collapse

* Random Image

IfTheShoeGivesYouFits3
IfTheShoeGivesYouFits3
Posted by: SAGG
Posted in album: SAGG

* Search


* Recent Topics

How many of each type of continuity came out in the last few years by DeCarlo Rules
[Today at 01:55:29 am]


What comics have you been reading? by Vegan Jughead
[August 17, 2018, 03:52:48 pm]


adidas Ultra Boost Clima Solar Yellow is coming next month by blair2019
[August 14, 2018, 03:18:01 am]


North American comics sales 2011-2016 by Welchhardy
[August 14, 2018, 02:57:04 am]


Maps of Riverdale? by Welchhardy
[August 14, 2018, 02:56:51 am]


What have you done today? by Archiecomicxfan215
[August 13, 2018, 08:38:56 pm]


Archie and Me in A Walk a Hallway in Someone Else's Shoes. by PTF
[August 12, 2018, 01:57:58 pm]


Reggie in Let's Play by PTF
[August 12, 2018, 01:35:08 pm]


What are you currently watching? by rusty
[August 12, 2018, 08:48:18 am]


Days we look foward to as Archie Fans. by BettyReggie
[August 10, 2018, 04:14:54 pm]

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • DeCarlo Rules: My review of BETTY & VERONICA SPECTACULAR VOL 01 TP: [link]
    August 17, 2018, 01:56:12 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: GISÈLE LAGACÉ has a new series coming out from Image Comics in October, EXORSISTERS. [link]  :)
    August 13, 2018, 12:59:31 am
  • Archiecomicxfan215: Im still here but been busy with work.
    August 12, 2018, 09:17:16 am
  • BettyReggie: Where is everyone?
    August 11, 2018, 04:26:15 pm
  • BettyReggie: I still have not recieved Riverdale Season # 2. It was supposed to come on 8/7/18
    August 10, 2018, 04:16:23 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "The New Archies": "Jughead's Millions": [link]
    August 09, 2018, 09:02:27 pm
  • Vegan Jughead: Good theory.  The other reason is Thomas Pitilli sucks.  I thought most of the stories in that comic were really, really good. I wrote to Archie saying please change the artist.  Of course they didn't answer.
    August 09, 2018, 12:38:23 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: I have a theory about why the Riverdale comic didn't sell well, despite the obvious success of the show, and why it doesn't seem to have improved the sales of ARCHIE, either. Why buy a cow when you can get the milk for free? I can only think of a few rare exceptions where the success of a TV series or movie increased comic sales in any significant way (THE WALKING DEAD). Mostly people don't seem to want to go out of their way or make any effort to be entertained, they just want it to be right there and available.
    August 09, 2018, 01:58:01 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: Riverdale comic officially cancelled, to be relaunched: [link]
    August 08, 2018, 10:54:38 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Fall from Grace" from Riverdale One-Shot: [link]
    August 01, 2018, 09:41:55 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Here's a fictional press release that was made up for Riverdale High's production of "Carrie: The Musical": [link]
    August 01, 2018, 09:30:52 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: DeCarlo Rules: Yeah, I saw that novel listed on Amazon. Definitely gonna get it.
    July 30, 2018, 12:14:33 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Been offline since Friday night due to computer problems. Thankfully, it was just a bad RAM stick.
    July 30, 2018, 12:14:09 pm
  • Fernando Ruiz: And of course... Don't miss out on the Die Kitty Die Cathouse of Horror Halloween Special!
    July 30, 2018, 10:48:17 am
  • Fernando Ruiz: PLUS plus... I've done the art on the eight page back up story in the Bettie Page Halloween Special!
    July 30, 2018, 10:47:34 am
  • Fernando Ruiz: Plus, I'll be doing the art on the eight page back-up.
    July 30, 2018, 10:47:01 am
  • Fernando Ruiz: In addition to the artwork, Dan and I are also writing the main twenty page story in the Elvira Halloween Special!
    July 30, 2018, 10:46:42 am
  • Fernando Ruiz: !
    July 30, 2018, 10:45:56 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: Serious fans of the Riverdale TV series might find this book of interest... [link]
    July 29, 2018, 06:08:48 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: Correction! Dan Parent & Fernando Ruiz provided the story & artwork for Dynamite's ELVIRA MISTRESS OF THE DARK HALLOWEEN SPECIAL [link] solicited for October 24th release.
    July 29, 2018, 01:54:33 am


Author Topic: PTF Reviews Super Suckers # 2.1  (Read 1657 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

PTF

PTF Reviews Super Suckers # 2.1
« on: March 31, 2016, 07:41:08 pm »
 Hey, the board is still here! We haven’t lost an entire two days worth of posts and forums! We’re on our way up. And yeah, I save most of my old reviews so if anyone wants I can repost them. But before that…
 
 
 
Back to Dixon College as our favorite vampires must deal with parents, ex boyfriends…and how hard it is to put make-up on without a reflection. And what danger soon approaches? TUNE IN!
 
 
The Good
 
The writing: Well, this is a sitcomic and we’ve certainly got that right as we’ve got: Jess and Stewart visiting Jess’s parents, an old boyfriend, and Jess caught sucking blood from Stewart in a rather interpretive setting. Kelly needs a vampire mirror and has dragged Vera into that plot, big dumb jock likes girl with attitude. So yeah. Sitcom worthy.
 
The humor is still great. I like Kelly running around looking like a hobo clown as she freaks out about it. Jess is the queen of one-liners. “This chili dog has no peckers” made me actually laugh out loud. Vera and Stewart faking as a couple and the reactions from the dumber members of RHO Sorority house is funny. So again, good stuff from Henry Darin and new co writer Robin Taylor. And who is Robin Taylor?…wait, The Penguin? I think Google Search might have failed me…
 
Art: Again it’s another solid effort from fictional person Jeff Shultz. The facial reactions are great. Everything is clean, crisp and looks nice. Every character has their own stand out feature. Even Jess’s mom with her long pointy noise. The builds and physics help with the new characters as we have the fat Mr. Seaver and the muscle for brains Trevor being introduced.
 
Modern day vampire problems: I like Kelly’s plot with her not being able to apply make-up because…she’s a vampire and has no reflection. So she ends up looking like a hobo clown and it only gets worse when Vera helps her out. Again it’s a new little take on being a vampire in today’s world and a character having to adjust and laughing at the results. Plus the vampire lens. Seriously, in the cartoons and movies where the character wears sun block, fine, I get that—but there eyes would still melt, so kudos for this idea.
 
 
Mr. Seaver: Hey, we got an actual antagonist. And he’s a sad sack: lost his fiancée to a vampire named Luigi (the better Mario Brother), bad breath, lives with his mom, and the government refuses to fund his million dollar vampire vacuum. So yeah, the way the universe beats up on this poor guy is extremely funny. And I always like a villain who has a valid reason for what he is doing.
 
 
Jess’s family and pre-college life: I just like their reaction to Stewart. If there’s one thing this book does really well is make sure you understand that Stewart is a loser. A likeable loser, but still a loser you’re not ashamed to laugh at. Anyway the mom and dad are really witty so yeah, I can see where Jess gets it from. And it looks like an ex-boyfriend will be in the mix. So we’re about to have the weirdest, distorted triangle ever since I left my protractor at home during a trig exam.
 
Sit-Commercials: We get two new ones with Quit Zit and Lab Mice. Quit Zit is my favorite with Flawfinder and especially the ending. Lab Mice is a soap opera about mice adjusting to life as nonspecimens. And while on the subject of soap operas…am I the only one who has a relative constantly call me to talk about them like I actually watch them? Is it just me.
 
Glen Whitmore: Again the guy is just great.
 
 
The Bad
 
Trevor. Yep, we’ve got the token meathead roommate who is into workouts and is super dumb. It’s just like yesterday when I was watching Weird Science on the USA network…wishing Duckman would come on. I’ve just seen this type of guy over and over and so far he hasn’t done anything to break from the mold. I mean, his letter was funny, but overall, well, this is .1 so there’s time to sway my opinion of him until then I’m going to put him here.
 
Where’s the wrapper: There was no candy wrapper on the bed! That was extremely vital to the entire story! Jeff Shultz you have failed us!
 
Repeat sit-commercial. The Sleep With Me was from last issue.
 
That stupid hat Adam is wearing: He isn’t even in the story save for the front page intro and I already know I’m not going to like him because of that stupid hat. Look like a hobbit with that stupid hat.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
What I learned:
 
 Vampires have contact lens for daytime.
  • Bookshelves are involved in 6 out of 10 house hold fatalities.
  • Don’t let your girl around a vampire named Luigi.
  • Stewart’s family lived in a Winnebago.
  • Nobody appreciates a good evil laugh.
  • Make-up is much more complicated than I thought.
  • Never let Mimi from the Drew Cary Show do your make-up
  • Big Toe photos are romantic
  • The government is not dealing with the vampire crisis like it should! Where is our wall??!
  • Me and the Flawfinder have the exact same taste it clothes it’s almost like—hey!!
 
Anyway, this was a good issue. I enjoy all the plot threads the characters are in…except Trevor. He just doesn’t seem that interesting to me because right now I’ve seen this character over and over and could cut and paste them. But it’s his first appearance so maybe he can become interesting. And really that—AND THE CANDY WRAPPER!!!—are my only complaints. And I’m really interesting to see the trainwreck when all the plot lines are pulled together in a wonderful, tangled mess. I give this issue a B+.  This issue is setting things up nicely for the next issues which I’ll review SAME TIME, SAME BAT CHANNEL.


And for anyone who wants me to stop ending my Super Sucker reviews with that line...no. :)
« Last Edit: May 03, 2016, 05:35:18 pm by PTF »

Beardsley

Re: PTF Reviews Super Suckers # 2.1
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2018, 03:45:12 am »
I want to access news from my friends. And other members.

DeCarlo Rules

Re: PTF Reviews Super Suckers # 2.1
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2018, 04:53:00 am »
Web-bots AGAIN?  >:(

Charlotte

Re: PTF Reviews Super Suckers # 2.1
« Reply #3 on: May 10, 2018, 04:24:16 am »
Part of this has made us think that is correct, then we have to make things even more interesting.

 


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.
Live Support