• Welcome to Archie Comics Fan Forum. Please login or sign up.
 
February 21, 2020, 07:01:03 pm

News:

We're back! Unfortunately all data was lost. Please re-register to continue posting!


collapse

Random Image

JugheadDD27
JugheadDD27
Posted by: SAGG
Posted in album: SAGG

Search


Recent Topics

ARCHIE SHOWCASE DIGEST by DeCarlo Rules
[Today at 01:49:28 pm]


Re: RIP Victor Gorelick by DeCarlo Rules
[February 15, 2020, 02:04:57 am]


Re: Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[February 10, 2020, 08:01:23 pm]


Re: What have you done today? by Archiecomicxfan215
[January 29, 2020, 08:52:38 pm]


Re: ARCHIE COMICS FOR FEBRUARY 2017 by Gotapenname
[January 24, 2020, 04:19:29 pm]


Re: ARCHIE Modern Classics Vol. 2 by DeCarlo Rules
[January 24, 2020, 02:56:11 pm]


Re: Latest Hauls, what did you buy? by Tuxedo Mark
[January 24, 2020, 11:15:56 am]


Re: Archie (1943) #130-"The Reject" by DeCarlo Rules
[January 24, 2020, 01:02:32 am]


archie meets little archie by sailorxtreme
[January 07, 2020, 02:38:28 pm]


Re: SENTIMENTAL MOMENTS WITH ARCHIE COMICS. by ASS-P
[December 30, 2019, 06:03:39 pm]

Shoutbox

  • DeCarlo Rules: HERE-WE-GO-AGAIN TIME:  Sabrina the Teenage Witch Complete Collection v2 TP (solicited in January with a shipping date of 3/18/2020) is now CANCELLED. I thought this kind of stuff was over with by now...
    February 19, 2020, 06:49:11 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: Story #03 of my Blackjack Jill original series is now free on Amazon: [link]
    February 12, 2020, 11:03:22 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Distress Over a Dress" from Veronica #179: [link]
    February 10, 2020, 08:02:05 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Definitely more of a light-hearted comedy.
    February 07, 2020, 11:30:30 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: I loved the first episode of Katy Keene! :)
    February 07, 2020, 11:30:10 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Whose Beach is It, Anyway?" from Archie's Summer Splash! (the FCBD 2010 issue): [link]
    January 31, 2020, 10:39:40 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "The Dating Analysis" from Archie Double Digest #306: [link]
    January 26, 2020, 05:20:43 pm
  • Gotapenname: I lent my dad all most  Archie the Married life 10th aniversary series and the experince so far has been more fun than reading comic. I guess really is bettter to give than recive.:)
    January 24, 2020, 04:11:42 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: I suspected it was coming when I didn't see ARCHIE AND ME listed in the titles for the subscription ad appearing in the digests...
    January 24, 2020, 03:17:40 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Has Archie and Me been cancelled?
    January 24, 2020, 11:38:01 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "The Case of the Walk-Away Shoes" from Betty and Veronica Double Digest #279: [link]
    January 20, 2020, 07:21:25 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: 21, the first story in my Blackjack Jill serial, is available for free right now: [link]
    January 20, 2020, 11:37:36 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: A week is nothing. That can pretty much happen with any title from any publisher.
    January 16, 2020, 03:05:10 am
  • Mr.Lodge: They want to finish Afterlife with Archie first.....
    January 12, 2020, 10:37:50 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Archie #710 has been delayed a week. I guess I shouldn't be surprised.
    January 11, 2020, 07:37:46 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: The third and fourth stories in my series, Vampire Killer, are free on Amazon right now: [link] and [link]
    January 11, 2020, 05:07:17 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "The Case of the Triple Cross" from B&V Friends Jumbo Comics Digest, No. 276: [link]
    January 10, 2020, 11:36:11 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Congrats to Riverdale on its renewal and Katy Keene on its additional 13-script order.
    January 07, 2020, 10:47:15 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: ACP's solicitations for January include SABRINA The Complete Collection Vol. 2 (1972-1973) and the latest Archie Comics character to be rebooted -- SUPER DUCK! [link]
    January 02, 2020, 07:02:52 am
  • TeamBlossom: Changed my username as I left a hobby I do not want to share...
    January 01, 2020, 11:43:20 pm

PTF Reviews The Blue Baron 2.2

Started by PTF, June 03, 2018, 01:11:48 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

PTF

 


Hm, pay sixty dollars for hog feed, 26 dollars for the church food bucket, and I was dumb enough to order my dad Taxi the complete series, which I did before the former two was sprung on me...

So it looks like my comics this month are at least the Power Rangers and...Batman or a Transformer comic. 

Well, it's a good thing I'm a slow reader because here is The Blue Baron!!




The Good

Blowback. Our first serious villain. And he's everything you want in a villain. I think the best bad guys are the ones who totally believe in what they are doing is right; that they are the victim and only seeking justice/revenge.

Blowback was pretty much a hero who did great work for his country but an oversight caused him to be turn into a nuclear monster trapped in a containment suit. He has an irrational hatred of Cedric Carson, channeling his anger and blame into him; and he is a threat.

While he is irrational on ending Carson, he's smart. He defeats both Blue Ernie and Start-up. He's also smart enough to see people close to Cedric and take them hostage. He's gone through the valley and I'm loving it.

Writing I've already mentioned Blowback so let's talk about the rest. While Blue Ernie is grating on my nerves, when the more childish moments come into play its fun. Like him not knowing how to kiss. Ernie Baron taking down the school bully in the same manner a hero saving the world would with the same gravitas was funny.

And we get some real emotional weight to the story. Blowback is a truly tragic character with an origin story that really makes you regret seeing that person turn into this monster. And seeing Max and Stacy thinking Cedric, their boss, friend, one of his lovers, is a coward was sad. Event the nerd clique gets a moment to shine where they actually--even scared--do offer to stand with Ernie Baron for the fight.

The art. Ron Frenz is still doing a great job. My favorite scenes are actually the high school because it looks and feels like a high school cafeteria. I love looking at all the kids and how then come from different ethnicities and their clothing. And page 11 is pretty fun too. And the inking and coloring to Blowback's origin was well done. It really feels like Iraq and the various shades of green really hits home. And I love the Blue Baron logo when he's introduced in the issue. It reminds me of the old Sonic The Hedgehog comic. The good one with the Freedom Fighters. Yeah, I don't like Amy Rose. At all. Speaking of bad things...






The Bad


Ernie's getting real annoying. Yeah, I've been reading an issue, jotting notes then reading the next issue and I have to say at this point, Ernie's really grinding my gears! I mean, it totally makes sense, but it doesn't mean it doesn't get on your nerves. Up until the last few pages it's been two issues of him being a tool.

Wow. Another person I'm going to have to wait an issue to learn there name. Seriously, MILO, you couldn't tell the blond girl's name!? And I'm still waiting for Ernie's dad's name!! Why is my pet peeve being breeded??

Oh well, that happened. Yeah Blowback took Stacy, Max, and that dillweed Mr. Shilling off panel. Wouldn't it have been great to see it? That seems like a really cool villain moment we missed out on. And to be fair, Blowback got a lot of good to him and you only have so many pages. Still, I'm of a "show don't tell" person.

No Wanda. Once again, denied the Spider-Girl jokes and callbacks I crave! If I wanted to feel like this, I'd just go back to reading Marvel Comics. Ba-dum-dum-chee!!



What I learned from what I read.

The Blue Baron IS a player.
  • Slater doesn't fight fair.

  • Hey, it's Milo!!

  • So right after "shaving" we can take "kissing" off of Ernie's list of things he's never done.

  • Mr. Shilling is a dillweed.

  • Chicks dig heroes.

  • Speedsters really need to not stand still in fights.

  • Blowback really, REALLY hates Cedric Carson.

  • If DZZZT is your favorite sound effect--this is the issue for you!!!

  • Isn't it funny how a bad day is what creates villains and heroes? Also days that end in "y" coincidence...? I think not!

 

Yeah, it's another good issue. Blue Ernie was kind of annoying--but he's a teen. And he does have the most interesting stuff going on. Blowback is a cool villain with a great origin. The art's as good as the other issue. There a still some minor things (WHAT IS THE DAD'S NAME?!?) but in the grand scheme of things it doesn't add up to a hill of beans. And honestly, if I wasn't doing this issue by issue and just read the story through most of the little complaints disappear.

It's a B+

What happens in the school yard brawl of death? Will Blue Ernie survive his battle against Blowback? Will I ever learn what the %$^& Ernie's dad's name is. I'm thinking at least we'll get two out of three of those...NEXT TIME.




The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.