certain).

All of the stories (except for three Sabrina stories, one Josie story, and one Chuck Clayton story) feature The Archies, unless noted in the story titles above. Not a bad collection overall, but one could have hoped for more classic stories from the sixties and seventies... but actually, the best stories in this collection are the most recent ones from the 2010s. "Battle of the Bands", the two-parter from ARCHIE & FRIENDS #124-125 is kind of a slight story. Not bad per se as Archies stories go, if it were a standard 5 or 6-pager... maybe even a 12-pager. But at 44 pages, it takes up far too much space in this collection that could have been devoted to better stories. Since they did reprint both "The Archies Rockin' World Tour" 4-parter, and "Banded Together!" which preceded it, both of which advance the romance story of Archie and Valerie, they probably should have reprinted the whole "Archies and Josie & the Pussycats" multi-parter that kicked off the (then-)surprising love story, so you could see the whole thing (apart from the future timeline where Archie Marries Valerie, already reprinted in the "Rock and Roll Romance" trade collection). They could definitely have left out "Oh Solo Mio" (good story though it is), since that one appeared in both last Fall's BEST OF JOSIE trade collection, and last month's B&V FRIENDS JUMBO COMICS digest, and of course, the entire "Rockin' World Tour" arc appeared in its own trade collection back in December 2014 (under the slightly modified title ARCHIE - ROCKIN' THE WORLD!) as Volume 24 of the Archie & Friends All-Stars series (on better paper, too). As an aside, the previous collection's title modification was a result of there already having been a previous volume (No. 11) in the Archie & Friends All-Stars series released back in July of 2011, entitled ARCHIE: WORLD TOUR (which collected the multipart story from ARCHIE & FRIENDS #117-120).

Not bad, but not what I was expecting. I was expecting to see reprints of all those musical guest-stars not included in previous trades, like Lady Gaga, the Veronicas, and the School Gyrls, plus the usual stories where celebrity pop stars of the day are alluded to, but not named as such. While I was slightly underwhelmed, all things considered I guess I should just be grateful they didn't waste my time by reprinting that Archies one-shot from last year, and shut up and be happy about it.
« Last Edit: April 13, 2018, 06:37:47 am by DeCarlo Rules »

 


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.
Live Support