collapse

* Random Image

* Search


* Recent Topics

Days we look foward to as Archie Fans. by BettyReggie
[Today at 08:34:15 AM]


Betty and Veronica; will there be an issue 4 or is it cancelled? by DeCarlo Rules
[August 15, 2017, 11:38:17 PM]


Library Books That You All Read by BettyReggie
[August 15, 2017, 08:30:54 PM]


Check Out This Jughead Article by DeCarlo Rules
[August 15, 2017, 03:34:09 PM]


What have you done today? by BettyReggie
[August 15, 2017, 12:59:23 PM]


Some reviews. by DeCarlo Rules
[August 12, 2017, 07:39:25 PM]


My thoughts on Archie launching B&V Vixens and The Mighty Crusaders revival by terrence12
[August 12, 2017, 09:02:50 AM]


Nick St. Clair is Veronica's ex on Riverdale by BettyReggie
[August 12, 2017, 04:26:42 AM]


Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[August 09, 2017, 09:42:39 PM]


What comics have you been reading? by DeCarlo Rules
[August 09, 2017, 07:40:30 PM]

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • BettyReggie: I asked Adam Hughes on twitter who is working on B&V #4 . He said Rachael Stott is working on it.
    August 15, 2017, 08:31:36 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Riverdale season 2 billboard on Sunset Boulevard: [link]
    August 15, 2017, 07:57:03 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: I'll pick mine up tomorrow at Wally World. Getting only the DVD edition for now, so I can rip the files to my computer and review the episodes for my blog.
    August 15, 2017, 04:31:34 PM
  • BettyReggie: Season #1 of Riverdale came today from target.
    August 15, 2017, 01:00:25 PM
  • BettyReggie: 50 days till October 5th 2017 New York Comic Con
    August 15, 2017, 07:45:25 AM
  • Tuxedo Mark: I didn't watch it, but, yeah, "Riverdale" won a lot. Good for them. :)
    August 14, 2017, 03:28:08 PM
  • BettyReggie: I only watched when Riverdale won Best Show.
    August 13, 2017, 10:19:55 PM
  • JonInIowaCity: Looks like "Riverdale" and several of the actors won big on tonight's Teen Choice Awards.
    August 13, 2017, 09:08:25 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Veronica Lodge, Riverdale's local badass: [link]
    August 12, 2017, 08:52:50 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: According to Dan Parent, the Die Kitty Die: Hollywood or Bust! hardcover collection is at the printers right now. Fernando Ruiz says they have started working on the DKD Winter Special already.
    August 12, 2017, 05:46:56 PM
  • BettyReggie: I wonder if they bring Nick what having someone play Adam Betty's boyfriend? Remember him?
    August 12, 2017, 04:25:08 AM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Nick St. Clair coming to Riverdale: [link]
    August 11, 2017, 03:16:48 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: Yeah, I got it. Looks pretty good for the Sabrina and Josie story selections, adding up to about 200 pages. I couldn't care less about the Little Archie stories, Most of the stories here don't seem like they've been reprinted ad infinitum, which is good. Nice to see those in the standard comic-sized trade paperback.
    August 09, 2017, 09:21:16 PM
  • irishmoxie: Anybody get Archie's big book magic music and mischief? Out on comiXology today.
    August 09, 2017, 09:01:29 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: Gotta love how Goldwater never misses an opportunity for a backhanded slap at the classic Archie creators and their "retro concept".
    August 09, 2017, 06:15:09 AM
  • Tuxedo Mark: The weird things that people search for that bring them to Riverdale Reviewed. Today, someone searched for barefoot pics of Josie and the Pussycats.
    August 08, 2017, 07:15:53 PM
  • JonInIowaCity: I think I'm digging the new Cosmo design!
    August 08, 2017, 05:20:00 PM
  • Vegan Jughead: A new B&V series where they're bikers AND a new COSMO series?  Archie's up to some WEIRD stuff.  No normal Jughead or Josie title, but this flies?  Only time will tell if this is a good idea. [link]
    August 08, 2017, 12:34:32 PM
  • BettyReggie: It's raining cats & dogs in The Bronx.
    August 07, 2017, 09:59:37 AM
  • Vegan Jughead: VERY silly TM!  Ha ha.
    August 07, 2017, 07:29:13 AM


Author Topic: Riverdale Reviewed  (Read 20425 times)

0 Members and 3 Guests are viewing this topic.

Tuxedo Mark

Riverdale Reviewed
« on: August 21, 2016, 03:35:40 PM »
I have created a new weekly blog dedicated to reviewing episodes of Archie television series - namely "Riverdale" (once it premieres), "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries". Those will be the three primary series. In addition, I'll touch on various other series without reviewing them in full and also take on the 1960s pilot, the 1970s special, the 1990 movie, Jugman, and the Josie movie.

This blog is in the style of various other episode-review blogs, such as Full House Reviewed, Saved by the Bell...Reviewed, ALF Reviews, Ranger Retrospective, Warp Speed to Nonsense, and my own Hey Dude Reviewed (which just finished).

Warning for language:

http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
BV-kiss-small
Riverdale Reviewed
http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
Every episode of "Riverdale", "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries" reviewed.
My digital wish list
https://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/14FS742SI1R5I

Tuxedo Mark

Re: Riverdale Reviewed
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2016, 05:45:16 PM »
The first review is up: an episode of the old-time radio show.

Next week might be the 1964 pilot - if I can get a hold of a full copy in time (please let me know if you have it). Otherwise, I'll review a Filmation episode.
BV-kiss-small
Riverdale Reviewed
http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
Every episode of "Riverdale", "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries" reviewed.
My digital wish list
https://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/14FS742SI1R5I

Tuxedo Mark

Re: Riverdale Reviewed
« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2016, 01:52:48 PM »
Another new review is up. This time, I'm taking a look at the Filmation cartoons, specifically the first segment of the first episode.
BV-kiss-small
Riverdale Reviewed
http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
Every episode of "Riverdale", "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries" reviewed.
My digital wish list
https://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/14FS742SI1R5I

Tuxedo Mark

Re: Riverdale Reviewed
« Reply #3 on: September 07, 2016, 12:01:46 PM »
The new review is up: the Filmation Sabrina segment, "Hiccups".
BV-kiss-small
Riverdale Reviewed
http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
Every episode of "Riverdale", "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries" reviewed.
My digital wish list
https://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/14FS742SI1R5I

Tuxedo Mark

Re: Riverdale Reviewed
« Reply #4 on: September 14, 2016, 03:57:13 PM »
Meow. :)
BV-kiss-small
Riverdale Reviewed
http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
Every episode of "Riverdale", "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries" reviewed.
My digital wish list
https://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/14FS742SI1R5I

Tuxedo Mark

Re: Riverdale Reviewed
« Reply #5 on: September 21, 2016, 05:48:00 PM »
I just reviewed Cheryl's first two comic appearances. There's also now a handy Reviews page on the blog with links to all of the reviews.
BV-kiss-small
Riverdale Reviewed
http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
Every episode of "Riverdale", "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries" reviewed.
My digital wish list
https://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/14FS742SI1R5I

Tuxedo Mark

Re: Riverdale Reviewed
« Reply #6 on: September 28, 2016, 01:41:46 PM »
I've just reviewed "The Visitor", the first story segment of "The New Archies".
BV-kiss-small
Riverdale Reviewed
http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
Every episode of "Riverdale", "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries" reviewed.
My digital wish list
https://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/14FS742SI1R5I

steveinthecity

Re: Riverdale Reviewed
« Reply #7 on: September 29, 2016, 12:20:05 AM »
Did Dilton ever appear in the New Archie's cartoon?  I was wondering as well about the introduction of Eugene who seemed to replace Dilton as TuxedoMark mentions.  I know Eugene was in the comic book, but not sure if he ever appeared with Dilton in the comics.
Comics!

Tuxedo Mark

Re: Riverdale Reviewed
« Reply #8 on: September 29, 2016, 01:47:31 PM »
Dilton wasn't on the show. As for whether Dilton and Eugene interacted in the comics or not, you'd have to track down the New Archies comics and read them. It wouldn't surprise me if they included Dilton. Alter all, Cheryl appeared in the Archie's Weird Mysteries comic, even though she never appeared on the show.
BV-kiss-small
Riverdale Reviewed
http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
Every episode of "Riverdale", "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries" reviewed.
My digital wish list
https://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/14FS742SI1R5I

steveinthecity

Re: Riverdale Reviewed
« Reply #9 on: October 01, 2016, 03:55:51 AM »
Dilton wasn't on the show. As for whether Dilton and Eugene interacted in the comics or not, you'd have to track down the New Archies comics and read them. It wouldn't surprise me if they included Dilton. Alter all, Cheryl appeared in the Archie's Weird Mysteries comic, even though she never appeared on the show.
Thanks for the reply.  I was uncertain if Dilton was still in the comic or if he had been replaced in both the animated series and comic series. 


I wonder if the kid wearing the purple scarf on the cover of #3 is supposed to be Dilton?
Comics!

DeCarlo Rules

Re: Riverdale Reviewed
« Reply #10 on: October 01, 2016, 05:48:49 AM »
I wonder if the kid wearing the purple scarf on the cover of #3 is supposed to be Dilton?

Seems doubtful, given that the scene includes a number of random bystanders waiting to see Santa. The kid in question doesn't even look particularly like Dilton, apart from having the same style glasses frames (which applies to Eugene as well). In fact, I'm pretty sure that kid with the pink hat and sweater is supposed to be Asian-American. I would actually be surprised if Eugene made any appearances in stories in the regular Archie comic books not based on the animated series.
« Last Edit: October 01, 2016, 05:52:00 AM by DeCarlo Rules »

Tuxedo Mark

Re: Riverdale Reviewed
« Reply #11 on: October 05, 2016, 05:41:32 PM »
New review: The New Archies: "Ballot Box Blues"
BV-kiss-small
Riverdale Reviewed
http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
Every episode of "Riverdale", "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries" reviewed.
My digital wish list
https://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/14FS742SI1R5I

Tuxedo Mark

Re: Riverdale Reviewed
« Reply #12 on: October 12, 2016, 09:32:40 PM »
New review: The New Archies: "Last Laugh"
BV-kiss-small
Riverdale Reviewed
http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
Every episode of "Riverdale", "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries" reviewed.
My digital wish list
https://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/14FS742SI1R5I

BettyReggie

Re: Riverdale Reviewed
« Reply #13 on: October 12, 2016, 10:47:33 PM »
I wish we were told a date of when the tv show RiverDale going actually going start. I heard January is may when it happens.

Tuxedo Mark

Re: Riverdale Reviewed
« Reply #14 on: October 19, 2016, 01:41:41 PM »
This week, I'm reviewing a comic book story, "A Date With a Dummy", from Archie Comics Digest Magazine, No. 102 (June, 1990).

This was my first Archie comic, and so this was my first Archie story.
BV-kiss-small
Riverdale Reviewed
http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
Every episode of "Riverdale", "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries" reviewed.
My digital wish list
https://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/14FS742SI1R5I

 


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.
Live Support