collapse

* Random Image

* Search


* Recent Topics

New Sabrina comic book miniseries (non-horror) by DeCarlo Rules
[Today at 01:28:13 am]


What comics have you been reading? by rusty
[November 15, 2018, 12:59:56 am]


What are you currently watching? by BettyReggie
[November 14, 2018, 03:39:33 pm]


Days we look foward to as Archie Fans. by BettyReggie
[November 14, 2018, 03:37:27 pm]


Library Books That You All Read by BettyReggie
[November 14, 2018, 03:33:32 pm]


Stan Lee has died by DeCarlo Rules
[November 13, 2018, 11:34:58 am]


Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[November 11, 2018, 07:04:36 pm]


Sears/Kmart by DeCarlo Rules
[November 11, 2018, 03:48:37 am]


Features by Oldiesmann
[November 10, 2018, 10:21:28 pm]


WARNING about Palladous the freelance writing company by BillysBadFurDay
[October 26, 2018, 04:58:52 am]

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • Oldiesmann: RIP Stan Lee :( [link]
    November 12, 2018, 02:04:24 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Fashion Emergency" from Cherl Blossom #26: [link]
    November 11, 2018, 07:05:28 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Internet outage for nearly 24 hours, but I'm back now. :)
    November 09, 2018, 05:37:49 pm
  • rusty: That is hilarious.
    November 04, 2018, 02:36:07 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: The funniest thing I've seen all year (and maybe ever)... [link]  :2funny:
    November 04, 2018, 07:12:01 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: It's crazy that ACP hasn't reprinted those 2 issues as a double-size one-shot. Or the lead story in a TP collection of vampire stories (including "Twilite" and others).
    November 04, 2018, 03:21:35 am
  • irishmoxie: That's crazy about those Betty and Veronica issues being worth so much. They're only about 6 years old. I'm pretty sure I have copies of them.
    November 04, 2018, 01:36:00 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: On a relatated note, the real FIRST Vampironica appeared in Larry Welz' underground comic Cherry Poptart #1 [link]. That can be had right now, CGCed at 9.4, at the Buy-It-Now price of $280 on ebay. Although the book had several subsequent printings, only the first printing ($2 cover price) contains the Vampironica story. Much, much scarcer than B&V #261 & 262, but then far fewer people seem to be aware of its existence. It may not be the same Vampironica as the one that appears in her own comic book from ACP, but then you can easily make the argument that neither is the Vampironica from B&V 261-262.
    November 04, 2018, 01:15:09 am
  • rusty: Crazy.  I obviously missed that back then.
    November 03, 2018, 10:06:11 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: Yes, I mentioned this a while back somewhere around the time Vampironica #1 was first solicted or shipped. I even mentioned it to Dan Parent and told him if he still had copies he should get them CGC'ed.
    November 03, 2018, 04:33:03 pm
  • rusty: Apparently Betty and Veronica #261 and 262 (1987 series) are popular now due to Vampironica.  Somebody actually purchased a copy of #261 for $299 on ebay recently.
    November 03, 2018, 01:41:51 pm
  • archiecomicscollector: I've been watching Chilling Adventures of Sabrina on Netflix...so no Riverdale means more time in Greendale :)
    November 01, 2018, 10:17:35 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Quite easy. I don't need a new episode every single week.
    November 01, 2018, 09:05:48 pm
  • BettyReggie: How did everyone survive with no Riverdale last Wednesday?
    November 01, 2018, 03:56:28 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My reviews of the Cheryl stories Psyc-Out [link] Take the Mummy and Run! [link] and A Midsummer's Magic [link]
    October 31, 2018, 10:15:29 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Oh, and there's no "The" in the title.
    October 30, 2018, 10:52:11 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Just on Netflix for now.
    October 30, 2018, 10:51:44 pm
  • BettyReggie: I can't find The Chilling Adventures Of Sabrina on Netflix. Is it just streaming or is it in discs YOU can rent?
    October 30, 2018, 02:17:31 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: LOL! Nice! A bit too pricey, though: [link]
    October 30, 2018, 01:44:46 pm
  • Oldiesmann: Site is fixed now. Security certificate expired.
    October 24, 2018, 10:23:54 pm


Author Topic: PTF Review Super Suckers 2.2  (Read 7880 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

PTF

PTF Review Super Suckers 2.2
« on: May 05, 2016, 02:09:06 pm »


Discovered something funny. Okay, I’m using Office 2003 because…well, I’m both cheap and/or poor. And the spellcheck (I kid you not it says “spellcheck” is incorrect) is pretty horrible. And I’ve found the spellcheck on the message board much better. And it is…except that it counts “Shultz” as incorrect and instead changes it to “Schultz”.  So once again, any mistake I might have every made in past reviews is someone else’s fault. But enough explaining my mistakes away, we’ve got a review to get to!
 
Things are coming together as Kelly is losing her mind, Jess’s family reacts to Stewart, an ex-love returns, new love is blooming, and a case of mistaken identity are in this issue of Super Suckers  “Mirror, Mirror”.
 
 
 
 
The Good:
 
 Kelly. She’s one of the funniest things in this issue because she is still looking like a drunk rodeo clown…and now she hasn’t been sleeping so she’s even more out there then normal. She goes around the campus dressed in her night clothes and even tries to turn into a bat. I got a lot of laughs from her this issue. Especially her attempted vampire transformation reaction. 
 
 Jess. It’s nice to get to know her family and some of her backstory. While sarcastic and a bit stand offish she does love her parents and doesn’t want to disappoint them. She had a boyfriend who she still hasn’t gotten over. And its fun putting the only sane character of the main cast into scenarios she has to deal with: parents think Stewart is her boyfriend to thinking he’s her drug supplier. She’s my favorite character in the series, so the more chaos the better. Plus she did the aside glance to the readers I love when Shultz did it for Betty and Veronica so bonus points.
 
 The writing. Again it’s a great job by Darin Henry. The humor is on point. And I like the pacing of the story. You have all the characters separated and now they’re slowly coming back together. Like a Shakespeare play. Except with more vampires and a smell guy.  The best has to be Jess’s parents as they react more and more negatively to Stewart. And Stewart is the wonderful amount of big ego that when the universe picks on him, you can chuckle without worrying about his feelings. And I’ve got to admit, Trevor and his reaction to “Jess’ gift” was great. And again the sit-commercials were great. This issue really captures the sitcom vibe that the series is gunning for.
 
 
 The art. Jeff Shultz is again doing a great job. It’s kind of weird, but I think my favorite work of his is Vera because of how much manic energy he puts into her. Kelly is a fun mess to look at. So yeah, once again another great job. And Lonnie Milsap, Scott Ball and Josef Rubeinstein not only would make a great attorney firm, but do a great job with their work in the sit-commercials. The “Mating Season” was in issue one already, but I like it and I see repeat commercials a lot so I’ll consider it being clever and allow it.
 
Color and Lettering. Once again Glen Whitmore knocks it out of the park and just can make anything work. And the lettering is fun in the sit-commercials and well placed in the main story. The best combination for both would have to be the last panel in Jess’s dream sequence.
 
 
 
 
 
The bad:
 
The extra scene. I know it’s an extra scene and it technically isn’t part of the story, but it’s in the issue and part of the purchase and I didn’t like it at all. A pretty bad version of the “Who’s on first” type name joke that didn’t really work for me. There was some fun bits, like Stewart wondering who the two thugs were in the crowd, but the name joke went on to long and made me groan out loud. And just give Consuela an accent instead of just a caption telling me read her with a Spanish accent. I’m not super picky. Just have her say “Si” instead of “yes” and I’m content.
 
Adam. We really don’t know much about him or why Jess likes him. All I know is he’s a bland nice guy and wears a stupid hobbit hat. But with so much going on with Kelly being nuts, Stewart being a jerk, Jess and her family thinking she’s in trouble, and the crazy guy who wants to kill Vera…not much time to devote to him. So it’s understandable, but should still be noted. Again he’s in the Trevor territory where I need to see where he goes. But he goes in the bad because of the stupid hobbit hat.
 
 
What I learned from what I read.
 

  • Lack of sleep and no make up mirror make certain people go crazy.
  • Betty Cooper graduated from Riverdale High and enrolled in Dixon College.
  • That hobbit hat is stupid
  • Bloodsicles don’t taste good.
  • When an angry vampire tells you to “Get your nerdy *%B@ back here right now!!” …you probably might want to comply.
  • Fly By Knight is much better than Western Airlines.
  • I guess vampires can’t turn into bats.
  • Stewart needs to take a shower.
  • Jess has really good parents who love her. Sniff sniff. It’s nice to see a family care.
  • What a schlemiel is…which I am most definitely am not despite what an ex-girlfriend might have said!
 
 
So yeah, it was another great issue. My one complaint is the extra scene. And I can see why that was left out and put to Hardrive Heaven only to have risen like Jon Snow. Unfortunately I didn’t like it and since it’s included I have to count it. But everything else is great. You should definitely pick this book up. It’s a fun series with great writing, amazing art. I highly recommend it.
 
Grade A-
 
And until next time…actually, I had to pay five hundred bucks for a new water well tank so…um, until the next several months when I have the money to buy the next issue, see you then for Super Suckers 2.3!! SAME TIME, SAME BAT CHANNEL!
 
« Last Edit: May 05, 2016, 02:12:11 pm by PTF »

irishmoxie

Re: PTF Review Super Suckers 2.2
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2016, 08:27:57 pm »
I want to reread all these before the next part comes out.

BettyReggie

Re: PTF Review Super Suckers 2.2
« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2016, 09:07:05 pm »
I saw it on Amazon, it's good. I wish it was real comic not just digital.

irishmoxie

Re: PTF Review Super Suckers 2.2
« Reply #3 on: May 05, 2016, 09:26:24 pm »
I saw it on Amazon, it's good. I wish it was real comic not just digital.


Did you read it digitally? Part 2.3 is out now.

PTF

Re: PTF Review Super Suckers 2.2
« Reply #4 on: May 05, 2016, 09:55:37 pm »
I'm pretty sure something was mentioned about there being a print version eventually.

BettyReggie

Re: PTF Review Super Suckers 2.2
« Reply #5 on: May 05, 2016, 10:37:17 pm »
If it's digital I hope the Google Play Store has it.

Sitcomics

Re: PTF Review Super Suckers 2.2
« Reply #6 on: May 14, 2016, 04:11:22 am »
Print version of SS 2 (with only one cover and no deleted scene) is at the printer and issues 1 & 2 should be available to buy at Sitcomics.net by mid-June.  Theyre in our unique, 68 page Binge Book format which means all three parts in one meaty package.



Jeff and I are hard at work on issue 3.3 and it's shaping up to be our best issue yet, and PTF, send in a letter and you might get it printed in issue 3.1.  Free Super 'Suckers sticker in it for everyone who sends in a printable letter.


Thanks very much for reading, everybody.  It really means a lot.  :smitten:

daren

Re: PTF Review Super Suckers 2.2
« Reply #7 on: May 14, 2016, 10:03:10 pm »
This last issue was awesome (again!)


Jeff Shultz's parody of the Archie main five in their famous pose:



DeCarlo Rules

Re: PTF Review Super Suckers 2.2
« Reply #8 on: May 15, 2016, 01:28:01 am »
This last issue was awesome (again!)


Jeff Shultz's parody of the Archie main five in their famous pose:




Which is what parallel counterpart of which?  I didn't see that at all.  I guess Stewart's a little bit of an Archie/Jughead mashup and Kelly's sort of a Melody/? mashup, but I didn't see any attempt to satirize the Archie main cast there in any way.

irishmoxie

Re: PTF Review Super Suckers 2.2
« Reply #9 on: May 15, 2016, 02:54:41 pm »
This last issue was awesome (again!)


Jeff Shultz's parody of the Archie main five in their famous pose:




Which is what parallel counterpart of which?  I didn't see that at all.  I guess Stewart's a little bit of an Archie/Jughead mashup and Kelly's sort of a Melody/? mashup, but I didn't see any attempt to satirize the Archie main cast there in any way.

It's the pose of 2 people fighting over one person. Like Betty and Veronica fighting over Archie.

DeCarlo Rules

Re: PTF Review Super Suckers 2.2
« Reply #10 on: May 15, 2016, 06:22:01 pm »
This last issue was awesome (again!)


Jeff Shultz's parody of the Archie main five in their famous pose:




Which is what parallel counterpart of which?  I didn't see that at all.  I guess Stewart's a little bit of an Archie/Jughead mashup and Kelly's sort of a Melody/? mashup, but I didn't see any attempt to satirize the Archie main cast there in any way.

It's the pose of 2 people fighting over one person. Like Betty and Veronica fighting over Archie.


It's hard for me to recognize. It looks like four people fighting over two people (Kelly and Jess). Or maybe it's Stewart, Vera and Kelly versus Adam and Trevor, fighting over Jess. At any rate, it's a group fight with so many people involved. Maybe Sitcomics just invented the "Love Hexagon"?

BettyReggie

Re: PTF Review Super Suckers 2.2
« Reply #11 on: May 15, 2016, 09:51:26 pm »
Stewart & Adam look cute. Does this comic take place in RiverDale?

PTF

Re: PTF Review Super Suckers 2.2
« Reply #12 on: May 15, 2016, 11:27:10 pm »
It takes place in Pennsylvania. Home of giant cracked bells, angry bird fans who pelt Santa Claus with snowballs, and where all cheese steaks are manufactured. :)

DeCarlo Rules

Re: PTF Review Super Suckers 2.2
« Reply #13 on: May 16, 2016, 01:31:07 am »
Stewart & Adam look cute. Does this comic take place in RiverDale?

No, they can't use Riverdale. It's published by Sitcomics, not Archie Comics, and Riverdale is undoubtedly trademarked by ACP (and the CW).

DeCarlo Rules

Re: PTF Review Super Suckers 2.2
« Reply #14 on: May 16, 2016, 01:32:49 am »
It takes place in Pennsylvania. Home of giant cracked bells, angry bird fans who pelt Santa Claus with snowballs, and where all cheese steaks are manufactured. :)

I can't remember the name of the college. I think everything in the first issue seemed to take place on or near the campus. Didn't realize what state it was (but haven't read #2 yet).

 


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.
Live Support