collapse

* Random Image

B&C_copy
B&C_copy
Posted by: Tuxedo Mark
Posted in album: Cheryl Blossom

* Search


* Recent Topics

What comics have you been reading? by DeCarlo Rules
[September 25, 2018, 05:14:57 pm]


What have you done today? by Archiecomicxfan215
[September 25, 2018, 02:28:25 am]


What are you currently watching? by BettyReggie
[September 24, 2018, 10:49:04 pm]


My thoughts on the upcoming Archie 1941 miniseries taking the main series place by Terry1
[September 24, 2018, 04:25:27 pm]


Xinyu 130 Class Enameled Copper Wire Supplier by copperwirexinyu
[September 24, 2018, 02:56:02 am]


ARCHIE COMICS FOR NOVEMBER 2017 by CanScatC
[September 23, 2018, 08:47:54 pm]


Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[September 23, 2018, 05:34:14 pm]


Library Books That You All Read by BettyReggie
[September 23, 2018, 12:02:16 pm]


What is Archie doing for NYCC 2018? by Terry1
[September 23, 2018, 10:50:48 am]


Days we look foward to as Archie Fans. by BettyReggie
[September 20, 2018, 04:00:34 pm]

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • Tuxedo Mark: My reviews of all four stories from betty and Veronica #270: [link] [link] [link] [link]
    September 23, 2018, 05:36:07 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: Presumably with an ongoing B&V series, they'd want to keep it nominally in continuity with the ongoing ARCHIE title.
    September 22, 2018, 07:03:48 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: Oh, I hadn't noticed that the story is "Senior Year", so that explains it. It's a one-off story arc, just like "Freshman Year". They're not going to keep them as seniors permanently, or have them graduate and go on to college in an ongoing series.
    September 22, 2018, 06:59:24 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: Probably just a space-filler while they look for a better writer than Jaime Rotante. I hope.
    September 22, 2018, 12:08:34 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: Wait a minute. Betty and Veronica is only a five-issue miniseries?
    September 21, 2018, 08:31:21 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: Archie Comic solicitations for October 2018: [link]
    September 21, 2018, 05:36:35 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: Check out Stadium Comics' entire line of Archie Comics RE variant covers here: [link] All are homages to famous Marvel or DC cover images.
    September 20, 2018, 09:05:41 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: Those are RE (retailer exclusive) variants available only from Stadium Comics. Here's another cool one they have, a variant of ARCHIE 1941 #1 [link]
    September 20, 2018, 09:01:16 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: Anyone ever see these B&V Friends Forever variant covers? [link]
    September 19, 2018, 10:15:05 am
  • BettyReggie: I saw the covers for Archie #701. I love Pitilli's.
    September 18, 2018, 09:27:43 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Fashion Fantabulous!" from B&V #271: [link]
    September 13, 2018, 07:34:29 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: It seems like they put extras on a disc because people expect them, or it helps drive sales, but more often than not, it seems like very little thought goes into the content. Of course there are some examples where the extras are exceptional, but usually that's not the case.
    September 10, 2018, 11:42:47 am
  • irishmoxie: I love digital movies and streaming. I usually get the Blu-ray Disc because I like to watch the extras the first time and then end up adding the digital code online or rip it and put it on the hard drive. Just much more convenient to stream it then search for the disc when I want to watch it.
    September 08, 2018, 05:29:56 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "The Breakfast Club" from Riverdale #2: [link]
    September 05, 2018, 06:28:58 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: That's some good reading. Hope they'll put out a Volume 2, and that it'll be just as nearly complete as the first one.
    September 03, 2018, 08:55:41 am
  • BettyReggie: Archie Comics Present Betty & Veronica Spectular Graphic Novel came today.
    September 02, 2018, 03:57:33 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Supply and Demand!" from World of Archie Digest #81: [link]
    September 01, 2018, 08:14:51 pm
  • zhanjiao1212: a1cb584468
    August 31, 2018, 05:33:06 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: On the other hand, maybe I should just bypass the Blu-Ray format altogether, buy a huge terabyte HD, and download everything. There's something to be said for that, in that you can get everything quicker and stacks of Blu-Ray cases aren't taking up space in your house, I guess.
    August 27, 2018, 03:19:15 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: This coming from a guy who still hasn't capitulated to the inevitable domination of Blu-Ray. It's getting to the point where I might have to relent, since I've seen some anime sets being released for the first time on Blu-Ray (no combo pak) with NO release of a DVD version.
    August 27, 2018, 03:09:15 pm


Author Topic: PTF Reviews Super Suckers # 2.1  (Read 1752 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

PTF

PTF Reviews Super Suckers # 2.1
« on: March 31, 2016, 07:41:08 pm »
 Hey, the board is still here! We haven’t lost an entire two days worth of posts and forums! We’re on our way up. And yeah, I save most of my old reviews so if anyone wants I can repost them. But before that…
 
 
 
Back to Dixon College as our favorite vampires must deal with parents, ex boyfriends…and how hard it is to put make-up on without a reflection. And what danger soon approaches? TUNE IN!
 
 
The Good
 
The writing: Well, this is a sitcomic and we’ve certainly got that right as we’ve got: Jess and Stewart visiting Jess’s parents, an old boyfriend, and Jess caught sucking blood from Stewart in a rather interpretive setting. Kelly needs a vampire mirror and has dragged Vera into that plot, big dumb jock likes girl with attitude. So yeah. Sitcom worthy.
 
The humor is still great. I like Kelly running around looking like a hobo clown as she freaks out about it. Jess is the queen of one-liners. “This chili dog has no peckers” made me actually laugh out loud. Vera and Stewart faking as a couple and the reactions from the dumber members of RHO Sorority house is funny. So again, good stuff from Henry Darin and new co writer Robin Taylor. And who is Robin Taylor?…wait, The Penguin? I think Google Search might have failed me…
 
Art: Again it’s another solid effort from fictional person Jeff Shultz. The facial reactions are great. Everything is clean, crisp and looks nice. Every character has their own stand out feature. Even Jess’s mom with her long pointy noise. The builds and physics help with the new characters as we have the fat Mr. Seaver and the muscle for brains Trevor being introduced.
 
Modern day vampire problems: I like Kelly’s plot with her not being able to apply make-up because…she’s a vampire and has no reflection. So she ends up looking like a hobo clown and it only gets worse when Vera helps her out. Again it’s a new little take on being a vampire in today’s world and a character having to adjust and laughing at the results. Plus the vampire lens. Seriously, in the cartoons and movies where the character wears sun block, fine, I get that—but there eyes would still melt, so kudos for this idea.
 
 
Mr. Seaver: Hey, we got an actual antagonist. And he’s a sad sack: lost his fiancée to a vampire named Luigi (the better Mario Brother), bad breath, lives with his mom, and the government refuses to fund his million dollar vampire vacuum. So yeah, the way the universe beats up on this poor guy is extremely funny. And I always like a villain who has a valid reason for what he is doing.
 
 
Jess’s family and pre-college life: I just like their reaction to Stewart. If there’s one thing this book does really well is make sure you understand that Stewart is a loser. A likeable loser, but still a loser you’re not ashamed to laugh at. Anyway the mom and dad are really witty so yeah, I can see where Jess gets it from. And it looks like an ex-boyfriend will be in the mix. So we’re about to have the weirdest, distorted triangle ever since I left my protractor at home during a trig exam.
 
Sit-Commercials: We get two new ones with Quit Zit and Lab Mice. Quit Zit is my favorite with Flawfinder and especially the ending. Lab Mice is a soap opera about mice adjusting to life as nonspecimens. And while on the subject of soap operas…am I the only one who has a relative constantly call me to talk about them like I actually watch them? Is it just me.
 
Glen Whitmore: Again the guy is just great.
 
 
The Bad
 
Trevor. Yep, we’ve got the token meathead roommate who is into workouts and is super dumb. It’s just like yesterday when I was watching Weird Science on the USA network…wishing Duckman would come on. I’ve just seen this type of guy over and over and so far he hasn’t done anything to break from the mold. I mean, his letter was funny, but overall, well, this is .1 so there’s time to sway my opinion of him until then I’m going to put him here.
 
Where’s the wrapper: There was no candy wrapper on the bed! That was extremely vital to the entire story! Jeff Shultz you have failed us!
 
Repeat sit-commercial. The Sleep With Me was from last issue.
 
That stupid hat Adam is wearing: He isn’t even in the story save for the front page intro and I already know I’m not going to like him because of that stupid hat. Look like a hobbit with that stupid hat.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
What I learned:
 
 Vampires have contact lens for daytime.
  • Bookshelves are involved in 6 out of 10 house hold fatalities.
  • Don’t let your girl around a vampire named Luigi.
  • Stewart’s family lived in a Winnebago.
  • Nobody appreciates a good evil laugh.
  • Make-up is much more complicated than I thought.
  • Never let Mimi from the Drew Cary Show do your make-up
  • Big Toe photos are romantic
  • The government is not dealing with the vampire crisis like it should! Where is our wall??!
  • Me and the Flawfinder have the exact same taste it clothes it’s almost like—hey!!
 
Anyway, this was a good issue. I enjoy all the plot threads the characters are in…except Trevor. He just doesn’t seem that interesting to me because right now I’ve seen this character over and over and could cut and paste them. But it’s his first appearance so maybe he can become interesting. And really that—AND THE CANDY WRAPPER!!!—are my only complaints. And I’m really interesting to see the trainwreck when all the plot lines are pulled together in a wonderful, tangled mess. I give this issue a B+.  This issue is setting things up nicely for the next issues which I’ll review SAME TIME, SAME BAT CHANNEL.


And for anyone who wants me to stop ending my Super Sucker reviews with that line...no. :)
« Last Edit: May 03, 2016, 05:35:18 pm by PTF »

Beardsley

Re: PTF Reviews Super Suckers # 2.1
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2018, 03:45:12 am »
I want to access news from my friends. And other members.

DeCarlo Rules

Re: PTF Reviews Super Suckers # 2.1
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2018, 04:53:00 am »
Web-bots AGAIN?  >:(

Charlotte

Re: PTF Reviews Super Suckers # 2.1
« Reply #3 on: May 10, 2018, 04:24:16 am »
Part of this has made us think that is correct, then we have to make things even more interesting.

 


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.
Live Support