collapse

* Random Image

thO0V77JG9
thO0V77JG9
Posted by: BettyReggie
Posted in album: BettyReggie favorites

* Search


* Recent Topics

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • BettyReggie: Good night
    July 22, 2017, 09:48:17 PM
  • Vegan Jughead: That season 2 preview is AWESOME!  this is gonna rock.
    July 22, 2017, 05:51:09 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: *Season
    July 22, 2017, 04:40:38 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Seaspm 2 preview: [link]
    July 22, 2017, 04:40:29 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Cute pic of the gang at Pop's: [link]
    July 22, 2017, 03:17:55 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: Now if IDW could only get the Capcom license for Mega Man...  :(
    July 21, 2017, 11:57:03 PM
  • rusty: Sonic is moving to IDW.   [link]
    July 21, 2017, 07:49:21 PM
  • CAPalace: Sega posted on their Sonic Twitter. They pulled the Sonic license from Archie Comics and are going to do their own Sonic comic (or something) [link] Wow :(
    July 19, 2017, 08:53:28 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: Having the comic solicited by DC is ultimately to ACP's benefit, since it's likely to result in higher preorders from comic shop retailers than if it were the other way around.
    July 19, 2017, 08:52:54 AM
  • rusty: They only show the Amanda Conner cover.  Here are the DC solicits.   [link]
    July 19, 2017, 08:39:49 AM
  • BettyReggie: I can't find them. Can you post pictures of both Comics, because Adam Hughes is doing a cover too.
    July 19, 2017, 08:26:11 AM
  • rusty: Harley and Ivy Meet Betty and Veronica #1 is in the DC Solicitations instead of the Archie Solicitations.
    July 18, 2017, 09:52:16 PM
  • BettyReggie: i wrote to Mike Pellerito on twitter How come no B & v #4 & Harley & Ivy Meet Betty & Veronica #1 in The October 2017 Solicitations?
    July 18, 2017, 02:17:43 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: I know WHY they're doing those floppy comics the way they are. It's largely wasted effort though, because the Archie characters just don't have a history for most of those backbone consumers that make up the comic shop audience. They're largely raised on superhero comics and nothing but. What I'm suggesting is that they're concentrating their efforts in the wrong place, because they're never going to convert a significant enough share of the direct market into ACP readers.
    July 18, 2017, 02:07:10 AM
  • Vegan Jughead: Yes, DCR, I've read a lot of your thoughts about Archie's challenges with the comic shops and I agree with you.  My friend having just owned and sold a comic shop, the entire comic shop format is in danger.  His business was tough.  I think that's why, as much as you're not a fan, you see things like RIVERDALE.  These companies have to use their characters every way they get a chance.  Selling books isn't enough to sustain them anymore.
    July 17, 2017, 09:09:41 AM
  • DeCarlo Rules: If there's anything comic book retailers and collectors don't like, it's (A) non-standard size comics that don't fit their normal racking/bins, bagging, boarding, boxing and filing system; and (B) reprints, unless they're of consecutive issues of the same title and/or consecutive chapters of a continued story. Also non-standard genres, like anything cartoony or comical. I think that pretty much covers the uphill slope ACP has going against it with comic shops.
    July 17, 2017, 03:37:47 AM
  • DeCarlo Rules: It's not meant for the comic shop market. I didn't get the point of LIFE WITH ARCHIE in magazine format, since the content was clearly aimed at the audience for floppy comics. I could see if they had offered both formats to try to hedge their bets, but ACP's failure to offer that series in floppy format is baffling. And digests and magazines don't necessarily have the same audience either. I prefer the magazine-size reprints.
    July 17, 2017, 02:57:59 AM
  • Vegan Jughead: From what I've seen though, almost everything in those Super Specials has recently been published in digests.  I don't get the point.
    July 16, 2017, 08:06:05 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: @VJ - Still better than any 2 and half floppy comics they've been publishing (and more pages of story, too) by my reckoning. Looks like you and I will just be spending our respective $10 in different ways. Maybe I'd feel differently if the new stories ACP is publishing were equal in entertainment value to me to the reprints.
    July 16, 2017, 05:00:59 PM
  • Vegan Jughead: I really don't care if it gets published.  It's one of the biggest ripoffs they sell.  10 bucks for blown up art on cheap paper.
    July 16, 2017, 06:56:30 AM


Author Topic: Some reviews.  (Read 16947 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

SAGG

Re: Some reviews.
« Reply #75 on: May 21, 2017, 01:05:12 AM »
Couldn't remember! Did you know the "search" function no longer works? I was going to find the thread and mention the reprinted story there, but...  :(
Nah. I really never have used it...  :P

DeCarlo Rules

Re: Some reviews.
« Reply #76 on: June 15, 2017, 06:49:27 AM »
JEM & THE HOLOGRAMS #24-26 – “Outragreous” – I really wanted to like this comic more than I actually did. This 3-part story was pretty slow-moving and really not much fun. I suspect that the problem here is that the author wants to treat the characters as “realistic” (one of the main problems I have with New Riverdale comics), not as just a fun, funny, or adventure-type story. It really felt like it dragged down the pace of the story because the author insists on cramming so much dialogue on every page. Things do happen, but very slowly, because the focus is not on what’s happening, it’s about the characters all talking about what’s happening – how they feel about everything that’s going on, which is way too angst-y for my taste. The characters really don’t seem like they’re having fun being in a band, instead it’s all about dealing with this problem and that. There are a couple of brief scenes where they actually perform where it looks like they might be having fun, but they’re so brief, it’s over in a page or three. I really don’t know much about the original JEM cartoon series, but I doubt it was anything like this. I’m going to guess that realism is not what people wanted in a JEM comic book, or it wouldn’t be cancelled. Unfortunately some nice art by Gisele can’t save the story from being kind of a drag. I’d like to see IDW just do a straight adaptation of the original cartoon – not updated (taking place in the ‘80s), not ‘realistic’, just a fun adventure with some comedy to it. Nothing to do with the problems of being in a band, just the fantasy of it, the glitz, the glamor, and the adventure, and crazy oddball happenings.
« Last Edit: June 15, 2017, 06:54:47 AM by DeCarlo Rules »

irishmoxie

Re: Some reviews.
« Reply #77 on: June 15, 2017, 08:11:51 PM »
I’d like to see IDW just do a straight adaptation of the original cartoon – not updated (taking place in the ‘80s), not ‘realistic’, just a fun adventure with some comedy to it. Nothing to do with the problems of being in a band, just the fantasy of it, the glitz, the glamor, and the adventure, and crazy oddball happenings.


I'd like to see this too. I enjoyed the Jem comic series more for the gorgeous art. They're relaunching the comic series as a mini-series and making it more superhero-y without Gisele of course.

DeCarlo Rules

Re: Some reviews.
« Reply #78 on: June 25, 2017, 12:23:25 AM »
SABRINA THE TEENAGE WITCH COMPLETE COLLECTION v1
(1962-1971) TP
  :smitten:

The short version is that it's the BEST trade paperback ACP has released yet, because it's exactly the sort of thing comic collectors want -- ALL Sabrina stories reprinted in chronological order of their original appearance. ALL the stories are credited, and the source of the original publication is noted in each case (there are a few errors that I caught). There's even a table of contents listing all the stories by title, and which page they're found on (something frustratingly lacking in most Archie Comics trade collections). The actual book design is very attractive as well. Here you get to see Sabrina's character develop over the early years in the same order readers of the time did, but in a highly focused and concentrated form. This collection is basically following the same blueprint as Marvel's Essential series, or DC Comics' Showcase Presents series: 500+ pages of comics on cheap paper, in black & white, at a bargain-basement price ($10), but the size is identical to that used for ACP's Best of Archie Comics or Archie's Favorite Comics collections.

How complete is it? ALL of Sabrina's stories (and a single cover appearance) from ARCHIE'S MADHOUSE/MADHOUSE MA-AD JOKES (before the title changed to THE MADHOUSE GLADS) are included, even the one-page and 1/2 page gags (plus you get a bonus 1/2 page gag featuring Fran the Fan and Bippy the Hippy). In a couple of those, Sabrina shared a story with other Madhouse regulars, like Ronald the Rubber Boy and Professor Transistor. ALL of Sabrina's early appearances from ARCHIE'S T.V. LAUGH-OUT (through issue #10), and issues #1 through 4 of SABRINA THE TEENAGE WITCH (all Archie Giant issues), plus the Sabrina stories from ARCHIE'S CHRISTMAS STOCKING and the very first Archie Giant Series SABRINA'S CHRISTMAS MAGIC issue (technically dated Jan. 1972). Many of those early stories have Sabrina interacting with Archie and the gang. ALL of the covers on which Sabrina appeared are also reproduced -- down to those on which Sabrina made only a cameo appearance as part of the crowd, including random issues of ARCHIE and JUGHEAD.

Don't let the black & white format put you off. It's even on cheaper, thinner paper (this applies to the cover stock as well) than previous books in the "Best of Archie Comics/Archie's Favorite Comics" series, which is a detraction, but the content of the book trumps all of those drawbacks. The fact of the matter is that once you begin reading the book, your awareness of "no color" quickly fades, because you become engrossed in the stories, and watching the evolution of Sabrina and her supporting cast unfold. I'm hoping that if people support this, it will someday get the same Deluxe Edition treatment as THE BEST OF ARCHIE COMICS - BOOK ONE. But the catch is, if no one supports this version of the book, that's never going to happen.

Re: Some reviews.
« Reply #79 on: June 26, 2017, 02:51:09 AM »
OK. You've got me convinced. I had previously said that I would not buy the Sabrina book because it wasn't in color. I have just changed my mind. I will buy it.

DeCarlo Rules

Re: Some reviews.
« Reply #80 on: July 04, 2017, 09:15:22 AM »
MILLENIUM: THE GIRL WITH THE DRAGON TATTOO #1 - This was a 62-page story for $5.99, and it was interesting. Quite involved, actually, and I was surprised to find despite the length that it's only the beginning of a longer story (how much longer, I have no idea). I haven't previously read any of TGWTDT stories, and while the story itself was good, it didn't seem like a very good introduction to the character. It seems whoever wrote the comic assumed any reader picking this up would already be familiar with the character. The story in this issue mainly follows another character -- a writer who's just been framed for defamation of character in trying to expose a grafting politician, as HE takes on the role of investigating a seemingly unrelated mystery involving a decade-old missing person case. He takes on the cold case as a means of obtaining some information on the man who's targeting him for revenge, trying to destroy his reputation as an investigative journalist. Lisbeth (TGWTDT) is involved with troubles of her own, seemingly unrelated to the writer's case. She'd just been involved in a privately-commissioned investigation into his character and background (she works for a security consulting firm, so she's sort of a modern private detective). It's a bit hard to relate to the punkish, pierced-&-inked Lisbeth, a character carrying around plenty of pent-up angst (possibly with good reason; we learn in the story that she'd been in and out of foster homes from age 13 through 18, but it's now 11 years later). Probably not coincidentally, the case that Mikhal (the writer) is investigating involves the disappearance (or possible murder, it hasn't been established) of a girl 11 years ago, whose uncle hires Mikhal to look for leads. The uncle is one of several relatives that are part of a rich and powerful business family with all sorts of internecine grudges, all of whom live on a private island (in Sweden, where the story takes place). Most of the story here in this issue focuses on Mikhal, not Lisbeth. While it seems likely that the two characters will eventually become reconnected, how exactly isn't clear. I sort of wish this first issue had filled in more of Lisbeth's basic details of how she got involved in the private investigation business, and what she'd done up to this point, rather than assume all the readers of this comic had read the previous novels by Steig Larson or seen the movie (which I haven't). Some of the covers seem to convey the idea that there's something more to Lisbeth's dragon tattoo than just a tattoo, but that may just be artistic license, or it may turn out to be something mystical (although the story seems very straightforwardly 'real-world' crime fiction up to this point). It's a little slow-moving in parts, but the plot seems well-constructed and easy to follow, so far.
« Last Edit: July 04, 2017, 09:21:11 AM by DeCarlo Rules »

Re: Some reviews.
« Reply #81 on: July 19, 2017, 03:04:56 AM »
FANdemonium Network brings you the latest comic and book reviews and news online.  Visit us For the best comic reviews opinions and podcasts about comic...

DeCarlo Rules

Re: Some reviews.
« Reply #82 on: July 19, 2017, 07:54:48 AM »
FANdemonium Network brings you the latest comic and book reviews and news online.  Visit us For the best comic reviews opinions and podcasts about comic...

From the same Networm that brought you "Pernicious Web-bots"!

DeCarlo Rules

Re: Some reviews.
« Reply #83 on: July 21, 2017, 02:51:44 PM »
I’d like to see IDW just do a straight adaptation of the original cartoon – not updated (taking place in the ‘80s), not ‘realistic’, just a fun adventure with some comedy to it. Nothing to do with the problems of being in a band, just the fantasy of it, the glitz, the glamor, and the adventure, and crazy oddball happenings.


I'd like to see this too. I enjoyed the Jem comic series more for the gorgeous art. They're relaunching the comic series as a mini-series and making it more superhero-y without Gisele of course.

I'll admit to complete ignorance of how the "hologramic" (or superhero) aspects of JEM integrate with the band concept. I never did see the orignal cartoon. Only Jerrica/JEM has a dual/secret identity, and the rest of the band members seem to get along fine without any "holo"powered alter-egos. I got as much as Jerrica is sort of "non-glamorous" (still a cute girl, though) in her real identity, and JEM has sort of a fantasy image rockstar look, but couldn't she just wear makeup, a wig, and a costume? (Hey, it worked for KISS!) Or does she have some sort of crippling stage-fright phobia about performing in front of people that she can only overcome by "hiding" behind the JEM facade I.D.? It was never really clear to me. The only other possibility that occurred to me (which doesn't really seem to make sense for a lead character) is that transforming into her holographic JEM identity gives her some kind of singing or musical abilities that she doesn't have "in real life". I never saw any evidence of her sneaking off to "battle crime" or otherwise fight the evil forces of rotten music or anything.
« Last Edit: July 21, 2017, 03:14:47 PM by DeCarlo Rules »

 


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.
Live Support