• Welcome to Archie Comics Fan Forum. Please login or sign up.
 
April 23, 2019, 04:34:00 pm

News:

Welcome! Please pardon the dust as we work to set the site up again :)


collapse

Random Image

B&C
B&C
Posted by: Tuxedo Mark
Posted in album: Cheryl Blossom

Search


Recent Topics

Re: ARCHIE COMICS FOR JULY 2019 by DeCarlo Rules
[Today at 05:54:38 am]


Re: What comics have you been reading? by SAGG
[Today at 03:49:37 am]


Re: Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[April 21, 2019, 04:08:45 pm]


Re: Howdy! by Good Ole Samm
[April 21, 2019, 10:04:42 am]


Re: Jugheads new boots by Good Ole Samm
[April 18, 2019, 08:21:21 pm]


Re: Continuities that Riverdale has surpassed by Tuxedo Mark
[April 18, 2019, 04:18:10 pm]

Shoutbox

  • Oldiesmann: Haven't had a chance to look into that yet, but we haven't lost anything as there are still posts here from well before April 15th. I'll try to look into it further later this week and see if I can figure out what the issue is.
    April 22, 2019, 01:04:01 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Spring" from Betty and Veronica, No. 4: [link]
    April 21, 2019, 04:09:18 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: ... and now there are four topics listed over in Recent Topics. Maybe somehow we just lost everything less recent than April 15, which is the oldest new post to the Recent Topics listed.
    April 19, 2019, 01:47:10 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: Last time I looked at Recent Topics it was only two showing, but now it's three. Well, if that trend continues, I guess the problem will eventually fix itself.
    April 18, 2019, 02:23:15 pm
  • Oldiesmann: I'm not sure what's going on with the most recent topics thing. I'll look into that when I get a chance
    April 16, 2019, 10:50:38 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Taking a Tumble" from B&V #263: [link]
    April 15, 2019, 02:52:06 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: Only the two mosr recent topics show up in the sidebar.
    April 15, 2019, 02:50:22 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: Now if you could only get some ### pattern overlaid on the orange, it would be perfect!  ;D
    April 15, 2019, 12:40:25 am
  • rusty: I like the orange more than the blue
    April 13, 2019, 11:14:47 pm
  • Oldiesmann: New theme installed. let me know what you think :)
    April 13, 2019, 01:37:06 pm
  • Oldiesmann: Not sure why it was only showing one topic at a time. Spam has been cleared up and recent topics appears to be back to normal
    April 12, 2019, 06:39:44 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: Not feeling too confident about this site right now. It's been hacked. Check out the Recent Topics column over on the left. Only one topic show, and it will change every time you refresh the page. Shout out to Oldiesmann.
    April 12, 2019, 01:23:57 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Reptile Rendezvous!": [link]
    April 12, 2019, 11:17:08 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: Computer went unresponsive on Sunday morning. I took it into the shop on Monday morning and just got it back. Official diagnosis: I dunno, probably loose connections or something.
    April 10, 2019, 11:14:40 am
  • Tuxedo Mark: My series recap of "The New Archies": [link]
    March 31, 2019, 08:13:09 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "We Need to Talk About Kevin" from Riverdale, No. 4: [link]
    March 23, 2019, 10:04:16 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "The New Archies" series finale, "Horray for Hollywood": [link]
    March 16, 2019, 10:59:51 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "Winter" from Betty and Veronica, Vol. 4, No. 3: [link]
    March 09, 2019, 10:16:45 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: You could say that Beverly Hills 90210 was the "Riverdale" of its time -- '80s style,
    March 04, 2019, 03:31:12 pm
  • Archiecomicxfan215: R.I.P Luke Perry
    March 04, 2019, 03:09:34 pm

PTF Reviews The Blue Baron 2.2

Started by PTF, June 03, 2018, 01:11:48 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

PTF

 


Hm, pay sixty dollars for hog feed, 26 dollars for the church food bucket, and I was dumb enough to order my dad Taxi the complete series, which I did before the former two was sprung on me...

So it looks like my comics this month are at least the Power Rangers and...Batman or a Transformer comic. 

Well, it's a good thing I'm a slow reader because here is The Blue Baron!!




The Good

Blowback. Our first serious villain. And he's everything you want in a villain. I think the best bad guys are the ones who totally believe in what they are doing is right; that they are the victim and only seeking justice/revenge.

Blowback was pretty much a hero who did great work for his country but an oversight caused him to be turn into a nuclear monster trapped in a containment suit. He has an irrational hatred of Cedric Carson, channeling his anger and blame into him; and he is a threat.

While he is irrational on ending Carson, he's smart. He defeats both Blue Ernie and Start-up. He's also smart enough to see people close to Cedric and take them hostage. He's gone through the valley and I'm loving it.

Writing I've already mentioned Blowback so let's talk about the rest. While Blue Ernie is grating on my nerves, when the more childish moments come into play its fun. Like him not knowing how to kiss. Ernie Baron taking down the school bully in the same manner a hero saving the world would with the same gravitas was funny.

And we get some real emotional weight to the story. Blowback is a truly tragic character with an origin story that really makes you regret seeing that person turn into this monster. And seeing Max and Stacy thinking Cedric, their boss, friend, one of his lovers, is a coward was sad. Event the nerd clique gets a moment to shine where they actually--even scared--do offer to stand with Ernie Baron for the fight.

The art. Ron Frenz is still doing a great job. My favorite scenes are actually the high school because it looks and feels like a high school cafeteria. I love looking at all the kids and how then come from different ethnicities and their clothing. And page 11 is pretty fun too. And the inking and coloring to Blowback's origin was well done. It really feels like Iraq and the various shades of green really hits home. And I love the Blue Baron logo when he's introduced in the issue. It reminds me of the old Sonic The Hedgehog comic. The good one with the Freedom Fighters. Yeah, I don't like Amy Rose. At all. Speaking of bad things...






The Bad


Ernie's getting real annoying. Yeah, I've been reading an issue, jotting notes then reading the next issue and I have to say at this point, Ernie's really grinding my gears! I mean, it totally makes sense, but it doesn't mean it doesn't get on your nerves. Up until the last few pages it's been two issues of him being a tool.

Wow. Another person I'm going to have to wait an issue to learn there name. Seriously, MILO, you couldn't tell the blond girl's name!? And I'm still waiting for Ernie's dad's name!! Why is my pet peeve being breeded??

Oh well, that happened. Yeah Blowback took Stacy, Max, and that dillweed Mr. Shilling off panel. Wouldn't it have been great to see it? That seems like a really cool villain moment we missed out on. And to be fair, Blowback got a lot of good to him and you only have so many pages. Still, I'm of a "show don't tell" person.

No Wanda. Once again, denied the Spider-Girl jokes and callbacks I crave! If I wanted to feel like this, I'd just go back to reading Marvel Comics. Ba-dum-dum-chee!!



What I learned from what I read.

The Blue Baron IS a player.
  • Slater doesn't fight fair.

  • Hey, it's Milo!!

  • So right after "shaving" we can take "kissing" off of Ernie's list of things he's never done.

  • Mr. Shilling is a dillweed.

  • Chicks dig heroes.

  • Speedsters really need to not stand still in fights.

  • Blowback really, REALLY hates Cedric Carson.

  • If DZZZT is your favorite sound effect--this is the issue for you!!!

  • Isn't it funny how a bad day is what creates villains and heroes? Also days that end in "y" coincidence...? I think not!

 

Yeah, it's another good issue. Blue Ernie was kind of annoying--but he's a teen. And he does have the most interesting stuff going on. Blowback is a cool villain with a great origin. The art's as good as the other issue. There a still some minor things (WHAT IS THE DAD'S NAME?!?) but in the grand scheme of things it doesn't add up to a hill of beans. And honestly, if I wasn't doing this issue by issue and just read the story through most of the little complaints disappear.

It's a B+

What happens in the school yard brawl of death? Will Blue Ernie survive his battle against Blowback? Will I ever learn what the %$^& Ernie's dad's name is. I'm thinking at least we'll get two out of three of those...NEXT TIME.




The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.