• Welcome to Archie Comics Fan Forum. Please login or sign up.
 
September 22, 2019, 07:09:50 pm

News:

We're back! Unfortunately all data was lost. Please re-register to continue posting!


collapse

Random Image

HereLiesAlex6
HereLiesAlex6
Posted by: SAGG
Posted in album: SAGG

Search


Recent Topics

Re: What have you done today? by Tuxedo Mark
[September 21, 2019, 11:00:13 pm]


Re: What are you currently watching? by Tuxedo Mark
[September 21, 2019, 10:57:41 pm]


Re: What comics have you been reading? by irishmoxie
[September 19, 2019, 11:19:26 pm]

Shoutbox

  • Mr.Lodge: Please feel free to delete my 2 posts towards him. This guy was an asshole.
    September 21, 2019, 11:44:48 am
  • Oldiesmann: Yeesh. How can one person generate so much spam?
    September 21, 2019, 10:20:07 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: Is the Riverdale: Season Three comic only 5 issues long?
    September 18, 2019, 10:32:24 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "It's Their Miserable Lives!" from Cheryl Blossom Special, No. 3: [link]
    September 14, 2019, 08:40:21 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "All I Want for Christmas is...Everything!" from Cheryl Blossom Special, No. 3: [link]
    September 03, 2019, 05:21:04 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Katy Keene trailer: [link]
    August 28, 2019, 12:46:35 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Fall Guys" from Archie Giant Series Magazine, No. 530: [link]
    August 24, 2019, 05:42:25 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: COSMO returns in November in an all-new miniseries by Ian Flynn and Tracy Yardley!  :)
    August 24, 2019, 02:05:15 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "The Virtuous Villain" from Archie at Riverdale High, No. 89: [link]
    August 19, 2019, 04:28:23 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Life's A Circus" from Cheryl Blossom Special, No. 2: [link]
    August 10, 2019, 03:13:43 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Huh. I just saw it on Vomixology yesterday, but today there's an error message at the same link: [link]
    August 09, 2019, 09:20:52 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: Well, WOA 91 is not in comic shops until 8/14, so...
    August 09, 2019, 07:02:32 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: Okay, yeah, that's up (thanks), but World of Archie Double Digest #91 isn't.
    August 08, 2019, 10:17:28 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: ARCHIE: THE MARRIED LIFE - 10 YEARS LATER #1 (of 6) ?
    August 08, 2019, 01:29:15 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: Did any books come out today? I haven't found any digital editions on Amazon.
    August 07, 2019, 09:45:41 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Seymour No More!" from Cheryl Blossom Special, No. 1: [link]
    August 03, 2019, 10:27:42 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Coming Distractions" from Cheryl Blossom Special, No. 1: [link]
    August 01, 2019, 07:42:43 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Love & War" from Archie's Love Showdown Special, No. 1: [link]
    July 27, 2019, 10:10:13 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "It's Friendship" from Archie, No. 325: [link]
    July 20, 2019, 08:03:27 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Thanks, but I don't buy the digests; I just read the new stories using Amazon's free preview.
    July 19, 2019, 10:17:04 am

PTF Reviews The Blue Baron 2.2

Started by PTF, June 03, 2018, 01:11:48 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

PTF

 


Hm, pay sixty dollars for hog feed, 26 dollars for the church food bucket, and I was dumb enough to order my dad Taxi the complete series, which I did before the former two was sprung on me...

So it looks like my comics this month are at least the Power Rangers and...Batman or a Transformer comic. 

Well, it's a good thing I'm a slow reader because here is The Blue Baron!!




The Good

Blowback. Our first serious villain. And he's everything you want in a villain. I think the best bad guys are the ones who totally believe in what they are doing is right; that they are the victim and only seeking justice/revenge.

Blowback was pretty much a hero who did great work for his country but an oversight caused him to be turn into a nuclear monster trapped in a containment suit. He has an irrational hatred of Cedric Carson, channeling his anger and blame into him; and he is a threat.

While he is irrational on ending Carson, he's smart. He defeats both Blue Ernie and Start-up. He's also smart enough to see people close to Cedric and take them hostage. He's gone through the valley and I'm loving it.

Writing I've already mentioned Blowback so let's talk about the rest. While Blue Ernie is grating on my nerves, when the more childish moments come into play its fun. Like him not knowing how to kiss. Ernie Baron taking down the school bully in the same manner a hero saving the world would with the same gravitas was funny.

And we get some real emotional weight to the story. Blowback is a truly tragic character with an origin story that really makes you regret seeing that person turn into this monster. And seeing Max and Stacy thinking Cedric, their boss, friend, one of his lovers, is a coward was sad. Event the nerd clique gets a moment to shine where they actually--even scared--do offer to stand with Ernie Baron for the fight.

The art. Ron Frenz is still doing a great job. My favorite scenes are actually the high school because it looks and feels like a high school cafeteria. I love looking at all the kids and how then come from different ethnicities and their clothing. And page 11 is pretty fun too. And the inking and coloring to Blowback's origin was well done. It really feels like Iraq and the various shades of green really hits home. And I love the Blue Baron logo when he's introduced in the issue. It reminds me of the old Sonic The Hedgehog comic. The good one with the Freedom Fighters. Yeah, I don't like Amy Rose. At all. Speaking of bad things...






The Bad


Ernie's getting real annoying. Yeah, I've been reading an issue, jotting notes then reading the next issue and I have to say at this point, Ernie's really grinding my gears! I mean, it totally makes sense, but it doesn't mean it doesn't get on your nerves. Up until the last few pages it's been two issues of him being a tool.

Wow. Another person I'm going to have to wait an issue to learn there name. Seriously, MILO, you couldn't tell the blond girl's name!? And I'm still waiting for Ernie's dad's name!! Why is my pet peeve being breeded??

Oh well, that happened. Yeah Blowback took Stacy, Max, and that dillweed Mr. Shilling off panel. Wouldn't it have been great to see it? That seems like a really cool villain moment we missed out on. And to be fair, Blowback got a lot of good to him and you only have so many pages. Still, I'm of a "show don't tell" person.

No Wanda. Once again, denied the Spider-Girl jokes and callbacks I crave! If I wanted to feel like this, I'd just go back to reading Marvel Comics. Ba-dum-dum-chee!!



What I learned from what I read.

The Blue Baron IS a player.
  • Slater doesn't fight fair.

  • Hey, it's Milo!!

  • So right after "shaving" we can take "kissing" off of Ernie's list of things he's never done.

  • Mr. Shilling is a dillweed.

  • Chicks dig heroes.

  • Speedsters really need to not stand still in fights.

  • Blowback really, REALLY hates Cedric Carson.

  • If DZZZT is your favorite sound effect--this is the issue for you!!!

  • Isn't it funny how a bad day is what creates villains and heroes? Also days that end in "y" coincidence...? I think not!

 

Yeah, it's another good issue. Blue Ernie was kind of annoying--but he's a teen. And he does have the most interesting stuff going on. Blowback is a cool villain with a great origin. The art's as good as the other issue. There a still some minor things (WHAT IS THE DAD'S NAME?!?) but in the grand scheme of things it doesn't add up to a hill of beans. And honestly, if I wasn't doing this issue by issue and just read the story through most of the little complaints disappear.

It's a B+

What happens in the school yard brawl of death? Will Blue Ernie survive his battle against Blowback? Will I ever learn what the %$^& Ernie's dad's name is. I'm thinking at least we'll get two out of three of those...NEXT TIME.




The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.