collapse

* Random Image

BettyorVeronica18
BettyorVeronica18
Posted by: SAGG
Posted in album: SAGG

* Search


* Recent Topics

What are you currently watching? by BettyReggie
[September 19, 2018, 10:19:18 pm]


What comics have you been reading? by DeCarlo Rules
[September 19, 2018, 02:34:21 pm]


ARCHIE COMICS FOR NOVEMBER 2017 by CanScatC
[September 19, 2018, 10:53:30 am]


What have you done today? by BettyReggie
[September 18, 2018, 09:37:52 pm]


Latest Hauls, what did you buy? by DeCarlo Rules
[September 18, 2018, 11:25:10 am]


An Archie Comics timeline (2009-2018): highlights & lowlights by DeCarlo Rules
[September 16, 2018, 10:50:09 am]


Days we look foward to as Archie Fans. by BettyReggie
[September 16, 2018, 04:12:25 am]


So I bought Archie Archives Vol. 1 and ... by Terry1
[September 14, 2018, 05:58:14 pm]


Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[September 13, 2018, 07:33:58 pm]


New york comic con 2017 photos by fandemoniumnetwork
[September 12, 2018, 03:13:03 am]

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • Tuxedo Mark: Anyone ever see these B&V Friends Forever variant covers? [link]
    September 19, 2018, 10:15:05 am
  • BettyReggie: I saw the covers for Archie #701. I love Pitilli's.
    September 18, 2018, 09:27:43 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Fashion Fantabulous!" from B&V #271: [link]
    September 13, 2018, 07:34:29 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: It seems like they put extras on a disc because people expect them, or it helps drive sales, but more often than not, it seems like very little thought goes into the content. Of course there are some examples where the extras are exceptional, but usually that's not the case.
    September 10, 2018, 11:42:47 am
  • irishmoxie: I love digital movies and streaming. I usually get the Blu-ray Disc because I like to watch the extras the first time and then end up adding the digital code online or rip it and put it on the hard drive. Just much more convenient to stream it then search for the disc when I want to watch it.
    September 08, 2018, 05:29:56 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "The Breakfast Club" from Riverdale #2: [link]
    September 05, 2018, 06:28:58 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: That's some good reading. Hope they'll put out a Volume 2, and that it'll be just as nearly complete as the first one.
    September 03, 2018, 08:55:41 am
  • BettyReggie: Archie Comics Present Betty & Veronica Spectular Graphic Novel came today.
    September 02, 2018, 03:57:33 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Supply and Demand!" from World of Archie Digest #81: [link]
    September 01, 2018, 08:14:51 pm
  • zhanjiao1212: a1cb584468
    August 31, 2018, 05:33:06 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: On the other hand, maybe I should just bypass the Blu-Ray format altogether, buy a huge terabyte HD, and download everything. There's something to be said for that, in that you can get everything quicker and stacks of Blu-Ray cases aren't taking up space in your house, I guess.
    August 27, 2018, 03:19:15 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: This coming from a guy who still hasn't capitulated to the inevitable domination of Blu-Ray. It's getting to the point where I might have to relent, since I've seen some anime sets being released for the first time on Blu-Ray (no combo pak) with NO release of a DVD version.
    August 27, 2018, 03:09:15 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: I'll never get used to people not being able to wait a few days when they order stuff online. I guess maybe I could understand it IF it were something that there was no other way to see, but I assume you've already seen the episodes.  People who are that impatient usually don't even buy disc sets, they just buy it digitally or stream it.
    August 27, 2018, 03:06:17 pm
  • BettyReggie: Riverdale Season #2 just came from Amazon.
    August 27, 2018, 02:41:06 pm
  • BettyReggie: It taking too long. So I just order it from Amazon.
    August 25, 2018, 05:17:45 pm
  • BettyReggie: I cancelled Riverdale Season #2 from Target because it taking y
    August 25, 2018, 05:16:49 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: ... and often the answers to those "why" questions comes down to a very simple explanation of "because it's a funny situation".
    August 24, 2018, 05:37:39 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: The questions you ask about classic Archie (which is a cartoon on paper) are sort of "real-world logic" questions. A cartoon world, unlike the real world, creates its own rules and its own logic, nonsensical as that might be. Like Wile E. Coyote not being affected by gravity until he looks down and realizes he's run off the edge of the cliff.
    August 24, 2018, 05:33:11 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: oops. The questions you
    August 24, 2018, 05:30:35 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: Well, the questions you
    August 24, 2018, 05:30:21 pm


Author Topic: Some reviews.  (Read 33364 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

DeCarlo Rules

Re: Some reviews.
« Reply #90 on: April 13, 2018, 04:38:39 am »
ARCHIE'S BIG BOOK VOL. 3: ROCK 'N' ROLL


   Original appearance:            story title:            writer:      artist:      
   1960s:                                    
   LIFE WITH ARCHIE #72      Apr. 1968      "Labor of Love"      11 pages      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo      
   ARCHIE #185      Sept. 1968      "Music Soothes"       6 pages      Frank Doyle      Harry Lucey      
   1970s:                                    
   EVERYTHING'S ARCHIE #8      Jun. 1970      "Mister Appetite"       6 pages      Frank Doyle      Harry Lucey      
   LIFE WITH ARCHIE #120      Apr. 1972      "Reggie Mantle, Super Star"      12 pages      Dick Malmgren      Bob Bolling      
   EVERYTHING'S ARCHIE #21      Aug. 1972      "Bubble Trouble"       5 pages      George Gladir      Bill Vigoda      
   ARCHIE'S T.V. LAUGH-OUT #37      Feb. 1976      "Group Gripe"       5 pages      George Gladir      Harry Lucey      
   1980s:                                    
   EVERYTHING'S ARCHIE #111 (?)      May 1984      "Sign Off!"       5 pages      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo Jr.      
   ARCHIE'S T.V. LAUGH-OUT #96      Aug. 1984      "Rock n' Roll Is Here to Stay See"       5 pages      George Gladir      Stan Goldberg      
   ARCHIE'S T.V. LAUGH-OUT #98      Dec. 1984      SABRINA in "Monster Melody"       6 pages      George Gladir      Stan Goldberg      
   EVERYTHING'S ARCHIE #129      May 1987      The Vocal       5 pages      George Gladir      Stan Goldberg      
   EVERYTHING'S ARCHIE #135 (?)      Mar. 1988      "The Name of the Game"       6 pages      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo Jr.      
   1990s:                                    
   EVERYTHING'S ARCHIE #148      Mar. 1990      "The Fame Game"       5 pages      George Gladir      Doug Crane      
   ARCHIE & FRIENDS #16      Nov. 1995      CHUCK CLAYTON in "What's In A Name?"       5 pages      Bill Golliher      Bill Golliher      
   SABRINA THE TEENAGE WITCH (1997) #7      Nov. 1997      SABRINA in "Mr. Hoagland's Opus"       6 pages      Bill Golliher      Dan DeCarlo      
   2000s:                                    
   ARCHIE & FRIENDS #52      Dec. 2001      JOSIE in "Oh Solo Mio"      11 pages      Dan Parent      Holly Golightly      
   SABRINA THE TEENAGE WITCH (2000) #41      Mar. 2003      SABRINA in "Between a Rock and a Hard Place"       6 pages      Holly Golightly      Holly Golightly      
   ARCHIE & FRIENDS #124      Dec. 2008      "Battle of the Bands" - Part 1      22 pages      Jane Smith Fisher      Stan Goldberg      
   ARCHIE & FRIENDS #125      Jan. 2009      "Battle of the Bands" - Part 2      22 pages      Jane Smith Fisher      Stan Goldberg      
   ARCHIE & FRIENDS #134      Oct. 2009      "The Archies in New York"      12 pages      Hal Lifson      Dan Parent      
   2010s:                                    
   ARCHIE #623      Sept. 2011      "Banded Together!"      22 pages      Dan Parent      Fernando Ruiz      
   ARCHIE #625      Nov. 2011      "Send in the Clowns!"      22 pages      Alex Simmons      Dan Parent      
               THE ARCHIES' ROCKIN' WORLD TOUR!:                        
   ARCHIE #650      Jan. 2014      Part 1 - "Bollywood Love!"      20 pages      Dan Parent      Dan Parent      
   ARCHIE #651      Feb. 2014      Part 2 - "Love on the Road"      20 pages      Dan Parent      Dan Parent      
   ARCHIE #652      Mar. 2014      Part 3 - "Blunder Down Under!"      20 pages      Dan Parent      Dan Parent      
   ARCHIE #653      Apr. 2014      Part 4 - "Close to the Borderline"      20 pages      Dan Parent      Dan Parent      


Curiously, while the original dates of publication are sourced for these stories, the actual titles and issue numbers of the comic books they appeared in do not appear in the credits in this trade collection. I've tried to source those comics here (with a couple of guesses when I couldn't confirm the original appearance for certain).

All of the stories (except for three Sabrina stories, one Josie story, and one Chuck Clayton story) feature The Archies, unless noted in the story titles above. Not a bad collection overall, but one could have hoped for more classic stories from the sixties and seventies... but actually, the best stories in this collection are the most recent ones from the 2010s. "Battle of the Bands", the two-parter from ARCHIE & FRIENDS #124-125 is kind of a slight story. Not bad per se as Archies stories go, if it were a standard 5 or 6-pager... maybe even a 12-pager. But at 44 pages, it takes up far too much space in this collection that could have been devoted to better stories. Since they did reprint both "The Archies Rockin' World Tour" 4-parter, and "Banded Together!" which preceded it, both of which advance the romance story of Archie and Valerie, they probably should have reprinted the whole "Archies and Josie & the Pussycats" multi-parter that kicked off the (then-)surprising love story, so you could see the whole thing (apart from the future timeline where Archie Marries Valerie, already reprinted in the "Rock and Roll Romance" trade collection). They could definitely have left out "Oh Solo Mio" (good story though it is), since that one appeared in both last Fall's BEST OF JOSIE trade collection, and last month's B&V FRIENDS JUMBO COMICS digest, and of course, the entire "Rockin' World Tour" arc appeared in its own trade collection back in December 2014 (under the slightly modified title ARCHIE - ROCKIN' THE WORLD!) as Volume 24 of the Archie & Friends All-Stars series (on better paper, too). As an aside, the previous collection's title modification was a result of there already having been a previous volume (No. 11) in the Archie & Friends All-Stars series released back in July of 2011, entitled ARCHIE: WORLD TOUR (which collected the multipart story from ARCHIE & FRIENDS #117-120).

Not bad, but not what I was expecting. I was expecting to see reprints of all those musical guest-stars not included in previous trades, like Lady Gaga, the Veronicas, and the School Gyrls, plus the usual stories where celebrity pop stars of the day are alluded to, but not named as such. While I was slightly underwhelmed, all things considered I guess I should just be grateful they didn't waste my time by reprinting that Archies one-shot from last year, and shut up and be happy about it.
« Last Edit: April 13, 2018, 06:37:47 am by DeCarlo Rules »

 


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.
Live Support