collapse

* Random Image

* Search


* Recent Topics

Latest Hauls, what did you buy? by BettyReggie
[Today at 10:16:02 AM]


What are you currently watching? by BettyReggie
[Today at 10:13:59 AM]


What comics have you been reading? by DeCarlo Rules
[Today at 03:14:14 AM]


What have you done today? by BettyReggie
[April 24, 2018, 05:52:37 PM]


Bollywood style Archie movie in the works! by Fortunio
[April 24, 2018, 04:25:39 AM]


Perfect Trust (Sabrina the Teenage Witch, sitcom) by Fortunio
[April 24, 2018, 04:25:08 AM]


The Jughead/Veronica Feud by kingofthewatermelons
[April 22, 2018, 10:24:30 AM]


Days we look foward to as Archie Fans. by BettyReggie
[April 21, 2018, 06:26:17 AM]


Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[April 19, 2018, 10:24:59 PM]


Adopted an orphan baby monkey by BillysBadFurDay
[April 18, 2018, 02:40:14 PM]

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • BettyReggie: 2 Hours & 36 minutes till Riverdale.
    April 25, 2018, 05:24:56 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: I just took a peek at online preview pages of Superteens vs. Crusaders #2, and I'm actually starting to get pretty excited about this. Not from an Archie-centric POV, because it's not classic Archie-style... but the Mighty Crusaders are looking mighty good to me, maybe better than I've ever seen them done. I don't expect that to make any difference in sales, since practically no one else cares about those characters...  :(
    April 21, 2018, 06:57:03 AM
  • DeCarlo Rules: Ah, I was hoping for some kind of surprise. The usual ongoing titles plus TPB collections of VIXENS Vol. 1, ARCHIE'S BIG BOOK Vol. 4 (Fairy Tales), and the previously-announced debut issues of the miniseries ARCHIE MEETS BATMAN '66 and ARCHIE'S SUPERTEENS VS. MIGHTY CRUSADERS. It's nice to see a second issue of Dan Parent's BETTY & VERONICA FRIENDS FOREVER, which means that it's bi-monthly, for however long it lasts.  :smitten:
    April 21, 2018, 06:29:19 AM
  • BettyReggie: Midtown Comics has the July 2018 Solicitations.
    April 20, 2018, 05:48:51 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Hmm, according to GCDb, a story called "Family Tree Trials" in Archie #332 (11/1984) reveals Archie is distantly related to Midge!
    April 19, 2018, 11:08:53 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Fast and Loose", a 1980s Cheryl story: [link]
    April 19, 2018, 10:26:06 PM
  • CAPalace: You probably have to wait until 'Riverdale' ends, Tokyo. I think that's all they care about right now lol
    April 17, 2018, 01:39:10 PM
  • Tokyo: What are the chances of Afterlife with Archie: Betty RIP being released this year...or ever?
    April 16, 2018, 01:37:59 AM
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Extra Disastrous!": [link]
    April 12, 2018, 07:35:02 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Just Another Day!" from B&V #269: [link]
    April 11, 2018, 08:46:47 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Betty and Cheryl meet Felicity Smoak: [link]
    April 08, 2018, 09:23:18 PM
  • BettyReggie: Later Gators
    April 07, 2018, 10:22:31 PM
  • BettyReggie: Good Night Pals & Gals
    April 06, 2018, 10:26:19 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of Betty and Veronica: Vixens #5: [link]
    April 04, 2018, 10:29:22 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Just saw "Ready Player One"; it was awesome!
    April 04, 2018, 04:54:20 PM
  • BettyReggie: Good Night Pals & Gals
    April 02, 2018, 10:50:20 PM
  • BettyReggie: Awesome
    April 02, 2018, 10:46:07 PM
  • Archiecomicxfan215: Riverdale has been renewed for season 3
    April 02, 2018, 03:25:31 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Thanks. :)
    March 30, 2018, 11:37:12 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: Six issues. #6 came out the week of March 7th.
    March 30, 2018, 10:29:28 AM


Author Topic: PTF Reviews Die Kitty Die  (Read 1516 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

PTF

PTF Reviews Die Kitty Die
« on: March 30, 2016, 06:03:15 PM »
Aha! And people said I was a fool for saving everything!


PTF Reviews DIE KITTY DIE
 
Well, I’m back. Can’t say I had a lot of fun with the last series, but when you want to gouge your eyes out with an ice cream scoop, you can only go up. So let’s delve into a book you all have probably already read and commented on…because I am that guy who is always late to the party!!
 
Kitty Ravencraft is a comic book icon on the decline. Sales are down and not even the most ludicrous of publicity have garnered lasting acclaim. Leaving only one option: KILL KITTY. How do you kill a witch? Let’s find out!
 
 
The art: Ohhthankyouthankyouthankyouthankyou! I think…finally the horrible nightmares of heads with shifting noses, chins, and skeletal structure might just end! We have Dan Parent and Fernando Ruiz, so I went in thinking the art would be great, and it was wonderful. Dan Parent does a great job with the opening and Kitty Comics/Evil Corp. Ruiz did an amazing job at the comic shop and Kitty’s manor. I keep going back and finding new things to admire.
 
The writing: It’s a first issue and it does what a first issue is supposed to do: introduce the characters, start the story and point to where it will be going in future issues. And if you’re a fan of…jokes relating to a female’s frame, then you’ll be happy. I like that all the characters have their own dialogue and way of speaking. Rudy is a pervert, Ace is a moron and totally tubular dude, Skip is skuzzy and angry. The characters have their own personalities and it’s a joy to read.
 
The pacing is really well. I really like the set up for the villains: Skip is the boss, Ace is an idiot, and Monica seems to have common sense to her. So it’s a pretty good dynamic. The supporting cast is fun. Most of all Kitty is a well rounded person. She’s fun, she’s friendly, she has worries (no longer being famous, being forgotten, and mansions ain’t cheap) and is a character I’m going to root for to survive whatever comes her way. Seriously, if this ends like Drag Me To Hell, I’ll be depressed for weeks.
 
 
The lettering. Janice Chiang did a really wonderful job. Especially on the first pages with the old school effects. I liked the emphasis on the EWW when Rudy the frog wanted a kiss from Kitty and skip deciding to KILL Kitty. Dippy the Dead Kid getting his own special word balloons. And the ending with DIE, KITTY! DIE!
 
The coloring. Glen Whitmore did an amazing job with this issue. I give him major props for the opening pages. I actually pulled out my first issue of Mighty Mutaninals #1 to really respect how great a job he did with the coloring to capture the old time comic feel. He could not have done that any better. And he’s got two different artists with different styles and he does not miss a beat. And he looks like he’ll be the colorist for Super Suckers so that comic is already on good footing with me.
 
The inside references and quips: There done where you don’t have to be in the know and can just use common sense to realize how stupid these ideas are…and yet real comic companies do them (Sigh). Oh, and for future issues, if the jabs, quips, pokes at DC Comics continue and increase, I’ll be more than willing to give an automatic B. Just throwing that out there…
 
The homages to Harvey Comics: I used to have a huge ton of Harvey comics: Casper, Hot Stuff, Little Dot, Spooky (my favorite) so I really appreciate the trip down memory lane.
 
Extras: We have few gag pages for the old timey junk you’d mail off for and then be vastly disappointed when it did not live up to the hype. And awesome pin ups from Mike Rooth and Gisele Lagace along with Dan Parent and Fernando Ruiz. Also plugs to their websites and other online comics. And I love the homage to old ads in comics that looked amazing…until you realize they didn’t work at all.
 
 
 
 
The Bad
 
 
Misspellings and grammar: We got two pretty bad ones early on with “torpedos” and “missles” both on the same page. Also you had “…wasn’t ‘a’ very clear.” I consider these pretty big no-no’s with comics. I learned to read mainly from comics and read comics aloud to myself to improve my speech, so this really bothers me. Although it is nice knowing there is a worse spellcheck than mine. Like now how spellcheck is saying spellcheck is—I can grammatically use it as one word or two or with a hyphen you stupid piece of!!!—er, um, yeah, moving on.
 
Who’s that guy? The first issue did a great job introducing us to the protagonist, the antagonists, supporting cast, future friends/allies…but who was the fat guy with the blond hair and five ‘o’clock shade? I’m assuming he’s a reoccurring supporting cast member. I’ll just call him Kevin Smith until I have conformation.
 
 
 
Things I’ve learned.
 
 
 That Rudy and my cousin both do things with Barbie dolls that worry me.
  • Dippy The Dead Kid is much more Spooky than he is Casper.
  • Zombies make everything better.
  • Hello Kitty Comics might not have been for younger children.
  • Freaky Delivery is the only way to go.
  • Ending comic with an “X” makes it cooler.
  • Killing a living being is much better than investing in better ideas and smarter marketing.
  • Skip prefers the Rob Liefield method for achieving financial success in the comic book industry.
  • I can buy a nuclear missile AND lazer-x-specs for less than ten dollars! Wowie!
  • Breasts jokes are the best jokes.
 
 
Yeah, this was an amazing issue, the art is great, the writing is very good, the lettering, the coloring, and the extra art is nice. But there is a major problem with the spelling and grammar that I can’t overlook, so instead of an A+, I’ve got to give it a B+. But I’m hoping that won’t be a problem for the rest of the series. I highly recommend this book. And so far it’s the best book I’ve read this month.
 
Next up is Super Suckers issue 1! Is it all bite like a vampire or bark like a sissy werewolf? Find out!
 

 


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.
Live Support