News:

We're back! Unfortunately all data was lost. Please re-register to continue posting!

Main Menu
Welcome to Archie Comics Fan Forum. Please login or sign up.

December 06, 2022, 09:33:07 PM

Login with username, password and session length

Recent Topics

Shoutbox

Dec 03 2022 4:01pm
Tuxedo Mark: My review of "C'est La Ski" from Cheryl Blossom #30: https://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com/2022/12/03/comics-cest-la-ski/

Nov 30 2022 2:01pm
Tuxedo Mark: Archie is offering free Holiday Hijinx digital exclusives weekly. You can even download the pages. Here's the first one: https://archiecomics.com/FTP/Press/PR/Archie-Holiday-Hijinks-Part-1-of-6-November-2022/

Nov 29 2022 3:06pm
Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Case Of The High Grade Hacker" from Archie Jumbo Comics Digest #333: https://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com/2022/11/29/comics-case-of-the-high-grade-hacker/

Nov 15 2022 5:28pm
Tuxedo Mark: My review of "The Dating Game: Viewer's Choice" from Cheryl Blossom #29: https://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com/2022/11/15/comics-the-dating-game-viewers-choice/

Nov 10 2022 5:33pm
Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Behind the 8-Ball" from Cheryl Blossom #29: https://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com/2022/11/10/comics-behind-the-8-ball/

Nov 08 2022 5:09pm
Tuxedo Mark: My review of "To Catch a Falling Star" from Cheryl Blossom #29: https://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com/2022/11/08/comics-to-catch-a-falling-star/

Oct 31 2022 7:11pm
Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Identity Crisis" from Cheryl Blossom #27: https://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com/2022/10/31/comics-identity-crisis/

Oct 30 2022 11:23pm
Tuxedo Mark: My review of "The Dating Game" from Cheryl Blossom #27: https://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com/2022/10/30/comics-the-dating-game/

PTF Reviews Telepathetic #1

Started by PTF, July 17, 2018, 12:46:24 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

PTF

 Got a PM from the Sitcomics creator wanting me to review the first issue of his other three series, which are still downloadable from free on the Sitcomics official website. And I decided why not, since I love the inflated sense of self esteem critiquing the hard work of others brings.

I know what you guys are thinking? "PTF, how do we know you weren't bought off to give good reviews like all the other online reviewers?" Listen here, I have pride! I will be my usual fair and impartial self throughout this and all other reviews!

But on an unrelated note before I begin the standard intro—K.C. Undercover is the greatest Disney show ever. Much better than Jessie. The only thing that could possibly rival  K.C. Undercover is Shake It Up. But only from 2012 to 2013.

Now that that's out of the way---

For four years, ninth graders Ernie and Marsha have tried to develop telepathic powers. And now—they have. Will Ernie get the girl? Will Marsha help Ernie cheat on tests? It's a whole new world that's open as we delve into...

TELEPATHETIC ISSUE ONE.



The Good.

The story. This promoted as a "for all ages." And it definitely fits the bill. I wouldn't have a problem with any kid reading this. And the story is fun: two best friends want to develop super powers and finally get one: telepathy. The first issue sets up their lives, both are only the lower social order at school, even below band. It's a real quick read, but it's a fun read. It does most of what a first issue should, introduce the characters, grasp the theme of the series, and the direction it's going. Special note is the subtle foreshadowing and the ending. Awesome.

The characters: Well, we only get to know two of the four main characters (if going by the introduction page) but it's good.

Dirk is the easy going, seemingly confident, eccentric kid who pines for the most beautiful girl in school, but she doesn't take him seriously. And you really root for the guy. While he is a little mischievous, he's a nice kid. And we get some real depth to him. He doesn't have a great relationship with his father (who makes him walk a mile before he can have school lunch) and he opens up to Marsha when he acknowledges he's not what he wishes he was and being a superhero is the only way to get respect.

Marsha. She's more of the straightman, but she does have her quirks. She stresses about a writing contest to the point she feels like she's going to throw up. Bit of a deadpan snarker, which I like. And it's hard to not like a character who supports her idiot friend like she does.

Amy and Beth get the short end of the stick, but we get enough of them to get a good idea on their personality and disposition.

So great work by Darin Henry.


The art. Okay, I'm going to be honest, when I looked at the cover of this issue, I didn't think I would like the art style, but as I read, the art and colors of Blair Shedd became my favorite thing about the issue. I swear, when I was looking at this book, Akiko sprung to my mind. For those not as knowledgeable/not old as dirt like me, it was a fun little book in the nineties where the art style was simple, but the characters had real synergy to them. Same with Telepathetic, best seen with Dirk having to jog his mile in the hallways and the facial reactions throughout the issue.

But what Akiko didn't have going for it was color. The colors really pop. I've given Glen Whitmore heaps of well deserved praise in my reviews and this is very close to that level. The shading and lighting on characters is really good. Just how the shading of hair to the head is something that I don't see in a lot of the Big Two comics (X-Men Gold if someone wants a specific example) Even better, it would have been real easy to just go "White Room" with the Brain Hole, but it is radiant, there's energy to it. And I love the idea of yellow for the flashbacks of Marsha and Dirk trying to develop super powers.

All in all, amazing work by Blair Shedd. But there is one thing I'm more impressed by. The greatest thing I have seen in all of the issues of Sitcomics...maybe even comics I have ever read--

That vest. Seriously, how the heck did that vest with that design stay consistent throughout the entire comic?!! We still can't get an issue where the rocks that comprise Marvel's The Thing look the same after a few panels!!  Even if computers were involved, I'm impressed.

Marshall Dillon. Not only does he have the greatest parents ever for giving him that name, but he's a heck of a letterer. I love the designs of the caption boxes. It says something when I go back to look at caption boxes. The sound effects are really well done, especially Adam and his misfortunes at the water fountain. Just great work like normal.

The Bad:

The art. I love the art, but there is one little gripe. On page nine, there's a panel where Ernie's hands are as big as his entire head.  So we got a boo-boo in a park of Yogi's.

PDF Files. Adobe Reader has never been a friend.

The intro page: "Or mentally control a basketball so you never miss a shot?" That's not telepathy! That's telekinesis! They are totally different psionic powers!!!

What I learned from what I read

Amy seems like a nice girl, but she has a warped sense of humor.
  • It's amazing how shutting your mouth leads to discovery.
  • Adam is like a camel.
  • Another interpretation of the Brain Hole is what John Byrne used to do when he didn't feel like drawing stuff. Just less shiny.
  • That Nibbles went hungry.
  • Cheating, from the right perspective, could be seen as a team building skill.
  • It takes four years of training to develop telepathy.
  • Telepathy---THE MOST OVERRATED POWER EVER!
  • Marsha should forget these short story contests. They're rigged. And no, I'm not a sore loser. My story had tens and nines marked before they made them all six's!!
  • Apparently the Brain Hole is open to everyone.
 
Yeah, this was a really great issue. There's only the minorest of complaints.  It's a really great comic that I think everyone can enjoy. And you can check out this book and other Sitcomic books as the first issues are available for free.

It's an A for this issue

And next time I'll be reviewing Z-People. Will it hold up or will it be a dead duck that feasts geese and other parkland critters? Find out soon?


Sitcomics

Whew!  So glad you liked it!     FYI, for those of you who want to judge these comics for yourselves, every single Sitcomic is available to read on kindle unlimited right now. 




The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.