collapse

* Random Image

DepressionDaze4&5
DepressionDaze4&5
Posted by: SAGG
Posted in album: SAGG

* Search


* Recent Topics

My thoughts on Dick tracy getting a reboot on Archie Comics by Captain Jetpack
[Today at 07:13:36 AM]


"Kindness Works!" A NEW Archie Story! by CAPalace
[Today at 12:09:04 AM]


Riverdale Parody by Bluto
[December 13, 2017, 10:24:45 PM]


What have you done today? by BettyReggie
[December 12, 2017, 11:46:38 AM]


Library Books That You All Read by BettyReggie
[December 12, 2017, 11:42:52 AM]


Days we look foward to as Archie Fans. by BettyReggie
[December 11, 2017, 04:45:14 PM]


What comics have you been reading? by BettyReggie
[December 08, 2017, 03:34:33 PM]


Latest Hauls, what did you buy? by Archiecomicxfan215
[December 06, 2017, 11:35:52 PM]


Riverdale Reviewed by Tuxedo Mark
[December 06, 2017, 05:13:01 PM]


Riverdale Funko Pops by Archiecomicxfan215
[December 06, 2017, 03:26:15 PM]

* Shoutbox

Refresh History
  • Tuxedo Mark: I'm beginning to think AWA and CHAoS are cancelled, because Archie Comics sent me Jughead: The Hunger #1 as part of my AWA sub.
    Today at 08:57:45 AM
  • DeCarlo Rules: @TM - "They" is Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa. Just him. HE's the writer of both AWA and ChAoS. It's HIS story. He only writes an issue when his muse inspires him. Plus he's kinda busy being the showrunner and one of the head writers for RIVERDALE, which ACP probably considers a little more important. And from Sacasa's POV, I know television work must pay a helluvalot better than writing comic books. Especially if they're comic books published by ACP. Could someone else write those horror comics? Sure, if ACP's Chief Creative Officer decided to assign the books to someone else. At that point sales would probably just nosedive anyway, so what's the point? Better to let other writers make up their own horror stories using ACP characters.
    December 11, 2017, 12:46:48 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Yeah, I saw an article a few days ago about that. Can't they make sure that their initial two horror titles come out before they add two more?
    December 11, 2017, 08:52:18 AM
  • DeCarlo Rules: Looks like that VAMPIRONICA book they talked about doing ages ago is finally happening... [link]
    December 11, 2017, 07:29:50 AM
  • BettyReggie: And it snowed in The Bronx.
    December 09, 2017, 07:09:58 PM
  • Archiecomicxfan215: Its snowing in NYC!
    December 09, 2017, 10:07:25 AM
  • BettyReggie: I'm wearing the Jughead Beanie for the show.
    December 06, 2017, 08:12:58 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Josie movie soundtrack (re-release on vinyl) [link]
    December 01, 2017, 08:30:25 PM
  • DeCarlo Rules: Gisèle Lagacé's MÈNAGE À 3 is going the print collection route with a softcover omnibus edition offered through Udon Entertainment... 352 pages of webcomics for $19.99.  :D
    December 01, 2017, 05:50:28 AM
  • irishmoxie: Been building lots of Legos and not reading as many comics. But I loved the Lego Batman movie. Any recommendations for funny Batman? Tried the Deadpool movie but it was too profane for me.
    December 01, 2017, 01:01:35 AM
  • SAGG: You're welcome, Oldiesmann...
    November 30, 2017, 06:26:32 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Got Jughead: The Hunger #1 today as part of my Afterlife With Archie subscription. Is AWA canceled?
    November 28, 2017, 10:17:01 PM
  • Oldiesmann: Spammer is gone. Thanks to whoever reported that to me :)
    November 28, 2017, 10:33:44 AM
  • Tuxedo Mark: It was pretty good! Fight scenes were a bit messy, though.
    November 27, 2017, 04:24:18 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Off to see "Justice League"!
    November 27, 2017, 11:58:14 AM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Interesting Reddit thread speculating about Riverdale's location [link] Conclusion: It's in New York, both in the comics and on the show.
    November 26, 2017, 06:04:42 PM
  • Vegan Jughead: Cool reviews, Mark!  I kind of agree with you on the Vixens art style.  Not digging it much.  I do kind of like the vintagey clothes on B&V in the school scenes, but I'm not into biker chicks.
    November 23, 2017, 01:15:45 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: My reviews of "Camp Out Clout" [link] and the first issue of "Betty and Veronica: Vixens" [link]
    November 22, 2017, 09:11:30 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Fake newspaper article tying in to Betty & Veronica: Vixens: [link]
    November 22, 2017, 04:08:46 PM
  • Tuxedo Mark: Cami did a photo shoot for Men's Health: [link]
    November 22, 2017, 09:02:23 AM


Author Topic: Riverdale Reviewed  (Read 28337 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Tuxedo Mark

Riverdale Reviewed
« on: August 21, 2016, 03:35:40 PM »
I have created a new weekly blog dedicated to reviewing episodes of Archie television series - namely "Riverdale" (once it premieres), "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries". Those will be the three primary series. In addition, I'll touch on various other series without reviewing them in full and also take on the 1960s pilot, the 1970s special, the 1990 movie, Jugman, and the Josie movie.

This blog is in the style of various other episode-review blogs, such as Full House Reviewed, Saved by the Bell...Reviewed, ALF Reviews, Ranger Retrospective, Warp Speed to Nonsense, and my own Hey Dude Reviewed (which just finished).

Warning for language:

http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
BV-kiss-small
Riverdale Reviewed
http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
Every episode of "Riverdale", "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries" reviewed.
My digital wish list
https://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/14FS742SI1R5I

Tuxedo Mark

Re: Riverdale Reviewed
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2016, 05:45:16 PM »
The first review is up: an episode of the old-time radio show.

Next week might be the 1964 pilot - if I can get a hold of a full copy in time (please let me know if you have it). Otherwise, I'll review a Filmation episode.
BV-kiss-small
Riverdale Reviewed
http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
Every episode of "Riverdale", "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries" reviewed.
My digital wish list
https://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/14FS742SI1R5I

Tuxedo Mark

Re: Riverdale Reviewed
« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2016, 01:52:48 PM »
Another new review is up. This time, I'm taking a look at the Filmation cartoons, specifically the first segment of the first episode.
BV-kiss-small
Riverdale Reviewed
http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
Every episode of "Riverdale", "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries" reviewed.
My digital wish list
https://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/14FS742SI1R5I

Tuxedo Mark

Re: Riverdale Reviewed
« Reply #3 on: September 07, 2016, 12:01:46 PM »
The new review is up: the Filmation Sabrina segment, "Hiccups".
BV-kiss-small
Riverdale Reviewed
http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
Every episode of "Riverdale", "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries" reviewed.
My digital wish list
https://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/14FS742SI1R5I

Tuxedo Mark

Re: Riverdale Reviewed
« Reply #4 on: September 14, 2016, 03:57:13 PM »
Meow. :)
BV-kiss-small
Riverdale Reviewed
http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
Every episode of "Riverdale", "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries" reviewed.
My digital wish list
https://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/14FS742SI1R5I

Tuxedo Mark

Re: Riverdale Reviewed
« Reply #5 on: September 21, 2016, 05:48:00 PM »
I just reviewed Cheryl's first two comic appearances. There's also now a handy Reviews page on the blog with links to all of the reviews.
BV-kiss-small
Riverdale Reviewed
http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
Every episode of "Riverdale", "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries" reviewed.
My digital wish list
https://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/14FS742SI1R5I

Tuxedo Mark

Re: Riverdale Reviewed
« Reply #6 on: September 28, 2016, 01:41:46 PM »
I've just reviewed "The Visitor", the first story segment of "The New Archies".
BV-kiss-small
Riverdale Reviewed
http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
Every episode of "Riverdale", "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries" reviewed.
My digital wish list
https://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/14FS742SI1R5I

steveinthecity

Re: Riverdale Reviewed
« Reply #7 on: September 29, 2016, 12:20:05 AM »
Did Dilton ever appear in the New Archie's cartoon?  I was wondering as well about the introduction of Eugene who seemed to replace Dilton as TuxedoMark mentions.  I know Eugene was in the comic book, but not sure if he ever appeared with Dilton in the comics.
Comics!

Tuxedo Mark

Re: Riverdale Reviewed
« Reply #8 on: September 29, 2016, 01:47:31 PM »
Dilton wasn't on the show. As for whether Dilton and Eugene interacted in the comics or not, you'd have to track down the New Archies comics and read them. It wouldn't surprise me if they included Dilton. Alter all, Cheryl appeared in the Archie's Weird Mysteries comic, even though she never appeared on the show.
BV-kiss-small
Riverdale Reviewed
http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
Every episode of "Riverdale", "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries" reviewed.
My digital wish list
https://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/14FS742SI1R5I

steveinthecity

Re: Riverdale Reviewed
« Reply #9 on: October 01, 2016, 03:55:51 AM »
Dilton wasn't on the show. As for whether Dilton and Eugene interacted in the comics or not, you'd have to track down the New Archies comics and read them. It wouldn't surprise me if they included Dilton. Alter all, Cheryl appeared in the Archie's Weird Mysteries comic, even though she never appeared on the show.
Thanks for the reply.  I was uncertain if Dilton was still in the comic or if he had been replaced in both the animated series and comic series. 


I wonder if the kid wearing the purple scarf on the cover of #3 is supposed to be Dilton?
Comics!

DeCarlo Rules

Re: Riverdale Reviewed
« Reply #10 on: October 01, 2016, 05:48:49 AM »
I wonder if the kid wearing the purple scarf on the cover of #3 is supposed to be Dilton?

Seems doubtful, given that the scene includes a number of random bystanders waiting to see Santa. The kid in question doesn't even look particularly like Dilton, apart from having the same style glasses frames (which applies to Eugene as well). In fact, I'm pretty sure that kid with the pink hat and sweater is supposed to be Asian-American. I would actually be surprised if Eugene made any appearances in stories in the regular Archie comic books not based on the animated series.
« Last Edit: October 01, 2016, 05:52:00 AM by DeCarlo Rules »

Tuxedo Mark

Re: Riverdale Reviewed
« Reply #11 on: October 05, 2016, 05:41:32 PM »
New review: The New Archies: "Ballot Box Blues"
BV-kiss-small
Riverdale Reviewed
http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
Every episode of "Riverdale", "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries" reviewed.
My digital wish list
https://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/14FS742SI1R5I

Tuxedo Mark

Re: Riverdale Reviewed
« Reply #12 on: October 12, 2016, 09:32:40 PM »
New review: The New Archies: "Last Laugh"
BV-kiss-small
Riverdale Reviewed
http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
Every episode of "Riverdale", "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries" reviewed.
My digital wish list
https://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/14FS742SI1R5I

BettyReggie

Re: Riverdale Reviewed
« Reply #13 on: October 12, 2016, 10:47:33 PM »
I wish we were told a date of when the tv show RiverDale going actually going start. I heard January is may when it happens.

Tuxedo Mark

Re: Riverdale Reviewed
« Reply #14 on: October 19, 2016, 01:41:41 PM »
This week, I'm reviewing a comic book story, "A Date With a Dummy", from Archie Comics Digest Magazine, No. 102 (June, 1990).

This was my first Archie comic, and so this was my first Archie story.
BV-kiss-small
Riverdale Reviewed
http://riverdalereviewed.wordpress.com
Every episode of "Riverdale", "The New Archies", and "Archie's Weird Mysteries" reviewed.
My digital wish list
https://www.amazon.com/gp/registry/wishlist/14FS742SI1R5I

 


The Archie character names and likenesses are covered by the registered trademarks/copyrights of Archie Comic Publications, Inc. and are used with permission by this site. The Official Archie Comics website can be visited at www.archiecomics.com.
Live Support