collapse

* Search


* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • Tuxedo Mark: New Sabrina's new Instagram welcome message: [link]
    July 14, 2018, 03:29:59 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "The New Archies": "Gunk for Gold": [link]
    July 11, 2018, 11:09:16 PM
  • Vegan Jughead: Pretty sure Archie Comics, being New York based, knows someone at the Times
    July 11, 2018, 06:15:50 AM
  • ASS-P: I just find it " How things have changed " weird when comic book news breaks in The New York Times...but they hardly SELL anything! :-0 Strangeness.
    July 10, 2018, 10:42:57 AM
  • CAPalace: I'm a woman btw and I'm just so sick of the blatant anti-men thing going on in comics these days. It's not doing women any favors either. :/
    July 09, 2018, 09:05:40 PM
  • CAPalace: They're banking on Archie 700 to sell a lot because "lol a new number wow lol" and it will for the first issue but it'll just go back to the average/poor numbers it had before. And YOU KNOW with that writer on B+V it's going to turn into an anti-men, oooh girl power lol violence against men and demeaning men is feminism and fun lol lol Good luck. I'll stick to Ebay to find the DeCarlo stuff thanks.
    July 09, 2018, 09:04:54 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: I'm looking forward to the new B&V series. Personally, I think that previous B&V series by what's-his-name was way worse than anything that Rotante wrote on Vixens.
    July 09, 2018, 08:43:47 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: So, so predictable... they love to exploit NUMBERS, whether it's a single digit (1 or 0) or a triple-digit ending in 00. Good lord, I can't believe they're actually giving Jamie Rotante ANOTHER B&V series to write ruin! She is the worst I've read -- although it's a tough call, Marguerite Bennett was pretty horrible as well. Nick Spencer can actually be quite good as a writer... or pretty bad, depending on the character and the direction. He was great on ANT-MAN and SUPERIOR FOES OF SPIDER-MAN (both books that had a strong humorous subtext), and not so hot on CAPTAIN AMERICA and THE AVENGERS. And he's he new writer on (yet another) first issue of THE AMAZING SPIDER-MAN, so I wouldn't guess the ARCHIE gig will last. ACP could probably only afford to hire him for that ONE issue, #700.
    July 09, 2018, 06:00:07 PM
  • Vegan Jughead: News on new numbering for the Archie Flagship series and a new B&V series and DeCarlo Rules, you ain't gonna be into this!  And really neither am I: [link]
    July 09, 2018, 01:37:43 PM
  • Mr.Lodge: I still think 'The Married Life' was the best of the most recent and ended way too soon.
    July 06, 2018, 04:46:36 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: No "big news about the flagship ARCHIE title" could possibly rock my world, short of CLASSIC ARCHIE RETURNS!
    July 06, 2018, 01:18:04 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Sweetwater" from Riverdale One-Shot: [link]
    July 05, 2018, 08:44:20 PM
  • Vegan Jughead: ARCHIE isn't on hiatus officially. The last official word from Archie Comics is that there is "big news about the flagship ARCHIE title" coming up after the "1941" miniseries. We'll see. RIVERDALE is supposed to come back early '19 after the TV show returns.
    July 05, 2018, 06:14:32 AM
  • Mr.Lodge: Think it's time for new leadership, especially in the creative front?
    July 05, 2018, 03:09:04 AM
  • DeCarlo Rules: I guess there's still THE HUNGER and VAMPIRONICA, but they're still so new that it's hard to think of them as "ongoing".
    July 05, 2018, 12:14:16 AM
  • DeCarlo Rules: So both ARCHIE and RIVERDALE are "on hiatus"? That means ACP has no ongoing floppy comic titles. Not a good sign. Good thing they still have the digests going (knock on wood).
    July 05, 2018, 12:12:47 AM
  • Vegan Jughead: I'm sure it has been; it was a dumb concept LOL.  The RIVERDALE comic is on hiatus until at least early 2019 and I'm skeptical it will ever come back.
    July 04, 2018, 04:37:17 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Has Riverdale Digest been cancelled? There hasn't been a new issue since #7 on March 21.
    July 04, 2018, 11:52:23 AM
  • Oldiesmann: Latest round of spam has been cleaned up
    July 03, 2018, 10:03:33 AM
  • CAPalace: @Oldiesmann I think you just made the spam bots mad... They're back with a vengenance.
    July 03, 2018, 04:30:16 AM


Author Topic: Some reviews.  (Read 31556 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

DeCarlo Rules

Re: Some reviews.
« Reply #90 on: April 13, 2018, 04:38:39 AM »
ARCHIE'S BIG BOOK VOL. 3: ROCK 'N' ROLL


   Original appearance:            story title:            writer:      artist:      
   1960s:                                    
   LIFE WITH ARCHIE #72      Apr. 1968      "Labor of Love"      11 pages      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo      
   ARCHIE #185      Sept. 1968      "Music Soothes"       6 pages      Frank Doyle      Harry Lucey      
   1970s:                                    
   EVERYTHING'S ARCHIE #8      Jun. 1970      "Mister Appetite"       6 pages      Frank Doyle      Harry Lucey      
   LIFE WITH ARCHIE #120      Apr. 1972      "Reggie Mantle, Super Star"      12 pages      Dick Malmgren      Bob Bolling      
   EVERYTHING'S ARCHIE #21      Aug. 1972      "Bubble Trouble"       5 pages      George Gladir      Bill Vigoda      
   ARCHIE'S T.V. LAUGH-OUT #37      Feb. 1976      "Group Gripe"       5 pages      George Gladir      Harry Lucey      
   1980s:                                    
   EVERYTHING'S ARCHIE #111 (?)      May 1984      "Sign Off!"       5 pages      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo Jr.      
   ARCHIE'S T.V. LAUGH-OUT #96      Aug. 1984      "Rock n' Roll Is Here to Stay See"       5 pages      George Gladir      Stan Goldberg      
   ARCHIE'S T.V. LAUGH-OUT #98      Dec. 1984      SABRINA in "Monster Melody"       6 pages      George Gladir      Stan Goldberg      
   EVERYTHING'S ARCHIE #129      May 1987      The Vocal       5 pages      George Gladir      Stan Goldberg      
   EVERYTHING'S ARCHIE #135 (?)      Mar. 1988      "The Name of the Game"       6 pages      Frank Doyle      Dan DeCarlo Jr.      
   1990s:                                    
   EVERYTHING'S ARCHIE #148      Mar. 1990      "The Fame Game"       5 pages      George Gladir      Doug Crane      
   ARCHIE & FRIENDS #16      Nov. 1995      CHUCK CLAYTON in "What's In A Name?"       5 pages      Bill Golliher      Bill Golliher      
   SABRINA THE TEENAGE WITCH (1997) #7      Nov. 1997      SABRINA in "Mr. Hoagland's Opus"       6 pages      Bill Golliher      Dan DeCarlo      
   2000s:                                    
   ARCHIE & FRIENDS #52      Dec. 2001      JOSIE in "Oh Solo Mio"      11 pages      Dan Parent      Holly Golightly      
   SABRINA THE TEENAGE WITCH (2000) #41      Mar. 2003      SABRINA in "Between a Rock and a Hard Place"       6 pages      Holly Golightly      Holly Golightly      
   ARCHIE & FRIENDS #124      Dec. 2008      "Battle of the Bands" - Part 1      22 pages      Jane Smith Fisher      Stan Goldberg      
   ARCHIE & FRIENDS #125      Jan. 2009      "Battle of the Bands" - Part 2      22 pages      Jane Smith Fisher      Stan Goldberg      
   ARCHIE & FRIENDS #134      Oct. 2009      "The Archies in New York"      12 pages      Hal Lifson      Dan Parent      
   2010s:                                    
   ARCHIE #623      Sept. 2011      "Banded Together!"      22 pages      Dan Parent      Fernando Ruiz      
   ARCHIE #625      Nov. 2011      "Send in the Clowns!"      22 pages      Alex Simmons      Dan Parent      
               THE ARCHIES' ROCKIN' WORLD TOUR!:                        
   ARCHIE #650      Jan. 2014      Part 1 - "Bollywood Love!"      20 pages      Dan Parent      Dan Parent      
   ARCHIE #651      Feb. 2014      Part 2 - "Love on the Road"      20 pages      Dan Parent      Dan Parent      
   ARCHIE #652      Mar. 2014      Part 3 - "Blunder Down Under!"      20 pages      Dan Parent      Dan Parent      
   ARCHIE #653      Apr. 2014      Part 4 - "Close to the Borderline"      20 pages      Dan Parent      Dan Parent      


Curiously, while the original dates of publication are sourced for these stories, the actual titles and issue numbers of the comic books they appeared in do not appear in the credits in this trade collection. I've tried to source those comics here (with a couple of guesses when I couldn't confirm the original appearance for certain).

All of the stories (except for three Sabrina stories, one Josie story, and one Chuck Clayton story) feature The Archies, unless noted in the story titles above. Not a bad collection overall, but one could have hoped for more classic stories from the sixties and seventies... but actually, the best stories in this collection are the most recent ones from the 2010s. "Battle of the Bands", the two-parter from ARCHIE & FRIENDS #124-125 is kind of a slight story. Not bad per se as Archies stories go, if it were a standard 5 or 6-pager... maybe even a 12-pager. But at 44 pages, it takes up far too much space in this collection that could have been devoted to better stories. Since they did reprint both "The Archies Rockin' World Tour" 4-parter, and "Banded Together!" which preceded it, both of which advance the romance story of Archie and Valerie, they probably should have reprinted the whole "Archies and Josie & the Pussycats" multi-parter that kicked off the (then-)surprising love story, so you could see the whole thing (apart from the future timeline where Archie Marries Valerie, already reprinted in the "Rock and Roll Romance" trade collection). They could definitely have left out "Oh Solo Mio" (good story though it is), since that one appeared in both last Fall's BEST OF JOSIE trade collection, and last month's B&V FRIENDS JUMBO COMICS digest, and of course, the entire "Rockin' World Tour" arc appeared in its own trade collection back in December 2014 (under the slightly modified title ARCHIE - ROCKIN' THE WORLD!) as Volume 24 of the Archie & Friends All-Stars series (on better paper, too). As an aside, the previous collection's title modification was a result of there already having been a previous volume (No. 11) in the Archie & Friends All-Stars series released back in July of 2011, entitled ARCHIE: WORLD TOUR (which collected the multipart story from ARCHIE & FRIENDS #117-120).

Not bad, but not what I was expecting. I was expecting to see reprints of all those musical guest-stars not included in previous trades, like Lady Gaga, the Veronicas, and the School Gyrls, plus the usual stories where celebrity pop stars of the day are alluded to, but not named as such. While I was slightly underwhelmed, all things considered I guess I should just be grateful they didn't waste my time by reprinting that Archies one-shot from last year, and shut up and be happy about it.
« Last Edit: April 13, 2018, 06:37:47 AM by DeCarlo Rules »

 


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.
Live Support