• Welcome to Archie Comics Fan Forum. Please login or sign up.
 
May 23, 2019, 11:34:14 pm

News:

We're back! Unfortunately all data was lost. Please re-register to continue posting!


collapse

Random Image

I'llBeSeeingYou5
I'llBeSeeingYou5
Posted by: SAGG
Posted in album: SAGG

Search


Recent Topics

Re: Betty & Veronica Switcheroo Scans 2.0 by Hutch2208
[Today at 01:15:40 pm]


Re: Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[May 20, 2019, 07:48:15 pm]


Re: Prince Harry and Meghan's Baby's Name... by DeCarlo Rules
[May 17, 2019, 06:49:55 pm]


Re: What comics have you been reading? by rusty
[May 15, 2019, 07:49:11 pm]


Re: Scarlet is Back in an All New Story: "FLOWER FEET!" by Captain Jetpack
[May 13, 2019, 07:19:23 am]


Archie & Me in Lunch Crunch by PTF
[April 28, 2019, 12:58:45 pm]


Re: Howdy! by Captain Jetpack
[April 25, 2019, 07:18:17 am]


Re: ARCHIE COMICS FOR JULY 2019 by Fernando Ruiz
[April 25, 2019, 12:50:45 am]


Re: Jugheads new boots by Good Ole Samm
[April 18, 2019, 08:21:21 pm]


Re: Continuities that Riverdale has surpassed by Tuxedo Mark
[April 18, 2019, 04:18:10 pm]

Shoutbox

  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Which is Rich", a 1980s Cheryl story from Archie, No. 323: [link]
    May 20, 2019, 07:49:01 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Totally awesome that Cheryl came to Betty's rescue.
    May 16, 2019, 11:20:40 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: I had to wait until this morning to watch it.
    May 16, 2019, 11:20:06 am
  • archiecomicscollector: Did you watch Riverdale's season finale tonight? Season 4 is expected to air in October.
    May 15, 2019, 10:06:41 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "The Fears of a Clown" from Archie & Friends, No. 98: [link]
    May 14, 2019, 10:48:15 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: And a collage: [link]
    May 09, 2019, 08:41:23 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: Official pic: [link]
    May 09, 2019, 08:36:13 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: Katy Keene ordered to series! Congrats! :)
    May 09, 2019, 08:29:32 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: Internet and phone were knocked out for a few days. Just came back up.
    May 08, 2019, 11:57:36 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Lord of the Games" from Archie DD #297: [link]
    May 04, 2019, 08:50:04 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Double Date" from World of Archie Jumbo Comics Digest #88: [link]
    April 28, 2019, 01:02:44 pm
  • Oldiesmann: Haven't had a chance to look into that yet, but we haven't lost anything as there are still posts here from well before April 15th. I'll try to look into it further later this week and see if I can figure out what the issue is.
    April 22, 2019, 01:04:01 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Spring" from Betty and Veronica, No. 4: [link]
    April 21, 2019, 04:09:18 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: ... and now there are four topics listed over in Recent Topics. Maybe somehow we just lost everything less recent than April 15, which is the oldest new post to the Recent Topics listed.
    April 19, 2019, 01:47:10 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: Last time I looked at Recent Topics it was only two showing, but now it's three. Well, if that trend continues, I guess the problem will eventually fix itself.
    April 18, 2019, 02:23:15 pm
  • Oldiesmann: I'm not sure what's going on with the most recent topics thing. I'll look into that when I get a chance
    April 16, 2019, 10:50:38 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Taking a Tumble" from B&V #263: [link]
    April 15, 2019, 02:52:06 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Only the two mosr recent topics show up in the sidebar.
    April 15, 2019, 02:50:22 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: Now if you could only get some ### pattern overlaid on the orange, it would be perfect!  ;D
    April 15, 2019, 12:40:25 am
  • rusty: I like the orange more than the blue
    April 13, 2019, 11:14:47 pm

PTF Reviews Super Suckers # 2.1

Started by PTF, March 31, 2016, 07:41:08 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

PTF

March 31, 2016, 07:41:08 pm Last Edit: May 03, 2016, 05:35:18 pm by PTF
 Hey, the board is still here! We haven't lost an entire two days worth of posts and forums! We're on our way up. And yeah, I save most of my old reviews so if anyone wants I can repost them. But before that...



Back to Dixon College as our favorite vampires must deal with parents, ex boyfriends...and how hard it is to put make-up on without a reflection. And what danger soon approaches? TUNE IN!


The Good

The writing: Well, this is a sitcomic and we've certainly got that right as we've got: Jess and Stewart visiting Jess's parents, an old boyfriend, and Jess caught sucking blood from Stewart in a rather interpretive setting. Kelly needs a vampire mirror and has dragged Vera into that plot, big dumb jock likes girl with attitude. So yeah. Sitcom worthy.

The humor is still great. I like Kelly running around looking like a hobo clown as she freaks out about it. Jess is the queen of one-liners. "This chili dog has no peckers" made me actually laugh out loud. Vera and Stewart faking as a couple and the reactions from the dumber members of RHO Sorority house is funny. So again, good stuff from Henry Darin and new co writer Robin Taylor. And who is Robin Taylor?...wait, The Penguin? I think Google Search might have failed me...

Art: Again it's another solid effort from fictional person Jeff Shultz. The facial reactions are great. Everything is clean, crisp and looks nice. Every character has their own stand out feature. Even Jess's mom with her long pointy noise. The builds and physics help with the new characters as we have the fat Mr. Seaver and the muscle for brains Trevor being introduced.

Modern day vampire problems: I like Kelly's plot with her not being able to apply make-up because...she's a vampire and has no reflection. So she ends up looking like a hobo clown and it only gets worse when Vera helps her out. Again it's a new little take on being a vampire in today's world and a character having to adjust and laughing at the results. Plus the vampire lens. Seriously, in the cartoons and movies where the character wears sun block, fine, I get that--but there eyes would still melt, so kudos for this idea.


Mr. Seaver: Hey, we got an actual antagonist. And he's a sad sack: lost his fiancée to a vampire named Luigi (the better Mario Brother), bad breath, lives with his mom, and the government refuses to fund his million dollar vampire vacuum. So yeah, the way the universe beats up on this poor guy is extremely funny. And I always like a villain who has a valid reason for what he is doing.


Jess's family and pre-college life: I just like their reaction to Stewart. If there's one thing this book does really well is make sure you understand that Stewart is a loser. A likeable loser, but still a loser you're not ashamed to laugh at. Anyway the mom and dad are really witty so yeah, I can see where Jess gets it from. And it looks like an ex-boyfriend will be in the mix. So we're about to have the weirdest, distorted triangle ever since I left my protractor at home during a trig exam.

Sit-Commercials: We get two new ones with Quit Zit and Lab Mice. Quit Zit is my favorite with Flawfinder and especially the ending. Lab Mice is a soap opera about mice adjusting to life as nonspecimens. And while on the subject of soap operas...am I the only one who has a relative constantly call me to talk about them like I actually watch them? Is it just me.

Glen Whitmore: Again the guy is just great.


The Bad

Trevor. Yep, we've got the token meathead roommate who is into workouts and is super dumb. It's just like yesterday when I was watching Weird Science on the USA network...wishing Duckman would come on. I've just seen this type of guy over and over and so far he hasn't done anything to break from the mold. I mean, his letter was funny, but overall, well, this is .1 so there's time to sway my opinion of him until then I'm going to put him here.

Where's the wrapper: There was no candy wrapper on the bed! That was extremely vital to the entire story! Jeff Shultz you have failed us!

Repeat sit-commercial. The Sleep With Me was from last issue.

That stupid hat Adam is wearing: He isn't even in the story save for the front page intro and I already know I'm not going to like him because of that stupid hat. Look like a hobbit with that stupid hat.









What I learned:

Vampires have contact lens for daytime.

       
  • Bookshelves are involved in 6 out of 10 house hold fatalities.

  •    
  • Don't let your girl around a vampire named Luigi.

  •    
  • Stewart's family lived in a Winnebago.

  •    
  • Nobody appreciates a good evil laugh.

  •    
  • Make-up is much more complicated than I thought.

  •    
  • Never let Mimi from the Drew Cary Show do your make-up

  •    
  • Big Toe photos are romantic

  •    
  • The government is not dealing with the vampire crisis like it should! Where is our wall??!

  •    
  • Me and the Flawfinder have the exact same taste it clothes it's almost like--hey!!


Anyway, this was a good issue. I enjoy all the plot threads the characters are in...except Trevor. He just doesn't seem that interesting to me because right now I've seen this character over and over and could cut and paste them. But it's his first appearance so maybe he can become interesting. And really that--AND THE CANDY WRAPPER!!!--are my only complaints. And I'm really interesting to see the trainwreck when all the plot lines are pulled together in a wonderful, tangled mess. I give this issue a B+.  This issue is setting things up nicely for the next issues which I'll review SAME TIME, SAME BAT CHANNEL.


And for anyone who wants me to stop ending my Super Sucker reviews with that line...no. :)

Beardsley

I want to access news from my friends. And other members.

DeCarlo Rules


Charlotte

Part of this has made us think that is correct, then we have to make things even more interesting.


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.