• Welcome to Archie Comics Fan Forum. Please login or sign up.
 
November 18, 2019, 08:10:34 pm

News:

Welcome! Please pardon the dust as we work to set the site up again :)


collapse

Random Image

Search


Recent Topics

Printer Driver Software by Brandytasir
[Today at 11:11:00 am]


Car Photo (HD) by Brandytasir
[Today at 11:08:00 am]


Re: Posts way down. by Tuxedo Mark
[Today at 10:22:12 am]


Re: New here by Tuxedo Mark
[November 17, 2019, 08:12:52 am]


Re: Latest Hauls, what did you buy? by mvs10
[November 17, 2019, 02:56:45 am]


Re: Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[November 09, 2019, 06:18:12 pm]


Re: Archie - The Married Life - 10th Anniversary - Opinions? by DeCarlo Rules
[November 07, 2019, 12:21:29 am]


Re: Super7 Figures by DeCarlo Rules
[November 06, 2019, 07:59:22 am]


Revolut: Get your first card for free without shipping costs by WilliamCib
[November 05, 2019, 12:34:53 pm]


Re: Bend-Ems Figures by archiecomicscollector
[November 02, 2019, 09:55:57 pm]

Shoutbox

  • Mr.Lodge: Get lost you fucking spammer.....
    Today at 04:17:51 pm
  • Brandytasir: if you need more car picture [link]
    Today at 11:05:06 am
  • Brandytasir: printer driver download [link]
    Today at 11:04:35 am
  • Brandytasir: hello
    Today at 11:03:38 am
  • Fernando Ruiz: I don't know where the idea originated for the "Archie meets Archie" story. I know one day Victor Gorelick gave me the assignment to write a story where the current Archie meets the first appearance Archie. It was going to be for a digest celebrating whatever anniversary they were celebrating. That.
    November 17, 2019, 02:47:30 am
  • Mr.Lodge: The first batch of "Memory Lane" stories were the best but were never given the chance to "conclude" properly. The 10th Anniversary one are total crap.....
    November 16, 2019, 06:10:50 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: @Fernando Ruiz I never heard that before! Good to know! :)
    November 16, 2019, 06:08:57 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: Nice to establish that. I forgot about that Twilight Zone episode! But of course, the phrase "a stroll down Memory Lane" is a familiar euphemism, so TZ took that as a literal plot device. The Memory Lane stories were the beginning of a fertile period for ACP, idea-wise.
    November 16, 2019, 05:05:30 am
  • Fernando Ruiz: Responding to the comments for the "When Archie Meets Archie" review, the idea for "Memory Lane" was mine. I borrowed it from an old Twilight Zone episode and thought it was a nice convenient device for the story.
    November 15, 2019, 10:23:33 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of "When Archie Meets Archie..." [link] "The Late Great Veronica!" [link] and "2 For 1 Sale!" [link]
    November 09, 2019, 06:19:36 pm
  • Mr.Lodge: Have these meatheads provide their email address and send them an email to confirm their identity - may help.
    November 08, 2019, 01:56:14 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: Is ARCHIE AND ME digest ending with #23 later this month? It doesn't appear on the list of digest titles in the most recent subscription ads from this month...
    November 07, 2019, 01:50:15 am
  • ASS-P: I can't figure out, onbthis new phone, how to post either a new one or a reply!!!!!
    November 03, 2019, 05:56:39 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: My review of Archie, No. 699: [link]
    October 27, 2019, 06:25:12 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: That said, the single issue floppy comic is probably headed for extinction sooner or later anyway... eventually, it will be only digital single issues, then straight to trade paperbacks.
    October 26, 2019, 12:24:28 pm
  • DeCarlo Rules: I have no problem with your choice, Mark. The important thing is that we're OFFERED a choice. You'd feel the same as me if the only thing they were offering was "print comic ONLY".
    October 26, 2019, 12:22:29 pm
  • Tuxedo Mark: I buy only digital comics these days. The prices for physical comics are already jacked up on Amazon, and that's before shipping.
    October 26, 2019, 09:09:28 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: Josie and the Pussycats in Space... written by Alex DiCampi?? UGH. Digital only... UGH. Pass.
    October 26, 2019, 01:47:14 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: Here's another one for coloring book fans that you won't find under ACP's solicits: [link]
    October 25, 2019, 07:41:13 am
  • DeCarlo Rules: November solicitations for ACP are online: [link]
    October 25, 2019, 07:15:47 am

Riverdale Reviewed

Started by Tuxedo Mark, August 21, 2016, 03:35:40 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

Tuxedo Mark

I have created a new weekly blog dedicated to reviewing episodes of Archie television series - namely "Riverdale" (once it premieres), "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries". Those will be the three primary series. In addition, I'll touch on various other series without reviewing them in full and also take on the 1960s pilot, the 1970s special, the 1990 movie, Jugman, and the Josie movie.

This blog is in the style of various other episode-review blogs, such as Full House Reviewed, Saved by the Bell...Reviewed, ALF Reviews, Ranger Retrospective, Warp Speed to Nonsense, and my own Hey Dude Reviewed (which just finished).

Warning for language:

http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
BV-kiss-small
Riverdale Reviewed
http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
Every episode of "Riverdale", "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries" reviewed.
My digital wish list
https://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/14FS742SI1R5I

Tuxedo Mark

The first review is up: an episode of the old-time radio show.

Next week might be the 1964 pilot - if I can get a hold of a full copy in time (please let me know if you have it). Otherwise, I'll review a Filmation episode.
BV-kiss-small
Riverdale Reviewed
http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
Every episode of "Riverdale", "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries" reviewed.
My digital wish list
https://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/14FS742SI1R5I

Tuxedo Mark

Another new review is up. This time, I'm taking a look at the Filmation cartoons, specifically the first segment of the first episode.
BV-kiss-small
Riverdale Reviewed
http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
Every episode of "Riverdale", "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries" reviewed.
My digital wish list
https://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/14FS742SI1R5I

Tuxedo Mark

The new review is up: the Filmation Sabrina segment, "Hiccups".
BV-kiss-small
Riverdale Reviewed
http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
Every episode of "Riverdale", "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries" reviewed.
My digital wish list
https://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/14FS742SI1R5I

Tuxedo Mark

BV-kiss-small
Riverdale Reviewed
http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
Every episode of "Riverdale", "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries" reviewed.
My digital wish list
https://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/14FS742SI1R5I

Tuxedo Mark

I just reviewed Cheryl's first two comic appearances. There's also now a handy Reviews page on the blog with links to all of the reviews.
BV-kiss-small
Riverdale Reviewed
http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
Every episode of "Riverdale", "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries" reviewed.
My digital wish list
https://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/14FS742SI1R5I

Tuxedo Mark

I've just reviewed "The Visitor", the first story segment of "The New Archies".
BV-kiss-small
Riverdale Reviewed
http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
Every episode of "Riverdale", "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries" reviewed.
My digital wish list
https://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/14FS742SI1R5I

steveinthecity

Did Dilton ever appear in the New Archie's cartoon?  I was wondering as well about the introduction of Eugene who seemed to replace Dilton as TuxedoMark mentions.  I know Eugene was in the comic book, but not sure if he ever appeared with Dilton in the comics.
Comics!

Tuxedo Mark

Dilton wasn't on the show. As for whether Dilton and Eugene interacted in the comics or not, you'd have to track down the New Archies comics and read them. It wouldn't surprise me if they included Dilton. Alter all, Cheryl appeared in the Archie's Weird Mysteries comic, even though she never appeared on the show.
BV-kiss-small
Riverdale Reviewed
http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
Every episode of "Riverdale", "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries" reviewed.
My digital wish list
https://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/14FS742SI1R5I

steveinthecity

Quote from: Tuxedo Mark on September 29, 2016, 01:47:31 pm
Dilton wasn't on the show. As for whether Dilton and Eugene interacted in the comics or not, you'd have to track down the New Archies comics and read them. It wouldn't surprise me if they included Dilton. Alter all, Cheryl appeared in the Archie's Weird Mysteries comic, even though she never appeared on the show.
Thanks for the reply.  I was uncertain if Dilton was still in the comic or if he had been replaced in both the animated series and comic series. 


I wonder if the kid wearing the purple scarf on the cover of #3 is supposed to be Dilton?
Comics!

DeCarlo Rules

October 01, 2016, 05:48:49 am #10 Last Edit: October 01, 2016, 05:52:00 am by DeCarlo Rules
Quote from: steveinthecity on October 01, 2016, 03:55:51 am
I wonder if the kid wearing the purple scarf on the cover of #3 is supposed to be Dilton?


Seems doubtful, given that the scene includes a number of random bystanders waiting to see Santa. The kid in question doesn't even look particularly like Dilton, apart from having the same style glasses frames (which applies to Eugene as well). In fact, I'm pretty sure that kid with the pink hat and sweater is supposed to be Asian-American. I would actually be surprised if Eugene made any appearances in stories in the regular Archie comic books not based on the animated series.

Tuxedo Mark

New review: The New Archies: "Ballot Box Blues"
BV-kiss-small
Riverdale Reviewed
http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
Every episode of "Riverdale", "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries" reviewed.
My digital wish list
https://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/14FS742SI1R5I

Tuxedo Mark

New review: The New Archies: "Last Laugh"
BV-kiss-small
Riverdale Reviewed
http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
Every episode of "Riverdale", "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries" reviewed.
My digital wish list
https://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/14FS742SI1R5I

BettyReggie

I wish we were told a date of when the tv show RiverDale going actually going start. I heard January is may when it happens.

Tuxedo Mark

This week, I'm reviewing a comic book story, "A Date With a Dummy", from Archie Comics Digest Magazine, No. 102 (June, 1990).

This was my first Archie comic, and so this was my first Archie story.
BV-kiss-small
Riverdale Reviewed
http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
Every episode of "Riverdale", "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries" reviewed.
My digital wish list
https://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/14FS742SI1R5I


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.