• Welcome to Archie Comics Fan Forum. Please login or sign up.
 
February 19, 2019, 10:54:31 pm

News:

Welcome! Please pardon the dust as we work to set the site up again :)


collapse

Random Image

See The Water
See The Water
Posted by: SAGG
Posted in album: SAGG

Search


Recent Topics

Re: JUGHEAD’S TIME POLICE returns to the future in June by SAGG
[February 18, 2019, 11:20:18 pm]


What song are you listening to by Oldiesmann
[February 18, 2019, 10:44:05 pm]


Re: New features by Oldiesmann
[February 18, 2019, 10:41:20 pm]


Re: Jughead in Twysting Hearts by Mr.Lodge
[February 18, 2019, 01:37:43 am]


Re: Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[February 17, 2019, 09:12:27 am]


Re: Site Upgrade by Oldiesmann
[February 16, 2019, 06:53:19 pm]


PTF Reviews The Blue Baron 3.1 by PTF
[February 16, 2019, 12:46:41 am]


Re: Days we look foward to as Archie Fans. by BettyReggie
[February 15, 2019, 06:35:13 pm]


Re: Library Books That You All Read by BettyReggie
[February 15, 2019, 06:34:28 pm]


Re: What comics have you been reading? by BettyReggie
[February 15, 2019, 06:31:52 pm]

Shoutbox

  • Vegan Jughead: Happy Birthday BettyReggie!
    February 18, 2019, 07:40:11 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Taking Care of Business" from B&V #257: [link]
    February 17, 2019, 09:14:58 am
  • archiecomicscollector: Icon Heroes just announced Riverdale and Sabrina figures will debut later this year.
    February 15, 2019, 08:23:37 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Fall" from Betty and Veronica, Vol. 4, No. 2: [link]
    February 09, 2019, 10:04:42 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Faith, Hope and Cheryl!" from Cheryl Blossom Special, No. 2: [link]
    February 07, 2019, 08:32:08 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Congrats to Riverdale on its renewal! :)
    February 02, 2019, 09:03:31 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Brotherly Love" from Cheryl Blossom, No. 22: [link]
    January 26, 2019, 10:10:27 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: Jughead the Hunger vs. Vampironica #1 is coming in April. This is the first alternate-Archiverse crossover (they exist in different parallel universes) since "The Married Life".
    January 25, 2019, 06:31:05 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Wild Things" from Riverdale, No. 3: [link]
    January 24, 2019, 05:32:04 pm
  • Archiecomicxfan215: That was a headline on the Archie Comics facebook page i just saw
    January 23, 2019, 11:12:34 pm
  • Archiecomicxfan215: Breaking News: A Riverdale spin-off starring Katy Keene is heading to The CW!
    January 23, 2019, 11:12:11 pm
  • BettyReggie: Later Pals & Gals
    January 21, 2019, 03:12:11 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Summer's End" from Betty & Veronica, Vol. 4, No. 1: [link]
    January 12, 2019, 11:02:58 am
  • BettyReggie: It's pouring in The Bronx.
    January 05, 2019, 03:20:04 pm
  • BettyReggie: Happy New Year
    January 01, 2019, 03:41:55 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Kiss of the Century" from Cheryl Blossom, No. 28: [link]
    December 31, 2018, 09:15:22 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Holi-Daze" from Cheryl Blossom, No. 28: [link]
    December 25, 2018, 06:19:02 pm
  • Vegan Jughead: Thanks, BR!
    December 25, 2018, 11:09:37 am
  • BettyReggie: Merry Christmas Vegan Jughead
    December 25, 2018, 09:49:06 am
  • BettyReggie: I'm still in bed.
    December 25, 2018, 09:48:20 am

PTF Reviews The Blue Baron 2.2

Started by PTF, June 03, 2018, 01:11:48 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

PTF

 


Hm, pay sixty dollars for hog feed, 26 dollars for the church food bucket, and I was dumb enough to order my dad Taxi the complete series, which I did before the former two was sprung on me...

So it looks like my comics this month are at least the Power Rangers and...Batman or a Transformer comic. 

Well, it's a good thing I'm a slow reader because here is The Blue Baron!!




The Good

Blowback. Our first serious villain. And he's everything you want in a villain. I think the best bad guys are the ones who totally believe in what they are doing is right; that they are the victim and only seeking justice/revenge.

Blowback was pretty much a hero who did great work for his country but an oversight caused him to be turn into a nuclear monster trapped in a containment suit. He has an irrational hatred of Cedric Carson, channeling his anger and blame into him; and he is a threat.

While he is irrational on ending Carson, he's smart. He defeats both Blue Ernie and Start-up. He's also smart enough to see people close to Cedric and take them hostage. He's gone through the valley and I'm loving it.

Writing I've already mentioned Blowback so let's talk about the rest. While Blue Ernie is grating on my nerves, when the more childish moments come into play its fun. Like him not knowing how to kiss. Ernie Baron taking down the school bully in the same manner a hero saving the world would with the same gravitas was funny.

And we get some real emotional weight to the story. Blowback is a truly tragic character with an origin story that really makes you regret seeing that person turn into this monster. And seeing Max and Stacy thinking Cedric, their boss, friend, one of his lovers, is a coward was sad. Event the nerd clique gets a moment to shine where they actually--even scared--do offer to stand with Ernie Baron for the fight.

The art. Ron Frenz is still doing a great job. My favorite scenes are actually the high school because it looks and feels like a high school cafeteria. I love looking at all the kids and how then come from different ethnicities and their clothing. And page 11 is pretty fun too. And the inking and coloring to Blowback's origin was well done. It really feels like Iraq and the various shades of green really hits home. And I love the Blue Baron logo when he's introduced in the issue. It reminds me of the old Sonic The Hedgehog comic. The good one with the Freedom Fighters. Yeah, I don't like Amy Rose. At all. Speaking of bad things...






The Bad


Ernie's getting real annoying. Yeah, I've been reading an issue, jotting notes then reading the next issue and I have to say at this point, Ernie's really grinding my gears! I mean, it totally makes sense, but it doesn't mean it doesn't get on your nerves. Up until the last few pages it's been two issues of him being a tool.

Wow. Another person I'm going to have to wait an issue to learn there name. Seriously, MILO, you couldn't tell the blond girl's name!? And I'm still waiting for Ernie's dad's name!! Why is my pet peeve being breeded??

Oh well, that happened. Yeah Blowback took Stacy, Max, and that dillweed Mr. Shilling off panel. Wouldn't it have been great to see it? That seems like a really cool villain moment we missed out on. And to be fair, Blowback got a lot of good to him and you only have so many pages. Still, I'm of a "show don't tell" person.

No Wanda. Once again, denied the Spider-Girl jokes and callbacks I crave! If I wanted to feel like this, I'd just go back to reading Marvel Comics. Ba-dum-dum-chee!!



What I learned from what I read.

The Blue Baron IS a player.
  • Slater doesn't fight fair.

  • Hey, it's Milo!!

  • So right after "shaving" we can take "kissing" off of Ernie's list of things he's never done.

  • Mr. Shilling is a dillweed.

  • Chicks dig heroes.

  • Speedsters really need to not stand still in fights.

  • Blowback really, REALLY hates Cedric Carson.

  • If DZZZT is your favorite sound effect--this is the issue for you!!!

  • Isn't it funny how a bad day is what creates villains and heroes? Also days that end in "y" coincidence...? I think not!

 

Yeah, it's another good issue. Blue Ernie was kind of annoying--but he's a teen. And he does have the most interesting stuff going on. Blowback is a cool villain with a great origin. The art's as good as the other issue. There a still some minor things (WHAT IS THE DAD'S NAME?!?) but in the grand scheme of things it doesn't add up to a hill of beans. And honestly, if I wasn't doing this issue by issue and just read the story through most of the little complaints disappear.

It's a B+

What happens in the school yard brawl of death? Will Blue Ernie survive his battle against Blowback? Will I ever learn what the %$^& Ernie's dad's name is. I'm thinking at least we'll get two out of three of those...NEXT TIME.




The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.